Herbal alternatives to antidepressants.

Re: Herbal alternatives to antidepressants.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 2nd, 2021, 9:48 pm

If OP wanna use Weed for therapy

Stay away from sativas FR. It will just make you overthink sheit with your effed up thought patterns, and you will get anxiety :lol:

Get a high CBD Indica boy howdy. But bmt, with the weed route, most people tend to abuse it.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » July 2nd, 2021, 10:12 pm

Actually vegetarianism has been found NOT to alter testosterone levels besides I check it with my annual blood tests, it is in decline but in normal range for age.

As for cannabis trust me I've tried it all. I use to make my own tinctures i also used several medical grade lab tested (from carliforna dispensary) I think the brand was raw garden, don't get me wrong it works but dosages required to be effective do not allow me to work normally.

There was a particular strain dojo kush I believe which was designed for body chill with little to no head vibes, that was the closest I came to a solution using cannabis.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 3rd, 2021, 12:59 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Check this twitter thread for more info on Mg aka swagnesium:
https://twitter.com/AlliNutrition/statu ... 9156481026

Man say swagnesium oui. I never gonna look at that vitamin the same now :lol: :lol:

All I thought at the time was that it may help with sleeping and stress problems. Didn't know how much it could play a part in active workouts. Good info on that thread.

As for cannabis, man - if you got some good local, not all the high grade local that around now...you could smoke and function like a hero. Razor sharp focus, tunnel vision, no "down" feeling, just a clear and clean head to push through.

Postby timelapse » July 3rd, 2021, 4:18 pm

Not smoking, drops.There is a difference.Google linalool
mero wrote:
timelapse wrote:Correct.Different terpenes have different effects, therefore different strains will have different effects.
If you need sleep, I would recommend lavender tea, or melatonin pills.
For cannabis, Amnesia Haze or Dos-si- dos
Rockram wrote:Recently tried "Ashwaghada" an ancient chineese/ Indian herbal supplement which I must say is very effective, has anyone tried any others with success, BTW staying away from THC/CBD which ARE effective but MAKE ME less functional/sleepy....

Probably because you either using the wrong type of herb, in the wrong amounts, or the wrong way, or a combination of all 3. As the man said, the dosage is the poison. Low dose tinctures work extremely well from what I have been told.
Another thing, bad sleep patterns and a diet lacking in key nutrients can wreak havoc on your body and mind. One trick to improve sleep, do your exercises in the evenings, and turn off all screens an hour before you go to bed.

Hope you gt
Amnesia haze is a heavy leaning sativa. Definitely not a good recommendation for sleep

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2021, 12:50 am

Soul Collector wrote:

Man say swagnesium oui. I never gonna look at that vitamin the same now :lol: :lol:

All I thought at the time was that it may help with sleeping and stress problems. Didn't know how much it could play a part in active workouts. Good info on that thread.

As for cannabis, man - if you got some good local, not all the high grade local that around now...you could smoke and function like a hero. Razor sharp focus, tunnel vision, no "down" feeling, just a clear and clean head to push through.

I have a nephew that does mechanical work, jed, the worst thing is for he to smoke a local.
D boi does get a lil too focused. Seen him clean the underside of a vehicle by hand after he changed cradles on a car, cuz according to him, if d cradles lookin clean and new the rest supposed to look new too. He clean from shocks go down.

I not sure if or how anything that can have a person that focused on the tiniest of details will affect sleep in a positive way. But only thing I can say is that he does over function.
BTW, don't interrupt him when he in that zone. He will trip.

Postby timelapse » July 4th, 2021, 7:16 am

In my experience, if your night sleep being affected, you need to focus all your energy on the early half of the day, and correct your circadian rhythm.
Lots of things will trigger insomnia, stress, phone lights ,tv, anxiety.
When I used to work late shifts, my body clock was in a mess.
The temporary fix from a doctor was half of a serolux tablet , every day for ten days at 10:00 pm.This was to stabilize the time that my body produces seratotin .My waking up became consistent, and I mean wide awake and ready to go.I also started exercising a lot more around this time.
Eventually I found other ways to keep my sleep cycle normal.
Question OP, besides the anxiety and insomnia, do you have other symptoms such as muscle loss, hair loss, strange body odours, itchy skin etc?

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 4th, 2021, 9:18 pm

OP

Wais d update baiiiii

Everything cool?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 5th, 2021, 1:36 pm

Soul Collector wrote:

I have a nephew that does mechanical work, jed, the worst thing is for he to smoke a local.
D boi does get a lil too focused. Seen him clean the underside of a vehicle by hand after he changed cradles on a car, cuz according to him, if d cradles lookin clean and new the rest supposed to look new too. He clean from shocks go down.

I not sure if or how anything that can have a person that focused on the tiniest of details will affect sleep in a positive way. But only thing I can say is that he does over function.
BTW, don't interrupt him when he in that zone. He will trip.

LOOOL ... I can so relate to that eh. If you already have some OCD tendencies or are one of those people who MUST complete a task once started, then yeah, a good local can amplify those things with that level of focus. But you eh gonna rest easy until you satisfied with the job. If anyone interrupts in a non constructive manner, yuh might get a hurry "hush yuh mc nuh" accompanied by a death stare.

That's definitely not the best thing to help you sleep tho. If anything it will level off your head if you had smoke some grade before. But that's all a lot of people smoke, they run far from kush or any high grade. Too much dohtish feeling.

Postby De Dragon » July 5th, 2021, 2:09 pm

timelapse wrote:In my experience, if your night sleep being affected, you need to focus all your energy on the early half of the day, and correct your circadian rhythm.
Lots of things will trigger insomnia, stress, phone lights ,tv, anxiety.
When I used to work late shifts, my body clock was in a mess.
The temporary fix from a doctor was half of a serolux tablet , every day for ten days at 10:00 pm.This was to stabilize the time that my body produces seratotin .My waking up became consistent, and I mean wide awake and ready to go.I also started exercising a lot more around this time.
Eventually I found other ways to keep my sleep cycle normal.
Question OP, besides the anxiety and insomnia, do you have other symptoms such as muscle loss, hair loss, strange body odours, itchy skin etc?

Every week rolling 12 hour shift divided between days/nights will royally fack you up.
Put down your phone 2 hours before sleep.
Keep room cool as comfortable for you, using fan/A/C or combination of both.
Blackout curtains
Same for the TV, none for 2 hours prior to sleep.
No coffee 4 hours before sleep.
Run all children from around your room.
No alcohol for at least 2 hours before sleep.
Everyone is different, but I abhor even the thought of drugs, natural or otherwise, to sleep.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 6th, 2021, 10:21 pm

To add to De Dragon:

-If you bathe with hot water, turn it off for the last few mins you are bathing to cool down yourself. One time I took a steaming hot shower for a long time and I catch arse to sleep cuz it was making hot that night too.
Better yet if you can go with a full cold shower.

-Also waatch what you eat. No big meals that will spike ur bloodsugar/pressure/hormones. Also keep it higher in protein. Def no sugar.

-Limit music/porn/videogames/scrolling social media. Depression could also be dopamine desensitization too. Take a tolerance break if needed (cut porn for sure tho)

zorced

Postby zorced » July 7th, 2021, 1:29 pm

Struggled with this for years. The severity of it hinged on how well I slept, so I tackled insomnia first to get out of the vicious cycle. I had to try to go from night owl to early bird.

End the day with light stretches and four-square breathing (Navy approved), start the day with an intense sweat and cold shower.
Avoid late meals. Wind down early and avoid drama. Try to save those things for the daytime. One spike of adrenaline and cortisol could set you back an hour or worse if it's something you start to hyperfocus on.

Sounds like some of you all came to similar conclusions. *e-bonx*
Once you come out of the vicious cycle, you are able to actually make progress with the root-cause.

Regarding MJ, low-THC strains sound like a plan. If you have regular harder stuff then just remember less is more unless you are sensitized. Also, not all sativa are high-THC (e.g. Harlequin).

Good luck all.
Last edited by zorced on July 7th, 2021, 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby timelapse » July 7th, 2021, 1:50 pm

Sativa for the morning.Fix your wake cycle

Rockram

Postby Rockram » July 13th, 2021, 12:35 pm

DIAGNOSED with Hyperthyroidism yesterday.

ruffneck_12 wrote:OP

Wais d update baiiiii

Everything cool?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 13th, 2021, 1:04 pm

Have you lost any weight in recent times OP?

I lost 20 lbs in a very short space of time and never regained it. Same co worker who bought the swagnesium for me also got me to do a thyroid test - but it came back negative.

Rectifying that problem could have a big impact on your day-to-day, good luck.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » July 13th, 2021, 2:46 pm

[quote="Soul Collector"]Have you lost any weight in recent times OP?

I lost 20 lbs in a very short space of time and never regained it. Same co worker who bought the swagnesium for me also got me to do a thyroid test - but it came back negative.

Rectifying that problem could have a big impact on your day-to-day, good luck

Do you mean a positive impact?

My weight has always fluctuated, apparently (in layman's terms) the hormone that tells the thyroid gland to stop producing in almost zero, it explains why I almost never seem to run out of energy, doctors seem to think I caught it in time, both surgical and medical treatments availaible.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 13th, 2021, 3:02 pm

Rockram wrote:Do you mean a positive impact?

Yes, a positive one. It affects a lot of things apparently.

Apart from your high metabolism because of it, things like your sleep, mood, anxiety levels, body temps etc are affected by those hormones going out of whack. The weight loss/fluctuation is usually a telltale sign of thyroid problems, especially if you start noticing other symptoms in conjunction with that. You're heading in the right direction having gotten that diagnosed. Good luck with the treatment!