sMASH wrote:Ur saying what it should be, not what the system in Trinidad actually is?
If so, same System the torints out the ticket coudk be used update that the fix was done and good.
Any officer can take a report, any officer can issue a ticket and. Thus any officer with the ticket devices should be able to note ur fix it fox.
sMASH wrote:so u want people to go to court for a light bulb? for a fuse? for a bad pothole loosen up fixture?
a person still has to give up a productive day.
all i am saying is, the tech is ALREADY available for the ticket/demerit points to go on ur DP within a minute with any officer with the ticket device. it COULD be just as simple to clear the FIXIT ticket too.
i just dont understand the trini mentality of every thing needing to be some form of punishment or penance.
the goal of these things is merely to ensure people vehicle is safe to be on the road. if the light blow, jess fix it. is only if ur tardy in fixing it, should it become a national problem.
Granny beat zoomie with her shoe. The need to b!tch and moan is strong.zoom rader wrote:sMASH wrote:so u want people to go to court for a light bulb? for a fuse? for a bad pothole loosen up fixture?
a person still has to give up a productive day.
all i am saying is, the tech is ALREADY available for the ticket/demerit points to go on ur DP within a minute with any officer with the ticket device. it COULD be just as simple to clear the FIXIT ticket too.
i just dont understand the trini mentality of every thing needing to be some form of punishment or penance.
the goal of these things is merely to ensure people vehicle is safe to be on the road. if the light blow, jess fix it. is only if ur tardy in fixing it, should it become a national problem.
Punishment or penance is what you called the Slave mentality . It is engrained into certain people that you need punishment or penance to deal with an issue . This is why black folk will be beat their kids while white folk will apply a different method to deal with the same issue
Fines are for small people and non red government MPs88sins wrote:I just curious here eh op
Allyuh eh realize that all these steep fines are strictly about "revenue" collection by way of penalizing one of the largest cross section of citizens in the country and not about making the nation's roadways safer?
Ain't no money in it for the albino midget if they tell you to fix the problem and not squeeze the fine for trivial infractions out your pocket son. They want your money, and they don't care about you, so they have no motivation to consider any other alternative to bleeding you dry with ridiculous fines for even more ridiculous infractions.
j.o.e wrote:Unaffected.... I take care of my vehicles and if I’m so unlucky to get fined for a defect that happened 2 mins before it’s for the greater good of society. Not gonna lose sleep over the smallest of probabilities. Dunno how you dudes survive real life with all this whining.
redakkmooz58 wrote:j.o.e wrote:Unaffected.... I take care of my vehicles and if I’m so unlucky to get fined for a defect that happened 2 mins before it’s for the greater good of society. Not gonna lose sleep over the smallest of probabilities. Dunno how you dudes survive real life with all this whining.
dis man soundin like ah slave n he eva so greatful to massa for his rulez.
u tried 2 run away slave u know d price............
yes massa i is sorry i know d rule massa even if it unfiar.
he alone does maintain he car in d cuntry nah n he duz change he light bulb n fuse n led controlr every oil change. he hav magic foreshield on d windscren so gravel doh pitch up on d glass ah mile from d roadblock so he ever so grateful 4 d ticket if a bulb blow on random or a crack appaer on d glass. he cud tell d police he wud fix it n do it d same day becuz dat really out of anyone contrl.....dis is wat evryone sayin here......but dis man greatful2massa 4 d ticket n fines n demrit pointz becuz he know its wrong. thnks u massa u know d bess 4 we.
4 d man axin bout d numba palte i get in chagganas by d gas station near d flyover d vinyl plate $50 4 ah side.......
88sins wrote:@ joe
I get that you don't drive around with defective cars, kudos to you on that.
The problem is that a lot of the things that a person can be ticketed for are minor problems that can be fixed cheaply and that can happen suddenly or without the knowledge of the driver.
A taillight or reverse light bulb can blow on your vehicle while you driving at any time and you won't have a clue. You might not know for days that it's not working if nobody tells you about it. And if you get stopped in a road exercise at night, in cases when you might not have access to a spare bulb on the spot, to get a 1000 ticket for something like that is somewhat unjust, when you could be given a warning and time to fix the problem.
Granted, it have some real wutless people driving some vehicles that just looking at it might give you tetanus, but we not talking about those. Government can pull them off the road and crush them and sell them for scrap iron afaic. But the average driver with a decent vehicle that working fine and in otherwise good working condition, giving them an opportunity to fix a minor problem is better than forcing them to pay the state a ridiculous sum of money for such small violations, and would encourage them to try to keep a better eye on their vehicles and make sure that they are not defective before going on the road.
To make a driver pay $1000 ticket for a $3 bulb doesn't serve as a deterrent, and it makes no sense unless the goal for the ticket is to dig as deep as you can into drivers pockets for what little money they have.
Anecdotal evidence suggests that local governments may have a revenue motive for traffic fines beyond public safety concerns. Using California county-level data over a 12-year period, this article presents findings that counties increased per capita traffic fines by 40 to 42 cents in the year immediately after a 10-percentage-point tax revenue loss in the previous year; however, these counties did not reduce traffic fines if they experienced tax revenue increase in the previous year. This finding indicates that local governments view traffic fines a revenue source to offset tax revenue loss, but not as a smoother to manage revenue fluctuation.
Any fixed rate tax or fine system (VAT, income, driving, etc.) is, by definition, regressive.Country_Bookie wrote:Exorbitant fines for vehicle defects or failure to have inspection sticker is really just a means of taxing poor people more heavily than rich people. Most wealthy people change cars every 4 to 5 years, and hence don't have to worry about their cars being inspected. Their cars are also likely to be more regularly serviced, hence less chance of a ticket for a vehicle defect.
Contrast that to poor people who are more likely to drive cars between 10 and 20 years old, and thus more likely to have trouble passing inspection or have some random defect pop up that goes unnoticed. They are also unable to afford to pay for a regular service which increases that chance.
A progressive tax system puts a heavier tax burden on the wealthy who can afford to pay more. Instead these vehicle defect fines are more likely to result in poor people paying fines, which is effectively a regressive tax system.