COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

neilsingh100

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1920 cases, 28 deaths, 1201 active, 691 discharged in T&T

Postby neilsingh100 » September 2nd, 2020, 8:34 pm

MOH really dropped the ball with testing and reporting. Expect a spike in the next two weeks because of those home quarantine COVID-19 positive patients. Based on feedback I am getting this second wave is being poorly managed and looks like we are in the same boat as the US where the only hope is a vaccine.
Last edited by neilsingh100 on September 2nd, 2020, 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1920 cases, 28 deaths, 1201 active, 691 discharged in T&T

Postby aaron17 » September 2nd, 2020, 8:35 pm

I even more depressed now...

Postby sMASH » September 2nd, 2020, 8:38 pm

redmanjp wrote:Masks wearers likely to get asymptomatic infections due to low viral load

https://www.inverse.com/mind-body/masks-breathing-in-less-coronavirus-means-you-get-less-sick
Practically self vaccination, in my book.

Postby maj. tom » September 2nd, 2020, 8:44 pm

Makes sense on the viral inoculum, backed by a lot of evidence and studies on viruses, and virus replication vs. immune response times.

We basically have had a cure all along before vaccination. Just properly wear the mask and follow the hygiene and social distancing guidelines.

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2020, 8:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:Masks wearers likely to get asymptomatic infections due to low viral load

https://www.inverse.com/mind-body/masks-breathing-in-less-coronavirus-means-you-get-less-sick

note that is an opinion piece from an Infectious disease doctor, not a clinical study.

So it is probably true, but no actual evidence to confirm either way.

Postby redmanjp » September 2nd, 2020, 8:52 pm

aaron17 wrote:I even more depressed now...

just wear a mask- see study i posted above- you may still get infected (probably by the chin wearers) but most likely mild or zero symptoms. of course because MOH not testing asymptomatic ppl this creates it's own problems -with everyone wearing masks we will have a large % of carriers who doh know they have it.

Postby sMASH » September 2nd, 2020, 8:54 pm

it was known early that corona virus attacks heart tissue too, just not as much as the lungs. thats why i said, plenty cardiac cases might have also been covid. but they werent testing for that, at that time.

Postby redmanjp » September 2nd, 2020, 8:55 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

note that is an opinion piece from an Infectious disease doctor, not a clinical study.

So it is probably true, but no actual evidence to confirm either way.

he cited this study

https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007%2Fs11606-020-06067-8

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2020, 9:00 pm

that is an opinion article ("Perspective") in a medical journal. It is not a clinical study.

A clinical study for that conclusion would have a null hypothesis that needs to be rejected with a confidence interval published.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 2nd, 2020, 9:16 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:MOH really dropped the ball with testing and reporting. Expect a spike in the next two weeks because of those home quarantine COVID-19 positive patients. Based on feedback I am getting this second wave is being poorly managed and looks like we are in the same boat as the US where the only hope is a vaccine.

I telling allyuh that 3 weeks now...but nahhhh

Ooo btw...figure now reach 2650

Postby redmanjp » September 2nd, 2020, 9:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
neilsingh100 wrote:MOH really dropped the ball with testing and reporting. Expect a spike in the next two weeks because of those home quarantine COVID-19 positive patients. Based on feedback I am getting this second wave is being poorly managed and looks like we are in the same boat as the US where the only hope is a vaccine.

wait wha :shock:

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2020, 9:30 pm

the 'never done' batch getting bigger

:drinking:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 2nd, 2020, 9:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Remember last week i mentioned that we would hit the 2k figure this week(was supposed to be tuesday gone but oh well)...new info presented to suggests total number hit that 2650 mark....so just wait for it

Postby redmanjp » September 2nd, 2020, 9:35 pm

i know at one point looptt said something about 600 swabs to be tested- but not 600 positive tests!

no wonder dey batching up results- this partial lock down have a lot longer than 28 days to go oui- God help us.

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2020, 9:40 pm

2650 gonna be a big jump somewhere soon

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 2nd, 2020, 9:47 pm

The 980 persons who supposed to be home and are "expected" to be monitored is one issue. The figure for primary contacts keeps going up and as moh finally admitted (they dont have the capacity to monitor)

Jack got his results privately. Quick was the word. Carpha said they giving results in 2-3 days so why moh waiting 2-3 weeks to give people their results is beyond me

fireworks

Postby fireworks » September 2nd, 2020, 10:07 pm

sMASH wrote:

Practically self vaccination, in my book.

Got sick with a strange flu like virus that started without a sore throat or fever about a month ago me and a couple of people in my circle of friends got sick almost same time. It stayed with me for 2 weeks but I am fully recovered. Along with everyone who got sick.

I had the most Extreme mucus production in nose and sinuses I never experienced before in my life. I lost all taste and smell for a week and a half never in my life I ever experienced that. I had diarrhea for a day and a dry cough Which still lingering. But through it all besides having all those symptoms I did not feel sick I had full energy . My doctor say I have most of the symptoms of COVID so he had me tested for coronavirus which came back negative He Could not fully believe the results so he had my blood drawn last week to test for the antibodies an everything came back negative.

Safe to say the virus could be mutating and becoming harmless. The test has to be updated to see these new strains.

Postby sMASH » September 2nd, 2020, 10:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The 980 persons who supposed to be home and are "expected" to be monitored is one issue. The figure for primary contacts keeps going up and as moh finally admitted (they dont have the capacity to monitor)

Jack got his results privately. Quick was the word. Carpha said they giving results in 2-3 days so why moh waiting 2-3 weeks to give people their results is beyond me
ya hadda ease it een, inch at a time. oh u want the graphs to red line... :lol:

Postby pugboy » September 2nd, 2020, 10:10 pm

roshan say they want to get 3 more machines with the surge in testing and huge backlog
man finally admitting the obvious

Postby redmanjp » September 2nd, 2020, 10:34 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The 980 persons who supposed to be home and are "expected" to be monitored is one issue. The figure for primary contacts keeps going up and as moh finally admitted (they dont have the capacity to monitor)

the extra 700 +ve were tested with the rapid antigen tests or what?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 2nd, 2020, 11:34 pm

A Supercomputer Analyzed Covid-19 — and an Interesting New Theory Has Emerged
A closer look at the Bradykinin hypothesis

https://elemental.medium.com/a-supercom ... cb8eba9d63

Postby maj. tom » September 2nd, 2020, 11:55 pm

^ very interesting and remarkable biochemistry research. They do have bradykinin production blockers which they use after cardiothoracic surgery to stop blood loss. https://www.drugbank.ca/drugs/DB05311

Testing it in animals is maybe the next step in finding a way to reduce symptoms and fatalities of Covid-19.

Postby sMASH » September 2nd, 2020, 11:59 pm

kamla was right, sunlight FITES covid.

maj. tom wrote:^ very interesting and remarkable biochemistry research. They do have bradykinin production blockers which they use after cardiothoracic surgery to stop blood loss. https://www.drugbank.ca/drugs/DB05311

Testing it in animals is maybe the next step in finding a way to reduce symptoms and fatalities of Covid-19.
enough near death covid people available. the medicine are already FDA approved, just try it on some of them. paging dr. House!

FrankChag

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 1839 cases, 28 deaths, 1120 active, 691 discharged in T&T

Postby FrankChag » September 3rd, 2020, 2:06 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Most Recovered COVID-19 Patients Left With Heart Damage, Study Shows

A new study published Monday in the JAMA Cardiology Journal found that 78 percent of recovered COVID-19 patients had permanent heart damage.

https://www.newsweek.com/most-recovered ... ws-1521456

This was an interesting read too:

“A Supercomputer Analyzed Covid-19 — and an Interesting New Theory Has Emerged” by Thomas Smith https://link.medium.com/327JWdQSs9

So basically the thinking is now COVID19/SARS-CoV-2 is "vascular disease, rather than a respiratory one" causing leaky blood vessels... Hence, heart damage, covid-toes, messing with your lungs so “it’s like trying to breathe through Jell-O.”, etc etc..

so bradykinin-storms, "leaky blood vessels"...

Not sure if to fell releaved with the research progress, or deeply concerned...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 3rd, 2020, 2:48 am

pugboy wrote:roshan say they want to get 3 more machines with the surge in testing and huge backlog
man finally admitting the obvious

they cud bring 1000 such machines an it wouldnt matter. Testing NOT going to help us, testing only bring the numbers so that the world can record the figures. once a man tested an positive and home quarantine and continue roaming the country infecting others those not going to help us.if when the test came back positive the infected were take to carrera island and left for 21 days and then returned then it would make a difference an there is no special treatment for the virus an it have to run its course an isolating the infected would protect the rest of us. as it is going now in a country of 1.4 mil people its only a matter of time of when each one of us become infected.
21 days of total lockdown and curfew would help reduce the numbers but everyone studying the almighty dollar instead of the lives of the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago. someone can get a next job but cannot get a next life.

Postby aaron17 » September 3rd, 2020, 3:49 am

I call 10,000 ppl.

Postby aaron17 » September 3rd, 2020, 3:50 am

Wait nah...we ever get any reply on numbers who died before covid was a thing? Like viral deaths...i thought it was 400.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 3rd, 2020, 6:04 am

agree.
the economy could take another hit, trinidad healthcare not ready for whats going to happen. Its just a matter of time.

Postby pugboy » September 3rd, 2020, 6:06 am

The number they gonna be fudging next is the home quarantine discharge rates
As the beds fill up they will be sending more positive persons home to avoid admitting collapse.

Postby zoom rader » September 3rd, 2020, 7:26 am

pugboy wrote:The number they gonna be fudging next is the home quarantine discharge rates
As the beds fill up they will be sending more positive persons home to avoid admitting collapse.

Don't you feel cheated by the Government as they have placed your health at risk