Republic Online Banking

fokhan_96

Re: Republic Online Banking

Postby fokhan_96 » July 5th, 2021, 12:56 pm

Why is it that local websites always crash when there is more than usual traffic? Is it that they too cheap to pay for better servers?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2021, 1:29 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Why is it that local websites always crash when there is more than usual traffic? Is it that they too cheap to pay for better servers?

Depends.

Some services are not on elastic infrastructure and can't automatically scale to meet sudden surge in demands. They may provision hardware up to a fixed multiple of their usual load to cater for burst scenarios - but this is not 100% bulletproof.

Even autoscaling environments may come with a hard cap, because you pay as more virtual hardware is provisioned and you don't want a DDOS attack giving you a monthly bill that's 10-50X your normal billing because of a spiralling provisioning to meet the fake demand.

It's usually a matter of running as lean as you can and catering for the 99% use case.
The 1% exception rule will get more attention when sheit breaks though.

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2021, 2:18 pm

Whoever coded that app should be made to repay any and all monies spent by republic on it.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » July 5th, 2021, 2:29 pm

I think we all living in this country long enough to know that republic bank would just offer a heart felt apology to all its customers. To all that suffered inconvenience today well that's just a hard luck scene. By this time next week we would all forget about this.
wagonrunner wrote:Whoever coded that app should be made to repay any and all monies spent by republic on it.

abducted

Postby abducted » July 5th, 2021, 2:33 pm

d12c74c6-0ba6-447b-93e2-b7addb0c9cd0.jpg

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 5th, 2021, 3:19 pm

abducted wrote:
d12c74c6-0ba6-447b-93e2-b7addb0c9cd0.jpg
This annoying, I get to login this morning, set a new password, setup the secret question and answer, gone to enter the answer and get lock out, call them at 9 this morning, the say they'll send the email to reset the question and unlock it, nothing whole day, call back this evening, Stay on hold for 20mins, the woman say my user not locked, I tell she I now try it and it say it locked, she tell me to go to the unlock user part where you hadda put in your password. When I do that it saying the user cannot be unlocked, to contact the bank. So now I hadda try and call them back again, or maybe I'll take screenshots and email them yes.

Real failure with this launch yes

Postby Les Bain » July 5th, 2021, 3:30 pm

WOFT update is wasting my time.
First, it took a long time to enter all the requested info.
Second, when I got to the home screen it flashed me a long aplhanumeric code with the instruction to contact the bank. Simply clicked home, got there, then logged out.
After logging off, it flashed another alphanumeric code.
What was wrong with the old site, people was losing the ID Secure cards too often?

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » July 5th, 2021, 3:36 pm

The catch with setting up the SMS or push notifications is that you need to enter your USER ID at the top of the page when you enter the code.
Caught me a number of times before I realized.
Once you enter your USER ID, the confirm button gets enabled.
Last edited by 2WNBoost on July 5th, 2021, 3:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby toyolink » July 5th, 2021, 3:41 pm

In the middle of a period of significant operational dislocation now come this!
I really wonder about what motivates service providers in our domain.
Yes upgrades come with some unforeseen challenges but given our existing circumstances couldn't we be spared this torture until things settled down a bit.
We are certainly not in 'a business as usual condition' for those who have been asleep since October2019.
Today must be one where cussing and swearing is at a high.

2WNBoost

Republic Online Banking

Postby 2WNBoost » July 5th, 2021, 3:50 pm

The enrolment process is one where you need to pay attention to what you are doing.
The error messages could be more useful to get you back on track though.
Last edited by 2WNBoost on July 5th, 2021, 3:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby wagonrunner » July 5th, 2021, 3:50 pm

Comeptent providers exhaustively test changes before they are put into the prodcution environement.
That obviously did not happen here.as evidenced by the most basic of requirements not working

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 5th, 2021, 5:54 pm

So is it up and running now, or are they still having issues?

Getting to a point where the website login asks me to sync with the app on my mobile device, but the QR code not coming up.

Wondering if it's just me and something I did wrong, or if others getting the same issue?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2021, 5:56 pm

I locked out and can't self-service reset/unlock because of reasons known only to RBL, Terrence Mammy and God.

Postby *KRONIK* » July 5th, 2021, 6:00 pm

Sames
VexXx Dogg wrote:I locked out and can't self-service reset/unlock because of reasons known only to RBL, Terrence Mammy and God.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 5th, 2021, 6:04 pm

Laughs FCB-illy at the malarky in here!!!!

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 5th, 2021, 6:15 pm

I thought it was me alone. Honestly felt I was doing something wrong. Decided to check here to see if it was just me or a system issue.

The MFA option is a failure. They have not updated all my data. If this was a small company these issues may be forgiven BUT they are a large profitable company a big cutover like this should have been managed better.

RBL is making a lot of rookie mistakes with this rollout.

Postby rollingstock » July 5th, 2021, 6:37 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Sames
VexXx Dogg wrote:I locked out and can't self-service reset/unlock because of reasons known only to RBL, Terrence Mammy and God.

And you can't even access from a browser.
I going and buy a new mattress to keep my money

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 5th, 2021, 6:45 pm

triniboi49 wrote:I thought it was me alone. Honestly felt I was doing something wrong. Decided to check here to see if it was just me or a system issue.

The MFA option is a failure. They have not updated all my data. If this was a small company these issues may be forgiven BUT they are a large profitable company a big cutover like this should have been managed better.

RBL is making a lot of rookie mistakes with this rollout.

Well once is not me alone :lol: :lol:

Will try another day. Thankfully I don't have any urgent transactions to make...

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 5th, 2021, 6:55 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Laughs FCB-illy at the malarky in here!!!!

I wonder if FCB even aware how fcuked up their "new" app is. Months now ppl cyah login.

eitech

Postby eitech » July 5th, 2021, 8:41 pm

NR8 wrote:

I wonder if FCB even aware how fcuked up their "new" app is. Months now ppl cyah login.

You doh realise they upgraded the app? I was in a similar position then when i called i was informed. It’s a different app

Postby matr1x » July 5th, 2021, 9:29 pm

Real ppl at work was struggling with it. QQ

Postby X_Factor » July 5th, 2021, 9:37 pm

even if i try to log in using my laptop i have to re enter passwords/info
but i am not getting the SMS sent to my phone that has a code to enter

Postby rollingstock » July 5th, 2021, 10:20 pm

I completely blocked now, even the secret question.

Sure if I try to have sex with my wife tonight Republic Bank go block that too.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2021, 10:23 pm

rollingstock wrote:I completely blocked now, even the secret question.

Sure if I try to have sex with my wife tonight Republic Bank go block that too.

yup, I'm blocked. Sent an email since lunchtime, nothing yet.

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 6th, 2021, 1:42 am

eitech wrote:
NR8 wrote:

You doh realise they upgraded the app? I was in a similar position then when i called i was informed. It’s a different app

Check the reviews. Apparently upgraded app does not work.
Screenshot_20210706-014016_Google%20Play%20Store.jpeg

Postby st7 » July 6th, 2021, 2:15 am

hmm i always use FCB's app without any issues.

Postby j.o.e » July 6th, 2021, 3:17 am

st7 wrote:hmm i always use FCB's app without any issues.

Same

death365

Postby death365 » July 6th, 2021, 7:59 am

30 mins waiting for a answer .... only music and your call is important to us

Postby Dave » July 6th, 2021, 8:23 am

Did a forget password and all works now

death365