Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2021, 1:16 pm

hover11 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Trinidad take bull while Arse Wari collects rents for nutting and you dumb fools have to pay more for foods.

Yuh arses too happy
Zoom,

Arse Wari was collecting rent under rising sun partnership as well

contractual agreements must be honored.
cyah just terminate & say your grounds "is cuz u izza pee-en-em."

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2021, 1:16 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Wonder if KFC prices gonna increase too.

it will soon enough. within a month or two
Many branches done take a serious hit already, some as much as 45-50% decrease in sales in comparison to previous years. That's why is all kinda specials they having lately, in attempts to woo back customers. & when that fails (& it will because many people realizing now that things very not nice & they can't afford the luxury of fast food on a regular basis), is steady price increases to come.

my niece is a branch manager, and just wknd gone she say they studying how to cut down costs. when I tell she is staff they watching, she say they already how she that is one area of fat they considering trimming
I was wondering how a case of chicken increased in price and kfc prices remaining the same, not that I Patronize but from a business perspective to me it didn't look feasible. For businesses to survive in these times , some unprecedented Innovation is needed

Postby Ben_spanna » September 30th, 2021, 1:30 pm

FAst food price increase not bothering me one bit, i dont eat out much at all, basic necessities in the grocery have gone up yes, imported food and snacks have reached an all time high... just try your best, buy what you need and not what you want.

Postby zoom rader » September 30th, 2021, 1:33 pm

hover11 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Trinidad take bull while Arse Wari collects rents for nutting and you dumb fools have to pay more for foods.

Yuh arses too happy
Zoom,

Arse Wari was collecting rent under rising sun partnership as well
If that was the case then the red government should have upped the anti and do what is right regarding the rents for nutting

They had an opportunity to show that they are the better government but failed

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2021, 2:38 pm

Kemler was freeness
After freeness comes.....
So take bull

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2021, 2:41 pm

timelapse wrote:Kemler was freeness
After freeness comes.....
So take bull

It's sad how much sense this makes

Postby Habit7 » September 30th, 2021, 4:11 pm

Local distributors: Global problems to blame for increase in food prices 
by Sharlene Rampersad
Tue Sep 28 2021

The global cost of shipping and freight, and increased demands as countries come out of pandemic lockdowns, are the main factors driving the increase in food prices seen in local supermarkets over the last few months, president of the Food Distributors Association, Michael Seheult says.

Speaking on CNC3’s The Morning Brew yesterday, Sehuelt said the cost of shipping from China had increased by 500 per cent in the last year.

“To give you an example, a container that we used to import out of Korea for example, a 40-foot container, would cost $3,000 or $3,500, that is now costing $15,500 for a 40-foot container,” Seheult told Morning Brew host Jason Williams.

He said this increase was due to a glut in demand, as China has become the manufacturer to the world. Seheult said there are now not enough ships to service the high demand for goods from China.

“That has caused two things—a spike in the cost of freight and also a shortage of containers—where you have containers coming into an American port for example, right now in Long Beach, there are 67 container ships, each of these carry over 3,000 containers, just idling off the port because they can’t offload.”

He said these ships were forced to remain at the port without offloading because the ports were “totally congested.”

Seheult said in addition to lockdowns at the ports, there was also a shortage of trucks to remove the containers once they are offloaded.

Seheult said the cost of commodities also increased dramatically.

“Between September last year and July this year, wheat has gone up 30 per cent, I am talking about commodity prices here, corn is up 57 per cent, rice up 27 per cent, sugar up 50 per cent, soya bean oil 133 per cent and plastic, which is used in all packaging material, is up 45 per cent.”

He said this was caused by the reopening of countries like the US and Europe and a less than optimum harvest of basic items.

Supermarket Association: Food price increases being passed on

Supermarket Association president Rajiv Diptee said the increase in prices has been happening since the COVID-19 pandemic started and it was not just a local issue.

He said when supermarkets purchase from suppliers like Seheult, the increased prices have to be passed on.

“I really want to break this down for the laymen because I really want people to understand that we at the supermarkets are at the end of a value supply chain where we sell to the end consumer. What would happen is that myself, for example, I would be buying the goods off a supplier of goods such as one of Mike (Seheult) or his colleagues and then they would be buying that from a principle in a foreign territory,” Diptee told Williams.

But Diptee said the purchasing power lies with the consumers, who dictate whether items stay on the shelves.

“However, I believe we will see a flattening of what is happening in the coming months but it is certainly a situation that has created a lot of concern for everyone, because we’ve recognised that this is a situation that is going to be prolonged perhaps throughout the duration of COVID-19,” Diptee said.

Only in August, the Ministry of Trade and Industry noted the impact of COVID-19 on international and local food prices.

The Trade Ministry acknowledged that the price of several food items increased to varying degrees from January to July this year.

In its statement issued in August, the ministry also said the Government has been proactively monitoring and addressing rising food prices, as far as possible, through targeted interventions, including addressing the supply-side constraints of manufacturers and importers and effective price monitoring mechanisms for selected goods and services.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/local-d ... d70e28c1a7

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2021, 4:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:Local distributors: Global problems to blame for increase in food prices 
by Sharlene Rampersad
Tue Sep 28 2021

The global cost of shipping and freight, and increased demands as countries come out of pandemic lockdowns, are the main factors driving the increase in food prices seen in local supermarkets over the last few months, president of the Food Distributors Association, Michael Seheult says.

Speaking on CNC3’s The Morning Brew yesterday, Sehuelt said the cost of shipping from China had increased by 500 per cent in the last year.

“To give you an example, a container that we used to import out of Korea for example, a 40-foot container, would cost $3,000 or $3,500, that is now costing $15,500 for a 40-foot container,” Seheult told Morning Brew host Jason Williams.

He said this increase was due to a glut in demand, as China has become the manufacturer to the world. Seheult said there are now not enough ships to service the high demand for goods from China.

“That has caused two things—a spike in the cost of freight and also a shortage of containers—where you have containers coming into an American port for example, right now in Long Beach, there are 67 container ships, each of these carry over 3,000 containers, just idling off the port because they can’t offload.”

He said these ships were forced to remain at the port without offloading because the ports were “totally congested.”

Seheult said in addition to lockdowns at the ports, there was also a shortage of trucks to remove the containers once they are offloaded.

“Between September last year and July this year, wheat has gone up 30 per cent, I am talking about commodity prices here, corn is up 57 per cent, rice up 27 per cent, sugar up 50 per cent, soya bean oil 133 per cent and plastic, which is used in all packaging material, is up 45 per cent.”

He said this was caused by the reopening of countries like the US and Europe and a less than optimum harvest of basic items.

Supermarket Association president Rajiv Diptee said the increase in prices has been happening since the COVID-19 pandemic started and it was not just a local issue.

He said when supermarkets purchase from suppliers like Seheult, the increased prices have to be passed on.

“I really want to break this down for the laymen because I really want people to understand that we at the supermarkets are at the end of a value supply chain where we sell to the end consumer. What would happen is that myself, for example, I would be buying the goods off a supplier of goods such as one of Mike (Seheult) or his colleagues and then they would be buying that from a principle in a foreign territory,” Diptee told Williams.

But Diptee said the purchasing power lies with the consumers, who dictate whether items stay on the shelves.

“However, I believe we will see a flattening of what is happening in the coming months but it is certainly a situation that has created a lot of concern for everyone, because we’ve recognised that this is a situation that is going to be prolonged perhaps throughout the duration of COVID-19,” Diptee said.

Only in August, the Ministry of Trade and Industry noted the impact of COVID-19 on international and local food prices.

The Trade Ministry acknowledged that the price of several food items increased to varying degrees from January to July this year.

In its statement issued in August, the ministry also said the Government has been proactively monitoring and addressing rising food prices, as far as possible, through targeted interventions, including addressing the supply-side constraints of manufacturers and importers and effective price monitoring mechanisms for selected goods and services.

If only we invested in agriculture during our oil boom

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 30th, 2021, 4:48 pm

The problem is when global prices normalize for food items, every business and fast food place gonna keep their prices at the higher rate. We in deep shite now by setting a precedent of higher prices because it won't be reduced later when global prices reduce.

Postby zoom rader » September 30th, 2021, 4:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:Local distributors: Global problems to blame for increase in food prices 
by Sharlene Rampersad
Tue Sep 28 2021

All dat to say that the red government failed in securing food and local agriculture.

Total gimmick

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2021, 5:00 pm

by Sharlene Rampersad
Tue Sep 28 2021

All dat to say that the red government failed in securing food and local agriculture.

Total gimmick
Zoom if rising sun government was in power when the boom occurred. How different would things have been?

Postby zoom rader » September 30th, 2021, 5:14 pm

hover11 wrote:
by Sharlene Rampersad
Tue Sep 28 2021

Total gimmick
Zoom if rising sun government was in power when the boom occurred. How different would things have been?
Unc ran this country on less than 20US per barrel of oil and we saw an Airport and a far better quality of life.

UNC never had a boom as they always had to clean up the mess the red government left the County in.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 30th, 2021, 5:24 pm

Alluh studying Habit and this irrelevant information? If agriculture was a priority it would get more than the 1 billion it got in the last budget. Imagine spending 6-7 billion on healthcare but ignoring the fact that more money spent on agriculture would result in less damaging food being imported to decrease lifestyle diseases.

NGC board lose nearly half the budget of agriculture ministry like it was nothing meanwhile men like Habit saying that agriculture fully funded.

Where Food importers getting forex? On what grounds?

Jokers

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2021, 6:03 pm

How dare you insult that NGC investment???

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 30th, 2021, 6:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:How dare you insult that NGC investment???

Imagine men losing half a billion dollars in failed energy projects but ministry of agriculture must settle for 1 billion tt budget.

A billion tt divided by 1.3 million tt population comes up to about $770 tt for every person in TT. Divide that by 12 and you get $64 a month. That's what the allocation to secure food for the country looks like.

This is beyond laughable at this point.

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2021, 6:21 pm

I guess a gambler spends little on food/home and more in the casino

Redress10 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:How dare you insult that NGC investment???

Imagine men losing half a billion dollars in failed energy projects but ministry of agriculture must settle for 1 billion tt budget.

A billion tt divided by 1.3 million tt population comes up to about $770 tt for every person in TT. Divide that by 12 and you get $64 a month. That's what the allocation to secure food for the country looks like.

This is beyond laughable at this point.

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2021, 6:32 pm

hover11 wrote:
by Sharlene Rampersad
Tue Sep 28 2021

Total gimmick
Unc ran this country on less than 20US per barrel of oil and we saw an Airport and a far better quality of life.

UNC never had a boom as they always had to clean up the mess the red government left the County in.
Unc and nar came after pnm firetruck it up.Bring the country back to normal and is pnm again

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2021, 7:03 pm

I'd chime in a bit on our agriculture sector based on personal experiences. I've been in and out of it(both short and long term crops) and I can tell you.....NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO ASSIST FARMERS....NOTHING!!!!!!!

Those in authority claim that several initiatives are available for farmers...That might be correct, but those initiatives are only enjoyed if you have proper land tenure. (Problem no1). At least 15% of farmers have some form of paperwork for their land, where does that leave the others?

Problem 2: access roads...that is self explanatory.

Problem 3: adequate water supply(most farmers rely on pumping water from a nearby pond/spring/river etc. Failure from wasa, at least from where I am.

Problem 4: Larceny

Year after year, election after election we hear about diversification through agriculture and that is non existent. We barely touching the simple issues faced by farmers, much less being food secure. We're in for a ride, like it or not.....WE IN FOR A RIDE!

Postby Habit7 » September 30th, 2021, 7:53 pm

zoom rader wrote:Unc ran this country on less than 20US per barrel of oil and we saw an Airport and a far better quality of life.

Yes, US$20 in 1995-2001. $20 was the average price since 1989, it was no great feat but Panday loyalists love to live the nostalgia and act like it was something tremendous. Most times they claim Panday ran the govt on $9 a barrel, which was the price for one week.

And the very airport many have been prosecuted for corruption for it and Panday is still on a bribery charge over it. Recently the govt was even able to recover some millions from the US coconspirators.
Redress10 wrote:Alluh studying Habit and this irrelevant information? If agriculture was a priority it would get more than the 1 billion it got in the last budget. Imagine spending 6-7 billion on healthcare but ignoring the fact that more money spent on agriculture would result in less damaging food being imported to decrease lifestyle diseases.

NGC board lose nearly half the budget of agriculture ministry like it was nothing meanwhile men like Habit saying that agriculture fully funded.

Jokers

It is easy to complain and be vague. Be specific. Global food prices are high, as irrelevant as you think that may be.

What is your solution for grains and cereals? We can't grow it here and it is the basis or most of what we eat.
What is your solution for the major imports of cheese, alcoholic beverages, refined sugar, maize, raw sugar, poultry, non-alcoholic beverages and soybean oil? Most of our poultry and livestock need imported feed which is increasing in price and scarcity, what is your solution?

Spend more money in the MoA? Another Caroni 1975 that used to lose more every year than an NGC TAR?

Share your ideas on how TT could have isolated itself from high food prices. Because all the top producers of those items I listed there, still dealing with high food prices.

I listening.

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2021, 8:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I'd chime in a bit on our agriculture sector based on personal experiences. I've been in and out of it(both short and long term crops) and I can tell you.....NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO ASSIST FARMERS....NOTHING!!!!!!!

Those in authority claim that several initiatives are available for farmers...That might be correct, but those initiatives are only enjoyed if you have proper land tenure. (Problem no1). At least 15% of farmers have some form of paperwork for their land, where does that leave the others?

Problem 3: adequate water supply(most farmers rely on pumping water from a nearby pond/spring/river etc. Failure from wasa, at least from where I am.

Year after year, election after election we hear about diversification through agriculture and that is non existent. We barely touching the simple issues faced by farmers, much less being food secure. We're in for a ride, like it or not.....WE IN FOR A RIDE!

Did you know, that if as a farmer you dig a massive pond, and it fills up with rainwater and floodwaters, if you put a pump and pull water from that pond wasa can seize your pump and hoses and charge you with stealing water.
That's right, wasa had ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH HOW YOUR POND WAS FILLED, but you stealing water, from your pond, on your land.

Yuh feel this place in a mess in joke

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 30th, 2021, 8:13 pm

Habit

You keep sounding like a broken record. You keep referencing high food prices almost as if you think TT agriculture is operating at the premium level. Ppl here are saying that the agriculture sector is severely underfunded and under utilised. You cannot complain about high food prices when your agriculture sector is not producing food to offset imports. Yuh talking in circles at this point. No one cares about international food prices.

Some things you will have to import. That is a given. So whatever can't be grown here will need to imported. The point is there are things that trinis import that simply can be produced here such as vegetables and tomatoes. Explain to me exactly why the fork can I go in a supermarket and buy a tub of peanut butter that is produced in Malaysia whilst we have companies such as Matouks making peanut butter right here? Who is giving Supermarkets forex to buy peanut butter that needs to be shipped all the way from Asia to TT? Isn't that a waste of forex? Where is the regulations to prevent this sort of waste and leakage?

Howcome I can go to a particular Bakery chain and buy a cake that is made in Germany and shipped to Trinidad when the ingredients to make a cake are universal. You really need to import a fully made cake or some donuts with limited forex? Where is the oversight?

The reality is if you want to enjoy things such as cheese and poultry etc then you will always have to produce it or find cheaper suppliers. But the point is you produce as much as you can so that you can insulate yourself from global shocks. So Habit all that land from Manzan all the way to Mayaro, the country can't throw up a couple farms to increase cow production for dairy and meat just to decrease dairy products into the country? What about pigs just to decrease pork imports to the country? Is just a decrease we looking for. Not necessarily an elimination. Any deduction at this point needs to be explored.

You keep talking about agriculture losing money meanwhile Gas to liquids lost 13 billion tt, cl finan ial lost about 22 billion...Ngc just wrote off half a billion but agriculture is where you draw the line on losing money? Hoss you do realise that jump high or low you have to eat right? You really putting your faith on food imports from other countries? Countries that your country doesn't have a stake or control over? You must be a Jackarse
Last edited by Redress10 on September 30th, 2021, 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2021, 8:17 pm

Is peanut butter really made locally
ie peanuts ground into peanut butter ?

also is ketchup made locally from scratch or do they import tomato paste from china and remix into ketchup ?

what about those 'premium" juices sold by smjaleel and orchard
are they made from scratch here or imported as concentrate and remixed and packaged ?
Last edited by pugboy on September 30th, 2021, 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 30th, 2021, 8:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I'd chime in a bit on our agriculture sector based on personal experiences. I've been in and out of it(both short and long term crops) and I can tell you.....NOTHING IS BEING DONE TO ASSIST FARMERS....NOTHING!!!!!!!

Did you know, that if as a farmer you dig a massive pond, and it fills up with rainwater and floodwaters, if you put a pump and pull water from that pond wasa can seize your pump and hoses and charge you with stealing water.
That's right, wasa had ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH HOW YOUR POND WAS FILLED, but you stealing water, from your pond, on your land.

Yuh feel this place in a mess in joke

Because the friends, financiers and family of the politicians are food importers and distributors. Imagine a man never spend a day in Agriculture but come up with the smart idea of using Tobago to grow berries. That is their contribution to the agriculture sector. Is not to say is wheat, grains and cereal they gonna produce that can sustain a nation.

Berries

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 30th, 2021, 8:20 pm

pugboy wrote:Is peanut butter really made locally
ie peanuts ground into peanut butter ?

also is ketchup made locally from scratch or do they import tomato paste from china and remix into ketchup ?

By made locally I mean atleast has local inputs in the form of labour and assembling. What I am talking about is a finished and bottled product that is imported all the way from Asia and placed on our shelves.

That locally assembled part of the supply chain is a whole other form of headache to get into. The only thing that will give them a bligh is that those companies export the "assembled" products to other countries. So their forex usage should be offset by their exports. They probably don't bank their forex here though.

Postby Habit7 » September 30th, 2021, 9:56 pm

Redress10 wrote:Habit

You keep sounding like a broken record. You keep referencing high food prices almost as if you think TT agriculture is operating at the premium level. Ppl here are saying that the agriculture sector is severely underfunded and under utilised. You cannot complain about high food prices when your agriculture sector is not producing food to offset imports. Yuh talking in circles at this point. No one cares about international food prices. And here is where you announce your ignorance.

Some things you will have to import. That is a given. So whatever can't be grown here will need to imported. The point is there are things that trinis import that simply can be produced here such as vegetables and tomatoes. Explain to me exactly why the fork can I go in a supermarket and buy a tub of peanut butter that is produced in Malaysia whilst we have companies such as Matouks making peanut butter right here? Who is giving Supermarkets forex to buy peanut butter that needs to be shipped all the way from Asia to TT? Isn't that a waste of forex? Where is the regulations to prevent this sort of waste and leakage?
We don't make peanut butter here, Matouks just either imports it in bulk or imports the main ingredients and processes it here. It is still imported.

Howcome I can go to a particular Bakery chain and buy a cake that is made in Germany and shipped to Trinidad when the ingredients to make a cake are universal. You really need to import a fully made cake or some donuts with limited forex? Where is the oversight? If you are buying a speciality German cake that is your choice and it speaks to the desire of Trinis for expensive imported products over local. Nevertheless, the flour and sugar still need to be imported here to make a local cake anyway.

The reality is if you want to enjoy things such as cheese and poultry etc then you will always have to produce it or find cheaper suppliers. But the point is you produce as much as you can so that you can insulate yourself from global shocks. So Habit all that land from Manzan all the way to Mayaro, the country can't throw up a couple farms to increase cow production for dairy and meat just to decrease dairy products into the country? What about pigs just to decrease pork imports to the country? Is just a decrease we looking for. Not necessarily an elimination. Any deduction at this point needs to be explored. What are you feeding the livestock with? It has to be imported feed. High yielding dairy cows cant just eat grass you cut off the side of the road.

You keep talking about agriculture losing money meanwhile Gas to liquids lost 13 billion tt, cl finan ial lost about 22 billion...Ngc just wrote off half a billion but agriculture is where you draw the line on losing money? Hoss you do realise that jump high or low you have to eat right? You really putting your faith on food imports from other countries? Countries that your country doesn't have a stake or control over? You must be a Jackarse
I am not saying agriculture loses money, I am saying govt-funded agriculture loses money. If an agricultural venture is successful the private sector should fund it. It makes no sense throwing money behind agricultural ventures that are more expensive than imported food.

All this just shows that you have no idea what you are talking about.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 30th, 2021, 10:30 pm

Habit

Since you insist on "International prices" let us compare international prices.

An avocado in the UK costs £0.70 which is the equivalent of about $7tt. These are imported from all over the world including central america and south africa.

The same avocado costs 0.88usd which is the equivalent of about $6tt.

What is the price of an avocado that is made and produced in Trinidad? How much for the ones selling in the grocery stores that are imported?

Do you really think that people in the developed world are concerned with "international food prices"? They are concerned with their domestic food production and whether it is going to be affected by drought etc. They don't care about imports. If the price is too high they simply switch suppliers etc.

Don't you think that importing the raw materials will be much cheaper than importing the finished products? Plua didn't I mention that those companies also export to other caribbean countries thereby earning forex.

Bro aren't we feeding cows in Trinidad right now? Aren't there already farmers supplying Nestle with Milk right now? This question is arsinine. We are saying expand these types of production. You are making it sound like it is being started from scratch.

You clearly are slow. Imported food isn't "cheaper" than local agriculture. What you are describing without even realising it is developed countries dumping their products on lesser developed nations to ruin local industry. What you are doing is promoting this practice at your detriment. You are ok destroying local industry to import "cheap" unhealthy food from America etc? What a dunce statement.

Postby De Dragon » October 1st, 2021, 2:58 am

Redress10 wrote:Alluh studying Habit and this irrelevant information? If agriculture was a priority it would get more than the 1 billion it got in the last budget. Imagine spending 6-7 billion on healthcare but ignoring the fact that more money spent on agriculture would result in less damaging food being imported to decrease lifestyle diseases.

Jokers

Red Colostomy Bag and Tuntsy say forget that, dais small ting. :roll:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 1st, 2021, 5:00 am

prices of vegetables should come down this weekend as govt stopped its food hamper distribution with association with them wholesale market farmers. so it should have excess vegetable in the market such as tomatoes and bhaigan, imo of demand and supply expect to see prices falling soon unless govt start back the food hamper distribution after the budget next week. i hope they do not because the people i see collecting them hampers spend their money on playwhe and rum after getting a free hamper. let them and the food card people pay for their own food. someone has to visit these people and make sure they have children and live below the poverty line for them to get freeness. once saw a woman wearing one set of gold paying with a food card and other have to work hard to buy groceries. first thing in the budget is to stop the freeness unless you actually qualify.

Postby 88sins » October 1st, 2021, 6:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:prices of vegetables should come down this weekend as govt stopped its food hamper distribution with association with them wholesale market farmers. so it should have excess vegetable in the market such as tomatoes and bhaigan, imo of demand and supply expect to see prices falling soon unless govt start back the food hamper distribution after the budget next week. i hope they do not because the people i see collecting them hampers spend their money on playwhe and rum after getting a free hamper. let them and the food card people pay for their own food. someone has to visit these people and make sure they have children and live below the poverty line for them to get freeness. once saw a woman wearing one set of gold paying with a food card and other have to work hard to buy groceries. first thing in the budget is to stop the freeness unless you actually qualify.

You may think so, but that not gonna happen. Reason?

Farmers inputs have increased significantly, and farmer have families to feed just like everyone else, they go to the supermarket, just like everyone else, they have loans and bills too.
So when they go and realize, basic staple foodstuffs are more expensive, they not trying to lower the price of squat unless tgey see goods not moving and it about to spoil and they trying to avoid a total loss.
So you will see one or two of them selling out wholesale at low prices, but the majority gonna stay put until they got no choice but to lower prices to attract customers.

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2021, 6:40 am

When a vendor of whatever says they increasing price due to their own living expenses increasing it may start a snowball effect

That will soon be the next reason for price increases and maybe quite justified