Did you pay your bribe?nismotrinidappa wrote:Is anyone having issues regarding school admissions? I applied to some schools in central and have not heard any response or any positive response yet. This thing still rigged?
Drea wrote:Where in central? My sister applied for my niece to 2 schools in Couva, both called with acceptance notices.
Or is it that you looking to hear from the 'elites' *cough* Presb *cough*
teems1 wrote:Drea wrote:Where in central? My sister applied for my niece to 2 schools in Couva, both called with acceptance notices.
Or is it that you looking to hear from the 'elites' *cough* Presb *cough*
Elites?
Those primary schools are some of the lowest funded with the least maintained facilities.
What makes it elite in your book?
paid_influencer wrote:see, that is the problem. some children get through multiple places - meaning they take up multiple seats (your niece took 2 seats).
while some children will not get through at all, because there aren't any more seats available.
the system itself is flawed and the fix for parents is to email the MoH and let them sort it out after (while you stress out in between).
paid_influencer wrote:^to be clear, the guidelines say to apply to ALL schools in your area, so your sister did the right thing.
I'm just pointing out there isn't any coordination between schools, so the kids getting through at multiple places are using up seats that will have to be re-assigned by the MoH a few weeks later. Stress for parents who ent get through anywhere in the mean time.
Dizzy28 wrote:paid_influencer wrote:^to be clear, the guidelines say to apply to ALL schools in your area, so your sister did the right thing.
I'm just pointing out there isn't any coordination between schools, so the kids getting through at multiple places are using up seats that will have to be re-assigned by the MoH a few weeks later. Stress for parents who ent get through anywhere in the mean time.
Board Schools coordinate.
In my case I applied to 3 SDMS schools and the principals come together and discuss any potential scenarios where a child has been accepted to multiple schools.
They can't even talk English buddyzoom rader wrote:Vene kids getting admittance?
Max?
Drea wrote:paid_influencer wrote:see, that is the problem. some children get through multiple places - meaning they take up multiple seats (your niece took 2 seats).
while some children will not get through at all, because there aren't any more seats available.
the system itself is flawed and the fix for parents is to email the MoH and let them sort it out after (while you stress out in between).
I'm not clear on the guidelines but does it say you are not allowed to apply to more than 1 school? It is not a case of taking up 2 spaces because you cannot send your child to both. Parents can decline and then obviously a space is opened to someone else. If you only apply to one school lets say based on proximity and there are 20 more children who live closer and get in, where does that leave your child?
Fears over no places for thousands – Chaos could loom in new school term in September
HEADS of the denominational boards of education are fearing chaos and anger as thousands of children may be turned away from denominational-run primary schools come the new term in September.
Why? Because of an acute shortage of teachers which is being blamed on no hiring of new teachers by the Teaching Service Commission (TSC) since last October.
Education regulations dictate that there be a specific maximum number of students per teacher across the system. This ratio is one teacher to 30 students from Standards 1-5, and one teacher to 25 students in the infants department.
With such a shortage of teachers, there is the fear that children will have to be turned away when the catchment figure per class is reached.
Heads of the various denominational education boards met on Wednesday to address the critical teacher shortage and arrived at a consensus that if vacancies are not filled before the start of the new term, they would be unable to accept the usual intake for the new 2023/2024 academic year.
Present at the meeting were representatives from the Catholic, Presbyterian, Hindu (Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha), Anglican, Methodist, Baptist, Muslim (Trinidad Muslim League) and Vedic schools.
Rest of the Article: