Express article: The education of children of African origin

Wraith King

Re: Express article: The education of children of African origin

Postby Wraith King » June 3rd, 2021, 5:23 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Interesting that he focuses solely on hindu and Presbyterian schools. What about all the catholic and other Christian prestige schools , like QRC, CIC, Fatima, St Anthony's, St Joseph's Convent, Holy Name, Bishops etc.

Do these schools also discriminate against black children?

Not enough Indos, and the risk of sounding like he's attacking French Creole, local white, expat children, Syrian, Chinese and upper crust black children, which wouldn't sound good for the targeted audience he's seeking to rile up in one of the most overt racist ways I've seen in quite a while.

There's persons defending him. The Minister of Education even said something about looking past the part about race.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 3rd, 2021, 5:50 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Interesting that he focuses solely on hindu and Presbyterian schools. What about all the catholic and other Christian prestige schools , like QRC, CIC, Fatima, St Anthony's, St Joseph's Convent, Holy Name, Bishops etc.

Not enough Indos, and the risk of sounding like he's attacking French Creole, local white, expat children, Syrian, Chinese and upper crust black children, which wouldn't sound good for the targeted audience he's seeking to rile up in one of the most overt racist ways I've seen in quite a while.

To honest though, blacks are probably the minority race at CIC and St Joseph Convent, at least in my time.

There is nothing stopping black students from passing to these prestigious schools.

Very many Indian working-class children suffer because of the SEA. The prestige schools turn away the children of the Indian brother with the stall in the market. His children go to comprehensive schools. He is not a Brahmin.

That quote was downright classless. He should be fired just for uttering such foolishness.

Even if he is alluding to the 20%, that is their choice and they don't discriminate on race, it's purely on money at that point. In fact, some EW corridor presitge boy schools were once using the 20% to accept black students to boost their cricket & football team chances.

Express article: The education of children of African origin

Postby MaxPower » June 3rd, 2021, 5:53 pm

zoom rader wrote:So black kids want to go to injun schools?

How come injuns doh complain wanting to go African schools?

Zoom,

What would you say is the main reason why many black kids are denied entry into the injun/prestige schools?
Who Said they were denied ?

When an injun attends any school his entire family also attends that school .

You think red government child fadda & mudda will show interest in the school or make sure the kids home work is done.

Red government parents main concern is wine and jam with freeness.

Can an aspiring black kid from Laventille or Sea Lots easily get into a prestige school?

Is it true that the prestige schools, parents and students do not want the supposedly troublesome, destructive, broken, ghetto, mannerless, underperforming and hostile African children in their schools?

Is this fair to them?

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2021, 6:03 pm

we should move to yankee model where chirren typically go to the school directly in their neighborhood

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 3rd, 2021, 6:03 pm

Zoom,

What would you say is the main reason why many black kids are denied entry into the injun/prestige schools?

You think red government child fadda & mudda will show interest in the school or make sure the kids home work is done.

Can an aspiring black kid from Laventille or Sea Lots easily get into a prestige school?

Is it true that the prestige schools, parents and students do not want the supposedly troublesome, destructive, broken, ghetto, mannerless, underperforming and hostile African children in their schools?

Is this fair to them?

My prestige school had a student from Morvant, several from Malick. Once they had the grades, the get placed. A school can't refuse them.

Postby De Dragon » June 3rd, 2021, 6:22 pm

Wraith King wrote:

There's persons defending him. The Minister of Education even said something about looking past the part about race.

Which means shortly the usual dotish LFD RFD PNM sheep will start to use that very argument right here :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » June 3rd, 2021, 6:26 pm

i think this should be helpful. This is how Secondary school places are sorted:

All school assignments are made by the CXC Board in Barbados using a computerized sorting algorithm.

1. The computer first attempts to places all children into their first-choice school. If there are more applicants than spaces, it sorts them based on SEA score with the highest scores being placed into the school. The children that are unplaced go onto the next round of sorting.

2. The second round of sorting attempts to put the remaining (unplaced) students into their second choice school. It checks the second-choice school to see if there are any open spaces, and if there are it sorts applicants based on score and put them in the available spaces.

Note: It is never advisable to put a top-tier school as a second choice. The top-tier school will almost never have open spaces after the first round of sorting, so your child end up at a much lower choice or zoned.

3. For those unplaced after the first and second rounds of sorting, the process goes on again for a third and fourth round, according to your third- and fourth-choices and conditionally if there are any more spots available in those schools.

4. Finally, if all those are exhausted, it places any remaining applications into any unfilled spots at schools nearby ("Zoning").

The only thing that circumvents this is the 20% principal's selection and certain odd categories (like twins must get places together).

If any of this is racist, let me know.

Postby paid_influencer » June 3rd, 2021, 6:31 pm

it bothers me that people against the 20% principal's selection are also against the SEA.

Removing the SEA basically makes it a 100% principal's selection.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 3rd, 2021, 6:35 pm

paid_influencer wrote:i think this should be helpful. This is how Secondary school places are sorted:

All school assignments are made by the CXC Board in Barbados using a computerized sorting algorithm.

1. The computer first attempts to places all children into their first-choice school. If there are more applicants than spaces, it sorts them based on SEA score with the highest scores being placed into the school. The children that are unplaced go onto the next round of sorting.

2. The second round of sorting attempts to put the remaining (unplaced) students into their second choice school. It checks the second-choice school to see if there are any open spaces, and if there are it sorts applicants based on score and put them in the available spaces.

Note: It is never advisable to put a top-tier school as a second choice. The top-tier school will almost never have open spaces after the first round of sorting, so your child end up at a much lower choice or zoned.

3. For those unplaced after the first and second rounds of sorting, the process goes on again for a third and fourth round, according to your third- and fourth-choices and conditionally if there are any more spots available in those schools.

4. Finally, if all those are exhausted, it places any remaining applications into any unfilled spots at schools nearby ("Zoning").

The only thing that circumvents this is the 20% principal's selection and certain odd categories (like twins must get places together).

If any of this is racist, let me know.

If the African community not on par or benefiting then it's racist. They can't understand that the majority of other communities focus and invest their energy and resources into education. By they I am referring to persons who support what that twat was promoting because I know some decent members of the African community who would disagree with the garbage he said.

Postby paid_influencer » June 3rd, 2021, 6:44 pm

again with this dotishness about "the African community" and "the Indian community." That is absolutely racial garbage and no such thing exists in reality. Sick racists minds think in those race-based terms.

An indo-trinidadian in Point has more connection with an afro-trinidian in Point than either of them have with their racial counterparts in PoS or Caroni. We live in communities based on region and in some cases religion, but in no way do we have two entirely race based "communities".

sick racially divisive mentality

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » June 3rd, 2021, 6:47 pm

They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?

I remember our school importing quite a few of them from Five Rivers and wherever else. Talk about a whole "us and them" kinda scene. Racial tensions were extremely high and it led to many violent conflicts, all of which I recall, were racially fueled.

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2021, 7:03 pm

ent they was pushing concordat talk last year when covid was on a down low?

this here seems to be a follow on to push that agenda. dog whistle that indos have another advantage.

i know open bible and pastor cuffie have their own school systems.

if they go to remove concordat, some of the prestige will get more private and more exclusionary.

if u think of the concordat as the govt paying schools to get some students in, if the schools get more privately funded, u can think about that private funding to keep some students out.

u will move from prestige and govt, to ivy league and inner city cespool.

Postby alfa » June 3rd, 2021, 7:15 pm

The concordat from what I understand is twenty percent. If the other eighty percent are predominantly Indo which they are then what does that say and who will they blame for that?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 3rd, 2021, 7:28 pm

alfa wrote:The concordat from what I understand is twenty percent. If the other eighty percent are predominantly Indo which they are then what does that say and who will they blame for that?

Indians because they studying too much.

This has to be a form of self racism because he's basically saying black children too dotish to get into these schools.

Postby zoom rader » June 3rd, 2021, 7:31 pm

Zoom,

Is this fair to them?
The success of any kid depends on the parents input. High SEA grades gets you in to those schools.

We all know that 1% and affluent families always gets their kids into those schools good or not. Why? Cause it is part of the schools 20% allocation.

Postby alfa » June 3rd, 2021, 7:33 pm

Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?

I remember our school importing quite a few of them from Five Rivers and wherever else. Talk about a whole "us and them" kinda scene. Racial tensions were extremely high and it led to many violent conflicts, all of which I recall, were racially fueled.

I had a similar experience. Back in the junior sec days when writing 14 plus exams they took the best scoring kids and put them in a prestige school in the area. A whole class of them. There were never any fights but they never fit into the culture of the school and we avoided them like the plague. They weren't violent but the ghetto culture didn't sit well neither could they keep up academically. None went into A levels after cxc either. There were quite a few Indos in that class as well who all had the same attitude as their afro counterparts. It goes to show school placement isn't about race but about grades and parents wanting their kids to be in the company of like minded individuals

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 3rd, 2021, 7:43 pm

paid_influencer wrote:again with this dotishness about "the African community" and "the Indian community." That is absolutely racial garbage and no such thing exists in reality. Sick racists minds think in those race-based terms.

An indo-trinidadian in Point has more connection with an afro-trinidian in Point than either of them have with their racial counterparts in PoS or Caroni. We live in communities based on region and in some cases religion, but in no way do we have two entirely race based "communities".

sick racially divisive mentality

Convenient defender of imagined racism because you're offended by a statement. No issue with actual racism because it's an excuse for shortcomings and you think it relieves you of your self responsibility by making you a victim.

Go join the Black Agenda.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 3rd, 2021, 7:50 pm

The concordat is crap and needs to be abolished.

You all need to understand where these things come from in order to understand why they continue to damage our society. The religious schools were mainly instruments of the colonial powers so they mainly educated local whites and brits. When independence occured these people were simply replaced by the political class and the new wealthy class. But the problem is it remained funded by the state. What this means is that the state is segregating the nation along wealth and class whilst using taxpayers money to fund this. This is neither equitable nor fair.

The 20% is not a draft whereby the principles get a shot at recruiting the best and brightest minds of their country by offering scholarships etc. The 20% is to ensure that those with links always have a place inside. This simply results in less social mobility options for the poor ones who require educational opportunities to get ahead. There are alot of poor and talented students who are placed in less prestigious schools who now have to fight even more obstacles in order to educate themselves and pull themselves out of poverty.

Abolish the concordat and give Gov't complete control of the education system. Make placements based solely on merit and zoning. If religious schools want to keep operating then they need to pay for their upkeep. I think the richer families could send their children to anyone of the numerous pay schools that exists. Mlst of them already do it once they pass the age of 16.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 3rd, 2021, 7:55 pm

Soul Collector wrote:They still take students from lower ranked schools and place them into prestige school to play football?

I went to a prestige secondary school and the majority of bullies were African. They openly scorned and mistreated this Caucasian guy in my class. It was a huge shock to see persons behaving this way as I never experienced it before. They would even bully other African students if they thought the person was a nerd.

After school was even more terrible as it had a converging of students from other schools. Imagine the girls from other schools wanted to fight with guys. I never lingered back after school because of how dangerous it was being in the same environs with these students who looking to rob and fight. Some of them even had weapons such as knife. Everytime you're around them your fight or flight sense became active. Imagine they perceived looking at them as a slight.

There is definitely an issue with violence amongst many Africans.

Postby paid_influencer » June 3rd, 2021, 8:04 pm

redress, good to see you again. Plenty commentators talk about the concordant, but it the issue really is what do you want to replace it with.

this line,
"Make placements based solely on merit and zoning."

^does this mean you want placements 100% based on the scores at the SEA, with zoning for those that did not match.

for zoning - persons who do not happen to live near a prestige school - would they have to suck salt, no matter how academically gifted they are?

Postby paid_influencer » June 3rd, 2021, 8:08 pm

Wraith King wrote:

I went to a prestige secondary school and the majority of bullies were African. They openly scorned and mistreated this Caucasian guy in my class. It was a huge shock to see persons behaving this way as I never experienced it before. They would even bully other African students if they thought the person was a nerd.

After school was even more terrible as it had a converging of students from other schools. Imagine the girls from other schools wanted to fight with guys. I never lingered back after school because of how dangerous it was being in the same environs with these students who looking to rob and fight. Some of them even had weapons such as knife. Everytime you're around them your fight or flight sense became active. Imagine they perceived looking at them as a slight.

I also went to a prestige secondary school and openly advocated for Africans and Indians to unite together.

We are on the same side. Do not let the politically-interested racial mouthpieces divide us.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 3rd, 2021, 8:14 pm

paid_influencer wrote:redress, good to see you again. Plenty commentators talk about the concordant, but it the issue really is what do you want to replace it with.

this line,

^does this mean you want placements 100% based on the scores at the SEA, with zoning for those that did not match.

for zoning - persons who do not happen to live near a prestige school - would they have to suck salt, no matter how academically gifted they are?

There is no such thing as a "prestigious" school. Remember those schools are simply religious schools whereby the parents/students are of the same religion. So discipline would always be higher in those schools. To get into a religious school you need a pastor/priest/pundit etc to vouch for the student and the family.

What I am advocating is you place students in the schools based on their scores and their zones. So a student who scores 95+ and lives in chaguanas would go to the nearest school that caters for students of that percentile and area. The only difference is that people going to those schools may have a greater workload and accelerated curriculum than say a school that has students who scored 40%.

That doesn't mean that the 40% would just be abandoned. They may imfact get more resources to try to bring them up to speed alongside a curriculum that is more technical whilst the 95+ schools may be more academic. That being said I see no reason why people going to academic type schools shouldn't have classes in things such as vehicle repair/autobody works/ woodworking etc. Even if is for a month during their july/august vacation.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 3rd, 2021, 8:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

I also went to a prestige secondary school and openly advocated for Africans and Indians to unite together.

We are on the same side. Do not let the politically-interested racial mouthpieces divide us.

I am on no political side. Neither the PNM nor the UNC cares about the citizens.

From my personal life experience I observed that violence and bullying is an issue among many Africans. Other race groups have their bad apples but they are few compared to Africans.

I dislike bullying, stupidity and dishonesty. If someone have any of those traits, I don't want anything to do with them regardless of their ethnicity.

Postby paid_influencer » June 3rd, 2021, 8:23 pm

nah man, doh think so. do not make it a racial thing. they could be black, white or yellow, don't fall into the trap about making it about race. leave race out of it and see them as individuals with whatever problems they have.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 3rd, 2021, 8:25 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:redress, good to see you again. Plenty commentators talk about the concordant, but it the issue really is what do you want to replace it with.

this line,

There is no such thing as a "prestigious" school. Remember those schools are simply religious schools whereby the parents/students are of the same religion. So discipline would always be higher in those schools. To get into a religious school you need a pastor/priest/pundit etc to vouch for the student and the family.

What I am advocating is you place students in the schools based on their scores and their zones. So a student who scores 95+ and lives in chaguanas would go to the nearest school that caters for students of that percentile and area. The only difference is that people going to those schools may have a greater workload and accelerated curriculum than say a school that has students who scored 40%.

That doesn't mean that the 40% would just be abandoned. They may imfact get more resources to try to bring them up to speed alongside a curriculum that is more technical whilst the 95+ schools may be more academic. That being said I see no reason why people going to academic type schools shouldn't have classes in things such as vehicle repair/autobody works/ woodworking etc. Even if is for a month during their july/august vacation.

If you went to a prestige school you would understand why a school can be considered prestigious.

To get into a religious school, it's your grades that matter not any of that priest or pundit vouching for you. If you ever visit Shiva Boys in Penal I'm sure you'll understand.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » June 3rd, 2021, 8:37 pm

Well for your information I went to "prestigious" schools both here and in the UK and you are wrong if you think that your "grades" get you into those schools. It is your parents' employment status, connections, address et that gets you into the primary school that prepares you adequately to pass SEA. Your grades are just the end result of a process that started long before you were even born.

Do you think a child just walks into a rc or anglican primary school just so? You do know that those schools ask to see proof of baptism etc. Even RC secondary schools require proof of baptism and for the priest to sign off. Not sure if Hindu/muslim schools have a similar process tbh.

Now I am catholic and this system actually benefits me and my offspring but at the same time it is not exactly moving the education system forward and is keeping back our kids.

Postby Gladiator » June 3rd, 2021, 8:38 pm

What a timely distraction to all the crap happening in the country right now... this leaves behind that putrid scent of PNM politics.

Postby The_Honourable » June 3rd, 2021, 8:41 pm

Wraith King wrote:

Went to a "prestige" school myself and there is some truth to this with "Afro" students being bullies. In my experience, the afro students who came in "for football" and brought in their bad ways eventually fall in line. I believe this happened not just because of the culture and ethics of the school, but strong teachers and deans... personalities who administered old school discipline. At the student level, they were met with "equal" treatment from some indo students who were not the stereotypical "weak and submissive", and also other afro students with similar rough backgrounds who are willing to learn and not tolerating foolishness from their "football" counterparts.
Last edited by The_Honourable on June 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby goalpost » June 3rd, 2021, 8:44 pm

Seeing the 5 outstanding performances in Cape 2020 are all Indian and from Naps boys, Lakshmi Girls and Naps girls.

Theodore mussbe fall down.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 3rd, 2021, 8:45 pm

Zoning will have unintentional effects and possibly lead us into a worse situation.

Picture this, Presentation is in Chaguanas. Chaguanas (except for Enterprise) is mainly indo. Zoning with consideration for grades will still ensure that the school gets mostly the best students.

Now if we do pure zoning, it will just change the best schools to those in the most affluent areas. Parents who are will now relocate to areas where schools are good (like in the US).

Schools that are good are going to be in mainly indo areas. So you're going to have even more segregation in the populace as indos will now move to those areas, keeping those schools black free and winning all the scholarships.

After all this, blacks will still be left behind, but possibly even more as many would-be zoned to 'ghetto' schools instead of providing the opportunity to go to a prestige school.

And if they do get zoned to a prestige school it reduces the quality of that school, and in a few years it no longer remains prestige.

Honestly, I like our system, the 20% is neither here nor there, but if they want to do something to improve upward mobility for the poor reduce or remove the concordat.