Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2021, 7:24 am

Redman wrote:Now it's a conspiracy
Smh.

If the local agricultural market was feasible at local prices people would do it.

There are real reasons that it hasn't happened.

But it boils down to it not being worth it to the people who could do it.

It's either it cost less to produce or we get higher prices.

Subsidies or price controls.

You taking out of your arse again, the red government is simply not into agricultural. There is no push but only lip service on agri.

I thought you said you in farming.

You have govt support?

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2021, 7:25 am

Both parties while in their power made sure and Killed Sugar, Iron, and other sustainable Industries... we are are still selling out to the Chinese now, costs of shipping have gone up by as much as 400%, every single item in every industry has has major price increases. obviously local companies have to increase their prices.
Businesses dont go into business to go bust, unless you washing something.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 7:35 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Both parties while in their power made sure and Killed Sugar, Iron, and other sustainable Industries... we are are still selling out to the Chinese now, costs of shipping have gone up by as much as 400%, every single item in every industry has has major price increases. obviously local companies have to increase their prices.
Businesses dont go into business to go bust, unless you washing something.

Which party close Caroni?

You have to be some kind of new Jackarse

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2021, 7:49 am

Which party stopped the cane farmers continuing their trade?

ZR is the first to bring party into it...yet every one else is the sycophants and bloggers.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 7:51 am

Redman wrote:Which party stopped the cane farmers continuing their trade?

ZR is the first to bring party into it...yet every one else is the sycophants and bloggers.

Why dont you tell us from your propaganda web searches

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2021, 8:07 am

Who rent out the crushing assets to the people she sleep by?

Gopaul luck is gopaul luck regardless who in power.
Just like Lalla.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 8:31 am

Smh.

If the local agricultural market was feasible at local prices people would do it.

Yes bro conspiracy. Just like how a man sit around a table drizzling olive oil and say that the buffer getting thinner because they are getting poorer so it's making them angrier. Conspiracy bro :roll: :roll:

What part of a country needs to find ways to feed itself you just not understanding? I gave you the example of Israel. Israel has harsher agricultural environmental and political factors than Trinidad ever will yet they have become self sufficient in food production. Trinidad isn't even within the hurricane belt so even natural disasters are rare.

There are nations all over the world doing whatever they can to become food secure. But you and Habit have it in your minds that it could nevee be done. It beginning to sound as though the both of you all are lobbying on behalf of some commercial entity.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 8:46 am

Redman wrote:Who rent out the crushing assets to the people she sleep by?

Gopaul luck is gopaul luck regardless who in power.
Just like Lalla.

Why dont you tell us and stop your beating up.

Show statements to back up your claim from your arm chair web searches

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 10:27 am

Redress10 wrote:ISRAEL

Agriculture in Israel is a highly developed industry. Israel is a major exporter of fresh produce and a world-leader in agricultural technologies despite the fact that the geography of the country is not naturally conducive to agriculture. More than half of the land area is desert, and the climate and lack of water resources do not favor farming. Only 20% of the land area is naturally arable.[1] In 2008 agriculture represented 2.5% of total GDP and 3.6% of exports.[2] While farmworkers made up only 3.7% of the work force, Israel produced 95% of its own food requirements, supplementing this with imports of grain, oilseeds, meat, coffee, cocoa and sugar.

They wuk they put down to make themselves sustainable.

The development of modern agriculture was closely tied to the Zionist movement and Jewish immigration to Palestine in the late nineteenth century.[4] Jews who immigrated purchased land that was mostly semi-arid, although much had been rendered untillable by deforestation, soil erosion and neglect.[2] They set about clearing rocky fields, constructing terraces, draining swampland, reforesting, counteracting soil erosion, and washing salty land.[2] Since independence in 1948, the total area under cultivation has increased from 165,000 to 433,000 hectares (408,000 to 1,070,000 acres), while the number of agricultural communities has increased from 400 to 725. Agricultural production has expanded 16 times, three times more than population growth.[2]

Fruits and Vegetables

Fruit and vegetables grown include citrus, avocados, kiwifruit, guavas and mangoes, grapes from orchards located on the Mediterranean coastal plain.[2] Tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and zucchini are grown commonly throughout the country; melons are grown during winter months in the valleys.[2] Subtropical areas in the country produce bananas and dates, while in the northern hills apples, pears and cherries are grown.[2] Furthermore, grape vineyards are found across the country, as the country's wine industry has developed to become a world-player.[2]

Animal Produce

Local cows produce the highest amounts of milk per animal in the world, with an average of 10,208 kilograms (around 10,000 liters) of dairy in 2009, according to data published in 2011 by the Israel Central Bureau of Statistics, outperforming cows in the US (9,331 kg (20,571 lb) per cow), Japan (7,497), the European Union (6,139) and Australia (5,601).[9]

A total of 1,304 million liters of milk was produced by Israeli cows in 2010.[9]

All of Israel's milk consumption originates from dairy farms within the country with most herds consisting largely of Israel-Holsteins, a high-yielding, disease-resistant breed. Furthermore, sheep milk is exported. In terms of poultry, which makes up two thirds of meat consumption, 85% originate from moshavim.[2]

Government Regulation

Farm surpluses have been almost eradicated in the country, with farms having production and water quotas for each crop, which have stabilised prices.[2] Production quotas apply to milk, eggs, poultry and potatoes.[2] Israel's government also encourages a reduction in agricultural costs by trying to encourage specialised farming, and halting of production of crops for which no sufficiently profitable markets exist.[2] The Ministry of Agriculture oversees the country's agricultural sector, including maintenance of standards of plant and animal health, agricultural planning, and research and marketing.[2]

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agriculture_in_Israel

While I am sure the Israeli govt approves of this Wikipedia entry and like all Wikipedia entries it is free from all bias, Israel is not self-sufficient in agriculture and is dependent on imports.

Israel and TT have similar food imports as a % of imports as each other.

And Israel LIKE THE REST OF THE WORLD is dealing with rising food prices https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/how-w ... ces-670639

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2021, 10:47 am

eat balsier & jink baliser joose ... life was never any nicer than how it is now

Last edited by Rovin on September 28th, 2021, 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 10:53 am

Habit7 wrote:
Redress10 wrote:ISRAEL

Agriculture in Israel is a highly developed industry. Israel is a major exporter of fresh produce and a world-leader in agricultural technologies despite the fact that the geography of the country is not naturally conducive to agriculture. More than half of the land area is desert, and the climate and lack of water resources do not favor farming. Only 20% of the land area is naturally arable.[1] In 2008 agriculture represented 2.5% of total GDP and 3.6% of exports.[2] While farmworkers made up only 3.7% of the work force, Israel produced 95% of its own food requirements, supplementing this with imports of grain, oilseeds, meat, coffee, cocoa and sugar.

They wuk they put down to make themselves sustainable.

The development of modern agriculture was closely tied to the Zionist movement and Jewish immigration to Palestine in the late nineteenth century.[4] Jews who immigrated purchased land that was mostly semi-arid, although much had been rendered untillable by deforestation, soil erosion and neglect.[2] They set about clearing rocky fields, constructing terraces, draining swampland, reforesting, counteracting soil erosion, and washing salty land.[2] Since independence in 1948, the total area under cultivation has increased from 165,000 to 433,000 hectares (408,000 to 1,070,000 acres), while the number of agricultural communities has increased from 400 to 725. Agricultural production has expanded 16 times, three times more than population growth.[2]

Fruits and Vegetables

Fruit and vegetables grown include citrus, avocados, kiwifruit, guavas and mangoes, grapes from orchards located on the Mediterranean coastal plain.[2] Tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and zucchini are grown commonly throughout the country; melons are grown during winter months in the valleys.[2] Subtropical areas in the country produce bananas and dates, while in the northern hills apples, pears and cherries are grown.[2] Furthermore, grape vineyards are found across the country, as the country's wine industry has developed to become a world-player.[2]

Animal Produce

Local cows produce the highest amounts of milk per animal in the world, with an average of 10,208 kilograms (around 10,000 liters) of dairy in 2009, according to data published in 2011 by the Israel Central Bureau of Statistics, outperforming cows in the US (9,331 kg (20,571 lb) per cow), Japan (7,497), the European Union (6,139) and Australia (5,601).[9]

A total of 1,304 million liters of milk was produced by Israeli cows in 2010.[9]

All of Israel's milk consumption originates from dairy farms within the country with most herds consisting largely of Israel-Holsteins, a high-yielding, disease-resistant breed. Furthermore, sheep milk is exported. In terms of poultry, which makes up two thirds of meat consumption, 85% originate from moshavim.[2]

Government Regulation

Farm surpluses have been almost eradicated in the country, with farms having production and water quotas for each crop, which have stabilised prices.[2] Production quotas apply to milk, eggs, poultry and potatoes.[2] Israel's government also encourages a reduction in agricultural costs by trying to encourage specialised farming, and halting of production of crops for which no sufficiently profitable markets exist.[2] The Ministry of Agriculture oversees the country's agricultural sector, including maintenance of standards of plant and animal health, agricultural planning, and research and marketing.[2]

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agriculture_in_Israel

While I am sure the Israeli govt approves of this Wikipedia entry and like all Wikipedia entries it is free from all bias, Israel is not self-sufficient in agriculture and is dependent on imports.

Israel and TT have similar food imports as a % of imports as each other.

And Israel LIKE THE REST OF THE WORLD is dealing with rising food prices https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/how-w ... ces-670639
What has the red government done to secure agriculture and lower food prices?

Since 1956 what have they done?

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2021, 11:04 am

zoom rader wrote:What has the red government done to secure agriculture and lower food prices?

Not a damn thing, and the yellow ones ain't do a damn blasted thing either.
But I hadda admit bai zr, I does laugh a little when you call them the "red government"

Because in truth, this country ain't had anything that even remotely resembles a government since Elizabeth II wash she hands of this place, and that is a fact.

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2021, 11:13 am

^^^^... correct is right

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 11:16 am

None of those parties have a plan for TT. The fact that the majority of their children already migrate and living overseas should be a hint. Politicians in TT go into politics to access public funds. That is all.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 11:22 am

zoom rader wrote:What has the red government done to secure agriculture and lower food prices?

Not a damn thing, and the yellow ones ain't do a damn blasted thing either.
But I hadda admit bai zr, I does laugh a little when you call them the "red government"

Because in truth, this country ain't had anything that even remotely resembles a government since Elizabeth II wash she hands of this place, and that is a fact.

Its not a laughing matter.

The Red Government made sure and destroyed agriculture.

Tobago was once the Caribbean food basket but its was all gone when the red government told them they no longer need to do those jobs. Now look at Tobago its an Islands of waiters and chamber maids .

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 11:48 am

This turning into another lament thread. Where the usual suspects complain that they are in the worst country in the world. All while they are living in one of the most prosperous countries in the hemisphere, enjoying a heavily subsidised lifestyle with govt funds, LOW TAXES and attracting immigrants from near and far who appreciate how good we have it.

One of the main reasons why agriculture is not as big as we would like it in TT is because we have other sectors that pay better and are less labour intensive. Our forefathers lived under the thumb of the UK govt, poor and mostly working in agriculture. Agriculture supplied the UK with cheap labour to enrich them and not develop TT. Our forefathers wanted better for us and directed us away from agriculture and throw off the UK as our colonial heads. We developed such that we can earn more to import food so that we can spend more time and energy on sectors that earn more money than agriculture. If agriculture is this untapped goldmine you are claiming it to be, then the private sector will capitalise on it, it should not need govt help. But the private sector is showing the value is in imports and food processing. Agriculture is THE MOST SUBSIDISED SECTOR in the country. How much more taxed breaks and subsidised loans do they need?

But yet idiots reminiscing of the glorious days under mother England when ppl lived in mud huts and there were 10 secondary schools. Since 1975 when Tate and Lyle crashed and left T&T, the govt bought out their assets and created Caroni 1975 Ltd to continue to pursue this elusive agricultural dream. Yet another ignoramus says the govt never did anything for agriculture.

Whether you like it or not, whether we grow locally or not, food prices around the world have risen. There is no way we can isolate ourselves from this and continue to trade our goods in the world. I am not saying we should forget about local food security but I am saying 100% self-sustainability is rubbish.

Postby matr1x » September 28th, 2021, 11:53 am

You are a dumbass Habit7.

Your people kill caroni in an attempt to destroy the east Indian base where food was being grown. What does the average afro trini know about agriculture? Or more accurately pnm base?

But every election they want to walkabout like they never cross the lighthouse in their lives.

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 11:55 am

matr1x wrote:You are a dumbass Habit7.

Your people kill caroni in an attempt to destroy the east Indian base where food was being grown. What does the average afro trini know about agriculture? Or more accurately pnm base?

But every election they want to walkabout like they never cross the lighthouse in their lives.

And when they can't deal with facts, they push race.

Hear what, give up your space here so a Venezuelan can take it nah.

Postby Redman » September 28th, 2021, 12:09 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Smh.

Yes bro conspiracy. Just like how a man sit around a table drizzling olive oil and say that the buffer getting thinner because they are getting poorer so it's making them angrier. Conspiracy bro :roll: :roll:

What part of a country needs to find ways to feed itself you just not understanding? I gave you the example of Israel. Israel has harsher agricultural environmental and political factors than Trinidad ever will yet they have become self sufficient in food production. Trinidad isn't even within the hurricane belt so even natural disasters are rare.

There are nations all over the world doing whatever they can to become food secure. But you and Habit have it in your minds that it could nevee be done. It beginning to sound as though the both of you all are lobbying on behalf of some commercial entity.

Well you wrong on what I think.

I know it has not been done -and I think I understand why it hasnt happened.

Food Security is a challenge because - cost of production vs prices.
Govt A or B cant change that without subsidies on inputs or price controls on imports.
Both distort the markets and have ripple effects outside Agric

You are yet to make a suggestion as to what is the way to solve these two issues efficiently.

You find Hotel work to be sub par and low pay for the Highly educated work force we have present-Farm work is harder than Hotel work and pays less- you need to tell us how you attract labor to your farm while keeping your cost of production in play.

That Highly educated work force you waving in the Hotel thread is because there has historically been a drive AWAY from Agriculture towards higher paying careers.
Free Education does that- you seem educated are you in Agriculture?
Why not?

While the quest to solve Food Security problem is noble-there are more mundane challenges that we face in this 2x4 island.
Instead of ascribing what you (incorrectly) think my motives are, lets discuss how you would solve the problems.
The business of growing food isnt simplified/improved because of the seriousness of Food Security

Maybe ZR the farmer can tell us how he survives in the business-and why if it is such a great opportunity he chooses to rent apartments instead of farming-He has already stated its less people to employ with apts.
ZR not stupid-neither are other people.
As brilliant as he is he would put capital to work where its most productive.
So he does what he making money on,but denigrates others for doing the same.

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2021, 12:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:You are not making sense. The issue is not that ppl are going hungry because of lack of availability, ppl are going hungry because of price increases. Your solution is to grow more locally and import from Guyana. But to grow locally sometimes means more expensive food because we cannot compete with large farms which lower prices through scale. And importing from Guyana as opposed to elsewhere is still imported food.

The reason why 1.4M ppl can live on such a small island is by importing food. Locally produced food can supplement that but the prices of local food will always trail international prices. We live in a global village, there is no way to insulate T&T from shocks in world food prices. You believe in a fairy tale.

And Guyana where you see as our salvation, catching dey tail too
Buy food as opposed to grow food.
State your buy food benefits.

Postby zoom rader » September 28th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Redman wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Smh.

Well you wrong on what I think.

I know it has not been done -and I think I understand why it hasnt happened.

Food Security is a challenge because - cost of production vs prices.
Govt A or B cant change that without subsidies on inputs or price controls on imports.
Both distort the markets and have ripple effects outside Agric

You are yet to make a suggestion as to what is the way to solve these two issues efficiently.

You find Hotel work to be sub par and low pay for the Highly educated work force we have present-Farm work is harder than Hotel work and pays less- you need to tell us how you attract labor to your farm while keeping your cost of production in play.

That Highly educated work force you waving in the Hotel thread is because there has historically been a drive AWAY from Agriculture towards higher paying careers.
Free Education does that- you seem educated are you in Agriculture?
Why not?

While the quest to solve Food Security problem is noble-there are more mundane challenges that we face in this 2x4 island.
Instead of ascribing what you (incorrectly) think my motives are, lets discuss how you would solve the problems.
The business of growing food isnt simplified/improved because of the seriousness of Food Security

Maybe ZR the farmer can tell us how he survives in the business-and why if it is such a great opportunity he chooses to rent apartments instead of farming-He has already stated its less people to employ with apts.
ZR not stupid-neither are other people.
As brilliant as he is he would put capital to work where its most productive.
So he does what he making money on,but denigrates others for doing the same.
Its simple, I don't have the time to look after my produce or cows. So I have folk who do all the farming and they share in the profits or whatever they can pay me. They look after my lands rather than it turns to bush. They do the farming so its a win win situation. I don't really need the farms so it's best to deal with people that can make a living from it while I collect on the side.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:This turning into another lament thread. Where the usual suspects complain that they are in the worst country in the world. All while they are living in one of the most prosperous countries in the hemisphere, enjoying a heavily subsidised lifestyle with govt funds, LOW TAXES and attracting immigrants from near and far who appreciate how good we have it.

One of the main reasons why agriculture is not as big as we would like it in TT is because we have other sectors that pay better and are less labour intensive. Our forefathers lived under the thumb of the UK govt, poor and mostly working in agriculture. Agriculture supplied the UK with cheap labour to enrich them and not develop TT. Our forefathers wanted better for us and directed us away from agriculture and throw off the UK as our colonial heads. We developed such that we can earn more to import food so that we can spend more time and energy on sectors that earn more money than agriculture. If agriculture is this untapped goldmine you are claiming it to be, then the private sector will capitalise on it, it should not need govt help. But the private sector is showing the value is in imports and food processing. Agriculture is THE MOST SUBSIDISED SECTOR in the country. How much more taxed breaks and subsidised loans do they need?

But yet idiots reminiscing of the glorious days under mother England when ppl lived in mud huts and there were 10 secondary schools. Since 1975 when Tate and Lyle crashed and left T&T, the govt bought out their assets and created Caroni 1975 Ltd to continue to pursue this elusive agricultural dream. Yet another ignoramus says the govt never did anything for agriculture.

Whether you like it or not, whether we grow locally or not, food prices around the world have risen. There is no way we can isolate ourselves from this and continue to trade our goods in the world. I am not saying we should forget about local food security but I am saying 100% self-sustainability is rubbish.

So, you have never set yourself a lofty goal, knowing that you might never achieve it 100% but also knowing that if you did achieve at least 80% you'd be ok with the fact that you tried and did see some gains, even if is not all the gains you wanted & thought you could have when you started?

Like they wash this one brains with raw bleach & concentrated soap, no water in d mix at all, not even a rinse off he get :roll:

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:
matr1x wrote:You are a dumbass Habit7.

And when they can't deal with facts, they push race.

Hear what, give up your space here so a Venezuelan can take it nah.
Here's facts
Manning basically said back in his day that he DGAF about agriculture and the environment as long as there is oil and gas.
Nothing has changed since then.
Caroni farmers's plots are now being listed as residential areas by dumbfvcks who decided that selling it off was a better idea,and sold to people from outside of the areas.The average trini too dotish to know the benefits of growing food vs buying food.Easy thing to identify.Watch the men that were dying for fast food to re open.Not a plant in their yard only useless concrete.Why? Too blasted lazy

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 1:02 pm

Habit7 wrote:This turning into another lament thread. Where the usual suspects complain that they are in the worst country in the world. All while they are living in one of the most prosperous countries in the hemisphere, enjoying a heavily subsidised lifestyle with govt funds, LOW TAXES and attracting immigrants from near and far who appreciate how good we have it.

We have already established that subsidies do more harm than good. Those subsidies have no economic basis but were done to buy votes and support.The man living Glencoe making 50 million a year benefiting from the same subsidies that the person living Beetham, Sea Lots and Morvant earning 4 thousand TT per month. One of the most prosperous nations on the planet and when covid hit the only thing Gov't could give was a $1500 grant that ppl struggle to even get and a set of suffering hamper that government ministers were proud to show off. Meanwhile North Americans sit down on their arses and government money depositing into their account with little no hassle. You still talking about prosperous etc when talking about Trinidad? Trinis out here ketching their arses to make it on a daily basis. Maybe you and your minders are doing well living off the fat of the land but the avg trini prob don't know where their next meal coming from.

The main reason why agriculture is treated so poorly in Trinidad is because it is not viewed of strategic importance by the government. The government of this country does nothing to secure this country's future. Same way we still have porous borders. The same way we having rising crime levels. In the event of some prolonged conflict or military action doesn't the government have a Military to sustain? Americas food production is the result of ww1 and 2 where they had to ramp up production to ensure that food was always supplied to the military. From that the world got confectionaries, canned foods and long shelf milk etc.

You keep talking about earning more in other sectors and importing food. Are you aware that new oil producing countries always fall to that trap? Are you aware that companies in the developed world will look for ways to further exploit your oil earnings in the form of exported goods? It literally is an official foreign policy. Do you think that it is a coincidence that oil producing countries always have lifestyles that look so "americanised"? The oil revenue that they give you they turn around and sell you cars, materials, lifestyles and food etc for it. They give with one hand and take with the next. Why you think anywhere companies such as Nestl etc go the local agriculture sector begins to suffer? This is colonialism 2.0

The private sector cannot lead anything. How can you say that?. The majority of the business class is ppl who are syrian/lebanese, french creole or white. The majority of the ppl living here are either black/brown. You expect the business community to take it upon themselves to invest in food security when they and their offspring already living in other countries? Trinidad is nothing more than an opportunity to extract resources and ship it overseas. Bro you ever see any race of people apart from brown and black ppl complain about high food prices?

I have already showed you that China buying up plenty agricultural land in USA to further their production. You ignored that fact. You want me to show you countries who invest in commodity futures on the stock market etc to offset their food import bills? There are strategies that can be taken but it has to be at the level of strategic government policy.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 1:20 pm

So, you have never set yourself a lofty goal, knowing that you might never achieve it 100% but also knowing that if you did achieve at least 80% you'd be ok with the fact that you tried and did see some gains, even if is not all the gains you wanted & thought you could have when you started?

Like they wash this one brains with raw bleach & concentrated soap, no water in d mix at all, not even a rinse off he get :roll:

Here nah....this is shockingly frightening inno. This is an eye opener. According to this one it have nothing we could do to put more food on the table. Is like Rowley telling ppl to plant kitchen garden. Imagine being a whole prime minister with resources and global expertise at your finger tips but you telling ppl the best thing to do is plant kitchen garden. No plans, no stragegy. No nothing.

No plans to import and farm fresh water salmon etc to offset salmon imports. Who knows we may even be able to export some. The energy sector that Habit boasting about on its last legs and Gov't doing all it could to keep it afloat. Hope Habit could eat the money he get from selling oil.

Always remember that the reason why civilisations even began to explore and conquer the world was to secure their food resources. Remember that. You can't eat oil, gold or diamonds.

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2021, 1:22 pm

i thought it was to get spices from india

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 1:26 pm

88sins wrote:So, you have never set yourself a lofty goal, knowing that you might never achieve it 100% but also knowing that if you did achieve at least 80% you'd be ok with the fact that you tried and did see some gains, even if is not all the gains you wanted & thought you could have when you started?

Nothing is wrong with setting a lofty goal. We are always improving upon agriculture in the country. But when we set a lofty goal of self-sustainability (which is an embellishment) and you say the govt has done a damn thing since 1956 for agriculture (which is another embellishment) where are we really going?

The goal is a free market, where ppl can do what they legally want to earn money. The govt can incentivise some areas that they see as a priority but it is up to the citizens to take the risk. Agriculture has been incentivised and prioritised but it is up to us as citizens to take the risk. The average Trini, if they get $1-3M will invest it in real estate, not agriculture. Hence the former workers of Caroni have invested their payouts in real estate and not so much in the very agricultural sector they are from.

timelapse wrote:Here's facts
Manning basically said back in his day that he DGAF about agriculture and the environment as long as there is oil and gas.

As usual, you're wrong. Manning admin had a plan to implement large scale agriculture throughout the country with megafarms. This was going to be our best attempt to lower food prices by increasing the scale, the main reason imported food is sometimes cheaper. 3 megafarms were built and more were on their way until he called an early election, was voted out and PP cancelled that tout suite

But just like others in this thread, just say false and cynical stuff, and when ppl refute you with facts, they are the idiots and are brainwashed.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 1:37 pm

Habit7 wrote:
88sins wrote:So, you have never set yourself a lofty goal, knowing that you might never achieve it 100% but also knowing that if you did achieve at least 80% you'd be ok with the fact that you tried and did see some gains, even if is not all the gains you wanted & thought you could have when you started?

Nothing is wrong with setting a lofty goal. We are always improving upon agriculture in the country. But when we set a lofty goal of self-sustainability (which is an embellishment) and you say the govt has done a damn thing since 1956 for agriculture (which is another embellishment) where are we really going?

The goal is a free market, where ppl can do what they legally want to earn money. The govt can incentivise some areas that they see as a priority but it is up to the citizens to take the risk. Agriculture has been incentivised and prioritised but it is up to us as citizens to take the risk. The average Trini, if they get $1-3M will invest it in real estate, not agriculture. Hence the former workers of Caroni have invested their payouts in real estate and not so much in the very agricultural sector they are from.

timelapse wrote:Here's facts

As usual, you're wrong. Manning admin had a plan to implement large scale agriculture throughout the country with megafarms. This was going to be our best attempt to lower food prices by increasing the scale, the main reason imported food is sometimes cheaper. 3 megafarms were built and more were on their way until he called an early election, was voted out and PP cancelled that tout suite

But just like others in this thread, just say false and cynical stuff, and when ppl refute you with facts, they are the idiots and are brainwashed.

You come back again with irrelevant info. Manning may have had mega farm ideas and goals but change in admin resulted in that being ended. But don't just stop there. Explain to use exactly how the land ended up in private hands and not doing anything in relation to farming. Explain the full story. Don't just say the idea was abandoned. You making it sound as though it fell apart naturally without intentional interference. Let us show the trini mindset when it comes to food security.

Another thing. You see this idea that trinis have about "free market", yuh fooling yourself buddy or watching too much american tv. Governments regulate and to an extent they dictate. You think China got to where it is because of "free market" principals? Hahahaha.

Bro, you live in a country that historically have kept land, capital and resources from certain people due to their race. What free market you talking about? Free market only works if everyone starts off on an even playing field with similar access to capital etc. Other than that you will always end up with an owner class and a worker class.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 1:40 pm

pugboy wrote:i thought it was to get spices from india

It was for food. Everything else was more or less is traded for food. When they raided villages etc they destroyed crops and pillaged the other valuable things. Humans need to eat everyday. There is a constant demand for food. The other things simply store value but you can't actually consume it.

Postby Habit7 » September 28th, 2021, 1:57 pm

The US give out money to their citizens for the pandemic and reaping the ill effects of it now. Ppl are not working because they were earning more on unemployment, it is driving up inflation as prices rise as the ppls ability to pay it and US is in a debt crisis to fund the madness. If by Thursday they don't approve a deal they can default on their debt.

Why the govt has to X or Y pertaining a business venture. This is why we are trouble with so much state companies. You want the govt to invest in salmon farming, but when it crash the rhetoric will be that somebody eat a food or fire the board. If salmon farming is lucrative in TT, let the private sector invest. Govt's roll is to creat the environment to invest, not primarily to invest themselves. Somebody going to invest in berries in Tobago https://tt.loopnews.com/content/tt-prod ... technology another doing similar in Pt Lisas https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 472e4.html

Most of what you are talking about is the typical PEA rant that like the other nonsense you talk about, I will just refute and you will jump to something else. Just like on the first page you were denying the global increase in food prices.

They ended up in private hands under the PP https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 9e6b1a1fc6 Stop trying to bluff when you don't know. Either say what you have to say or be silent. Don't tell me to explain anything as if it is deleterious to my point.