Redress10 wrote:There you go again posting videos of high food prices in places such as India as though this supports your notion that high food prices isn't unique to Trinidad etc. What you keep forgetting to also post is the economic realities of things such as supply chain interruptions etc that produces these short term increases due to lack of demand.
What you still haven't explain is why our valuable foreign exchange is being used to import things such as lettuce, avocadoes and tomatoes from America when those things can be easily produce here and in the region. When you can explain why the government still allows those foods to enter the port then we can have a serious adult conversation about food security.
Ben_spanna wrote:Grocery stores raping their customers! its on the wall............ read the signs and shop elsewhere.
dogg wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:Grocery stores raping their customers! its on the wall............ read the signs and shop elsewhere.
Should groceries sell their items at a loss?
Where can one shop where ALL the prices are cheaper?
Or should I waste the entire day driving from store to store to save 0.5% on average.
Food inflation is a global issue.
redmanjp wrote:i wish we had a site that collates prices of the same items in almost real time and tells you where has the cheapest price- even better where has the cheapest total order if you input a list of items
If you have a deed stamped from King George V, wasa or government cannot claim rights to water or mineral rights on your land. But not much of those deeds was issued. Go over and read your deed carefully.88sins wrote:Local farmers get ZERO help from the state. None, nil nein, nada, nyet, non. That's the first thing people hadda wrap their head around. You feel is joke?
I know farmers on private land, ketchin they rass for water. Put a pump and pull water from a drain, wasa coming to seize that. Your crop get wash out in a flood, they not even lending you money to buy back seed stock. Preadial larceny in yuh tail so bad yuh can't even sleep, yuh hadda patrol yuh fields half the night, and when men come with gun to rob you the best you could do is make noise under cover of darkness and hope that the thieves not armed and get panicked and run, otherwise you may not survive an encounter with them, because all bs talk aside, even as a farmer is REAL KETCH ASS to get a FUL for a shotgun, contrary to the horseshit plenty people does say about farmers getting through easy.
And Redress, if you feel is only "inputs" farmers hadda worry about, yuh just waste a feeling. Drought, disease, praedial larceny, a lack of equipment and equipment failures & r&m costs, feeding himself and his family until the crop come in if it come on at all, those are things farmers hadda worry about, and those are NOT even the inputs.
We hadda start encouraging and promoting local product. If we not doing that, we screwed in d long run.
88sins wrote:Aye, was all this "we" thing you flingin around all willy-nilly?
Redman wrote:Now it's a conspiracy
Smh.
If the local agricultural market was feasible at local prices people would do it.
There are real reasons that it hasn't happened.
But it boils down to it not being worth it to the people who could do it.
It's either it cost less to produce or we get higher prices.
Subsidies or price controls.