eliteauto wrote:Rum to be renamed, opportunity lost, congrats you idiots
Carnival is for sufferers.MaxPower wrote:Ok so the name got change, great.
Happy that the sufferers that were complaining and fighting down the man are now no longer suffering and making progress in their life.
A job well done, keep it up.
Habit7 wrote:Manning wants partnership with Michael B. Jordan
Wed Jun 23 2021
One government minister has come out in support of Hollywood actor, Michael B. Jordan, using the name “J’Ouvert” as his rum brand, eyeing potential gains this country can derive.
Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Brian Manning MP, acknowledges that the comments made in the trademark document about the meaning of J’ouvert were unfortunate. According to the trademark registration page, the word J’Ouvert does not have any meaning in a foreign language, a statement which has angered citizens.
However, Manning says Jordan, well known for his role as Erik Killmonger in “Black Panther”, has apologized for the comments, and the next step should be capitalising on any potential benefits.
“Some of the comments made in the trademark document are unfortunate, but he has come out and apologized,” Manning said.
“The Government of Trinidad and Tobago should work with Michael B Jordan to develop this rum into a global brand,” he added.
In fact, he believes if this is successful, some of the proceeds from the sales, “should be contributed to developing local arts and culture.”
“If he would consider this, I am sure this is something the Government would be willing to discuss,” Manning indicated.
Manning could not say whether there have been any official efforts by the Government to reach out to the Hollywood Actor.
The situation escalated since Sunday, after Instagram posts showed the launch of J’Ouvert rum with a box set and a brief description about the origins of the word. The box also contained bottles of Angostura Bitters.
“He has apologized, we all make mistakes, but I think it is still something we can use to benefit Trinidad and Tobago,” Manning told Guardian Media.
Manning hopes this country and the Government can work closely with Michael B Jordan.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/manning ... e4ffb3a39f
Wraith King wrote:Typical PNM behaviour. After something is ruined pretend you have an interest knowing it's already ruined and nothing will come of it so you give the appearance that you're trying while in reality you do absolutely nothing.
It would be such a shock to them if they were taken up on the offer.
Just think if MBJ was whiteHabit7 wrote:Manning wants partnership with Michael B. Jordan
Wed Jun 23 2021
One government minister has come out in support of Hollywood actor, Michael B. Jordan, using the name “J’Ouvert” as his rum brand, eyeing potential gains this country can derive.
Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Brian Manning MP, acknowledges that the comments made in the trademark document about the meaning of J’ouvert were unfortunate. According to the trademark registration page, the word J’Ouvert does not have any meaning in a foreign language, a statement which has angered citizens.
However, Manning says Jordan, well known for his role as Erik Killmonger in “Black Panther”, has apologized for the comments, and the next step should be capitalising on any potential benefits.
“Some of the comments made in the trademark document are unfortunate, but he has come out and apologized,” Manning said.
“The Government of Trinidad and Tobago should work with Michael B Jordan to develop this rum into a global brand,” he added.
In fact, he believes if this is successful, some of the proceeds from the sales, “should be contributed to developing local arts and culture.”
“If he would consider this, I am sure this is something the Government would be willing to discuss,” Manning indicated.
Manning could not say whether there have been any official efforts by the Government to reach out to the Hollywood Actor.
The situation escalated since Sunday, after Instagram posts showed the launch of J’Ouvert rum with a box set and a brief description about the origins of the word. The box also contained bottles of Angostura Bitters.
“He has apologized, we all make mistakes, but I think it is still something we can use to benefit Trinidad and Tobago,” Manning told Guardian Media.
Manning hopes this country and the Government can work closely with Michael B Jordan.
Habit7 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Typical PNM behaviour. After something is ruined pretend you have an interest knowing it's already ruined and nothing will come of it so you give the appearance that you're trying while in reality you do absolutely nothing.
How is PNM responsible for what MBJ does outside of TT and whatever result occurs on social media?
Wraith King wrote:Habit7 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Typical PNM behaviour. After something is ruined pretend you have an interest knowing it's already ruined and nothing will come of it so you give the appearance that you're trying while in reality you do absolutely nothing.
How is PNM responsible for what MBJ does outside of TT and whatever result occurs on social media?
All that gay porn and performing demented acts on other males seemed to have messed with your ability to think.
He waited until the chance was ruined to reach out for a partnership. Surely he wasn't permanently engaged in an all male PNM orgy for the past few days that he didn't know what was going on. He could have taken a break from the gayfest and sought the partnership then rejoin Colm who was role playing as midget slave master.
Obviously you not interested in knowing anything that's anti PNM so I'll save my serious answers for persons that are serious. I'll give you the responses you deserve.
Any information on Darryl?
Habit7 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Habit7 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Typical PNM behaviour. After something is ruined pretend you have an interest knowing it's already ruined and nothing will come of it so you give the appearance that you're trying while in reality you do absolutely nothing.
All that gay porn and performing demented acts on other males seemed to have messed with your ability to think.
He waited until the chance was ruined to reach out for a partnership. Surely he wasn't permanently engaged in an all male PNM orgy for the past few days that he didn't know what was going on. He could have taken a break from the gayfest and sought the partnership then rejoin Colm who was role playing as midget slave master.
Obviously you not interested in knowing anything that's anti PNM so I'll save my serious answers for persons that are serious. I'll give you the responses you deserve.
I know you want to engage me in your area of expertise and beat me with experience. But put on your big boy hat and let's discuss the issue.
3 days ago MBJ posted on Twitter he has a rum named J'Ouvert. He has been tight lip ever since until he announced that he is going to change the name.
How was PNM supposed to express interest in something so nascent? Who are MBJ's backers? Where is the rum coming from? Discuss the issue.
Habit7 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Habit7 wrote:Wraith King wrote:Typical PNM behaviour. After something is ruined pretend you have an interest knowing it's already ruined and nothing will come of it so you give the appearance that you're trying while in reality you do absolutely nothing.
I know you want to engage me in your area of expertise and beat me with experience. But put on your big boy hat and let's discuss the issue.
3 days ago MBJ posted on Twitter he has a rum named J'Ouvert. He has been tight lip ever since until he announced that he is going to change the name.
How was PNM supposed to express interest in something so nascent? Who are MBJ's backers? Where is the rum coming from? Discuss the issue.
Habit7 wrote:3 days ago MBJ posted on Twitter he has a rum named J'Ouvert. He has been tight lip ever since until he announced that he is going to change the name.
Government also missed out the patent for PanSoul Collector wrote:Habit7 wrote:3 days ago MBJ posted on Twitter he has a rum named J'Ouvert. He has been tight lip ever since until he announced that he is going to change the name.
I can agree with that. This rum just popped up and it turned into a shitstorm real quick. Even Manning wasn't sure if the govt reached out in any meaningful way to MBJ and all I saw from what bluefete posted was that he removed every trace of the launch on his social media and went silent.
The govt missed out on an opportunity here big time IMO (if in fact he's changed the name and moved on) but with that said, I think MBJ and whoever his "trini partners" were should have done some more planning for their launch, especially in todays political and social climate. I think he was trying to do something good but messed up and fell short while on our end, we weren't receptive at all. Him being an American living in all that cancel culture nonsense should have known to take extra precautions, especially with the nature of his branding. Basically, take front, before front take yuh.
zoom rader wrote:Just think if MBJ was whiteHabit7 wrote:Manning wants partnership with Michael B. Jordan
Wed Jun 23 2021
Dat injun rum , so it doh countrollingstock wrote:Why they don't have issue with white oak?
You see any oak trees growing in trinidad
The_Honourable wrote:I'm pretty certain if a born and bread Trini promoted this instead, there still would have been fight down.
rollingstock wrote:Why they don't have issue with white oak?
You see any oak trees growing in trinidad
RedVEVO wrote:" .. Jordan has indicated that he will rename the J'ouvert rum .. "
https://tt.loopnews.com/content/michael ... be-renamed