Taste of Carnival 2022

Re: Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 19th, 2021, 10:25 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:The amount of money the government spends on carnival far exceeds that though
daring dragoon wrote:
rexsmith wrote:The PM said carnival 2022 may not happen
I go vote the red government if a law is made to ban carnival for life.

It's the downfall of this cont tree

carnival season is a big money maker from copyrite money to selling bottle water in the street. no other season in TT generates that amount of money.

Has anyone done the math? Because I routinely show in previous threads how much money is spent, circulated as well as comes in via forex for carnival. It's a lot! (in around a billion TT if you factor in money spent during the entire season). Not to mention all the music revenues and money promoters make in the other Carnivals across the caribbean.

Even if there's a small loss (which is doubtful), the fact is, Carnival is an industry that employers thousands year round! It is a vital part of our economy and something that we need to develop and grow even further.

CSO did the math and your one billion seems very way off.
Trinidad only Carnival monies would have to be TT$600M+ as visitors bring in TT$364m on average.

What about the burden to the taxpayer?
NCC by themselves received $153m for Carnival in 2019 (https://tt.loopnews.com/content/reduced ... udget-2021).
Government also pays for TTPS overtime, regional corporations have to spend to clean up, there is opportunity cost of the reduced productivity of the Carnival period.
How much foreign exchange is used to import all the Carnival necessities? Costumes, alcohol etc.

Don't hit us Gross, hit us Net figures!!!!

Capture.JPG

https://cso.gov.tt/subjects/travel-and- ... tatistics/

Postby Les Bain » August 19th, 2021, 10:31 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Even if there's a small loss (which is doubtful), the fact is, Carnival is an industry that employers thousands year round! It is a vital part of our economy and something that we need to develop and grow even further.

The Trini smartman behaviour needs to be phased out from the organizers' heads if Carnival is to regain its positivity. Purely anecdotal but even though I only care for the long weekend and not the event, Carnival eh what it was. From when I was small, to my teens to now, Carnival aimed to retain relevancy by further shoving the traditional, creative and cultural aspects to the side and embracing fast food mentality as far as events, costumes and viewer experience goes.

Also, every cnut and they cousin is photographer and videographer now, but TV coverage is boring and stagnant. If you want to see anything, you hadda wait for them forced, fake ass local YouTubers to put um something.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 10:40 am

The demand for Oil and gas is waning we need to diversify and carnival is definitely not the answer...those two days not helping our economy survive yes it's a nice tourism boost for our country all well and good but we spend more than we earn every year on it and it is simply unsustainable
Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:The amount of money the government spends on carnival far exceeds that though
daring dragoon wrote:

carnival season is a big money maker from copyrite money to selling bottle water in the street. no other season in TT generates that amount of money.

Has anyone done the math? Because I routinely show in previous threads how much money is spent, circulated as well as comes in via forex for carnival. It's a lot! (in around a billion TT if you factor in money spent during the entire season). Not to mention all the music revenues and money promoters make in the other Carnivals across the caribbean.

Even if there's a small loss (which is doubtful), the fact is, Carnival is an industry that employers thousands year round! It is a vital part of our economy and something that we need to develop and grow even further.

Postby timelapse » August 19th, 2021, 10:46 am

Will always maintain that agriculture is a major part of the way forward.Thinking solar powered indoor farming.No pests, flooding or bandits to worry about.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 10:50 am

Don't you think it's a little too late for that every year we treat agriculture like the black sheep sector of our economy in the budget....prior years we simply them the least close to 1.5 million
timelapse wrote:Will always maintain that agriculture is a major part of the way forward.Thinking solar powered indoor farming.No pests, flooding or bandits to worry about.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 10:54 am

timelapse wrote:Will always maintain that agriculture is a major part of the way forward.Thinking solar powered indoor farming.No pests, flooding or bandits to worry about.

Good idea. But carnival can and should still be part of our diversification plan.

We can be a good outsourcing hub for software development, Artificial Intelligence services, Data Analytics and Business Intelligence, engineering, financial services, and more. We have good potential in our workforce, but i see far too many wasting away in dead-end trini jobs that end up changing their work ethic.

UWI as an institution destroys a lot of our potential as well.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 10:56 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Trinidad only Carnival monies would have to be TT$600M+ as visitors bring in TT$364m on average.

NCC by themselves received $153m for Carnival in 2019 (https://tt.loopnews.com/content/reduced ... udget-2021).
Government also pays for TTPS overtime, regional corporations have to spend to clean up, there is opportunity cost of the reduced productivity of the Carnival period.
How much foreign exchange is used to import all the Carnival necessities? Costumes, alcohol etc.

Capture.JPG

Good find, but also Carnival has year-long revenues from music earnings as well and other carnival events throughout the Caribbean.

Net figures you want? Who knows, IFF there is net loss in forex our industry needs incentive to shift focus. Maybe the forex shortage with do that.

One of the many benefits of Carnival is actually the lack of government involvement, lots of good carnival entrepreneurs around

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 11:06 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

You and these made up figures. Carnival is literally a taxpayer funded party for foreign based trini/caribbean people and people attached to those groups to come here and party. Carnival affects about 2-3 months of the nation's productivity and its earnings doesn't compensate adequately enough. It is nothing more than an inconvenience to the country.

You all need to to find a way to insulate carnival and make it not affect the rest of the country. Maybe having something similar to an Olympic village aka a carnival village is the solution. But the country cannot continue to be burdened by carnival.

We haven't even got around the long term effects of it including healthcare/social costs for things such as hiv/aids, unwanted pregnancy, alcohol/substance dependency etc.

We are now in 2021. There really is no need for our population to be looking to things such as Carnival as a form of diversification. No developed or developing nation has something similar to carnival as there diversificiation strategy. It simply isn't feasible. Carnival is the direct opposite of productivity and discipline. Two things you need to develop as a country.

The only ppl who stand to benefit from an expansion of carnival are the costume makers in China.

Postby Rovin » August 19th, 2021, 11:12 am

Dohplaydat dude rel like he crapnival so e does defend it like how habit7 does do for his party ... :lol:

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 11:13 am

Let the government stop funding carnival for one year and let's see what happens can the private sector carry it no they cant
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

You and these made up figures. Carnival is literally a taxpayer funded party for foreign based trini/caribbean people and people attached to those groups to come here and party. Carnival affects about 2-3 months of the nation's productivity and its earnings doesn't compensate adequately enough. It is nothing more than an inconvenience to the country.

You all need to to find a way to insulate carnival and make it not affect the rest of the country. Maybe having something similar to an Olympic village aka a carnival village is the solution. But the country cannot continue to be burdened by carnival.

We haven't even got around the long term effects of it including healthcare/social costs for things such as hiv/aids, unwanted pregnancy, alcohol/substance dependency etc.

We are now in 2021. There really is no need for our population to be looking to things such as Carnival as a form of diversification. No developed or developing nation has something similar to carnival as there diversificiation strategy. It simply isn't feasible. Carnival is the direct opposite of productivity and discipline. Two things you need to develop as a country.

The only ppl who stand to benefit from an expansion of carnival are the costume makers in China.

Postby Rovin » August 19th, 2021, 11:14 am

^^^ ... full 100

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 11:15 am

Let the government stop funding carnival for one year and let's see what happens can the private sector carry it no they cant

Postby Habit7 » August 19th, 2021, 12:03 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Capture.JPG

Good find, but also Carnival has year-long revenues from music earnings as well and other carnival events throughout the Caribbean.

Net figures you want? Who knows, IFF there is net loss in forex our industry needs incentive to shift focus. Maybe the forex shortage with do that.

One of the many benefits of Carnival is actually the lack of government involvement, lots of good carnival entrepreneurs around

I am no participant of Carnival but you can't ignore it as a major stimulator of the economy. If govt just spends less than $200M and we get increase tourist arrivals, employment, forex from CAL and tourist services, COTT royalties plus locals temporarily working in Miami, NYC, Toronto, London and the Caribbean it certainly can't be a loss.

It is just that ppl like myself who don't participate in Carnival see the negatives like the social distress and crime that would like for it to stop. But I believe in capitalism and freedom and if the electorate wants it let them have it. You cant keep crying we need to diversify and shooting down all the viable diversification options. We need to be in everything and those that survive will float to the top.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 12:07 pm

Diversification does not mean depend on two days of debauchery.....we should follow Singapore now there was diversity
Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Capture.JPG

I am no participant of Carnival but you can't ignore it as a major stimulator of the economy. If govt just spends less than $200M and we get increase tourist arrivals, employment, forex from CAL and tourist services, COTT royalties plus locals temporarily working in Miami, NYC, Toronto, London and the Caribbean it certainly can't be a loss.

It is just that ppl like myself who don't participate in Carnival see the negatives like the social distress and crime that would like for it to stop. But I believe in capitalism and freedom and if the electorate wants it let them have it. You cant keep crying we need to diversify and shooting down all the viable diversification options. We need to be in everything and those that survive will float to the top.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 12:11 pm

I feel most of these carnival haters are simply those who don't participate. You all can't appreciate it, I've partied all over the world, nothing compares to Carnival.

It's not simply the 2 days on the road. It's an entire season of planning creating jobs and opportunities for thousands, sparking lots of creativity and entrepreneurism.

It is one of the few things we do right in Trinidad. Carnival has immense potential, pre-2020 carnival was growing every year, not just in Trinidad but all across the Caribbean.

If Trinidad gives up on Carnival like you naysayers want to, it'll be taken by the other islands who make mas (money) with it.

Carnival also causes a tremendous interest in health and fitness, you think all the sexy gyal you see on the road are alcoholics or the mampees mining 6 children?

All you all do is look at the negatives without seeing the benefits. Nothing wrong if part of our diversification plan is creating a party industry. In fact, that is something many have advocated for years.

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 12:16 pm

We going on two years now with no carnival we will survive

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 12:19 pm

You keep saying jobs. But selling bottle water and chicken and fries outside a fete is not something we should ever encourage our citizens to rely upon. Neither is holding a rope to keep the undesirables out. Those are not "jobs". We need more long term sustainable employment. The fact that alot of those low level jobs are done by locals shows how undeveloped we truly are as a people.

You all want to party all year round whilst contributing minimally both economically and socially to the country. Then we wonder why Singapore and China could develop within a generation.

Who cares if the other islands take carnival? Most of them only purpose in life is to serve white tourists and people drinks and food on a beach. They are nations filled with bellboys and chamber maids. Carnival will actually be an improvement for them.

Sad

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 12:38 pm

Redress10 wrote:You keep saying jobs. But selling bottle water and chicken and fries outside a fete is not something we should ever encourage our citizens to rely upon. Neither is holding a rope to keep the undesirables out. Those are not "jobs". We need more long term sustainable employment. The fact that alot of those low level jobs are done by locals shows how undeveloped we truly are as a people.

You all want to party all year round whilst contributing minimally both economically and socially to the country. Then we wonder why Singapore and China could develop within a generation.

Who cares if the other islands take carnival? Most of them only purpose in life is to serve white tourists and people drinks and food on a beach. They are nations filled with bellboys and chamber maids. Carnival will actually be an improvement for them.

Sad

Dude we can have both. Some of the most successful educated people I know are the ones who playing mas. They contribute a lot to society, both locally and internationally.

The keyword is BOTH, Carnival has a place. It's frivolity yes, but a damn good one that's safe and worth the money.

And again, you only look at the negatives. Most of those people holding rope and selling fries have other jobs, this is a side gig for them. A bartender and rope man I know has two daughters in law school.

You need to stop with your CXC level understanding of economics and realize it's a complex organism with room for many sources of income. You want to be like Singapore and push everybody into academics? Not everyone is cut out for that. Do you not think artists, musicians, chefs, authors, movie makers have a place in the economy.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 12:46 pm

Show me a soca artiste who is internationally aclaimed?

Show me hundreds of foreign students coming to TT to learn about creativity, innovation and carnival.

I'm waiting. You really boasting about rope men holding rope to put their children through school? That is the best use of their skill set? Holding a rope? If those rope jobs so good then why is it only black people holding rope for carnival?

Question. What are the ethnic composition of the people whp own the mas bands, alcohol supply companies, music trucks, etc in Trinidad?

Can we get a ethnic breakdown as to who benefits economically in TT for carnival?

If carnival so successful then howcome it doesn't exist as a diversification strategy all over the world?

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Pushing ppl into academics is a bad thing now, hmmm guess Cuba had a bad idea , even though they have the best nurses and doctors, teachers. Cuba literally had no natural resources and worked on their human resource, you want to use our human resource as ........carnival ppl? That's ridiculous, it is true not everyone is cut out for academics that's all well and fine , we have vocational studies to help those Learn a trade and fend for themselves. If your plan when oil and gas runs out is to become a carnival country that will surely fail , we need something sustainable and not this nonsensical whim of party all day and night that doesn't drive an economy
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:You keep saying jobs. But selling bottle water and chicken and fries outside a fete is not something we should ever encourage our citizens to rely upon. Neither is holding a rope to keep the undesirables out. Those are not "jobs". We need more long term sustainable employment. The fact that alot of those low level jobs are done by locals shows how undeveloped we truly are as a people.

Sad

Dude we can have both. Some of the most successful educated people I know are the ones who playing mas. They contribute a lot to society, both locally and internationally.

The keyword is BOTH, Carnival has a place. It's frivolity yes, but a damn good one that's safe and worth the money.

And again, you only look at the negatives. Most of those people holding rope and selling fries have other jobs, this is a side gig for them. A bartender and rope man I know has two daughters in law school.

You need to stop with your CXC level understanding of economics and realize it's a complex organism with room for many sources of income. You want to be like Singapore and push everybody into academics? Not everyone is cut out for that. Do you not think artists, musicians, chefs, authors, movie makers have a place in the economy.
Last edited by hover11 on August 19th, 2021, 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » August 19th, 2021, 12:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

All dis money and we still a banana Republic rats arse

You proud of dat?

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 12:50 pm

Zoom what ever happened to lifesport money let's not go there both parties squandered
Dohplaydat wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

All dis money and we still a banana Republic rats arse

You proud of dat?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 1:03 pm

Redress10 wrote:Show me a soca artiste who is internationally aclaimed? Machel, Kes, Desta, Nessa Preppy are all played on radio in London, Canada, Miami and NY.

But there is definitely A LOT more room to grow for soca as it has massive potential.

Show me hundreds of foreign students coming to TT to learn about creativity, innovation and carnival.
Lots of Caribbean entrepreneurs learn from T&T, it's not something that necessarily needs an academic institution.

I'm waiting. You really boasting about rope men holding rope to put their children through school? That is the best use of their skill set? Holding a rope? If those rope jobs so good then why is it only black people holding rope for carnival?

Question. What are the ethnic composition of the people whp own the mas bands, alcohol supply companies, music trucks, etc in Trinidad?

Mostly white and indo, but it's very diverse, no one race dominates.

Can we get a ethnic breakdown as to who benefits economically in TT for carnival?
I'd say all.

If carnival so successful then howcome it doesn't exist as a diversification strategy all over the world?

But it is. Carnivals are springing up all over the world where there is a large Caribbean diaspora, the big ones include Miami, Toronto, and of course London, which is MASSIVE and basically plays 90% Trini soca all day.

As a worldwide event, only Rio de Janeiro's carnival in Brazil ranks ahead of Notting Hill in size.

According to the London Development Agency, it contributes up to £93m a year to the city's economy and supports the equivalent of 3,000 full-time jobs.

bbc.co.uk/news/business-14572389

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 1:06 pm

Dpd really believe what he saying or he trolling?

Before directing these people into areas that can help them sustain themselves for the future he want to turn ppl good good children into soca singers and wire benders? To be the next what? Nailah, Patrice or Nessa? That is your idea of ambition? We can't even say the next Beyonce because Beyonce's talent brings billions of dollars into the economy of USA from global sources.

We need people in the areas of food technology, water management, development economics, healthcare, infrastructural development, public transportation, crime and defence, telecommunications etc. All these areas we are desperately in need of expertise but you want to encourage ppl to "hold rope" and wire bend just so you could get ya cheap frolics and see a lil reds in a thong partner?

That is what you call diversification and something that needs to be expanded upon? Carnival shows how lazy and mentally stunted trinis have become. The costumes aint even original anymore. The music is sh*t so it could only sell to caribbean people.

Man even gone so far as to say academica aint for everybody.
Last edited by Redress10 on August 19th, 2021, 1:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 1:06 pm

hover11 wrote:Pushing ppl into academics is a bad thing now, hmmm guess Cuba had a bad idea , even though they have the best nurses and doctors, teachers. Cuba literally had no natural resources and worked on their human resource, you want to use our human resource as ........carnival ppl? That's ridiculous, it is true not everyone is cut out for academics that's all well and fine , we have vocational studies to help those Learn a trade and fend for themselves. If your plan when oil and gas runs out is to become a carnival country that will surely fail , we need something sustainable and not this nonsensical whim of party all day and night that doesn't drive an economy

The plan is all, we keep up Carnival and try to grow it. Set up a committee that evaluates every season and does a proper post mortem on all the sticking areas. We need to continue to grow and make it more accessible to bring in more and more tourists.

Simultaneously, we need to evolve our agri sector, but most importantly grow our IT/Software/Financial Services sector. We are sticking badly there and we have so many talented resources just wasting away.

Postby MaxPower » August 19th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Why are you Trinis even thinking of Carnival IN a pandemic?

Yunno if allyuh could be responsible at least and follow the protocols then great, let’s get the show on the road.

But no, play the d ass to play d ass.

Do allyuh do.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 19th, 2021, 1:13 pm

Redress10 wrote:Dpd really believe what he saying or he trolling?

Before directing these people into areas that can help them sustain themselves for the future he want to turn ppl good good children into soca singers and wire benders? To be the next what? Nailah, Patrice or Nessa? That is your idea of ambition? We can't even say the next Beyonce because Beyonce's talent brings billions of dollars into the economy of USA from global sources.

We need people in the areas of food technology, water management, development economics, healthcare, infrastructural development, public transportation, crime and defence, telecommunications etc. All these areas we are desperately in need of expertise but you want to encourage ppl to "hold rope" and wire bend just so you could get ya cheap frolics and see a lil reds in a thong partner?

That is what you call diversification and something that needs to be expanded upon? Carnival shows how lazy and mentally stunted trinis have become. The costumes aint even original anymore. The music is sh*t so it could only sell to caribbean people.

Chill dude, we can all do both. And now you just a listing sector without even knowing anything about them. We need people in telecoms? Why is the telecom sector as an employer probably shrunk by more than 100% or more in the last 10 years?

TSTT had 4000 employees in 2010, now they down to below 1500. Digi and Flow also cut staff too as well as many contractors.

Did you even consider software engineering and other tech industries? Or are you still stuck with a 70s CXC econ text book?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 1:23 pm

Carnivals springing up all over the world has nothing to do with export. Most of those things are run by 1st 2nd and 3rd generation caribbean people and are patronised by such. Most people who come to TT for carnival are already familiar with the country via family or having parents etc born here. So they would have visited regardless. We still are not gaining unique visitors who see a carnival ad and decide to be a part of the festivities etc. That is what true tourism is. Carnival simply isn't as popular as you would like to think.

Being played on a radio in a foreign country isn't the same as being internationally acclaimed. Can a soca artiste go on tour and sell out arenas upwards of 50k people a night for half a year etc is what you are aiming for. Are soca artists being offered label deals and features with other international artists? Most artists who perform at the 02 sell out within 15 mins. Can a soca artist fill the O2 for a show?

Most locals hate Nottinghill Carnival. It doesn't belong to their neighbourhood and culture yet it burdens them. Each year they complain about it. Wouldn't be surprised if it is moved or abolished altogether.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » August 19th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Dpd really believe what he saying or he trolling?

Chill dude, we can all do both. And now you just a listing sector without even knowing anything about them. We need people in telecoms? Why is the telecom sector as an employer probably shrunk by more than 100% or more in the last 10 years?

TSTT had 4000 employees in 2010, now they down to below 1500. Digi and Flow also cut staff too as well as many contractors.

Did you even consider software engineering and other tech industries? Or are you still stuck with a 70s CXC econ text book?

Are you stupid? I am talking about skillsets to solve the problems that we are facing as a county. You are the one who is talking about software engineering and tech. Those things are heavily math influenced. Do you even know what the math pass rate is in TT? Are you going to compete with the countries such as India, Singapore and China in the areas of Math? Do you even know just how far ahead their children are in those areas?

Postby hover11 » August 19th, 2021, 1:27 pm

Dohplaydat you speak of forex earned during carnival season, how many foreigners really spend down here....they don't make large investments to the country it is to the band leaders pockets who spend their money else where that money doesn't stay in Trinidad....How many foreigners spend money in a hotel vs those that spend the two days by their families or friends....these two days do not add a significant portion to our GDP show me otherwise