Venezuelan floating storage with 173K tons of oil is sinking in Gulf of Paria

Dohplaydat

Re: Venezuelan floating storage with 173K tons of oil is sinking in Gulf of Paria

Postby Dohplaydat » October 16th, 2020, 4:26 pm

abbow wrote:If this is allowed to continue listing and eventually spilling into the gulf....it will be squarely placed on the irresponsibility of the government. The world is fighting climate change while we sit idle and watch this unfold....

Agreed, this will be a HUGE diaster for the gulf and will be a small dent in Venezuela but massive impact on Trinidad. We cannot allow this to happen.

BLM people want to protest something? protest this.

Re: Venezuelan floating storage with 173K tons of oil is sinking in Gulf of Paria

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2020, 5:05 pm

Allyuh realize that the vessel isn’t in our waters and that there is no legal mechanism that GORTT can unilaterally implement?

Let’s ignore sanctions for now, or the value of the oil.

Postby sMASH » October 16th, 2020, 6:06 pm

Redman wrote:Allyuh realize that the vessel isn’t in our waters and that there is no legal mechanism that GORTT can unilaterally implement?

No one is talking about about unilateral action.
What we are saying is, because it is important to both regimes, that they oepn communication lines, like the ones they had with Delco during the closed borders, and agree to put some off shore expertise team to come up with solutions.

Whether they ARE talking about the matter at this moment, no one knows, so it APEARS to be inaction.

Postby Redman » October 16th, 2020, 6:38 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:Allyuh realize that the vessel isn’t in our waters and that there is no legal mechanism that GORTT can unilaterally implement?

What we are saying is, because it is important to both regimes, that they oepn communication lines, like the ones they had with Delco during the closed borders, and agree to put some off shore expertise team to come up with solutions.

Whether they ARE talking about the matter at this moment, no one knows, so it APEARS to be inaction.

Yep.

http://news.gov.tt/content/trinidad-and ... 4ogqi84ZvI

https://www.google.com/search?client=sa ... 1&bih=1526

Postby sMASH » October 16th, 2020, 6:45 pm

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Yep.

http://news.gov.tt/content/trinidad-and ... 4ogqi84ZvI

https://www.google.com/search?client=sa ... 1&bih=1526

dated the 16th of october... today.

till then they were 'monitoring'.

the US embassy was able to address the situation as far as their capacity allows, before GORTT. and this press release at this hour, seems to be 'spurred' on by the US address.

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 7:01 pm

new strategy: get Rowley on a boat, have him sail right up to the oil storage tanker, and leggo some hard cuss. That boat will right itself and leave

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 7:08 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Saw this sharing on socials
Can anyone confirm?

wdmc

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 7:34 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
abbow wrote:If this is allowed to continue listing and eventually spilling into the gulf....it will be squarely placed on the irresponsibility of the government. The world is fighting climate change while we sit idle and watch this unfold....

Agreed, this will be a HUGE diaster for the gulf and will be a small dent in Venezuela but massive impact on Trinidad. We cannot allow this to happen.

BLM people want to protest something? protest this.

Allow?

How exactly are you going to intervene?

Postby sMASH » October 16th, 2020, 7:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Saw this sharing on socials
Can anyone confirm?

wdmc

there is a vid on fb from a local boat coming from the port side to starboard side showing that same tug. only saw that vid this evening.

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2020, 8:14 pm

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 8:22 pm

Are they trinis in venezuelan waters illegally?

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » October 16th, 2020, 9:00 pm

Redress10 wrote:Are they trinis in venezuelan waters illegally?

i wish pnm people was concerned about venezuelans in trinidad waters illegally

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 9:25 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:

Well when they are fired upon and possibly killed by Venezuelan authorities I hope they don't go crying to the Gov't. Not every country is sh*ts and giggles when it comes to their territory and sovereignty yeh.

What if the venezuelans arrested them and charged them with sabotaging the ship?

Postby The_Honourable » October 16th, 2020, 9:30 pm

Statement on Nabarima

October 16, 2020: The United States remains concerned by the potential risk to safety and environment posed by the Venezuelan-flagged vessel, Nabarima, in the Gulf of Paria. We strongly support immediate actions to bring the Nabarima up to international safety standards and avoid possible environmental harm, which could negatively impact not only the Venezuelan people but also those in nearby countries. PdVSA has a responsibility to take action to avoid an environmental disaster in Venezuelan waters.

As a general matter, the United States’ Venezuela sanctions program is not designed to target activities addressing safety, environmental, or humanitarian concerns. These activities to avert an ecological disaster are consistent with U.S. policy to support the Venezuelan people and avoid further harm to the environment.

https://tt.usembassy.gov/statement-on-nabarima/

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 9:31 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

Well when they are fired upon and possibly killed by Venezuelan authorities I hope they don't go crying to the Gov't. Not every country is sh*ts and giggles when it comes to their territory and sovereignty yeh.

What if the venezuelans arrested them and charged them with sabotaging the ship?

you really criticizing the fellas taking a closer look at potentially the worst ecological, economic and humanitarian disaster this country has ever faced?

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » October 16th, 2020, 9:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

you really criticizing the fellas taking a closer look at potentially the worst ecological, economic and humanitarian disaster this country has ever faced?

pnm people always deflecting from the important issues

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » October 16th, 2020, 9:36 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

then rowliar could call a meeting and say is unpatriotic underminer people sabotaging the ship

like how they flush yellow fruits in the toilet

because yellow

like the party colour

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 9:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

Hell yeah.

Unless he got permission, they had no right to be in venezuelan waters. Why take the risk of being arrested or even killed just to prove a point.

Venezuela is basically in the middle of a civil war. That vessel is basically an economic asset for them. We don't know if the vessel was sabotaged by "opposition" forces and venezuelan authorities are on alert for further attacks etc. So why take these unnecessary risks in these sort of situations. It makes no sense to me.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 9:50 pm

Lou Screuz wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

How is this a pnm issue? A venezuelan ship in venezuelan waters is a pnm issue now?

Postby Chimera » October 16th, 2020, 9:55 pm

Redress10 wrote:Hell yeah.

Unless he got permission, they had no right to be in venezuelan waters. Why take the risk of being arrested or even killed just to prove a point.

if this world only had men like you, we would still have slavery

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » October 16th, 2020, 10:01 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

Hell yeah.

Venezuela is basically in the middle of a civil war. That vessel is basically an economic asset for them. We don't know if the vessel was sabotaged by "opposition" forces and venezuelan authorities are on alert for further attacks etc. So why take these unnecessary risks in these sort of situations. It makes no sense to me.

biggest jackass here, any more excuses?

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » October 16th, 2020, 10:02 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

How is this a pnm issue? A venezuelan ship in venezuelan waters is a pnm issue now?

that is what I want to know :mrgreen:

because it seems to me like plenty pnm people - radio host and blogger and all

wants everybody who is talking about this issue and drawing attention to this issue

to stop talking about this issue and drawing attention to this issue and sounding like

uh gawd wot alyuo worrying for ?

alyou want it to leak o wuh ? alyou hoping it leak o wuh ?

but serious go back and read -i never said it was a pnm issue :lol:

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 10:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Hell yeah.

if this world only had men like you, we would still have slavery

Hahaha..clowns.

Alluh problem is alluh feel the rest of the world jokey like you trinis and does operate the same way as our coast guard. You will be well and truly shocked. Why don't you take a boat and chart a course towards new york and let's see how close you will get to the US shoreline.

You know. If the venezuelans were to fire on them alluh would find the venezueland wrong. Just remember that the world doesn't operate on trini time yeh

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 10:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:

Hell yeah.

biggest jackass here, any more excuses?

But it's a venezuelan ship in venezuelan waters. Wtf you could do? Seriously now.

Postby The_Honourable » October 16th, 2020, 10:30 pm

Although i get what Gary Aboud is trying to do and the passion behind it which is commendable... redress is correct.

At the end of the day, the Nabarima is a Venezuelan ship in Venezuelan waters and therefore the jurisdiction of the Venezuelan government who has been downplaying this issue. They already stating that the tilting photo is over a month old and the ship has been stabilized - which more than likely is untrue. Anybody that tries to expose what's happening especially visiting the location of the Nabarima might be met with harsh consequences from the Guardia Nacional or/and the venezuelan army.

Yes, the venezuelan government can claim sabotage and will be a perfect excuse if an oil spill occurs. The propaganda machine can accuse Gary Aboud for working with the US to sabotage a ship to make the maduro regime look bad.

We can make noise all we want, the T&T government can't do anything until they get authorization from the Venezuelan government to traverse Venezuelan waters to visit the ship. If that doesn't happen, all we can do is watch and hope nothing happens.

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 10:33 pm

redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 16th, 2020, 10:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?

How is that the issue? The ship is in Venezuelan waters and is owned by the Venezuelan state. What exactly do you expect the gov't of TT to do? Do you expect them to breach sovereignty and send the TTCG to go secure the ship and the oil?

I am truly at a lost as to what some of you all expect out of this situation.

Postby paid_influencer » October 16th, 2020, 10:53 pm

Redress10 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:redress, let's try another way to understand. What do you see as the worst case scenario for T&T in this situation, with the 173K tons of oil stored on that damaged ship?

How is that the issue? The ship is in Venezuelan waters and is owned by the Venezuelan state. What exactly do you expect the gov't of TT to do? Do you expect them to breach sovereignty and send the TTCG to go secure the ship and the oil?

I am truly at a lost as to what some of you all expect out of this situation.

Humor me, what do you think will happen if those 173K tons of oil spill into the gulf of Paria?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 16th, 2020, 11:00 pm