HP ink ripoff

Premchand1976

HP ink ripoff

Postby Premchand1976 » October 27th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Take a look at these pics ppl. Bought from psmart and tried printing in both black and white and coloured and the pages came out blank. Ran a test page and it printed coloured AND visible. Any ideas why ? Change printer brand ???
IMG_20201026_185540.jpeg
IMG_20201026_185037.jpeg

Re: HP ink ripoff [emoji848][emoji848][emoji1745][emoji1745]

Postby maj. tom » October 27th, 2020, 5:31 pm

well yeah, printer ink is like the biggest scam industry on the planet.
But you need to buy new ink. The cartridges that came with the new printer are just demos, and not filled all the way like new ones. And that reading may not be accurate. A new cartridge will calibrate the printer head properly to the filled levels of a new cartridge. You also need all 4 inks CMYK to print properly, even regular black and white because they mix the create richer and darker blacks, and also print invisible secret dots on each page as a unique marker (MIC), like this:

Wait until you read about subscriptions to print, or how the printers can get software updates to reject unauthorized cartridges or deliberately read low ink to force you to buy new ink.

At this point you should realize that you should have invested in a laser printer with 1500-pages black toner instead.
Last edited by maj. tom on October 27th, 2020, 5:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 27th, 2020, 5:35 pm

^ those are the only printers Pricesmart have on sale. In general alot of stores that sell printers don't have. I checked Pricesmart mausica and port of spain and was only the printer OP got that was on sale. Courts had no printers. Went to a few pc stores and they had some.printers but those more suited for offices than for home use (some.pc stores actually had discounts on some printers cause they no longer carry the ink for said printer).

Postby pugboy » October 27th, 2020, 5:36 pm

when buying an inkjet make sure and check the price of refills
also some printers make you replace all even though only one may be empty

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2020, 5:43 pm

the deskjet 3775 printer i bought from them 2 yrs ago started printing blank pages after a few months despite hardly using it (i may have printed less than 20-30 pages) so i figured the cartridge needed changing as it probably was a startup cartridge.

been to Pricemart a few times this year and up to now they doh have d cartridge.

Closeout Deals

Postby Closeout Deals » October 27th, 2020, 6:41 pm

I think it has to do something with north american and south american inks and printers. The printers distributed in south america is not compatible with the north american inks and vice versa.

Postby The_Honourable » October 27th, 2020, 7:52 pm

Make sure to clean the printhead which is the component the CMYK ink cartridges snaps into. If not in use for a while, the ink in the nozzle dries up and harden. You can use isopropyl alcohol.

Get this on a regular when Officejets are not in use for more than a month.
hp printerhead.jpg

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 27th, 2020, 7:55 pm

Thanks all. Printer and genuine ink bought from pricesmart. Cartridges replaced about a month ago and been used a couple times per week for kids school printing so not packed down for any significant period to allow drying .

Its the first time this happened with the levels showing so high tho so I wanna believe it may be that the nozzle may need cleaning as suggested.

Will give it a try when next I get a chance and update .

Postby Ted_v2 » October 27th, 2020, 8:07 pm

i saw a guy in pricemart that bought 5 packets of ink. that was you?

my next step is retrofitting a ink station onto my printer, the ink is in bottles and feed directly into the printer head. cost a few cents per page.

kamakazi

Re: HP ink ripoff [

Postby kamakazi » October 27th, 2020, 8:56 pm

Have to add a couple of things

The read out on that particular printer and most printers in general is an estimate... It has no idea how much ink is remaining in the cartridge.

Printers deliberately use blue when printing black to use up ink faster in my opinion.

The setup cartridge for that printer in the past had more ink capacity than the cartridge you just bought from pricesmart.

Ink tank printers are on sale and the ink is definitely cheaper but the buy in price is usually over 1500 tt to start. Not sure if all the epson in pricesmart sold out.

Premchand1976 wrote:Take a look at these pics ppl. Bought from psmart and tried printing in both black and white and coloured and the pages came out blank. Ran a test page and it printed coloured AND visible. Any ideas why ? Change printer brand ???
IMG_20201026_185037.jpeg
IMG_20201026_185540.jpeg

Postby 88sins » October 27th, 2020, 8:56 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:i saw a guy in pricemart that bought 5 packets of ink. that was you?

my next step is retrofitting a ink station onto my printer, the ink is in bottles and feed directly into the printer head. cost a few cents per page.

If doing this for home use, wait till that ink starts to evaporate and thicken with slow limited use and see if it's as good an option.

If you want value for money, a laser printer is your best bet. Yes, toners cost more, but the trade off is better quality prints and higher yields than ink.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 27th, 2020, 9:20 pm

, nah I buy one twin pack of each .....
Ted_v2 wrote:i saw a guy in pricemart that bought 5 packets of ink. that was you?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 27th, 2020, 9:22 pm

If doing this for home use, wait till that ink starts to evaporate and thicken with slow limited use and see if it's as good an option.

If you want value for money, a laser printer is your best bet. Yes, toners cost more, but the trade off is better quality prints and higher yields than ink.
Definitely gonna look into this in December 2020 based on the updates on kids returning to school and how soon in the new year .

Re: HP ink ripoff

Postby gastly369 » October 27th, 2020, 10:08 pm

Epson eco tank
Using bulk ink for over 6 years and only buy ink 2 times since

Pelt way dem rubbish HP

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » October 27th, 2020, 10:16 pm

gastly369 wrote:Epson eco tank

Pelt way dem rubbish HP
Which one of the eco tank you got ? I was watching this pre covid-19 but wasn't sure of Ink life from minimal use back then so opted for the hp.

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2020, 10:20 pm

Closeout Deals wrote:I think it has to do something with north american and south american inks and printers. The printers distributed in south america is not compatible with the north american inks and vice versa.

but why sell a printer that u know would need a particular cartridge (if it only comes with a starter cartridge) and then don't provide the compatible cartridge? :roll:

Postby gastly369 » October 27th, 2020, 10:21 pm

L3110 for regular use I could recommend
Premchand1976 wrote:

Pelt way dem rubbish HP
Which one of the eco tank you got ? I was watching this pre covid-19 but wasn't sure of Ink life from minimal use back then so opted for the hp.

Postby redmanjp » October 27th, 2020, 10:23 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:

Definitely gonna look into this in December 2020 based on the updates on kids returning to school and how soon in the new year .

but that's for doing like a few hundred pages per week or so? me eh really need a workhorse like in a office though- just a printer to do the occasional print

aidan

Postby aidan » October 27th, 2020, 11:50 pm

X2 got this printer 6 years now, well worth it. Only had to refill the tanks twice and between my sister and wife using it, dem does rellllll print.
gastly369 wrote:L3110 for regular use I could recommend
Premchand1976 wrote:

Pelt way dem rubbish HP

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 29th, 2020, 1:56 pm

People still using inkjet printers? Do yourself a favor and go laser.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 29th, 2020, 1:58 pm

be wary of these HP cartridges that have the XL in addition to their correct numbers, within the last few months the printer is now saying that it is incompatible with the XL cartridges and will not work. Mind you they were working perfectly for a few times before, and this happened with 2 printers we have ..

Postby gastly369 » October 29th, 2020, 2:03 pm

Different application sir....
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:People still using inkjet printers? Do yourself a favor and go laser.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 29th, 2020, 2:06 pm

gastly369 wrote:Different application sir....
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:People still using inkjet printers? Do yourself a favor and go laser.

Yeah inkjet application better at emptying your wallet and increasing headache.

Postby gastly369 » October 29th, 2020, 2:59 pm

Lol