MaxPower wrote:Sigh feeling it for that poor dog.
Really heartbreaking.
bluefete wrote:You serious? I had a Pompek for 10 years and she was the bestest, bestest guard dog I ever had.
She also had a memory like an elephant. Let me share 3 stories with you.
1. When she was about 6 months old, we had 2 people (father and 18 year old son) doing some work
in the yard. One day, I came home and she was only barking at the son. Turns out the son had broken into our home and stole the money that we had put aside to pay them. The father had gone out to get somethings and left the son alone. This was the first and only time our home was broken into.
2. When she was about 1 1/2 years, my next door neighbour helped me put in a gate to keep her away from the front of the yard. For the next 8 1/2 years she gave that man hell anytime she saw him. Sometimes, he used to come out quietly in his back yard and she would bark and jump as if she wanted to climb the wall to get at him. That behaviour continued until she died.
3. Would you believe that same Pompek alerted me one morning, to a bandit who was in that same neighbour's home? She had a normal bark but around 2:30 a.m. I woke to the sound of a very different kind of bark and when I checked she was only looking at the neighbour's house. This was not the "jumping over the wall, I want to bite you", kind of bark. It was one bark every five seconds. I saw a window open in the front but thought that he had forgotten to close it. Given the time, I did not want to wake him. I rechecked before going back inside and the window was closed. Around 5:30 a.m. my neighbour called me to say that someone had broken into his home!!!
I had other dogs before but nothing at the level on which that Pompek operated and she was so loving. She always had a sense of who was family and who was not.VII wrote:Just saw this and totally agree with your points, and yes Pompeks are among the worst..if they were big they would also be among the most deadly..not very smart dogs either..most small dogs aren't smart .
English Cocker Spaniels are among the smartest and
best small dogs you can get..
Retrievers, Labs, Huskies etc even Shepherds are the real deal in big family dogs but good sense must always prevail with any dog for the best results..Dohplaydat wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:j.o.e wrote:At the end of the day dogs are animals and we wrongly humanize them
This
We want or expect them to be something they are not or may not be
Some dogs are, my retriever won't hurt anybody, you can do what to what to him and he'll leave you alone.
My pompek on the other hand, I kinda fraid that dog.
Temperament and upbringing is important, but ultimately dogs (all dogs, even my Retriever) can have their buttons pushed to attack.
Children need to be taught how to interact with dogs and dog psychology needs to be taught. Putting dogs in kernels is cruel, not interacting with them and playing with them is cruel. Can you imagine how deranged a human who grows up in a cage not interacting with other humans would be?
So dan, the dog in his own yard and in his own kennel.One of the picknees opened the cage.Thats the dog's fault?VII wrote:Boy f@ck that dog !! Wtf you going on about..what happen you saw the lil picknee and feeling more for the dog now ? Man bullets for that dog or any attacking innocent and helpless people or other pets...MaxPower wrote:Sigh feeling it for that poor dog.
Really heartbreaking.
VII wrote:More pom than pek maybe ?
You had some good experiences as an owner, but pompeks have been one of the top offenders chasing and biting kids etc..they're probably great for the owner but may be a bit more jealous territorial and aggressive than the average small dog..bluefete wrote:You serious? I had a Pompek for 10 years and she was the bestest, bestest guard dog I ever had.
She also had a memory like an elephant. Let me share 3 stories with you.
1. When she was about 6 months old, we had 2 people (father and 18 year old son) doing some work
in the yard. One day, I came home and she was only barking at the son. Turns out the son had broken into our home and stole the money that we had put aside to pay them. The father had gone out to get somethings and left the son alone. This was the first and only time our home was broken into.
2. When she was about 1 1/2 years, my next door neighbour helped me put in a gate to keep her away from the front of the yard. For the next 8 1/2 years she gave that man hell anytime she saw him. Sometimes, he used to come out quietly in his back yard and she would bark and jump as if she wanted to climb the wall to get at him. That behaviour continued until she died.
3. Would you believe that same Pompek alerted me one morning, to a bandit who was in that same neighbour's home? She had a normal bark but around 2:30 a.m. I woke to the sound of a very different kind of bark and when I checked she was only looking at the neighbour's house. This was not the "jumping over the wall, I want to bite you", kind of bark. It was one bark every five seconds. I saw a window open in the front but thought that he had forgotten to close it. Given the time, I did not want to wake him. I rechecked before going back inside and the window was closed. Around 5:30 a.m. my neighbour called me to say that someone had broken into his home!!!
I had other dogs before but nothing at the level on which that Pompek operated and she was so loving. She always had a sense of who was family and who was not.VII wrote:Just saw this and totally agree with your points, and yes Pompeks are among the worst..if they were big they would also be among the most deadly..not very smart dogs either..most small dogs aren't smart .
English Cocker Spaniels are among the smartest and
best small dogs you can get..
Retrievers, Labs, Huskies etc even Shepherds are the real deal in big family dogs but good sense must always prevail with any dog for the best results..Dohplaydat wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:j.o.e wrote:At the end of the day dogs are animals and we wrongly humanize them
This
We want or expect them to be something they are not or may not be
Some dogs are, my retriever won't hurt anybody, you can do what to what to him and he'll leave you alone.
My pompek on the other hand, I kinda fraid that dog.
Temperament and upbringing is important, but ultimately dogs (all dogs, even my Retriever) can have their buttons pushed to attack.
Children need to be taught how to interact with dogs and dog psychology needs to be taught. Putting dogs in kernels is cruel, not interacting with them and playing with them is cruel. Can you imagine how deranged a human who grows up in a cage not interacting with other humans would be?
VII wrote:Broad blanket statements amd generalizations again huh?
Amazing you can rubbish real life events to your real life non events...why aren't other dogs killing kids and old ladies ? The old lady was killed by a rott a few years ago also..I'm certain there are other people who aren't experts and 'Pack Leaders' like yourself with dogs and those things don't happen .
Listen let me repeat it, Rotts especially are very unstable dogs and very unpredictable to the point of being predictable.. they can be triggered and when they do they can lose control more than most other big dogs..
You're an expert at nothing pal..and to the Rott's credit he wasn't there when my house got broken into, he was already relegated to the business compound . There were 2 Doberman, 2 Staffordshire Terriers and 2 Shepherds all in pairs in 3 separations, the thieves distracted the ones that were in the area they went in
I don't need guard dogs now I have more effective and deadly security tools at my disposal just over 20 years now, and more than one .
Our dogs are pets and only pets and damnn good loving and intelligent pets that we consider members of the family, in fact they're so good that my 19 y.o son makes over 30 grand a litter for himself when he breeds them, with great reviews, follow ups and expressions of gratitude from his clients and their families..
Carry on you expert and Dominant Pack Leading Alpha dog lol..NOT.. Later boy..88sins wrote:When people with no clue what they doing with an animal, take on the responsibility for that animal and intentionally remain clueless, it easier to blame the animal for it's failure than themselves for failing the animal and setting it up for failure.
Soul Collector wrote:All d nice rotts does look, I never once dared to put my hand remotely close to them to pet even though the owner reassured me that they're friendly. Nuff respect to those beasts oui.
Why were the children allowed anywhere near them? Negligence on that person's part whoever did. An innocent child and dog was lost, and for what? Carelessness? What a hard way to learn that lesson...
88sins wrote:I have no idea why, but for whatever reason I noticed a lot of kids like to tease dogs, particularly if the animal is very reactive...
People, teach your kids to leave dogs alone in their confined premises, and how to react and behave when they see a dog that they don't know.
Phone Surgeon wrote:firetruck that. Them rott does trip off. If they focus in a target they doing anything they possibly can to firetruck it up.
Be it adult, child or other dog or cat.
You realize they opened the kennel right? How much secure do you want it to be secured?VII wrote:Yeah blue dem pompeks can be different lol..
* Anyway enough of this discussion for me, I'm done here, its clear that most people agree that Rotts have serious attitude problems and are in fact very dangerous to the innocent and defenseless especially..
No regular dog ain't killing no toddler just like that, a bite maybe but not finishing off the kid like that no matter who's at fault, that wicked dog deserved to be put down and any dog I run into attacking any innocent defenseless person I will gladly put it down myself...
Secure your useless child and old lady killer dogs people..
Bye now..
Phone Surgeon wrote:The owners not at fault though.
They had their dog in their yard. And a kennel for the dog.
Is granny decide to invite guests by the people house when they not aroundFrankChag wrote:Les Bain wrote:Not a fan of big breed dogs, but this is what happens when ketch ass people want stereotypical badman dogs and lack the proper surroundings to keep it.
Those owners should be charged with manslaughter, plain and simple.
Another reason to keep a fairly large hammer in your house.
Agreed.
88sins wrote:My only question is why were those children left unsupervised with access to the animal in its kennel, when the one who suppose to be supervising them chose not to, even though she knew well enough the potential for danger and to lock up the dog?
Look at it this way.
You have a room with a loaded gun in a closed (not locked) drawer, and the children know it there, and they like to play cops and robbers, you gonna leave them to their own devices to play in that room & everything go be OK ent?
The animal paid for its actions with its life. That done, but it shouldn't be the end. The only person in the equation that is actually responsible is the one who was negligent, and hard luck for whoever don't like it, but that's the caretaker.
Dog was locked in its kennelFrankChag wrote:88sins wrote:My only question is why were those children left unsupervised with access to the animal in its kennel, when the one who suppose to be supervising them chose not to, even though she knew well enough the potential for danger and to lock up the dog?
Look at it this way.
You have a room with a loaded gun in a closed (not locked) drawer, and the children know it there, and they like to play cops and robbers, you gonna leave them to their own devices to play in that room & everything go be OK ent?
The animal paid for its actions with its life. That done, but it shouldn't be the end. The only person in the equation that is actually responsible is the one who was negligent, and hard luck for whoever don't like it, but that's the caretaker.
A human's life is not equal to an animal's life.
You're not supposed to leave your firearm in an unlocked draw. Did you pay for your FUL??
FrankChag wrote:88sins wrote:My only question is why were those children left unsupervised with access to the animal in its kennel, when the one who suppose to be supervising them chose not to, even though she knew well enough the potential for danger and to lock up the dog?
Look at it this way.
You're not supposed to leave your firearm in an unlocked draw. Did you pay for your FUL??
88sins wrote:He want it secured with the kennel welded shut, watched 24 hrs a day by two armed guards, rigged with explosives on a pressure switch, up in a 1000 foot tall tower with no steps, surrounded by a moat filled with alligators and piranha.
& he might still find that's not enough, yuh kno, cuz "dem dog does trip orf"
88sins wrote:FrankChag wrote:88sins wrote:My only question is why were those children left unsupervised with access to the animal in its kennel, when the one who suppose to be supervising them chose not to, even though she knew well enough the potential for danger and to lock up the dog?
Look at it this way.
Other than as a hat rack, what else do you use your head for? Butting down walls for a living? Cobweb storage? Echo chamber?
I gotta ask, cuz from your response you have me wondering if you really that slow or just trying to be sarcastic and failing miserably at it.
https://www.animals24-7.org/2021/09/06/why-rottweilers-are-as-deadly-as-pit-bulls/
- Since 1982, 769 Rottweilers have participated in fatal or disfiguring attacks on 385 children and 242 adults], killing 119 people (19% of their victims) and disfiguring 454.
- Among the 627 total victims, 54 (8.6%) escaped more serious injury.
- Both pit bulls and Rottweilers are about 10 times more likely to kill or disfigure someone than the average dog.
- Pit bulls, currently about 5.4% of the U.S. and Canadian dog population, account for 60% of all dog attack deaths. Rottweilers, 1.7% of the dog population, account for 12% of all dog attack deaths.
- Between them, pit bulls and Rottweilers, just 7.3% of the dog population combined, account for 72% of all human fatalities from dog attack.
VII wrote:Boy f@ck that dog !! Wtf you going on about..what happen you saw the lil picknee and feeling more for the dog now ? Man bullets for that dog or any attacking innocent and helpless people or other pets...MaxPower wrote:Sigh feeling it for that poor dog.
Really heartbreaking.
MaxPower wrote:VII wrote:Boy f@ck that dog !! Wtf you going on about..what happen you saw the lil picknee and feeling more for the dog now ? Man bullets for that dog or any attacking innocent and helpless people or other pets...MaxPower wrote:Sigh feeling it for that poor dog.
Really heartbreaking.
The owners should be stoned to death.
F@ck what dog where?
Boi run your little kant from here with your animal cruelty supporting people.
It’s sufferers like allyuh that want animals and can’t afford or just don’t care for them. Untrained, improperly housed and STINK just like your livelihood.
Sue the owners. Then the owners sue grannyFrankChag wrote:88sins wrote:FrankChag wrote:88sins wrote:My only question is why were those children left unsupervised with access to the animal in its kennel, when the one who suppose to be supervising them chose not to, even though she knew well enough the potential for danger and to lock up the dog?
Look at it this way.
Other than as a hat rack, what else do you use your head for? Butting down walls for a living? Cobweb storage? Echo chamber?
I gotta ask, cuz from your response you have me wondering if you really that slow or just trying to be sarcastic and failing miserably at it.
I'm not clear on what's triggering you:
[1] Animals < Humans
[2] Dangerous Animals are the owners' responsibility, and owners should therefore be held accountable
[3] Guns should be locked up, and/or kept on your person at all times
[4] Something else
Edit: in case someone wants to argue "the caretaker, and not the owner/s", look up Agency and Torts in law, specifically vicarious liability.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vicarious_liability
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Respondeat_superior ["Let the master answer..."]
Ripe Chenette wrote:88sins wrote:He want it secured with the kennel welded shut, watched 24 hrs a day by two armed guards, rigged with explosives on a pressure switch, up in a 1000 foot tall tower with no steps, surrounded by a moat filled with alligators and piranha.
& he might still find that's not enough, yuh kno, cuz "dem dog does trip orf"
But is the people who have their dogs in a kennel most of it life, never train or show love to the dog and feed it once every other day kinda thing, yet when it snap is a whole set of talk about the breed unstable they does trip once they taste blood they go want more setta talk getting parroted by them and people who fraid said breeds.