Exactly,it doesn't.Would you take my word on the issue?Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:I do conservation work IRL.Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Himself to himself.
That kind of opinion needs to come from an internationally accredited body.
Does your opinion that it affects leatherback turtles comes from an internationally accredited body? Why are demanding a standard that you are unable to fulfil?
Politicians could whatever TF they want to suit their purposes
So your opinion doesn't come an internationally accredited body.
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:As usual, deceptive spin by Habit7, and I already see the setup you and others will preach if the project fails.
Persons are not against development of the North East and also are not against the idea of a Toco Port.
You are actually quoting onePoor soul doesn't even know it was originally a UNC ideaDe Dragon wrote:You LFD RFD PNM arse lackey.
The pristine nature of Toco is what makes that drive the experience it is.
Are you really proposing that roads and other infrastructure can't be upgraded without a port at the end of them?
And another onesam1978 wrote:Thousands of trucks and cars will now have to find their way from all over the country up to Toco
So firstly when you start off so bad, don't accuse me of spin.
Second, you are spinning when you are making it seem like it was this govt that didn't have consultations. It was UNC's attempt to build the Toco port that lacked consultations and ppl found themselves waking up one morning and seeing in the papers the govt ceasing their land. PNM campaigned on the Toco port in 2015, preached it for their entire 1st term and HELD CONSULTATIONS https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?van ... 9326826904
It now its waiting for EMA clearance, if you check out the link above you will see the EIA shows that it wont have any detrimental environmental impact. But as I told others before if you think environmental impact is enough to render a project immoral, then use govt revenue from Pt Lisas build on a swamp or drive on Mosquito Creek, Audrey Jeffers Hway, UBH Hway at Maculay River or go by Manzanilla Beach sea wall.
Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Himself to himself.
That kind of opinion needs to come from an internationally accredited body.
Does your opinion that it affects leatherback turtles comes from an internationally accredited body? Why are demanding a standard that you are unable to fulfil?
timelapse wrote:Exactly,it doesn't.Would you take my word on the issue?
Why should I take the word of politicians ?
Hence international body.
That wasn't so hard to understand,was it?
Plipdeco and Labidco ports run very profitably. So don't know what additional nonsense you are talking. One of the main reasons why PPOS runs at a loss is the inter-island ferry operations. With the Toco port improving logistics it will actually help return it to profitability.De Dragon wrote:Kantish LFD RFD PNM can't run a single port properly, but want to build another, and fack up the environment to boot.
Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Exactly,it doesn't.Would you take my word on the issue?
Why should I take the word of politicians ?
Hence international body.
That wasn't so hard to understand,was it?
I don't think you understand consistency. If you are only considering the word of an international body as credible then even your allegation would be useless. An international body would have to make the allegation and an international body would have to refute it. But singular you want to make a claim and then only want an international body to refute it. That is inconsistancy.Plipdeco and Labidco ports run very profitably. So don't know what additional nonsense you are talking. One of the main reasons why PPOS runs at a loss is the inter-island ferry operations. With the Toco port improving logistics it will actually help return it to profitability.De Dragon wrote:Kantish LFD RFD PNM can't run a single port properly, but want to build another, and fack up the environment to boot.
So what is the next gripe?
De Dragon wrote:So, we're giving up control of our largest port although according to you, the solution to it's unprofitability is already being implemented?![]()
LFD RFD PNM logic, and slave-like defending again.
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:So, we're giving up control of our largest port although according to you, the solution to it's unprofitability is already being implemented?![]()
LFD RFD PNM logic, and slave-like defending again.
Slave like defending is making wrong statements and conclusions like "we can run a port properly" and vex because you are wrong.
We are not giving up control of PPOS, they are finding an operator. In the same way NP has operators for their gas stations.
Cool down the rhetoric and push more factual information nah.
But the point still remains that you are still wrong. Plipdeco and Labidco ports are run very profitably.De Dragon wrote:Kantish LFD RFD PNM can't run a single port properly
Again, you are wrong. The Inter-Island Ferry Service, one of the biz units of the Port Authority of T&T, needs govt subventions and is still underfunded.Each year over the last five financial years the Port Authority of T&T (PATT) recorded multi-million dollar net deficits.
And when you combine those five net deficits, the overall loss made by PATT was over $337.5 million.
This total loss, however, still does not give a proper overall picture of the financial difficulties facing PATT, as it does not take into account the financial difficulties experienced by PATT’s three strategic business units (the Port of Port-of-Spain, the Port-of-Spain Infrastructure Company, and the T&T Inter-Island Transportation Company) as well as the operations at the Port of Scarborough that falls under its purview.
“PATT and its three (3) SBUs, inclusive of the POSCA (Port of Scarborough), have been in a deficit position for many years with government subventions completely funding the Inter-Island Ferry Service and capital expenditure being requested annually through the Public Sector Investment Programme (PSIP) for equipment and infrastructure upgrades, however, the latter is usually severely under-funded,” PATT stated.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/port-au ... 78e0183119
The Ministry of Works and Transport will therefore be mandated to take immediate steps to rationalise by the end of fiscal 2021, the operations of the Port Authority of Trinidad and Tobago and to introduce a private sector operator into the port handling operations now carried out by the Port of Port of Spain, leaving the ferry service to the Trinidad and Tobago Inter-Island Company Ltd and the lands for the Port of Spain Infrastructure Company. We will also take steps to ensure that the operations at Point Lisas Industrial Port Development Corporation are consistent with the operations of the port handling operations of the Port of Port of Spain. https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 96012.html
Habit7 wrote:My mistake, I made a typo, you saidBut the point still remains that you are still wrong. Plipdeco and Labidco ports are run very profitably.De Dragon wrote:Kantish LFD RFD PNM can't run a single port properlyAgain, you are wrong. The Inter-Island Ferry Service, one of the biz units of the Port Authority of T&T, needs govt subventions and is still underfunded.Each year over the last five financial years the Port Authority of T&T (PATT) recorded multi-million dollar net deficits.
And when you combine those five net deficits, the overall loss made by PATT was over $337.5 million.
This total loss, however, still does not give a proper overall picture of the financial difficulties facing PATT, as it does not take into account the financial difficulties experienced by PATT’s three strategic business units (the Port of Port-of-Spain, the Port-of-Spain Infrastructure Company, and the T&T Inter-Island Transportation Company) as well as the operations at the Port of Scarborough that falls under its purview.
“PATT and its three (3) SBUs, inclusive of the POSCA (Port of Scarborough), have been in a deficit position for many years with government subventions completely funding the Inter-Island Ferry Service and capital expenditure being requested annually through the Public Sector Investment Programme (PSIP) for equipment and infrastructure upgrades, however, the latter is usually severely under-funded,” PATT stated.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/port-au ... 78e0183119
Secondly, if you read beyond what you posted you would see privatising the operations at PPOS is to optimise the port operations and isolate the loss-making inter-island ferry service away from port operations.The Ministry of Works and Transport will therefore be mandated to take immediate steps to rationalise by the end of fiscal 2021, the operations of the Port Authority of Trinidad and Tobago and to introduce a private sector operator into the port handling operations now carried out by the Port of Port of Spain, leaving the ferry service to the Trinidad and Tobago Inter-Island Company Ltd and the lands for the Port of Spain Infrastructure Company. We will also take steps to ensure that the operations at Point Lisas Industrial Port Development Corporation are consistent with the operations of the port handling operations of the Port of Port of Spain. https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 96012.html
I know it is sticking you in your craw when you start to beat up and get racial. It is still not helping your cause.
De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy, nowhere is it stated that the POS port is being privatized because the ferry makes it unprofitable, which you just brazenly lied about.
Racial? LFD RFD PNM lying, House Negro please!
Rohan: The reason for port changes
by SHIRLEY BAHADUR
Wed Oct 10 2018
Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan is defending an announced decision to remove the operation of the ferry service from Port Authority and place it in the hands of a private company.
He says it is not just about improving the efficiency of service not just on the seabridge but also part of a bigger vision which he has for transportation in the country using the coastal waters.
He expects to have a plan from the Board of the Port Authority in two weeks on the way forward.
Sinanan told Guardian Media there were inefficiencies at the Port which needed to be addressed.
He said although there is a separate company to run the seabridge, the Trinidad and Tobago Inter-Island Transport company, (TTIT), “clearly it is not working, it is the same board, the same managers, one board managing everything and if you look at it, it is a co-mingling of funds and everything else.”
Sinanan said this was not the “intention when it was set up,” but admitted he had “no idea,” why the system had not worked.
Sinanan said the Board of the Port Authority is currently working on a presentation relating to the changed model which will lead to the privatisation of the seabridge.
He said he had been informed by Port Chairman Lyle Alexander that the presentation will be ready “within two weeks.”
The plan will subsequently be taken to Cabinet for its approval.
Sinanan said it may well be that employees of the Trinidad and Tobago Inter-Island Transport company will be transferred to the new company to be set up.
He said removing the seabridge from the Board of the Port Authority will allow the Port to have the time which is required to discuss international port matters and how to attract international liners.
As the line Minister for the Port, Sinanan said his vision for the inter-island transport system includes an efficient seabridge and water taxi service but he wants more.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/rohan-t ... 0412f644a0
Pawn Habit7 no one cares where they put the port.Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy, nowhere is it stated that the POS port is being privatized because the ferry makes it unprofitable, which you just brazenly lied about.
It seems like you are blind to what I just posted. Just like you lied about the Malcolm X quote. But let me give you more reading material that again shows you wrong.
You must not get so worked up, and if you do, at least be right.Rohan: The reason for port changes
by SHIRLEY BAHADUR
Wed Oct 10 2018
Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan is defending an announced decision to remove the operation of the ferry service from Port Authority and place it in the hands of a private company.
He says it is not just about improving the efficiency of service not just on the seabridge but also part of a bigger vision which he has for transportation in the country using the coastal waters.
He expects to have a plan from the Board of the Port Authority in two weeks on the way forward.
Sinanan told Guardian Media there were inefficiencies at the Port which needed to be addressed.
He said although there is a separate company to run the seabridge, the Trinidad and Tobago Inter-Island Transport company, (TTIT), “clearly it is not working, it is the same board, the same managers, one board managing everything and if you look at it, it is a co-mingling of funds and everything else.”
Sinanan said this was not the “intention when it was set up,” but admitted he had “no idea,” why the system had not worked.
Sinanan said the Board of the Port Authority is currently working on a presentation relating to the changed model which will lead to the privatisation of the seabridge.
He said he had been informed by Port Chairman Lyle Alexander that the presentation will be ready “within two weeks.”
Sinanan said it may well be that employees of the Trinidad and Tobago Inter-Island Transport company will be transferred to the new company to be set up.
He said removing the seabridge from the Board of the Port Authority will allow the Port to have the time which is required to discuss international port matters and how to attract international liners.
As the line Minister for the Port, Sinanan said his vision for the inter-island transport system includes an efficient seabridge and water taxi service but he wants more.
sam1978 wrote:Rohan say it so is true.
They didn’t get it right first time, what make them think this time would be any different?
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy, nowhere is it stated that the POS port is being privatized because the ferry makes it unprofitable, which you just brazenly lied about.
It seems like you are blind to what I just posted. Just like you lied about the Malcolm X quote. But let me give you more reading material that again shows you wrong.
You must not get so worked up, and if you do, at least be right.Rohan: The reason for port changes
by SHIRLEY BAHADUR
Wed Oct 10 2018
Habit7 is the perfect house negro that brother Malcom X spoke about.De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy, nowhere is it stated that the POS port is being privatized because the ferry makes it unprofitable, which you just brazenly lied about.
by SHIRLEY BAHADUR
Wed Oct 10 2018
CyatosSevenos, it is bad enough to be dotish, but to be stubborn, lying and dotish is unforgivable.
zoom rader wrote:Habit7 is the perfect house negro that brother Malcom X spoke about.De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:Tuntsy, nowhere is it stated that the POS port is being privatized because the ferry makes it unprofitable, which you just brazenly lied about.
by SHIRLEY BAHADUR
Wed Oct 10 2018
CyatosSevenos, it is bad enough to be dotish, but to be stubborn, lying and dotish is unforgivable.
De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:Habit7 is the perfect house negro that brother Malcom X spoke about.De Dragon wrote:CyatosSevenos, it is bad enough to be dotish, but to be stubborn, lying and dotish is unforgivable.
Yes, the slave that at the end of the day will always be a slave, but lustily and vociferously does Massa's bidding
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:Habit7 is the perfect house negro that brother Malcom X spoke about.De Dragon wrote:CyatosSevenos, it is bad enough to be dotish, but to be stubborn, lying and dotish is unforgivable.
Yes, the slave that at the end of the day will always be a slave, but lustily and vociferously does Massa's bidding
If this is what you have to resort to because I am showing you up on your shallow understanding of the topic then don't expect me to join you in going down to your level. Me being a slave, house negro or whatever racial slur or you want to throw at me doesn't make you look any better because after I showed you several instances of the inter-island ferry making the port unprofitable, you challenged me one last time and I made it even clearer.
You can't just continue to hide your insecurity with personal attacks. If you don't know, you don't know. You don't even know my ethnicity but are grasping at straws. Stick to the topic or leave.
De Dragon wrote:Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:zoom rader wrote:Habit7 is the perfect house negro that brother Malcom X spoke about.De Dragon wrote:CyatosSevenos, it is bad enough to be dotish, but to be stubborn, lying and dotish is unforgivable.
If this is what you have to resort to because I am showing you up on your shallow understanding of the topic then don't expect me to join you in going down to your level. Me being a slave, house negro or whatever racial slur or you want to throw at me doesn't make you look any better because after I showed you several instances of the inter-island ferry making the port unprofitable, you challenged me one last time and I made it even clearer.
You can't just continue to hide your insecurity with personal attacks. If you don't know, you don't know. You don't even know my ethnicity but are grasping at straws. Stick to the topic or leave.
Ooh, this is new, Tuntsy Steven pulls out the race and victim card in one post, yet still dotishly and falsely appearing not to realize the context of what Malcolm X meant by house negro.
Carry on Steven.
De Dragon wrote:Ooh, this is new, Tuntsy Steven pulls out the race and victim card in one post, yet still dotishly and falsely appearing not to realize the context of what Malcolm X meant by house negro.
Carry on Steven.
agent007 wrote:From a logistics standpoint, I get why we need a Toco Port but from an environmental standpoint, it doesn't auger too well, especially with the turtles.
Toco Bay not a critical turtle habitat
JULIEN NEAVES MONDAY 20 MAY 2019
THE NATIONAL Infrastructure Development Company (Nidco) has responded to concerns about the Toco port project and said the Toco Bay site is not a critical habitat for turtles.
Nidco, in a release, said it notes the public comments on its proposed construction of the multi-purpose port at Toco in north Trinidad, including those carried in the media.
“Nidco emphasises that given its mandate and its managerial focus to operate as a responsible State agency, it will not embark on any major, core infrastructural project, without the necessary due diligence, and ongoing studies on all aspects such a project (that is) identification of the appropriate location, technical designs, environmental impact, and socio-economic viability.”
Nidco said remarks have been made about the possible destruction of turtle nesting sites. Nidco reported the Institute of Marine Affairs (IMA) in a report titled “Potential Locations for Port Development in North East Trinidad, February 1988” conducted a study of the Grand Riviere, Toco Bay and Balandra Bay areas and concluded inter alia that “Toco Bay cannot be said to possess a critical habitat.”
Nidco explained the nesting site in Toco was identified as Mission Beach which is west of the proposed port and about 500 metres away.
“And according to resident fisher-folk, turtle visits there are considered infrequent.”
Nidco added: “It should be noted further that all beach sites and bays on the north-eastern coast are considered as probable nesting sites. According to the aforementioned report by the IMA, Toco Bay which has no beaches, is considered, however, least attractive or devoid of ‘critical habitat.’”
Nidco said after studying the IMA report and the 1990 report both the ministry and Nidco concluded that Toco Bay was the appropriate location for the port and the end point of the roadway under construction from Valencia.
An application for a Certificate of Environmental Clearance was made to the Environmental Management Agency (EMA) in December 2017 and the EMA determined that an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) is required for the project.
Nidco reported it secured the consultancy services of an international firm, ERM West Inc (which operates in more than 40 countries, and previously worked in this country’s energy industry) to conduct a full and encompassing EIA study of the project.
Nidco said it has begun a series of public hearings for residents in the Toco area, the first of which was held on April 12, 2019 at the Toco Regional Complex.
“The Toco port should not be viewed as an isolated, regional project, but in the wider context of this country’s attempt to diversify its economic base, and heightening the importance of its non-energy sector and improve the inter-island seabridge.”
Nidco said the history of the project dates back to the 1980s when the importance of a port located along the north-east coast was first recognised and studied.
“News reports then suggest that both sides of the parliamentary aisle were in favour of such a project. When its location was decided it was clearly established that the socio-economic benefits of the port will not be solely for the Toco area, but will spread throughout all of TT.”
Nidco reported in 1990 a team of local consultants comprising economists, engineers and environmentalists, confirmed the port’s technical and financial viability in a study “The establishment of a Multi-purpose port in the North-Eastern Region of Trinidad, and a Ferry Link NE region in Tobago.”
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/05/20/toco-b ... e-habitat/
De Dragon wrote:Fack Arse 7 really using NIDCO, a government agency as an authority on a sensitive habitat?
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:Fack Arse 7 really using NIDCO, a government agency as an authority on a sensitive habitat?
You mean like a govt agencies like EMA and IMA are not authorities on sensitive habitats? Sit down and let me school you.
NIDCO does an environmental impact assessment and it is presented to EMA who approves it going forward. The EIA for the Toco port is waiting approval from the EMA as the final green light. This EIA shows that turtles won't be severely impacted.
If you distrust NIDCO then call in Kublalsingh, because the very NIDCO showed that the Debe to Mon Desir section of the hway won't severely impact the area. But I guess you are inconsistent, doubt for govt agencies only applies when PNM in power.