New student

Jevon11

New student

Postby Jevon11 » January 9th, 2021, 5:19 pm

What up fellas

I am an 18 year old who recently started doing an automotive course. This course will be going on for 2 years.
So far it's going alright

Any tips and tricks to becoming the best automotive technician?

Does it require a balance between "book sense" and "tool smart sense"?

When I've finish said course how are job opportunities in the country?

Re: New student

Postby supercharged turbo » January 9th, 2021, 5:21 pm

You sound like a NESC student

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2021, 5:55 pm

Jevon11 wrote:What up fellas

I am an 18 year old who recently started doing an automotive course. This course will be going on for 2 years.
So far it's going alright

Any tips and tricks to becoming the best automotive technician?

Does it require a balance between "book sense" and "tool smart sense"?

When I've finish said course how are job opportunities in the country?

Apprentice out at a garage in your area(for free if necessary) and get hands on experience while getting your certification.

Postby Gladiator » January 9th, 2021, 6:20 pm

Invest in good tools...your tools are your trade and your Moneymaker...don't lend them out... treat them like children...not outside children eh!

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2021, 6:31 pm

Gladiator wrote:Invest in good tools...your tools are your trade and your Moneymaker...don't lend them out... treat them like children...not outside children eh!

THIS x 10,000

NEVER LEND OUT YOUR TOOLS. NEVER!!!!!!!!

Keep up to date with changing technology. I hope the course teaches you about hybrid, electric and battery powered vehicles.

Postby nervewrecker » January 9th, 2021, 6:55 pm

https://www.facebook.com/strivermechanic

See if you could get a lil thing with this guy. Can tell him I send yuh.

He is one of the few people I drop off my vehicles by, hand him the keys and say call me when yuh done.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 9th, 2021, 9:06 pm

1. Check your ego. Even the best in the business still learn new things as technology changes.

2. Invest in tools, little by little. Take care of your tools and equipment

3. Volunteer some time at a garage. Does not need to be paid, just offer to put in a few hours each weekend, talk to the boss to set reasonable expectations

4. Invest in yourself. Keep yourself neat and clean and have proper work attire. You don’t need to look and smell like a grease monkey from the 80s

5. Don’t be afraid to admit when you don’t know

6. Understand how to research properly

7. Practice your technique to perfect it until some things become second nature

8. Avoid shortcuts and don’t cut corners

Postby MaxPower » January 9th, 2021, 9:46 pm

OP,

The best advice is to not have a typical Trinidadian mentality.

Study hard, be honest and you will do great.

Postby nervewrecker » January 9th, 2021, 10:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:1. Check your ego. Even the best in the business still learn new things as technology changes.

2. Invest in tools, little by little. Take care of your tools and equipment

3. Volunteer some time at a garage. Does not need to be paid, just offer to put in a few hours each weekend, talk to the boss to set reasonable expectations

4. Invest in yourself. Keep yourself neat and clean and have proper work attire. You don’t need to look and smell like a grease monkey from the 80s

5. Don’t be afraid to admit when you don’t know

6. Understand how to research properly

7. Practice your technique to perfect it until some things become second nature

8. Avoid shortcuts and don’t cut corners

Buh how you reach on me dan, jusso? :lol: :lol:

Don't study me OP, in my field, if you looking too clean and too sharp you can't be doing it right. And I have a habit if I cant get my hands in it I start to get angry.

Another thing, never be afraid to ask questions. Thats how you learn.

And all criticism can be taken as constructive criticism.

A true leader will also welcome suggestions. if you training with someone and can suggest a new way to do something any right minded individual will welcome and consider the suggestion. I always ask people to speak up, as brilliant as people say I am, sometimes I overlook stuff. Just recently someone had a dumb suggestion and I had to stop and think about it. I told him its not a dumb suggestion at all, in fact its a great idea. let's do it that way instead.

Postby stev » January 9th, 2021, 11:39 pm

invest in yourself as mentioned before: get your tools!!! do not led them out!!! if someone ask for your tools borrowed, simply say no and offer to assist them with what they're doing as an alternative...don't worry if u only have one spanner in January and one socket in February....an arsenal of tools will build over time.

SAFETY FIRST no matter how small or trivial the task is...the slightest damage can affect your work and in turn, your livelihood

keep evidence (wherever possible) of successful jobs or user feedback...and I mean in writing.....show evidence of self investment and ambition (in writing again...even if it's a log book)....this part is very important if u need a loan one day to open your own business....also show good evidence that u save money monthly...

Jevon11

Postby Jevon11 » January 10th, 2021, 9:00 am

Wow thanks for all the advice fellas! Appreciate it alot
Would make sure to follow everything

Postby redmanjp » January 11th, 2021, 5:27 pm

did u learn about repairing hybrids? i would imagine by now that should be included in any auto mechanics course as that's the future

Postby timelapse » January 12th, 2021, 9:00 am

Learn some business management skills especially accounting and marketing.Nothing over the top, just enough for you to make informed business decisions.
Show me a man, I'll show you his friends: Associate yourself genuinely with like minded individuals.Not where you are at in your present state, but rather where you want to be.Mentors can be a very useful asset.

Don't bite off more than you can chew: typical rookie mistake among Trinidad mechanics.You start to get popular, you take on way more work than you can manage, you have people waiting too long for their vehicles, your popularity drops.Pace yourself realistically.

Nothing hurts a mechanic more than his reputation: I assume you do not want to be " That drunkard mechanic from up the road" The only clientele, you'll attract is cheapskates and pipers. Conduct yourself in a professional manner at all times. You and you brand are inseparable.