Stricter rules for Not transferring of vehicles

Re: Stricter rules for Not transferring of vehicles

Postby Kenjo » July 9th, 2021, 6:01 pm

What happens if you shout at them in licensing office without cussing or using insulting language ?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 9th, 2021, 6:20 pm

security will ask you to leave and you will get nothing done

hindian

Postby hindian » July 9th, 2021, 7:06 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
redmanjp wrote:but what if u transfer and LO didn't update their system? is u to ketch with a quarter million fine?

happened with me in caroni 2 years ago. Realised the online system just wasnt updating. Went in one day with my receipts, the old certified copy and photocopies of everything including the bill of sale.

It took about an hour of going from desk to desk, counter to counter, people just pointing fingers and saying is he, is she to talk to.

Eventually got through and the next day it was updated.
Same time, same situation and same place as well. Bought a vehicle from someone and when I went to transfer they saying that the dude who sold me the vehicle is not the registered owner. Turns out that he transferred the vehicle in south and the records weren't updated. They tell me to come back in a week. I got through eventually.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 10th, 2021, 6:37 am

S_2NR wrote:
daxt0r wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Sold a vehicle but licensing office closed and cannot transfer... i guess they must have a moritorium befoe iplementing fines.

same ting goin on with me an now i tryin to hail d person an cya get them for nothin.
What ah could do in situations like dis file a stolen car report or smth?

umm, why would you report the car stolen when it wasnt stolen? :roll:

no no not sayin i will just tryin to contemplate a way to get the vehicle (and several others) off my name as i don't have contact with the individuals any more, heck one ah dem even ded. Is it possible to write off the vehicle at LO as the legal owner?

VII

Postby VII » July 10th, 2021, 11:41 am

So are they gonna revamp the impotent transport board also who can't even seem to proceess the transfer of a class 5 vehicle without a bribe and a setta shyte ?

Postby hover11 » July 10th, 2021, 12:09 pm

As long as insurance companies keep giving coverage to people that are not registered owners of the vehicles this will always be a problem

Postby supercharged turbo » July 10th, 2021, 12:17 pm

If L.O. could transfer a vehicle in a reasonable time frame rather than making you take a whole day off from work and you being able to get your certified copy the same day rather than coming back 2 weeks later,the system will continue to be plagued with rampant corruption

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 10th, 2021, 3:52 pm

Contract out LO and pay non government workers on performance and you will see how fast and polite service is. As it stands the wrong people are employed there and it's rotten to the core .

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 10th, 2021, 5:29 pm

hover11 wrote:As long as insurance companies keep giving coverage to people that are not registered owners of the vehicles this will always be a problem

They would lose a lot of customers if they didn't.

Postby Chimera » July 10th, 2021, 5:37 pm

I think there's a process to go to license office and inform them that you are no longer the registered owner and you have exhausted all attempts to get the vehicles transferred. I think you have to do an affidavit and lodge it with license office. So if any sheit happen you covered.
daxt0r wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
daxt0r wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Sold a vehicle but licensing office closed and cannot transfer... i guess they must have a moritorium befoe iplementing fines.

same ting goin on with me an now i tryin to hail d person an cya get them for nothin.

no no not sayin i will just tryin to contemplate a way to get the vehicle (and several others) off my name as i don't have contact with the individuals any more, heck one ah dem even ded. Is it possible to write off the vehicle at LO as the legal owner?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 10th, 2021, 7:29 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I think there's a process to go to license office and inform them that you are no longer the registered owner and you have exhausted all attempts to get the vehicles transferred. I think you have to do an affidavit and lodge it with license office. So if any sheit happen you covered.
daxt0r wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
daxt0r wrote:

thx bro, ah will find out from LO as they reopening next week about that option.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 11th, 2021, 1:05 am

Licensing office should offer online certified copy applications like what registrar general is doing for birth and marriage certificates.

Pay and it mailed to you in a few days.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 11th, 2021, 9:05 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Licensing office should offer online certified copy applications like what registrar general is doing for birth and marriage certificates.

Pay and it mailed to you in a few days.
Boi
This will be so nice eh...

I got thru with 2x marriage, 2 x birth for me and wifey from the RGD
In less than a 1 week for just $179, delivered to my doorstep (literally doorstep)
For me, that was worth more than going POS or Arima and waiting in a line to get same

Postby *KRONIK* » July 11th, 2021, 9:08 am

Another thing.....
Ppl need to be wary of owner's CC
Always get the info before and verify via the online system.

Sometimes the owner has a CC, but its not in the system, so when you go to transfer, one set of problems.

If the car's info is available online, then kost likely its on the system, making the transfer process easier.

Postby hover11 » July 11th, 2021, 9:22 am

What they need to do is make it available online in such a way where you can pay with your credit card , then a scanned copy of the certified copy is emailed to you in one to two working days....simple

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 11th, 2021, 11:12 am

VII wrote:So are they gonna *revamp the impotent* transport board

I admire your use of the English language... are we related?

(Haha jus kiksin eh)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 11th, 2021, 11:24 am

As long as license office continue to close fuh lunch....nothing will change. LO should be treated like petrotrin or wasa

VII

Postby VII » July 11th, 2021, 8:39 pm

Linguistics has always been a pet of mine.. :wink:

viedcht wrote:
VII wrote:So are they gonna *revamp the impotent* transport board

I admire your use of the English language... are we related?

(Haha jus kiksin eh)

Postby *KRONIK* » July 12th, 2021, 7:51 am

hover11 wrote:What they need to do is make it available online in such a way where you can pay with your credit card , then a scanned copy of the certified copy is emailed to you in one to two working days....simple
We can only dream

mad

Postby mad » July 14th, 2021, 5:00 pm

As we on this topic, some advise needed here,

I sold a car to a police partner a long time ago (prob 15 years), he then sold it after to god knows who without telling me, then that person apparently sold it afterwards. So at present I don't know who has my vehicle which is still under my name.
I have been told to just de-register the vehicle.

Any other advise?

Postby *KRONIK* » July 14th, 2021, 5:52 pm

Happened to me about 10years ago too
With a police from right here on trinituner

I sold him a car that needed some repairs and he said "we go transfer in 2weeks when i sort out the car"
Man disappear
Sold the car
I lost contact with everybody as no-one was answering any of the numbers i had.
I was advised to write the transport commissioner about the situation and as such indemnify myself from any future problems (if they arise)
Luckily, 4years after and 5 "owners" in between, someone left my number on the CC and they then "owner" called me and asked me to transfer.
We met at LO and transfered the car some time within a week.

My advice, write the Transport comissioner and inform him and LO of the situation.

mad wrote:As we on this topic, some advise needed here,

I sold a car to a police partner a long time ago (prob 15 years), he then sold it after to god knows who without telling me, then that person apparently sold it afterwards. So at present I don't know who has my vehicle which is still under my name.
I have been told to just de-register the vehicle.

Any other advise?

Postby Chimera » July 14th, 2021, 10:01 pm

yup...once you formally inform License Office of the situation, any sheit happens you safe.

if it real bothering you , you can do a standard letter and send it to all the insurance companies with your Certified Copy (showing the vehicle is on your name) and contact info and email it to ALL the insurance companies and tell them the scene
They will cancel the person insurance and tell them to call you

mad

Postby mad » July 15th, 2021, 4:44 pm

Thanks for the Advise. Will do a report through their website first.

dogg

Postby dogg » April 19th, 2022, 12:27 pm

What's the process to transfer a vehicle to a family member, with no cash changing hands?

Basically gifting the car.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 19th, 2022, 12:28 pm

same as a regular transfer, but knowing LO you might still need a receipt. Make a receipt for $1.

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2022, 12:32 pm

do a receipt for a few thousand still....

dogg

Postby dogg » April 19th, 2022, 12:45 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:same as a regular transfer, but knowing LO you might still need a receipt. Make a receipt for $1.

The insured valued is $225,000.
Would that matter?
what would the transfer fee be based on?
Its a 5 year old vehicle.

Postby Kenjo » April 19th, 2022, 12:57 pm

dogg wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:same as a regular transfer, but knowing LO you might still need a receipt. Make a receipt for $1.

Would that matter?

Should not but for tax purposes just put a price . Licensing most likely will insist on receipt. You don’t want any hiccoughs there and remember to walk with your utility bill as advices by their website

Postby Chimera » April 19th, 2022, 12:58 pm

i feel you gonna get some problems there with that value vehicle being transferred as a "gift"

license officers is pest

do a receipt for 180k and let the person receiving the gift write a cheque for 180k

just tear up the cheque after

this is just for the purpose of license office

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 19th, 2022, 1:30 pm

dogg wrote:

Would that matter?

Transfer fees are based on Year of Registration (not manufacuture)