alfa wrote:This sounds like socialism which has failed in every corner of the world. It will create a dependency syndrome and encourage even less productivity. You mentioned people can quit more stressful jobs but then who will do said jobs. Who will pick up trash if the garbage man can get 3000 to do nothing?
hover11 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:DMan7 wrote:The government looking to extend the retirement age both for NIS and Pension because they don't have enough money and men talking about universal basic income.
You think we can't afford it? We actually can
Dohplaydat wrote:The_Honourable wrote:How do you propose UBI be implemented in T&T? Increase taxes? Reduce social programs? Rich and poor getting a check? UBI according to tiers? How much?
I'm asking because many have UBI in mind but have different ways to implement and fund such which is understandable as we dealing with diverse populations, cultures, beliefs, finances, etc.
Tell me what you think is best for Trinidad
hover11 wrote:Who paying t to fund this programme though , more shaft for the taxpayers I guess
They should rename that as it's not really a cost of living allowanceSR-B14 wrote:I remember when this was called C.O.L.A. Cost Of Living Allowance, which was paid seperately on your paystub, then it was absorbed into your salary.
hover11 wrote:They should rename that as it's not really a cost of living allowanceSR-B14 wrote:I remember when this was called C.O.L.A. Cost Of Living Allowance, which was paid seperately on your paystub, then it was absorbed into your salary.
Dizzy28 wrote:A man create a thread without defending the thread then leave it like a bastard child.
Daran still hasn't said how it can be funded only that it can.
timothymcdavid wrote:Strangely enough I was just talking to a co-worker about this in the context of what is happening in the US with their payouts to their residents (yes residents tax paying illegals getting $$$ to apparently).
We will have to seriously address this cause in essence we are already doing this through the inefficiencies in the public service and state enterprises. We have to move to this eventually cause in the near future their wont be jobs for everyone as automation, AI continues to gain ground and wages keep increasing.
How much subsidies do state enterprises like CAL, TTEC, WASA get? I am seeing between 2010-2020 about 300 billion TTD in subsidies overall.
How over staffed are these institutions?
We can afford a form of universal income if we really got serious about staffing, subsidies and collecting revenue.
Where is the revenue authority? We have too many persons not paying their taxes persons who are paying PAYE are getting hit for six and small business owners, professionals (doctors & lawyers) have you paying cash to avoid paying their fair share.
Subsidies and transfers have accounted for more than 50 per cent of the country’s annual budget between 2010 and 2020.
In ten of the 11 years between the 2010 and 2020 fiscal periods, the three administrations of that period (PNM, the former People’s Partnership, and PNM) spent or allocated to spend $301.94 billion on transfers and subsidies.
The total expenditure in that period was $578.63 billion, which means that over 52 cents of every dollar spent by the Government between the 2010 and 2020 fiscal years was allocated to transfers and subsidies.
Total transfers and subsidies were around 27b in 2019 and less in previous years.Dohplaydat wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:A man create a thread without defending the thread then leave it like a bastard child.
Daran still hasn't said how it can be funded only that it can.
I was busy hoss.timothymcdavid wrote:Strangely enough I was just talking to a co-worker about this in the context of what is happening in the US with their payouts to their residents (yes residents tax paying illegals getting $$$ to apparently).
We will have to seriously address this cause in essence we are already doing this through the inefficiencies in the public service and state enterprises. We have to move to this eventually cause in the near future their wont be jobs for everyone as automation, AI continues to gain ground and wages keep increasing.
How much subsidies do state enterprises like CAL, TTEC, WASA get? I am seeing between 2010-2020 about 300 billion TTD in subsidies overall.
How over staffed are these institutions?
We can afford a form of universal income if we really got serious about staffing, subsidies and collecting revenue.
Where is the revenue authority? We have too many persons not paying their taxes persons who are paying PAYE are getting hit for six and small business owners, professionals (doctors & lawyers) have you paying cash to avoid paying their fair share.
Thanks, so let's say we reduce it to $2000 a month for every adult between 18 and 65. That's roughly 950k adults.
This works out to be 2B a month or 24B a year.
If what timothymcdavid says is true, i.e. 300B in 10 years (which seems oddly high), that's 30B a year.
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 29100.htmlSubsidies and transfers have accounted for more than 50 per cent of the country’s annual budget between 2010 and 2020.
In ten of the 11 years between the 2010 and 2020 fiscal periods, the three administrations of that period (PNM, the former People’s Partnership, and PNM) spent or allocated to spend $301.94 billion on transfers and subsidies.
The total expenditure in that period was $578.63 billion, which means that over 52 cents of every dollar spent by the Government between the 2010 and 2020 fiscal years was allocated to transfers and subsidies.
So already you can see we can afford it there. Infact, if the 300B is correct then we could bump it up to $2500.
Eitherway, you only considering the cost, there is a lot of benefits here including a lot more tax collection via VAT, stimulating the local economy significantly which creates jobs and more wealth for everyone.
Define 'citizens'Dohplaydat wrote:Dizzy28,
Yes that's the whole idea of UBI. remove all sudsidies (except on health) and put the money in the hands of citizens instead.
Dohplaydat wrote:Dizzy28,
Yes that's the whole idea of UBI. remove all sudsidies (except on health) and put the money in the hands of citizens instead.
Ted_v2 wrote:horrible idea, too much money in the wrong hands, if i getting a extra 2k a month i looking to blow it out.
PC parts, van parts, parts for meh laurel. it comes like free money that i ain't work for so i don't really care about it.
money i work for however ,i does think more than once about spending it honestly, money that comes from my deals and transactions are easy come easy go and rarely ever hits my savings acc.
sMASH wrote:U ibis fur the economy, not the indvidual.
Some, even most will waste it, but u will get some people who will use it to innovate a lot more and a lot faster without being constrained by worrying budgeting.
Ent.There are already enough parasites on the welfare system spending money dotishBlaze d Chalice wrote:When the figure too low to support the latest Jordans and zess every single day, what you think will happen?
justheretoreadthecomments wrote:Back when I was in UWI, I did one of those "summer programmes" to assist the Min of Social Development in the revamping of the food card programme. As you may already know, this programme is... or should be targeted to persons earning in a particular income bracket. The data collection form asked about members of the household, level of education, other qualifications and earnings. What I noticed was that there are alot of persons within that economically active age group, able bodied, but are home, unemployed. Many of them had certificates or some level of training where they could be self employed but choose simply not to do so. The handouts to get food on the table was enough for them, rather than to work and get much more than bare minimum.
With that being said, when you listen to the words of economists like Thomas Sowell, who is strongly against these social protection programmes, giving free money encourages unproductivity. It lead to a rise in the dependency syndrome, and persons staying in certain situations so as maintain "qualification" for Government handouts. There's no hierarchy of needs and need for self actualization for some people, to want to achieve more. They are ok with just getting by. My view is that this should not be encouraged. Persons may find themselves in certain situations and may need some assistance, yes, but these programmes should be temporary and must be conditions based- get a job, get some sort of education etc in order to be self sufficient. I definitely do not agree with taking tax payer's money to support persons who choose to be bums. So much is already free here, there are even training programmes that pay participants to learn (like Ytepp). Go out and work.