Rottweiler Kills Child in Tacarigua

Dohplaydat

Re: Rottweiler Kills Child in Tacarigua

Postby Dohplaydat » September 14th, 2021, 11:35 am

kerwinishere wrote:From these comments I see alot of you all just read headlines and then react. Bottom line is you were hired to maintain a house (and assuming the dog as well) for the owners, why did you bring anyone else onto private property?

The dog was not wrong and yes it is sad that a child died but granny is at fault for bringing "visitors" into the people home and the police trespassed into private property to kill an animal that was protecting its own territory.

Postby timelapse » September 14th, 2021, 12:02 pm

Police deserve to be shot as well.They intruding

Postby 16 cycles » September 14th, 2021, 12:55 pm

pre 1980's - i think dogs had to be registered, not sure if it was before Independence etc...

vaguely remember seeing registration cards for hunting dogs from a few generations back....older tuners might know better

Postby timelapse » September 14th, 2021, 1:31 pm

None of this is relevant.The dog was locked in its kennel in its own yard.Unsupervised, unauthorized children released it and suffered the consequences.The problem is the negligent adult that brought the children there.
If a child falls off a stairway without railings and dies, do you blame the stairs and have the stairs destroyed?

Postby toyolink » September 14th, 2021, 1:59 pm

I mourn the lost of this child and pray he may rest in joyous peace.
We as adults are vested with the responsibilty to keep our innocent kids safe and this means keeping a sharp eye on them at all times and ensuring the environment in which they are allowed to play poses no unusual risks.
No uncontrol exposure to dogs, motorised gates, moving motor vehicles, swimming pools, contagious illnesses and strangers are but a small part of a long list.
Taking care of small kids requires us adults to be on full alert at all times and when we are just plain unable to to cover the large areas they may cover, we need to restrict them in an area we can cover.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 14th, 2021, 2:34 pm

One thing to consider,

The majority of dogs that ever rush me, was small pompek.

I'm Talking run up with teeth baring, not just a woof woof from a distance

Postby 88sins » September 14th, 2021, 3:09 pm

toyolink wrote:I mourn the lost of this child and pray he may rest in joyous peace.
We as adults are vested with the responsibilty to keep our innocent kids safe and this means keeping a sharp eye on them at all times and ensuring the environment in which they are allowed to play poses no unusual risks.
No uncontrol exposure to dogs, motorised gates, moving motor vehicles, swimming pools, contagious illnesses and strangers are but a small part of a long list.
Taking care of small kids requires us adults to be on full alert at all times and when we are just plain unable to to cover the large areas they may cover, we need to restrict them in an area we can cover.

Well said. But the understanding that as a parent or caretaker you have to be ever watchful with small kids evades some ppl.
I does wonder sometimes how they themselves survived childhood

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » September 14th, 2021, 3:28 pm

timelapse wrote:None of this is relevant.The dog was locked in its kennel in its own yard.Unsupervised, unauthorized children released it and suffered the consequences.The problem is the negligent adult that brought the children there.
If a child falls off a stairway without railings and dies, do you blame the stairs and have the stairs destroyed?

Damn straight!

DTAC

Postby DTAC » September 14th, 2021, 4:50 pm

MaxPower wrote:I always tell myself, in the event of a natural disaster, i will be saving animals before cruel humans.

Wait. Even human Venes???!!! :o

Postby 88sins » September 14th, 2021, 5:34 pm

MaxPower wrote:I always tell myself, in the event of a natural disaster, i will be saving animals before cruel humans.

I sees no problem with this, and some of my not so immediate relatives included.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 14th, 2021, 5:36 pm

DTAC wrote:

Which then begs the question...........

Did NON-human venes come across? :shock:

Postby De Dragon » September 14th, 2021, 6:11 pm

DTAC wrote:

Well he quicker get a bool from the animals, so...............

Postby timelapse » September 15th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Goat by the river?Max u player ...

mad

Postby mad » September 16th, 2021, 8:43 am

Well I cant speak about Rottweiler, cause I never owned any. But I can speak of Pitbulls.

I grew up with pitbulls at a young age, my father loved these dogs and so have I. I have a few myself.
One thing I learnt from my father, is you have to ensure you teach them you are the Alpha.
Just how my father used to cut mih arse when I misbehaving, the same thing he did with the dogs.
Is over thirty years I am living with pitbulls, and I does hear one setta BS about these dogs eh. SMH.
These dogs are the most loving and kind dogs ever, never once give me trouble.
I for one will blame owners for not properly taking care of these animals. I hate to see these dogs (or any) tied to chains whole day or in a kennel whole day. My dogs roam free in my yard whole day. I very rarely tie them.

From my experience you have to make sure and establish dominance over these dogs. Don't let them do whatever they like or else you won't be able to control them.
Its just like parenting. Some parents let children do whatever they like and make excuses when they child acting up or going on a tantrum.

But it's the ONLY time I will agree with Max. in the event of a natural disaster, I myself will be saving animals before cruel humans.

Postby 88sins » September 16th, 2021, 10:25 am

mad wrote:Well I cant speak about Rottweiler, cause I never owned any. But I can speak of Pitbulls.

I grew up with pitbulls at a young age, my father loved these dogs and so have I. I have a few myself.
One thing I learnt from my father, is you have to ensure you teach them you are the Alpha.
Just how my father used to cut mih arse when I misbehaving, the same thing he did with the dogs.
Is over thirty years I am living with pitbulls, and I does hear one setta BS about these dogs eh. SMH.
I for one will blame owners for not properly taking care of these animals. I hate to see these dogs (or any) tied to chains whole day or in a kennel whole day. My dogs roam free in my yard whole day. I very rarely tie them.

From my experience you have to make sure and establish dominance over these dogs. Don't let them do whatever they like or else you won't be able to control them.
Its just like parenting. Some parents let children do whatever they like and make excuses when they child acting up or going on a tantrum.

But it's the ONLY time I will agree with Max. in the event of a natural disaster, I myself will be saving animals before cruel humans.

not sure I agree with this eh. because I see & do things a tad differently.
What I would say is this, I teach my animal what behaviors are acceptable to me, and what is not, and that both have consequences, acceptable=positive, unacceptable=negative.
This, coupled with ensuring they get at a minimum basic obedience & you know that they know what is expected. as well as some specific behavioral training, would ensure that you have a dog that will follow your instructions when issued, regardless of distractions or other motivations.
There's a lot of stuff they figure out on their own if taught this way. They are not stupid, quite the opposite actually. Here's an example.
One of my current studs liked to run out the gate. When he in the yard, he heeds every command promptly, but on the road he of the idea that when I command him to do something his compliance is optional. Stopped that run out the gate behavior in less than 5 minutes. As he exit the yard, is stim from the e-collar, & it not stopping till he re-enters the yard. 2 doses of that, and he figured out that going outside without permission has it's consequences all on it's own. Keep in mind, I never called him when he went out the gate, & he can't see me when the correction happening. Since that, the gate can remain wide open, he not crossing that post for nothing. Now, when I open the gate, he steps away a few feet from it & won't come back close to it until either it closed or I call him. He figured it out on his own, going outside without permission is not allowed and the results are very unpleasant and not worth the distraction.

I use a similar method for poison proofing.

mad

Postby mad » September 16th, 2021, 11:42 am

mad wrote:Well I cant speak about Rottweiler, cause I never owned any. But I can speak of Pitbulls.

not sure I agree with this eh. because I see & do things a tad differently.
What I would say is this, I teach my animal what behaviors are acceptable to me, and what is not, and that both have consequences, acceptable=positive, unacceptable=negative.
This, coupled with ensuring they get at a minimum basic obedience & you know that they know what is expected. as well as some specific behavioral training, would ensure that you have a dog that will follow your instructions when issued, regardless of distractions or other motivations.
There's a lot of stuff they figure out on their own if taught this way. They are not stupid, quite the opposite actually. Here's an example.
One of my current studs liked to run out the gate. When he in the yard, he heeds every command promptly, but on the road he of the idea that when I command him to do something his compliance is optional. Stopped that run out the gate behavior in less than 5 minutes. As he exit the yard, is stim from the e-collar, & it not stopping till he re-enters the yard. 2 doses of that, and he figured out that going outside without permission has it's consequences all on it's own. Keep in mind, I never called him when he went out the gate, & he can't see me when the correction happening. Since that, the gate can remain wide open, he not crossing that post for nothing. Now, when I open the gate, he steps away a few feet from it & won't come back close to it until either it closed or I call him. He figured it out on his own, going outside without permission is not allowed and the results are very unpleasant and not worth the distraction.

I use a similar method for poison proofing.

To me you are doing the same as me but in a different manner, that's being the Alpha.

Postby 88sins » September 16th, 2021, 2:23 pm

mad wrote:
To me you are doing the same as me but in a different manner, that's being the Alpha.

Not really, because you missed this key & critical difference. He can't see me, or hear me, and I am not calling him. He gets the stim as soon as he puts foot past gatepost, and it does not stop until the moment he walks back in. So as far as he's concerned, there is no connection between the stim & master, but there is a direct correlation between the negative discomfort of the stim & him walking out the gate on his own, and the positive consequence of him choosing to go back inside on his own without being told to do so. After that, proofing is easy. When you open the gate & he moves away, immediately go to him & reward him, & when he doesn't move away, immediately correct him appropriately, but not with the stim.

The concept of owners thinking that they "need to show they are the alpha" is an old one, but I don't subscribe to it, and I don't recommend it for several reasons. One being, it is very easy to screw up a potentially good companion or guard or ppd candidate with some things people do in the name of being "the alpha". Some dogs require & can handle compulsion, and some others if you try some of that "I am alpha" nonsense you will turn them into a cowering bag of nervousness with a penchant for fear biting & a degree of distrust in you (this is a problem not easily fixed) , and then there are yet others (these are very rare mind you, and I'm referring to dogs with what's known as fight drive) that will put the fact that you might be master aside, and is active war from that point onward with those animals with that special gift/curse, & no I am not talking about gameness in fighting breeds, that's something entirely different. When I say fight drive, I mean a dog that is the happiest he can be when he is engaged in a full on fight, and he does not care if that fight is with a cat, another dog, a horse, or a human. Given the option, he will fight all day, every day. With such animals, he see's you as just something to fight with, and he hadda win. Yes, it sounds mad, but yes, such dogs exist, even though they are rare, and thank God for that. Because most ppl cannot handle them so they end up being destroyed. In all my years I have only ever encountered 2 of dogs with such fight drive, & I owned one of them. They are a very serious risk & liability to keep unless you 1000000% sure what you doing, not just for others , but for the owner/handler too. And they really should never be bred, but that's a whole other topic for an entirely different discussion.

But to each their own, you are free to use what works for you on your animals.

mad

Postby mad » September 16th, 2021, 5:09 pm

mad wrote:

Not really, because you missed this key & critical difference. He can't see me, or hear me, and I am not calling him. He gets the stim as soon as he puts foot past gatepost, and it does not stop until the moment he walks back in. So as far as he's concerned, there is no connection between the stim & master, but there is a direct correlation between the negative discomfort of the stim & him walking out the gate on his own, and the positive consequence of him choosing to go back inside on his own without being told to do so. After that, proofing is easy. When you open the gate & he moves away, immediately go to him & reward him, & when he doesn't move away, immediately correct him appropriately, but not with the stim.

The concept of owners thinking that they "need to show they are the alpha" is an old one, but I don't subscribe to it, and I don't recommend it for several reasons. One being, it is very easy to screw up a potentially good companion or guard or ppd candidate with some things people do in the name of being "the alpha". Some dogs require & can handle compulsion, and some others if you try some of that "I am alpha" nonsense you will turn them into a cowering bag of nervousness with a penchant for fear biting & a degree of distrust in you (this is a problem not easily fixed) , and then there are yet others (these are very rare mind you, and I'm referring to dogs with what's known as fight drive) that will put the fact that you might be master aside, and is active war from that point onward with those animals with that special gift/curse, & no I am not talking about gameness in fighting breeds, that's something entirely different. When I say fight drive, I mean a dog that is the happiest he can be when he is engaged in a full on fight, and he does not care if that fight is with a cat, another dog, a horse, or a human. Given the option, he will fight all day, every day. With such animals, he see's you as just something to fight with, and he hadda win. Yes, it sounds mad, but yes, such dogs exist, even though they are rare, and thank God for that. Because most ppl cannot handle them so they end up being destroyed. In all my years I have only ever encountered 2 of dogs with such fight drive, & I owned one of them. They are a very serious risk & liability to keep unless you 1000000% sure what you doing, not just for others , but for the owner/handler too. And they really should never be bred, but that's a whole other topic for an entirely different discussion.

But to each their own, you are free to use what works for you on your animals.

I hear you, but disagree. You have your ways of dealing with them, I have my ways. To each his own, I agree.
You probably don't beat your kids for whatever reasons, I beat mines. Probably because I old school.

But in my experience with my pitbulls, even though I display the alpha male, trust me they are no cowards. If I raise my hand at them they will subide, but if someone other than me tries that, well may God help you.

Postby Spitfir3 » September 17th, 2021, 1:03 pm

of course the dog has to pay for human error....

dogg

Postby dogg » September 27th, 2021, 7:49 pm

Let's hear the excuses for this almost-killer dog

dg.jpg

VII

Postby VII » September 27th, 2021, 8:01 pm

Have had both and Staffordshire Terriers/ Pitbulls are much more stable dogs than Rotts in my experience.. And Bull Terriers are sweethearts.

Postby 88sins » September 27th, 2021, 8:29 pm

VII wrote:Have had both and Staffordshire Terriers/ Pitbulls are much more stable dogs than Rotts in my experience.. And Bull Terriers are sweethearts.

Yuh mean goofballs :lol:
but only with who they know and comfortable with.

VII

Postby VII » September 27th, 2021, 8:43 pm

Nice pet dogs...

VII wrote:Have had both and Staffordshire Terriers/ Pitbulls are much more stable dogs than Rotts in my experience.. And Bull Terriers are sweethearts.

Yuh mean goofballs :lol:
but only with who they know and comfortable with.

Postby 88sins » September 27th, 2021, 8:44 pm

dogg wrote:Let's hear the excuses for this almost-killer dog

dg.jpg

So, you post a random picture, with no background information outside of the parents rant against public healthcare, in your feeble attempt to justify what? And suppose it was a pompey that caused the damage? What you gonna say, kill all pompek? Or what? If it walks on four legs and you don't eat it kill it?
Context and content will prove a point. But that post you just made? It's priceless.

Cuz it literally is worth absolutely nothing :roll:

Postby gastly369 » September 28th, 2021, 12:39 am

dg.jpg
Siparia health facility is the worstttt forkin bs service everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Horrible nurse attitude its like kfc cashier prob even worst

Went there a night with some pains couldn't take till the morning, wait for nearly 2 hrs plus cause as far as I see old talk with coworkers was more important ( note had no one in waiting area) and nurse then decide to call me and ask me what's my problem... Then she stupess and said "yuh wasting resources how we seeing about covid etc"

And this was my 3rd and final time dealing with any bs ppl at that facility

dogg

Postby dogg » September 28th, 2021, 8:44 am

Yes, of course. Those giant bite marks could only have come from a pompek or pothong. My apologies.

dg.jpg

So, you post a random picture, with no background information outside of the parents rant against public healthcare, in your feeble attempt to justify what? And suppose it was a pompey that caused the damage? What you gonna say, kill all pompek? Or what? If it walks on four legs and you don't eat it kill it?
Context and content will prove a point. But that post you just made? It's priceless.

Postby 88sins » September 28th, 2021, 10:52 am

dogg wrote:Yes, of course. Those giant bite marks could only have come from a pompek or pothong. My apologies.

dg.jpg

You appear to be lacking knowledge about this, so I'll clue you in.
A dog with a canine tooth 1/4" wide from front to back at the gum line can leave a laceration in tissue 1" wide. How is this possible? Because of how a dogs teeth are shaped, that's how. Their canines are perfectly developed to do two things, puncture flesh, and lacerate flesh, and it's the latter that action that causes the most tissue damage.
On small man head in the photo, those are lacerations, and can be caused by ANY size dog, once a canine tooth punctures skin deep enough & when he or the dog pulls away.
When you posting hoping to prove a point, adding relevant information (family pet or stray dog or neighbors dog, size or breed, did the dog have any bite history or a history of unprovoked aggression, owner accustomed to leaving the animal to roam the street,
people passing & teasing the animal, etc.) may help you prove your point. But as it stands, your point is pointless & can & will be considered mindless trolling.

Thousands of people in this country and hundreds of millions around the world keep dogs of all breeds and sizes, not just as companions, but also as a means of protection or defense, and they are very well suited to & capable of the task. You prefer these people remain defenseless and without a deterrent for those that would visit them with malintent? In my area over the last few weeks, there's been an increase in house break ins, iirc about 6 houses all within sight of each other were hit within the span of a week. Of those houses one of those homes that were broken into had a dog on the premises, but the animal was kenneled, and the rest had no dog of any kind. Coincidence? Maybe, but I seriously doubt it.

For all your hating on dogs, where's your anger & outrage for when your fellow humans rape rob and murder other humans including children, for pleasure or possessions or malice? Would you advocate that a man that robs a family with violence & hits a kid hard enough to leave lasting physical damage be put down in exactly the same way & with the same vigor that you'd prefer to see a dog that bit a kid put down? Same violence meted out on a minor, only difference being the human does it with intent & knowing it's wrong & unacceptable, with malice aforethought, planning and some degree of enjoyment, whereas the animal does it as a result of some form of stimuli, or out of his feeling that he must protect himself or his home, or because he was trained or encouraged by his owner to do so. Who would you think deserves euthanasia more? The two legged one or the four legged one?

Dogs themselves ain't the problem son. The problem is irresponsible people, there are people that shouldn't even be allowed to keep a pet rock, keeping animals that can have the potential to cause damage. & when that eventually happens, guess what?
Other stupid irresponsible humans quick voice their emotionally charged knee-jerk responses and blame the dog, not the one stupid human (the dogs owner) that was the cause of the problem to begin with.

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2021, 12:45 pm

I collect a laceration on my lip from my dog in a non agressive situation.Sheit happens.

VII

Postby VII » September 28th, 2021, 12:54 pm

88 There are very dotish defective and unpredictable dogs out there that trip off and cause harm to innocent people, stop blaming the victims only pal, some dogs are just plain ole nasty.

Such dogs shouldn't be in a family situation, maybe that's what you're trying to say also..

Rottweiler Kills Child in Tacarigua

Postby MaxPower » September 28th, 2021, 3:21 pm

Damn, hope the dog is unharmed.

People want dogs and cannot maintain and train them.

When the dog attacks, the owners LIE and say the dog was well taken care of and “trained”.

Ask anyone who knows how to care and handle dogs…they NEVER have these problems and if they do, there are no deaths and children around.

Owners need to be held FULLY responsible for the actions of their dogs and they should feel the FULL shaft of the law, leaving the dog unharmed.

firetruck all you incompetent wannabe dog owners