How to deal with a coworker who won't let go

Postby goalpost » July 2nd, 2021, 10:55 pm

So I was transferred (at my request) to a new department at my company two months ago.
I was given a portfolio, of which on the technical and scheduling standpoint I had significant experience with. The only thing I am not familiar with is the processes (paperwork and forms etc) required to accomplish the job. But it's getting done.
My coworker who previously held on the position, at first wasnt allowing me to stand on my two feet and was assisting with certain things even after I told him I'd handle it. However after a few weeks he backed off significantly.
Now I am going to handle an additional portfolio which this same coworker held (He is switching to another portfolio). This particular coworker has said that he enjoys what he does now. However now I am taking it. I find it's more difficult to get him to allow me to plan & schedule the work in this new portfolio as well as he is still liaising with the crews associated with this portfolio.
I trained with this coworker over 10 years ago when we entered the company before we split up to go to the different departments. Now that we're working together, because of our history I find it hard to essentially tell him to back off. He's a good guy and I don't think he's fully aware of my issues.
As someone said, give it time, he'll back off like he did in the first portfolio, but given how he has expressed his enjoyment of the 2nd job, I suspect it will be more difficult to make my mark. One of my issues is that it's important for me as a supervisor to liaise with the field crews assigned but he's making that difficult (e.g. he liaises with them, he signs their timesheets and leave forms)
So maybe someone with experience with this kinda thing can probably advise me on how to proceed with this guy.

Re: How to deal with a coworker who won't let go

Postby paid_influencer » July 2nd, 2021, 11:06 pm

take his stapler

Postby K74T » July 2nd, 2021, 11:24 pm

Electrocute him

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » July 2nd, 2021, 11:38 pm

You in a difficult spot there.

First, you should just straight up tell him that you need to settle properly in your role. Tell him that you will be taking charge of liasing with the field crews and the associated admin duties for them. Be polite and firm because you will need his help in the future with some sort of thing. Never burn your bridges.

Always treat your communication as if someone is listening or reading. Dont jeopardise your job or sanity by playing badjohn or pushover.

If it still doesnt happen, formalise in email to him. If still after that, involve managers.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 2nd, 2021, 11:42 pm

You need to be assertive and have the difficult conversation. Sounds like you're pussyfooting and that kinda uncertainty is not helping you.

Thank him for his help and remind where the boundary of official responsibilities are. Have a conversation first, then follow up in an email.

If he still being difficult, bump the problem up to someone with a higher pay grade

Postby Ted_v2 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:take his stapler

RIP OP

Postby shogun » July 2nd, 2021, 11:55 pm

You have a history. Tell him what you just shared here. It might be hard for him, but he should understand where you're coming from.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » July 3rd, 2021, 12:39 am

Accuse him of sexual harassment

Postby st7 » July 3rd, 2021, 12:51 am

Postby RedVEVO » July 3rd, 2021, 1:36 am

OP the guy is a "controller." You find them at ALL corporate levels . The "pushy ones" - but they succeed .

He is somewhat trying to make you look and think that you need his coaching like everyday .

Ten (10) years is a very long time to be in one job so learn ALL that he has to offer - humble yourself .

But only until you "graduate" with knowledge of ALL the paper work , forms etc. Then you become the success .

You should also liaise with YOUR crew - sooner or later they will know who's in charge.

Going up to management is not recommend since they will always look at you as a complainer.

Focus on the portfolio-support team work - forget about the "sufferers" like here on Tuner :D

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2021, 6:47 am

OP, yuh want the easiest fix for this problem? Ok, here it is., but you not going to like it.

You resign.
Because if is simple hr issues like this that have you on tuner seeking advice on how to deal with this situation from random people that don't know anything about the nuances of the situation you're in, if I was your employer and I see this thread I would seriously question your competence, and at the very least your judgment.

As grown-ups in the world of work, honesty, directness, competence, and being tactful and resourceful are qualities we are supposed have at the workplace, and we use these qualities to yield results. Your post indicates that you're a tad lacking in these qualities and too concerned about people feelings and emotions and work relationships.

Thats my opinion, you may do with it as you wish.

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2021, 6:56 am

office space movie lol

CB Style

Postby CB Style » July 3rd, 2021, 7:30 am

pugboy wrote:office space movie lol

Milton :lol:

Postby MaxPower » July 3rd, 2021, 7:55 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

OP the guy is a "controller." You find them at ALL corporate levels . The "pushy ones" - but they succeed .

He is somewhat trying to make you look and think that you need his coaching like everyday .

Ten (10) years is a very long time to be in one job so learn ALL that he has to offer - humble yourself .

But only until you "graduate" with knowledge of ALL the paper work , forms etc. Then you become the success .

You should also liaise with YOUR crew - sooner or later they will know who's in charge.

Going up to management is not recommend since they will always look at you as a complainer.

Focus on the portfolio-support team work - forget about the "sufferers" like here on Tuner :D

Good advice mate

Postby Country_Bookie » July 3rd, 2021, 10:50 am

This is excellent advice here. I'd add that u should thank him immensely for all the support and training. Tell him u will reach out in future if there's anything that comes up that wasn't covered. Say his training has made u ready for the role but u think u need to handle it alone right now because that's how you learn.
ProtonPowder wrote:You in a difficult spot there.

First, you should just straight up tell him that you need to settle properly in your role. Tell him that you will be taking charge of liasing with the field crews and the associated admin duties for them. Be polite and firm because you will need his help in the future with some sort of thing. Never burn your bridges.

Always treat your communication as if someone is listening or reading. Dont jeopardise your job or sanity by playing badjohn or pushover.

If it still doesnt happen, formalise in email to him. If still after that, involve managers.

Postby gastly369 » July 3rd, 2021, 11:23 am

Every day... Castor oil in he tea or coffee..

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2021, 12:36 pm

gastly369 wrote:Every day... Castor oil in he tea or coffee..

Won't work, he go smell, see and taste it.
Senna in the mauby however...

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 3rd, 2021, 12:47 pm

Tell him you’re attracted to him, that should make him keep his distance.

Unless he reciprocates.

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2021, 2:06 pm

^^^ :lol:

op u need to stand up for urself & politely ask for some space for u to do ur thing

oh btw OP - try spacing out ur sentences by implementing a few paragraphs instead of everything jam up together like groceries in a shopping cart ... :|

Postby Les Bain » July 3rd, 2021, 2:24 pm

Tell HR he always telling you things he want to do to your nice bamsee

Postby RedVEVO » July 3rd, 2021, 2:40 pm

sam1978 wrote:Tell him you’re attracted to him, that should make him keep his distance.

Unless he reciprocates.

Attracted to you :D
Shall we get a porfolio together .

Call me :drinking:

Postby gastly369 » July 3rd, 2021, 3:22 pm

Hit dem ah Bill Cosby special
Les Bain wrote:Tell HR he always telling you things he want to do to your nice bamsee

Postby wagonrunner » July 3rd, 2021, 3:37 pm

tell him the only thing they supposed to tote is a cooler.
and you're unsure they are even capable of that so show him this

MikeyRTT

Postby MikeyRTT » July 3rd, 2021, 3:41 pm

From my personal experiences, DO NOT TRY TO ESCALATE THIS TO YOUR SUPERIORS - try to solve this problem by yourself. Learn to play the office game, there are many books and videos that show you how to deal with this.

I agree with ProtonPowder about confronting him and putting everything in writing (email), however, don't wait to put things in writing after things get complicated, have a meeting with him and follow up the meeting with an email about what was discussed and what was agreed; be sure to include your expectations for respect, personal space, integrity and honesty; also blind copy your personal email for your personal records in case Management gets whiff and fires you. During these COVID times, no employer wants to hear about unsettled workers and if you're the one creating the problem, HR will fabricate all kinds of lies to get you fired . Swallow your pride, drop your ego and learn to deal with fight-down because its everywhere; learn to get to the root cause of every matter that affects you and try to find ways to create stronger bonds with your co-workers - take one person to lunch once a week; turn enemies into friends. Never stifle your feelings if someone crosses you - let them know how you feel and set the expectations for their behavior towards you. I'm telling you all this based on experience. If you end up in an impossible situation, get some help from God it always works - I was too late to realize this.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » July 3rd, 2021, 4:13 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
sam1978 wrote:Tell him you’re attracted to him, that should make him keep his distance.

Unless he reciprocates.

Attracted to you :D
Shall we get a porfolio together .

Call me :drinking:

Interested. Pm sent.

Postby RedVEVO » July 3rd, 2021, 4:15 pm

MikeyRTT wrote:

From my personal experiences, DO NOT TRY TO ESCALATE THIS TO YOUR SUPERIORS - try to solve this problem by yourself. Learn to play the office game, there are many books and videos that show you how to deal with this.

I agree with ProtonPowder about confronting him and putting everything in writing (email), however, don't wait to put things in writing after things get complicated, have a meeting with him and follow up the meeting with an email about what was discussed and what was agreed; be sure to include your expectations for respect, personal space, integrity and honesty; also blind copy your personal email for your personal records in case Management gets whiff and fires you. During these COVID times, no employer wants to hear about unsettled workers and if you're the one creating the problem, HR will fabricate all kinds of lies to get you fired . Swallow your pride, drop your ego and learn to deal with fight-down because its everywhere; learn to get to the root cause of every matter that affects you and try to find ways to create stronger bonds with your co-workers - take one person to lunch once a week; turn enemies into friends. Never stifle your feelings if someone crosses you - let them know how you feel and set the expectations for their behavior towards you. I'm telling you all this based on experience. If you end up in an impossible situation, get some help from God it always works - I was too late to realize this.

It's raining and my peeps laughing with more water than Elsa !!

Where do you work ?

Victoria Secrets ?

OP working CEPEP .

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2021, 12:35 am

So says the one hard at work in his permanent position in the ministry of home and idle affairs

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » July 4th, 2021, 2:25 am

Drink some Puncheon an shell down he MC, thank me later

Postby sMASH » July 4th, 2021, 6:03 am

Unless he reciprocates.

take the stapler. at least if that backfire, u coudl tolerate those backshots.

Postby mero » July 4th, 2021, 8:52 am

Unless he reciprocates.
Morning Slim, really thought u woulda suggest stealing their nudes like your rapey alt account recommended.

matr1x wrote:Real girls in we section always coming and trying to sweet talk to get the WiFi password and some even boldface ask us to set it up for them. When we ask them for help, they ghosting we.

No scene. I set it up to pull their files (pics and thing)