daring dragoon

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » September 28th, 2021, 2:11 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
88sins wrote:So, you have never set yourself a lofty goal, knowing that you might never achieve it 100% but also knowing that if you did achieve at least 80% you'd be ok with the fact that you tried and did see some gains, even if is not all the gains you wanted & thought you could have when you started?

Like they wash this one brains with raw bleach & concentrated soap, no water in d mix at all, not even a rinse off he get :roll:

Nothing is wrong with setting a lofty goal. We are always improving upon agriculture in the country. But when we set a lofty goal of self-sustainability (which is an embellishment) and you say the govt has done a damn thing since 1956 for agriculture (which is another embellishment) where are we really going?

The goal is a free market, where ppl can do what they legally want to earn money. The govt can incentivise some areas that they see as a priority but it is up to the citizens to take the risk. Agriculture has been incentivised and prioritised but it is up to us as citizens to take the risk. The average Trini, if they get $1-3M will invest it in real estate, not agriculture. Hence the former workers of Caroni have invested their payouts in real estate and not so much in the very agricultural sector they are from.

timelapse wrote:Here's facts
Manning basically said back in his day that he DGAF about agriculture and the environment as long as there is oil and gas.
Nothing has changed since then.

As usual, you're wrong. Manning admin had a plan to implement large scale agriculture throughout the country with megafarms. This was going to be our best attempt to lower food prices by increasing the scale, the main reason imported food is sometimes cheaper. 3 megafarms were built and more were on their way until he called an early election, was voted out and PP cancelled that tout suite

But just like others in this thread, just say false and cynical stuff, and when ppl refute you with facts, they are the idiots and are brainwashed.

You come back again with irrelevant info. Manning may have had mega farm ideas and goals but change in admin resulted in that being ended. But don't just stop there. Explain to use exactly how the land ended up in private hands and not doing anything in relation to farming. Explain the full story. Don't just say the idea was abandoned. You making it sound as though it fell apart naturally without intentional interference. Let us show the trini mindset when it comes to food security.

Another thing. You see this idea that trinis have about "free market", yuh fooling yourself buddy or watching too much american tv. Governments regulate and to an extent they dictate. You think China got to where it is because of "free market" principals? Hahahaha.

Bro, you live in a country that historically have kept land, capital and resources from certain people due to their race. What free market you talking about? Free market only works if everyone starts off on an even playing field with similar access to capital etc. Other than that you will always end up with an owner class and a worker class.

basdeo panday is the fool that have we in this sheit we in today when HE closed caroni to give the insurance man the caroni rum stock for small money. that kant have to pay for his sins for destroying an entire country. if caroni was still around we would have the ability to diversify and put the same workers into food production instead of giving the land to people to build house.
that white hear man have to remain on earth and drag from pillar to post for the crime against an entire population and now he getting companions to drag with him.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 2:15 pm

Habit

North American countries could afford to give out that money because their citizens are not highly subsidised. So because they pay the full price of things the government collects the appropriate level of revenue to keep for a rainy day. That is the point I am trying to make. Meanwhile ppl here living unproductive subsidised lives and they more or less wasting it. When time for a rainy day the government coffers running in E.

Government role is to secure food sources for the country. A citizen is in a transaction with the government. That is why we pay taxes in exchange we get roads, security and other public goods. Food security could never be a private sector thing. Each country in the world is suppose to be food secure in the event of things such as sanctions etc that could render your country isolated from foreign partners. That is a basic philosophy.

I'm pretty sure Novo was involved in some sort of scandal involving the airport so I'm not sure what you are applauding there. If taxpayers funds were misappropriated then its basically taxpayers money making this investment so not really an "investment".

You point out the lands ended up in private hands. That is exaxctly the point I am making. Things being mashed up to transfer property into the hands of private individuals. So don't talk as if we can't do things in Trinidad to better our conditions but the politicians and government continue to deliberately keep conditions depressed to ensure that their friends and relatives benefit financially. The new PNM govt could have restarted megafarms even on an lower scale. They showed no interest whatsoever.

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2021, 2:25 pm

Habit is still of the delusion that the government owns the country

Postby matr1x » September 28th, 2021, 2:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:
matr1x wrote:You are a dumbass Habit7.

Your people kill caroni in an attempt to destroy the east Indian base where food was being grown. What does the average afro trini know about agriculture? Or more accurately pnm base?

But every election they want to walkabout like they never cross the lighthouse in their lives.

And when they can't deal with facts, they push race.

Hear what, give up your space here so a Venezuelan can take it nah.

Your ppl started it first

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 5:14 pm

matr1x wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Your people kill caroni in an attempt to destroy the east Indian base where food was being grown. What does the average afro trini know about agriculture? Or more accurately pnm base?

But every election they want to walkabout like they never cross the lighthouse in their lives.

No govt killed Caroni, Caroni was never alive.

Caroni was the remnants of a dead 20th century British plantation company and as I have always said, Caroni 1975 Ltd never made a profit since 1975.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 5:17 pm

Habit7 wrote:
matr1x wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

No govt killed Caroni, Caroni was never alive.

Caroni was the remnants of a dead 20th century British plantation company and as I have always said, Caroni 1975 Ltd never made a profit since 1975.
Then why did it continue after so many years of continuous losses?

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 5:32 pm

Lack of political will.

SUGAR INDUSTRY WAS DOOMED TO FAIL
AUGUST 1, 2016 NEWS
By Raffique Shah
Submitted: July 26, 2016
Published: August 01, 2016

Trinidad & Tobago, as a very inefficient producer of sugar, relying heavily on preferential, prices for the commodity from Britain, and later the European Union, should have scaled back sugar production from the 1970s when the industry’s losses mounted year after year, soon to reach uncontrollable levels.

A better option would have been to focus on food production, both large, mechanised farms and smaller, family farms, even if it meant government having to lend support through subsidies and/or incentives: most successful food producers, even developed countries, do that.

But no government wanted to be accused of targeting Indians, who formed approximately 90 percent of the 9,000-strong workforce and the 6,000-odd independent cane farmers who cultivated and sold their produce to Caroni Ltd.

In 1970, when Government acquired 51 percent of Caroni from the British manufacturing giant Tate & Lyle (which retained 49 percent and continued to manage the company), Caroni incurred a loss of $4.6 million. By 1975, when Government bought out Tate & Lyle’s shares, losses had spiralled exponentially, with the State having to inject hundreds of millions of dollars by way of loans and subventions.

Why? Many people might ask: after all, sugar was still profitable in Guyana, St Kitts and Jamaica, and even more so in Brazil, India, Australia and many African countries.

The answers to that question are complex. At the core, in my view, was the reality that T&T was an oil-based economy, and when the first oil boom of the mid-1970s sent salaries spiralling, those who laboured in very harsh conditions in the sugar industry could not be left behind. Their unions battled and won for both workers and farmers significant increases in 1975.

However, productivity did not improve: in fact, it went into the opposite direction.
Yields per acre dropped drastically, from 30-plus tonnes to below 20. Pests like froghoppers ravaged the fields. The use of herbicides and insecticides became universal, with all their negatives. Poorer cane quality resulted in the conversion of cane to sugar (tc/ts) to rise from eight to as high as 13. Wild fires were rampant, further affecting cane quality.

By 1992, Caroni had accumulated debts amounting to approximately $2 billion. Patrick Manning as Prime Minister decided to act decisively. He appointed a Tripartite Committee (unions, management and UWI experts) to formulate strategies to save Caroni as a diversified agricultural enterprise.

In the 1980s, the company had already ventured into rice, citrus and livestock, none of which had proved to be profitable. Also, several other experts had examined the company and made recommendations to turn it around: John Spence (1978); Frank Rampersad (1980); Eric St Cyr (1984); and Lloyd Rankine (1991).

Based on the Tripartite Committee’s report, the Manning Government wrote off Caroni’s $2 billion debt, giving the company a new, debt-free start.

Here’s what happened: Caroni incurred annual operating losses of $175 million in 1996, $246 million in 1997, $305 million in 1998, $223 million in 1999, $349 million in 2000 and $367 million in 2001.

Government’s support (subventions/loan guarantees): 1996-$349 million; 1997-$124; 1998-$190; 1999-$808; 2000-$388; 2001-$188; and 2002-$579.

Caroni’s cost of producing raw sugar, compared with selected countries in 1995 (it will have grown worse afterwards), in US cents per pound: T&T-25; Barbados-40; Guyana-15; Jamaica-20; Australia-9.6; Fiji-12.

So, by the turn of the Century, Caroni was going nowhere very quickly, or maybe more aptly, the cry from the plantation was “backward ever, forward never”.

Some people swear it was worth saving for its foreign exchange earnings. Let me deal with that one time, as my brethren would say: in 1996, a pretty good year, it earned US $40 million. At an exchange rate of 6.3, the equivalent in TTD will have been $252 million. But in spite of that, Caroni’s loss was $175 million and government support was $349 million. You figure out what those 40 million US dollars really cost us!

Caroni was on an irreversible slide, and not even the key stakeholders could muster the will to save it. From management to cane cutters, labourers to cane farmers, the feeling was once the oil dollars flowed they would be paid. And if Government wanted to turn off the tap, it would pay big bucks in severance packages-which it did.

I lament its demise because I felt it could have been transformed into the biggest food-producing entity in the region, using the same oil dollars to put it on a firm footing.

I share the sentiment too that State-funded entities such as URP and CEPEP should be either made productive or shut down the way Caroni was. Ditto for Caribbean Airlines, which has long been a burden too heavy to bear.

The sugar workers and cane farmers have survived Caroni’s closure, with many of them thriving in its aftermath. Surely others can, especially those who enjoyed free education and are professionally qualified, and those who acquired skills.

https://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=9620

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 28th, 2021, 5:46 pm

from sister devi FB page

How long have I been warning y’all about crop failures? From the year 2022, food supplies along with clean drinking water will begin to fade, cause the evils rulers are manipulating the weather to cause extreme drought and torrential rain.
There will be scarcity of all foods, including meat products. Meat for consumption will be tainted with a v:rus, and it will be unhealthy to eat. Only those that are privileged will be able to enjoy healthy food from 2023 and beyond. Many of you may have the money to buy the foods, but it just won’t be available.
What if your government states that it’s against the law to hoard food? How are you going to react to this?
And during the food crisis facing the world, water too will ‘dry up’ everywhere.
Kindly join me tonight <Monday September 27th> at 7:00 PM right here on my Medical Visionary page for another exciting program.
Whenever you are eating, concentrate on that morsel of food and not on other things, cause very soon millions of people worldwide will be starving

so dont complain just eat what you can now cause you aint go get it later. jesus will make all his children suffer according to this woman.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2021, 6:03 pm

what kinda mad people does be on fb these day boi :lol:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 28th, 2021, 6:05 pm

chicken price skyrocket..... a chicken is $70-$85 at $16-$18 a pound for whole chicken. great is the red.

Postby hover11 » September 28th, 2021, 6:10 pm

daring dragoon wrote:chicken price skyrocket..... a chicken is $70-$85 at $16-$18 a pound for whole chicken. great is the red.
Red government and rising sun government never put any consideration for agriculture, it was always our black sheep in the economy, now things finally hitting the fan we seeing the pressure yet the writing has always been on the wall

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 6:26 pm

88sins wrote:what kinda mad people does be on fb these day boi
Red government ppl like habitarse 7

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 7:12 pm

TT barely even have a local dairy industry. I guess Gov't can't intervene in that neither according to some people.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2021, 7:20 pm

If this continues on its current trend and pace I go be real sorry for plenty people.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 7:30 pm

Redress10 wrote:TT barely even have a local dairy industry. I guess Gov't can't intervene in that neither according to some people.
Cows anyone

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 28th, 2021, 7:54 pm

88sins wrote:what kinda mad people does be on fb these day boi :lol:

Sisterdevi7.

Postby The_Honourable » September 28th, 2021, 8:10 pm

Sister devi reach in this? So bad she was they took her off one of those local cable stations. She's a quack :lol:

Postby K74T » September 28th, 2021, 8:34 pm

Sister devil

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 29th, 2021, 5:02 am

88sins wrote:If this continues on its current trend and pace I go be real sorry for plenty people.

yup. 2020 christmas lots of people gave hampers to the less fortunate. this year will be different. people wont have extra to give anymore plus it might not have anything to give cause the shelves empty with no US $ in the system. everything being mismanaged by red and idk how some so dotish to not see it an still say i red till i dead. like red and black is the 2 worst colors on god green earth that thrives under a yellow sun.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 29th, 2021, 6:46 am

Allyuh remember when people used to laugh at prices of stuff in Guyana....just wait and watch how Guyana will be laughing at us.

brickman

Postby brickman » September 30th, 2021, 1:36 am

Made a grocery run today,almost everything i picked up was $2/$3 more & lots of people were putting stuff back,went to the pharmacy to get a box of panadol,up from $31 to $35.

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2021, 4:48 am

brickman wrote:Made a grocery run today,almost everything i picked up was $2/$3 more & lots of people were putting stuff back,went to the pharmacy to get a box of panadol,up from $31 to $35.

What kind of Panadol is that and where selling it for $35.00? Sounds like SuperPharm.

Pennywise has the Panadol Blue for $21.95. A sales rep. for Panadol told me that the company is rebranding Panadol.

Rebranding always results in higher prices because of new packaging, fonts etc.

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2021, 6:17 am

daring dragoon wrote:
88sins wrote:If this continues on its current trend and pace I go be real sorry for plenty people.

yup. 2020 christmas lots of people gave hampers to the less fortunate. this year will be different. people wont have extra to give anymore plus it might not have anything to give cause the shelves empty with no US $ in the system. everything being mismanaged by red and idk how some so dotish to not see it an still say i red till i dead. like red and black is the 2 worst colors on god green earth that thrives under a yellow sun.

Well if I tell allyuh sumn
The family usually collects donations to aid a few causes for Christmas and Easter, and we normally start collecting stuff by beginnig of September for the Christmas season. Not just cash, but other things too like clothing, shoes, food items, mattresses, etc., that we give to people in need. We start early so that we can sort through what's available, package stuff, identify who needs what most, arrange for delivery, etc., and close off collections by about the 1st week of December.

So far this year, most of our donors saying things hard and they can't afford to give and so far, only two came through with contributions to the cause.
So this year, we might not be able to do as much as we'd like to, but we go still do something.

Postby De Dragon » September 30th, 2021, 6:30 am

Tuntsy seems only to find his voice to support LFD RFD PNM closure of industries like sugar and PT. He seems not to be able to point out that the majority of time these industries were (mis)managed by LFD RFD PNM and raped of all the money they generated by successive LGFD RFD PNM admins.
Imagine sugar and oil couldn't make. Sugar is in almost everything and oil and gas had not one, but two booms.

Postby K74T » September 30th, 2021, 12:47 pm

FB_IMG_1633020403770.jpg

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 30th, 2021, 12:53 pm

Wonder if KFC prices gonna increase too.

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2021, 1:00 pm

K74T wrote:
FB_IMG_1633020403770.jpg
Time to say that word we love so much but don't know the meaning of......BOYCOTT

Postby zoom rader » September 30th, 2021, 1:03 pm

Trinidad take bull while Arse Wari collects rents for nutting and you dumb fools have to pay more for foods.

Yuh arses too happy

Postby hover11 » September 30th, 2021, 1:04 pm

zoom rader wrote:Trinidad take bull while Arse Wari collects rents for nutting and you dumb fools have to pay more for foods.

Yuh arses too happy
Zoom,

Arse Wari was collecting rent under rising sun partnership as well

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2021, 1:12 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Wonder if KFC prices gonna increase too.

it will soon enough. within a month or two
Many branches done take a serious hit already, some as much as 45-50% decrease in sales in comparison to previous years. That's why is all kinda specials they having lately, in attempts to woo back customers. & when that fails (& it will because many people realizing now that things very not nice & they can't afford the luxury of fast food on a regular basis), is steady price increases to come.

my niece is a branch manager, and just wknd gone she say they studying how to cut down costs. when I tell she is staff they watching, she say they already how she that is one area of fat they considering trimming