The economy in Trinidad will collapse long before that so it doesn't matter.SuperiorMan wrote:Hello Tuner Friends,
I have a question to ask.
Right now according to Google, 1 United States Dollar equals 6.77 Trinidad & Tobago Dollars.
What do you think this rate will be in 5-10 years?
Thank you.
wtf wrote:The economy in Trinidad will collapse long before that so it doesn't matter.SuperiorMan wrote:Hello Tuner Friends,
I have a question to ask.
Right now according to Google, 1 United States Dollar equals 6.77 Trinidad & Tobago Dollars.
What do you think this rate will be in 5-10 years?
Thank you.
Blaze d Chalice wrote:My guess would be like 7.20-7.50 (highest and lowest)
But regardless, usd is still tootoo money.
It will probably go to 8 max.SuperiorMan wrote:Blaze d Chalice wrote:My guess would be like 7.20-7.50 (highest and lowest)
But regardless, usd is still tootoo money.
Why do you think so?
dogg wrote:is it legal to pay for items with US currency from your own bank account?
Such as by transferring to a third party account.
paid_influencer wrote:dogg wrote:is it legal to pay for items with US currency from your own bank account?
yesSuch as by transferring to a third party account.
maybe, this may start anti-money laundering investigations. Why are you transferring to a third-party account?
Yes. Its only when you want to withdraw US in your hand that's where the problem starts.dogg wrote:paid_influencer wrote:dogg wrote:is it legal to pay for items with US currency from your own bank account?
yesSuch as by transferring to a third party account.
maybe, this may start anti-money laundering investigations. Why are you transferring to a third-party account?
To pay for items or house or land with US currency where the vendor will reduce the price if US currency is paid.
If one has legitimate cash in US accounts that cannot be withdrawn. Is it legal to transfer to a third party as payment for purchases?
dogg wrote:To pay for items or house or land with US currency where the vendor will reduce the price if US currency is paid.
If one has legitimate cash in US accounts that cannot be withdrawn. Is it legal to transfer to a third party as payment for purchases?
paid_influencer wrote:dogg wrote:To pay for items or house or land with US currency where the vendor will reduce the price if US currency is paid.
Just so I understand, you are transferring to the seller's account, or a third-party (neither buyer nor seller)?
daring dragoon wrote:all them chinese groceries, gambling houses, cook shops an other chinese owned business all send money back to china. HOW IN GOD GREEN EARTH THE CHINESE CAN GET US $ TO BUY TO SEND BACK TO CHINA?
IMF calls on Govt to fix FX system
By
Joel Julien -
March 10, 2022
The International Monetary Funds (IMF) has said that persistent foreign exchange shortages have highlighted the need to reform the foreign exchange market infrastructure in this country.
The IMF made the statement following its Executive Board’s conclusion of an Article IV consultation with T&T on February 9.
“While the authorities’ commitment to maintaining a stable peg seems well understood by market participants, the mechanisms to ensure a well-functioning FX market could be improved to reduce uncertainty,” the IMF stated.https://www.cnc3.co.tt/imf-calls-on-gov ... fx-system/
Chinese smart.They dealing in Canadian and Pounds.daring dragoon wrote:all them chinese groceries, gambling houses, cook shops an other chinese owned business all send money back to china, i doubt they sending the TT $ in an envelope back to china. banks limit the amount of US you can buy and even on CC and the same with western union etc. HOW IN GOD GREEN EARTH THE CHINESE CAN GET US $ TO BUY TO SEND BACK TO CHINA? I trying to get some goods to guyana and is ketch meh MC to get US cause TT banks dont want to accept guyana $ even though the same bank operates in both counties.
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the only way to fix our forex issue means that the government would have to agree to devalue the dollar? Alot of tough decisions has to be made in the not too distant futureDizzy28 wrote:IMF calls on Govt to fix FX system
By
Joel Julien -
March 10, 2022
The International Monetary Funds (IMF) has said that persistent foreign exchange shortages have highlighted the need to reform the foreign exchange market infrastructure in this country.
The IMF made the statement following its Executive Board’s conclusion of an Article IV consultation with T&T on February 9.
“While the authorities’ commitment to maintaining a stable peg seems well understood by market participants, the mechanisms to ensure a well-functioning FX market could be improved to reduce uncertainty,” the IMF stated.https://www.cnc3.co.tt/imf-calls-on-gov ... fx-system/
bluefete wrote:You know how long the IMF saying that the real exchange rate should be TT$10.00 - US$1
That is you trying to use TTD to purchase goods. Many businesses are charged a premium by their payment services providers to accept foreign currency. If you want better rates, you need better payment options - anything is better than Western Union.hover11 wrote:Well the currency is already devalued in reality. Every online store has a higher exchange rate for TTD, as well as Western Union and MoneyGram, which is probably the actual real value of the TTD to USD. By the government not doing devaluation, they are just making the issue worse for the future when it really has to happen. Imagine when they do decide to devalue and the real price is $10TTD = $1USD. Economic collapse overnight
Anyway let's continue kicking the can down the road
FACT: TTD is only worth of value in T&T outside of that it is worthlessadnj wrote:That is you trying to use TTD to purchase goods. Many businesses are charged a premium by their payment services providers to accept foreign currency. If you want better rates, you need better payment options - anything is better than Western Union.hover11 wrote:Well the currency is already devalued in reality. Every online store has a higher exchange rate for TTD, as well as Western Union and MoneyGram, which is probably the actual real value of the TTD to USD. By the government not doing devaluation, they are just making the issue worse for the future when it really has to happen. Imagine when they do decide to devalue and the real price is $10TTD = $1USD. Economic collapse overnight
The TTD values have traded between USD 0.160 to USD 0.147 for ten years.
hover11 wrote:FACT: TTD is only worth of value in T&T outside of that it is worthlessadnj wrote:That is you trying to use TTD to purchase goods. Many businesses are charged a premium by their payment services providers to accept foreign currency. If you want better rates, you need better payment options - anything is better than Western Union.hover11 wrote:Well the currency is already devalued in reality. Every online store has a higher exchange rate for TTD, as well as Western Union and MoneyGram, which is probably the actual real value of the TTD to USD. By the government not doing devaluation, they are just making the issue worse for the future when it really has to happen. Imagine when they do decide to devalue and the real price is $10TTD = $1USD. Economic collapse overnight
The TTD values have traded between USD 0.160 to USD 0.147 for ten years.
Scarcity of foreign currency is not necessarily the same thing as currency devaluation.hover11 wrote:Seems you're ok with not being able to access forex, it normal that the banks offering 100 dollars a day. That normal to you, that we have a black market for US?
A devaluation would ease the burden thus allowing the banks ro release more forex it is the only answer.....buy made in T&T? please tell me what do we make in T&T that can substitute with what I need on a regular basisadnj wrote:Scarcity of foreign currency is not necessarily the same thing as currency devaluation.hover11 wrote:Seems you're ok with not being able to access forex, it normal that the banks offering 100 dollars a day. That normal to you, that we have a black market for US?
Just buy Made in T&T. You'll be fine.