The Tobago Self-Government Bill, 2020...

Re: The Tobago Self-Government Bill, 2020...

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2021, 11:22 am

tobago is just a voting bank for pnm.

the reason why their resources are underutilized, is cause it easier to get a tha wuk than utilize ur resources. only caveat, u gotta vote pnm. get more money, then easier to pull more people to the THA, and more votes.

but i not preaching secession, i preaching autonomy with autonomous revenue generation tho.
same rationale behind the property tax: u generate the funds u want for ur development. u want more money, make more money, dont beg.

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2021, 11:23 am

there is no way in hell they gonna let go of the money they get every year and

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2021, 11:28 am

tha is just a glorified cepep

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2021, 11:40 am

Habit7 wrote:UNC supporters are preaching succession and independence for Tobago. They don't want that. They want autonomy within TT.
Independence would mean 2 fewer seats for elections and UNCites see it as beneficial to them rather than actually campaigning to win it.

Tobago extends our exclusive economic zone especially in the areas where we want to explore for the remaining hydrocarbon resources in deep water. Kicking out Tobago will be cutting off your nose to spoil your face because hooray PNM will have fewer seats and we saved the money going to them in the budget but, now we have fewer resources and fewer sources of revenue.

But for Tobagonians, 10yrs now we are having consultations for Tobago autonomy. The majority voted PNM and they drafted the bill. Just allow the bill to be passed and if those opposed see fit, vote out PNM and have the bill changed. Until then, to expect perfection will not allow anything to be done.
Everyear the red government keeps losing grounds in Bago.

Come next elections and Bago gone.

Postby Habit7 » June 29th, 2021, 11:50 am

sMASH wrote:tobago is just a voting bank for pnm.
It was Tobago voters that allowed for the first UNC term, it was Tobago voters who voted for KPB as PM. UNC had no problem with Tobago until they campaigned for Ashworth Jack and they got 12-nil. Ever since then it is sheer disdain for Tobago. PNM won govt in 2020 by 2 seats, only an inept political organisation could allow for PNM to run away with 2 seats before the elections by not competing.

zoom rader wrote:Everyear the red government keeps losing grounds in Bago.

And I say good. After 21yrs of governance at THA, I won't mind if somebody else takes over so that those who claims they can do better can get a chance.

Postby sMASH » June 29th, 2021, 12:16 pm

rowley doing Belt and Road initiative in tobago to capture they resources.

Postby Redman » June 29th, 2021, 1:17 pm

I would have said referendum. but Covid.

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2021, 1:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:tobago is just a voting bank for pnm.
It was Tobago voters that allowed for the first UNC term, it was Tobago voters who voted for KPB as PM. UNC had no problem with Tobago until they campaigned for Ashworth Jack and they got 12-nil. Ever since then it is sheer disdain for Tobago. PNM won govt in 2020 by 2 seats, only an inept political organisation could allow for PNM to run away with 2 seats before the elections by not competing.

zoom rader wrote:Everyear the red government keeps losing grounds in Bago.

And I say good. After 21yrs of governance at THA, I won't mind if somebody else takes over so that those who claims they can do better can get a chance.
Cleaning up the red government mess is not an easy task.

Hopefully bago will rid itselfs from the red government parasites

Postby Redman » June 29th, 2021, 3:48 pm

Dais why Zoombindranath move bago....he thought he would've get away from PNM faster than in Pville.

Tobago is where all serious PNM does go to retire.

Keith coming Zoombindranath.

Postby zoom rader » June 29th, 2021, 5:14 pm

Redman wrote:Dais why Zoombindranath move bago....he thought he would've get away from PNM faster than in Pville.

In a few years time Bago will be red government free.

Awaits Bagoexit

Postby Redman » June 29th, 2021, 5:50 pm

Rofl.

Postby Habit7 » June 29th, 2021, 6:55 pm

So i decided to watch the debate in the wind up. The PM wound up in place of the leader of govt biz for 60mins. When he finished, a vote was taken to give an additional 60mins. Because half of the Opposition was not there including the leader of the Opposition (she hasnt been there for all the debate nor contributed) the vote obviously went in the govt favour.

15 mins into the 2nd hour of the PMs contribution, Kamla bounce in and create some noise, refusing to yield for the deputy Speaker. Before Forde could say anything they stormed out.

UNC supporters crying how biased Speaker Annisette-George is. Obviously they didnt watch a thing. The same obstructionist strategy 2015-2020 is on repeat now, hoping to different results.

This bill is going to fail. I hope Tobago is happy.

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2021, 7:06 pm

Redman wrote:Dais why Zoombindranath move bago....he thought he would've get away from PNM faster than in Pville.

In a few years time Bago will be red government free.

Awaits Bagoexit

You so right you don't even know.

Postby bluefete » June 29th, 2021, 7:09 pm

What rubbish Camille talking there?

The Speaker "looked" to the Opposition?

Look let me leave eh, before I start to cuss.

Camille talking to the balisier brigade not to critical thinking people.

Postby Habit7 » June 29th, 2021, 8:18 pm

bluefete wrote:What rubbish Camille talking there?

The Speaker "looked" to the Opposition?

Look let me leave eh, before I start to cuss.

Camille talking to the balisier brigade not to critical thinking people.

See it for yourself 4:52:43 https://youtu.be/-608i8PKv5Y

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2021, 9:45 pm

It good for Tobago. Let dem suffer more years of LFD RFD PNM.
Tight Shirt Arm Wrestler bristling at not being able to make this one a simple majority vote :lol:

Postby Habit7 » June 29th, 2021, 10:10 pm

De Dragon wrote:It good for Tobago. Let dem suffer more years of LFD RFD PNM.
Tight Shirt Arm Wrestler bristling at not being able to make this one a simple majority vote :lol:

Yeah let them suffer with 3 new ferries, 2 new hospitals, well kept schools, the smoothest roads in the nation and a new airport starting next week. PNM wicked too bad to Tobago.

Postby De Dragon » June 29th, 2021, 10:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Yeah let them suffer with 3 new ferries, 2 new hospitals, well kept schools, the smoothest roads in the nation and a new airport starting next week. PNM wicked too bad to Tobago.

Yes, but that isn't what this Bill is about is it Dummy?
No 8%, no lawmaking, no autonomy, not even within the unitary state.

Postby Habit7 » June 29th, 2021, 10:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:

The bill does allow for lawmaking and autonomy, 6% is just fine.

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2021, 12:27 am

Habit7 wrote:

The bill does allow for lawmaking and autonomy, 6% is just fine.

The Bill is dead. Rock so Tobago, ollour only good for ollour 2 seat, Les Coteaux stroke obeah and goat racing.

Postby sMASH » June 30th, 2021, 12:34 am

cepep have two seats.

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2021, 12:43 am

Great discussion here... is how Dr. Vanus James rubbish the bills.

Postby De Dragon » June 30th, 2021, 12:53 am

The_Honourable wrote:Great discussion here... is how Dr. Vanus James rubbish the bills.

They'll say he has an "agenda" because he's not afraid to call out their b.s policies.

Postby sMASH » June 30th, 2021, 1:49 am

The_Honourable wrote:Great discussion here... is how Dr. Vanus James rubbish the bills.

could u put the link for the fb?
for some reason, the embed doesnt show up... meem kno.

Postby eliteauto » June 30th, 2021, 1:59 am

Postby Habit7 » June 30th, 2021, 10:27 am

If PNM had come forward and said we want to double the minimum budgetary allocation for Tobago, from 4% to 8%. PNM wants to ringfence the natural resources around Tobago so that they are exclusive to Tobagonians. That jobs in Tobago are exclusive to Tobagonians. That Tobago can borrow money without MoF oversight. UNC and their supporters would be furious.

But because the adversary to the PNM in Tobago wants this, the UNC is defending them and claiming that their voices are not being heard.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 30th, 2021, 11:58 am

every rational thinking Tobagonian that I know wants this bill to happen as opportunities in Tobago are limited and this (more national budget and possible access to the energy industry) should help them better themselves (I think Farley himself stated that like many Tobagonians things so unbalanced that he still lives by his father... idk if this changed after he got married though). UNC shutting this down means that more than likely they will never win in Tobago again as the citizens will see that UNC does not want Tobago to move forward. The Bill not perfect mind you but, when the average salary in Tobago is like 6k-8k maybe (as most individuals work in the public sector), something is better than nothing.

Postby zoom rader » June 30th, 2021, 12:05 pm

elec2020 wrote:every rational thinking Tobagonian that I know wants this bill to happen as opportunities in Tobago are limited and this (more national budget and possible access to the energy industry) should help them better themselves (I think Farley himself stated that like many Tobagonians things so unbalanced that he still lives by his father... idk if this changed after he got married though). UNC shutting this down means that more than likely they will never win in Tobago again as the citizens will see that UNC does not want Tobago to move forward. The Bill not perfect mind you but, when the average salary in Tobago is like 6k-8k maybe (as most individuals work in the public sector), something is better than nothing.
Wot?

Which UNC shutting this bill down?

Bago should run their own affairs without the use of Trinidad tax payers money.

No red government , unc or any Trinidad party should be in control of Bago

Postby The_Honourable » June 30th, 2021, 12:15 pm

The tobago bill was really brought with THA elections in mind which may soon happen to break the current deadlock.

If the bill fails, PNM will simply say the PDP together with the UNC kill the bill. PDP would say what tobagonians wanted was not in the bill and PNM rejected same when PP was in power.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » June 30th, 2021, 12:26 pm

elec2020 wrote:every rational thinking Tobagonian that I know wants this bill to happen as opportunities in Tobago are limited and this (more national budget and possible access to the energy industry) should help them better themselves (I think Farley himself stated that like many Tobagonians things so unbalanced that he still lives by his father... idk if this changed after he got married though). UNC shutting this down means that more than likely they will never win in Tobago again as the citizens will see that UNC does not want Tobago to move forward. The Bill not perfect mind you but, when the average salary in Tobago is like 6k-8k maybe (as most individuals work in the public sector), something is better than nothing.
Wot?

Which UNC shutting this bill down?

Bago should run their own affairs without the use of Trinidad tax payers money.

No red government , unc or any Trinidad party should be in control of Bago

Without the Opposition’s support, the bills will fail and therefore the Constitution cannot be amended to provide for the establishment of a Tobago Legislature with law-making powers over prescribed matters and a Tobago Island Government with exclusive executive powers to govern Tobago, headed by a premier.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 1e3e5.html

So again, UNC's resistance so far may derail the bill. I agree, some things in the Bill (like the increase in national allowance) i disagree on but that was put forward years now and never turned down after consecutive JSC meetings. So if it stayed in then why is it now an issue? As i said the Bill not perfect but would significantly help Tobagonians to move forward.