Economist: The country is almost broke

Dohplaydat

Re: Economist: The country is almost broke

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 1:26 pm

Here's some ideas to generate Forex:

1. Create an offshore Software development, Business Intelligence and Artificial intelligence centre.

2. Export carnival across the world. Become a centre for artists, costume, party organization etc. Music revenues will often be in Forex.

3. Eco tourism both here and Tobago.

4. Fulfil Manning's wish to become an offshore banking centre.

5. Create a local movie industry and provide proper support and funding.

6. We have high quality cocoa and pineapple etc export those in mass

7. Export our engineering talent to Guyana. Guyana's wealth can become ours.

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 1:29 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Here's some ideas to generate Forex:

1. Create an offshore Software development, Business Intelligence and Artificial intelligence centre.

2. Export carnival across the world. Become a centre for artists, costume, party organization etc. Music revenues will often be in Forex.

Those ideas cannot work once the red government is office

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2021, 1:30 pm

LOL @Zoom

But how are the Venes getting US$ to buy to repatriate?

MaxieP; Wey yuh?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 11th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Zoom, do you think the economy will get back to what it once was if UNC wins the next election? or do you think it is a permanent decline?

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 1:33 pm

bluefete wrote:LOL @Zoom

MaxieP; Wey yuh?
Who told you they came here poor?

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2021, 1:36 pm

Fust of all, you need leaders with VISION.

The only vision PNM and UNC have is the "THIEFING FOR WE SELF VISION".

You have some good points though.

Point #2: We missed the boat on that one years ago.

Point #4: USA and all the other bullying countries in Europe will never allow that. Look at the pressure they put on small island states who wanted to do the same thing. And yuh dun know how much dey love Rowley.

Point #6: We have to look at agro-processing of these items so we do not end up like a colony again - exporting raw material en masse only to turn around and import the finished materials for our consumption - Cadbury chocolates come to mind.

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2021, 1:37 pm

MaxieP; Wey yuh?

Did they walk with their own US$?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 1:38 pm

100% agree, red government has absolutely no incentive to this as it threatens the dominance of the 1% and empowers citizens.

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2021, 1:41 pm

UNC, under its present leadership, can never restore our economy.

SuperiorMan wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Those ideas cannot work once the red government is office

Zoom, do you think the economy will get back to what it once was if UNC wins the next election? or do you think it is a permanent decline?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 1:44 pm

bluefete wrote:UNC, under its present leadership, can never restore our economy.

SuperiorMan wrote:

A third party is needed, Vasant and others will join and it will become what the PP was supposed to be.

Kamla and to a lesser extent Rowley (he's a puppet it's not his fault) are toxic to our nation.

Postby hover11 » April 11th, 2021, 1:45 pm

I confused ppl seeing all this happening and still buying brand new cars and making foolish investments, you would never believe our economy was in turmoil from the looks of consumer behaviour in trinidad and tobago
SuperiorMan wrote:
elec2020 wrote:î give it ending 2022... early 2023

How come so early? and what kind? do you think venezuela level collapse?

If the course isn't corrected, probably about mid-end 2022, and this course cannot be corrected by taxation of the local population. Trying to do so would be just as effective as a person standing in a bucket and trying to lift said bucket off the ground. We may end up doing the usual beg and borrow thing, digging the hole a bit deeper, and praying things turn around in the energy sector. Or, we may be able to renegotiate with our creditors, deferring or reducing payments.
We have to keep in mind, our main problem is forex, specifically the lack thereof, and that we import the bulk of what we consume, and we pay for those imports with forex. Without addressing our dependence on imports, it would be at best very difficult to fix the problem.

As regards the severity of the outcome, (and this is just an idea of what one can expect, not a prediction), us ending up in a position akin to Venezuela is very possible. Eventually, one can expect shortages of basic commodities like flour, rice, sugar, oil, meds, fuel, etc. Also, the eventual decline in production and ultimate shutdown of several local companies, causing a swift uptick in unemployment levels. When it starts, the negative effects will probably be seen to happen in quick succession and have the appearance of a cascade effect on local production and by extension the wider population.

For now, all the public can do is watch and wait and brace for impact, and pray that God is really a Trini.
Last edited by hover11 on April 11th, 2021, 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » April 11th, 2021, 1:48 pm

No government could fix this country tbh. I would say we reach the point of no return, the economy is running on deficit after deficit, borrowed money to pay recurring expenses, debt that our children's children will have to find some means to repay , this is Trinidad and Tobago, what I dont get is we have a forex issue but every quarter a new Starbucks or some other prestige holdings franchise is opening in a new location , those royalties must be paid in US dollars every month yet the small man or other businesses can't even get 100 US in the bank so how is this possible, waiting patiently for the inevitable devaluation
bluefete wrote:UNC, under its present leadership, can never restore our economy.

SuperiorMan wrote:

Last edited by hover11 on April 11th, 2021, 1:48 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » April 11th, 2021, 1:50 pm

bluefete wrote:

MaxieP; Wey yuh?

Venezuela is defacto dollarised, so maybe. They have no local currency (the bolivars are dumped on the street).

from my experience, the Venes when leaving here buy goods at local shops and carry it across to sell over there for US$. Pricesmart doing the same thing, on a bigger scale though. Buying foreign goods from local distributors in TT$, shipping it to other branches and selling it there for the US$ to send back to the HQ in the states.

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 1:50 pm

hover11 wrote:I confused ppl seeing all this happening and still buying brand new cars and making foolish investments, you would never believe our economy was in turmoil from the looks at consumer behaviour in trinidad and tobago
SuperiorMan wrote:
elec2020 wrote:î give it ending 2022... early 2023

How come so early? and what kind? do you think venezuela level collapse?

If the course isn't corrected, probably about mid-end 2022, and this course cannot be corrected by taxation of the local population. Trying to do so would be just as effective as a person standing in a bucket and trying to lift said bucket off the ground. We may end up doing the usual beg and borrow thing, digging the hole a bit deeper, and praying things turn around in the energy sector. Or, we may be able to renegotiate with our creditors, deferring or reducing payments.
We have to keep in mind, our main problem is forex, specifically the lack thereof, and that we import the bulk of what we consume, and we pay for those imports with forex. Without addressing our dependence on imports, it would be at best very difficult to fix the problem.

As regards the severity of the outcome, (and this is just an idea of what one can expect, not a prediction), us ending up in a position akin to Venezuela is very possible. Eventually, one can expect shortages of basic commodities like flour, rice, sugar, oil, meds, fuel, etc. Also, the eventual decline in production and ultimate shutdown of several local companies, causing a swift uptick in unemployment levels. When it starts, the negative effects will probably be seen to happen in quick succession and have the appearance of a cascade effect on local production and by extension the wider population.

For now, all the public can do is watch and wait and brace for impact, and pray that God is really a Trini.
You don't understand that the 1% and red government created this situation for the bubble to burst.

When it's busted they will buy it up .

I tired teach all yuh

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 1:52 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Who you rather trust in saving money?

Injun or creole. That will answer your question

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 1:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:

MaxieP; Wey yuh?

Venezuela is defacto dollarised, so maybe. They have no local currency (the bolivars are dumped on the street).

from my experience, the Venes when leaving here buy goods at local shops and carry it across to sell over there for US$. Pricesmart doing the same thing, on a bigger scale though. Buying foreign goods from local distributors in TT$, shipping it to other branches and selling it there for the US$ to send back to the HQ in the states.
This is correct.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 11th, 2021, 1:58 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

So you think UNC under a new leadership can restore the economy? and is not on the decline no matter what?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 11th, 2021, 2:00 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

So you think if UNC under Kamla/Vasant or someone else wins the economy will be restored?

Tbh I wondering if to migrate now and start a building a life there. I getting decent job offers in the States but I not sure if is making the right decision.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 11th, 2021, 2:02 pm

1. This requires a highly skilled and educated population. What you are asking for is essentially a high number of stem graduates. Anyhow, this is was required since the 80s and 90s and that role has been dominated by the indians for decades now who are highly skilled but lowly paid. Can't compete against the indians in tech. They'll mash ya up bad bad bad.

2. No one cares for carnival. No one. Repeat that to yourself a hundred times and fall asleep. Trinidad can't even compete with Rio carnival and no one cares for that as well.

3. This is a good idea and possibly the most realistic in terms of tourism.

4. I have been saying this for years. I think some persons in TT are wary of the added scrutiny by US and Uk regulators.

5. Pointless tbh. If you said promote TT as a destination to film movies then maybe yeh. Don't see how a movie indsutry results in added earnings for the country.

6. We also don't have the land to sustain agriculture for export. Maybe we can lease some guyanese land strictlty for agriculture to export. Can't export cocoa in mass as africa has that locked. I think pineapples are mainly exported from Panama.

7. Possible. Unless Heritage going and drill oil in Guyana and own land and rights then it's just remittance you are hoping to get.

Reality is Trinidad needs to import less. We can start by decreasing food imports. Thereare certain things we simply don't need to import such as peanut butter because the product is indistinguishable. Should also look at things such as lettuce and cereals.

Postby hover11 » April 11th, 2021, 2:05 pm

The country broke yet we still have make shift employment such as URP and CEPEP still in existence until I see these entities touched....we doing quite fine

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 2:08 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

So you think if UNC under Kamla/Vasant or someone else wins the economy will be restored?

Tbh I wondering if to migrate now and start a building a life there. I getting decent job offers in the States but I not sure if is making the right decision.
I know it will never be restored under the red government.

At this stage unc is not important but your future is.

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2021, 2:47 pm

sh!tkicker: we eh have no money to pay for ah next lock down.
lefff foot, ritttte foot: that mofo be spittin
economist: the country broke
leffff foot ritttte foot: he is a unc, he ungrateful, he dont kno nutten, iz kamala, killl him, i dont know why they so negative, go back india if u dont like it here,

allyuh pnm supporters have to be the most dotish foolish collection of humans on the planet right now.
the jim jones congregation prolly was smarter cause they at least got sumting tangible to drink.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 2:51 pm

Redress10 wrote:

1. This requires a highly skilled and educated population. What you are asking for is essentially a high number of stem graduates. Anyhow, this is was required since the 80s and 90s and that role has been dominated by the indians for decades now who are highly skilled but lowly paid. Can't compete against the indians in tech. They'll mash ya up bad bad bad.

We have 100s of very qualified experienced folks here in Trinidad with countless others abroad in places like Google, Facebook, as well as countless PhDs aboard in top universities. Bring them home, pay them at least 40k and have them lead these teams.

2. No one cares for carnival. No one. Repeat that to yourself a hundred times and fall asleep. Trinidad can't even compete with Rio carnival and no one cares for that as well.

Nope, Carnival was actually growing immensely in many countries in the Caribbean, and generating big monies for many islands. We need to promote ours better, make it more attractive to tourists. As well our promoters can go to these places and earn revenues in Forex. Look at Soaka in jamaica, that one fete probably made half a million USD or more. And we have countless others to target in Toronto, London and Miami, even Tokyo.

Now look at revenues earned by our local artists. Streaming services, Youtube, performances in other countries all earn forex.

All of these can earn us close to a billion USD a year and creates the employment of tens of thousands.

3. This is a good idea and possibly the most realistic in terms of tourism.

4. I have been saying this for years. I think some persons in TT are wary of the added scrutiny by US and Uk regulators.

5. Pointless tbh. If you said promote TT as a destination to film movies then maybe yeh. Don't see how a movie industry results in added earnings for the country.

6. We also don't have the land to sustain agriculture for export. Maybe we can lease some guyanese land strictlty for agriculture to export. Can't export cocoa in mass as africa has that locked. I think pineapples are mainly exported from Panama.

We do have it, we just need to utilize it well. Doing something is better than doing nothing.

7. Possible. Unless Heritage going and drill oil in Guyana and own land and rights then it's just remittance you are hoping to get.

I meant our local companies providing engineering services, not only remittances.

Reality is Trinidad needs to import less. We can start by decreasing food imports. Thereare certain things we simply don't need to import such as peanut butter because the product is indistinguishable. Should also look at things such as lettuce and cereals.

I agree, but where's the incentive to buy local? Local goods and services end up costing more in many cases than foreign. We need to examine why and try to subsidize or remove taxes where necessary to lower their cost of production.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2021, 3:09 pm

Redman wrote:
hover11 wrote:The only way venes will be positive is if they can go in a bank and get a loan. Loans create new money. They can also pay taxes like everyone else. As it is they are a strain on the economy.

Paying taxes would necessitate them having a vote.

Any ones guess as to how that will work out.

Residency throughout the world requires payment of taxes. Even illegal aliens in the United States pay taxes on income.

Voting is a right reserved for citizens.

Undocumented immigrants quietly pay billions into Social Security and receive no benefits

Nina Roberts Jan 28, 2019

Approximately 11 million undocumented immigrants live in the U.S. with no legal authorization to work, yet an estimated 8 million do, both on and off the books. Since undocumented immigrants don’t have Social Security numbers and are not authorized to work legally in the U.S., they are not eligible for any Social Security benefits, whether they’ve paid into the system or not. ...

Many undocumented sole proprietors, from gardeners to tech startup founders, pay self-employment taxes through an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, legally issued by the IRS. It would be easy enough not to pay anything to the IRS, especially if paid in cash. But many undocumented immigrants do file with an ITIN to be in good standing with the government should there be an opportunity to apply for a green card or citizenship in the future. Undocumented immigrants who pay self-employment taxes via an ITIN also pay into the Social Security funds, however there are no statistics on exact dollar amounts.

https://www.marketplace.org/2019/01/28/ ... eceive-no/

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 3:11 pm

adnj wrote:
Redman wrote:
hover11 wrote:The only way venes will be positive is if they can go in a bank and get a loan. Loans create new money. They can also pay taxes like everyone else. As it is they are a strain on the economy.

Residency throughout the world requires payment of taxes. Even illegal aliens in the United States pay taxes on income.

Undocumented immigrants quietly pay billions into Social Security and receive no benefits

Approximately 11 million undocumented immigrants live in the U.S. with no legal authorization to work, yet an estimated 8 million do, both on and off the books. Since undocumented immigrants don’t have Social Security numbers and are not authorized to work legally in the U.S., they are not eligible for any Social Security benefits, whether they’ve paid into the system or not. ...

Many undocumented sole proprietors, from gardeners to tech startup founders, pay self-employment taxes through an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, legally issued by the IRS. It would be easy enough not to pay anything to the IRS, especially if paid in cash. But many undocumented immigrants do file with an ITIN to be in good standing with the government should there be an opportunity to apply for a green card or citizenship in the future. Undocumented immigrants who pay self-employment taxes via an ITIN also pay into the Social Security funds, however there are no statistics on exact dollar amounts.

Dis Trinidad and the US son

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2021, 3:13 pm

sMASH wrote:sh!tkicker: we eh have no money to pay for ah next lock down.
lefff foot, ritttte foot: that mofo be spittin
economist: the country broke
leffff foot ritttte foot: he is a unc, he ungrateful, he dont kno nutten, iz kamala, killl him, i dont know why they so negative, go back india if u dont like it here,

allyuh pnm supporters have to be the most dotish foolish collection of humans on the planet right now.
the jim jones congregation prolly was smarter cause they at least got sumting tangible to drink.
Eliteauto
Pastor Habit7

These are part of the idiots that have Trinidad in dis situation

Postby bluefete » April 11th, 2021, 3:17 pm

T&T does not fit the economic models that are taught in schools / universities.

hover11 wrote:I confused ppl seeing all this happening and still buying brand new cars and making foolish investments, you would never believe our economy was in turmoil from the looks of consumer behaviour in trinidad and tobago

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2021, 3:21 pm

bluefete wrote:T&T does not fit the economic models that are taught in schools / universities.

hover11 wrote:I confused ppl seeing all this happening and still buying brand new cars and making foolish investments, you would never believe our economy was in turmoil from the looks of consumer behaviour in trinidad and tobago

This is also due to many many citizens not paying taxes. Not talking about doubles men, but doctors, landlords and many others aren't.

Also do much drug money passes through us and isn't taxed. Increasing VAT to 20% allows us to recapture some taxes here.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2021, 3:22 pm

adnj wrote:
Redman wrote:

Dis Trinidad and the US son
Then you know that registered Venezuelan nationals are required to contribute PAYE beyond the income threshold.

You may also want to take a look at how consumption taxes work to benefit an economy.

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2021, 3:35 pm

how many venes making more than the personal allowance?