88sins wrote:pugboy wrote:garlic, tomato purée and onions are mainly supplied by china.
esp garlic
and china exports a lot of peeled garlic with prison labour, lot of them peeled with teeth as the prisoners fingers sore from overwork.
snd daz y I doh buy peeled garlic
nemisis wrote:Other than restaurants who buying peeled garlic?
Hwells wrote:88sins wrote:pugboy wrote:garlic, tomato purée and onions are mainly supplied by china.
esp garlic
and china exports a lot of peeled garlic with prison labour, lot of them peeled with teeth as the prisoners fingers sore from overwork.
snd daz y I doh buy peeled garlic
and when dey dead, free organs to harvest
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the easier question would be : which of our meals are all local?
Rovin wrote:hand peel garlic ? - aint got time fo dat , though dem ole tanties does love to do dat
as u need it : pong 2 fresh garlic cloves on a indian lorha & sil , if some of allyuh dunno wais dat : google it ...
pugboy wrote:garlic, tomato purée and onions are mainly supplied by china.
esp garlic
and china exports a lot of peeled garlic with prison labour, lot of them peeled with teeth as the prisoners fingers sore from overwork.88sins wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:pugboy wrote:i hear most of the “fresh” local juices using concentrate from mexico and other places
likewise the locally “manufactured” ketchup using puree from china
Back in 2014 I was in a meeting with Namdevco where they said something like 70% of pepper mash used in the country is imported from Colombia and Costa Rica. Pepper Mash is what is used by the big companies like Chief, Matouks and Chatak to make their pepper sauces. Trini peppers are added to provide flavour but the basis is the mash.
So something ubiquitous as Trini pepper sauce isn't actually Trini at all
not unless yuh do like me & grow your own and make yuh pepper sauce at home.
& even that has one imported item in it (but only cuz I eh figure out yet if it make sense to grow grow garlic )
nervewrecker wrote:The lobster at IAM and gopiesingh wedding was all local. Big fellaz too.
Same as the ones at the restaurants in north and north west.
Local and local cleaned.
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the easier question would be : which of our meals are all local?
Boil plantain and steam manicou
paid_influencer wrote:serious talk eh, but where all these lobsters coming from? them not going to be overharvested soon at the current rate?
pugboy wrote:I cut off the stem part and just smash with side of knife, skin comes off easy
There is also a trick technique to shake them in a round bowl but I found it unreliableRovin wrote:hand peel garlic ? - aint got time fo dat , though dem ole tanties does love to do dat
as u need it : pong 2 fresh garlic cloves on a indian lorha & sil , if some of allyuh dunno wais dat : google it ...
88sins wrote:ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the easier question would be : which of our meals are all local?
Boil plantain and steam manicou
Anything allyuh call, no matter how much you think it's all local with zero imported inputs, allyuh wrong all day long. Try eating any of those things without salt and lemme know how it tastes
zoom rader wrote:Kant Clarence let the 1% KFC pass
Redman wrote:zoom rader wrote:Kant Clarence let the 1% KFC pass
Maybe because their chicken is supplied by......who?