zoom rader wrote:I did not sing the song bro and these are the types of songs certain people are happy to hear.VII wrote:You are beyond help,please dont teach your kids to be racist ok ..zoom rader wrote:This better
He even won with this song
I can post many more kaisos if you like.
VII wrote:Padna I rebuked crocro right here and said that wasnt music,we are having our own thing here and trying to move on,or are we ? Steups the hate is real yes..
These songs needs to played to remind people how it is used to instill the racism and keep people locked into it.alfa wrote:zoom rader wrote:I did not sing the song bro and these are the types of songs certain people are happy to hear.VII wrote:You are beyond help,please dont teach your kids to be racist ok ..zoom rader wrote:This better
You tell em Zoom. Racism seems to only work one way for certain folks and probably see Cro Cro them as musical geniuses and Gladiator as the epitome of free speech. The only reason songs like these have fallen to the wayside is because young people don't want to hear them old folks thing again. They like zesser tunes and right foot left foot baliser
It's very Sad that 7533 people will not get service or presentation in parliament.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:https://www.facebook.com/mpesmondforde/photos/a.954671867900876/3516292735072097/?type=3&theater
zoom rader wrote:These songs needs to played to remind people how it is used to instill the racism and keep people locked into it.alfa wrote:zoom rader wrote:I did not sing the song bro and these are the types of songs certain people are happy to hear.VII wrote:You are beyond help,please dont teach your kids to be racist ok ..zoom rader wrote:This better
You tell em Zoom. Racism seems to only work one way for certain folks and probably see Cro Cro them as musical geniuses and Gladiator as the epitome of free speech. The only reason songs like these have fallen to the wayside is because young people don't want to hear them old folks thing again. They like zesser tunes and right foot left foot baliser
Sun Apr 25 2010
Gregory "GB" Ballantyne, who composed the song for Mystic Prowler, yesterday debunked any notion that the calypso National Unity In The Year 2010 was meant to be serious political commentary.
"The song was tongue in cheek; it was not meant to be serious political commentary. "Mystic Prowler won with Beneath the Surface, which I also composed, and which is a classic. "National Unity was just a back-up song, back up nonsense about Mystic Prowler going in a dream and he saw 2010 when Sat Maharaj (of the Maha Sabha) was controlling the country," GB explained. He said at the time Maharaj, a Hindu leader, was in the midst of a national controversy about the Government's plan to introduce pan in all primary schools, including those run by the Maha Sabha.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/mystic- ... b4445fd1c7
If you believe Gregory "GB" Ballantyne you might aswell vote PNM for the rest of your life.maj. tom wrote:zoom rader wrote:These songs needs to played to remind people how it is used to instill the racism and keep people locked into it.alfa wrote:zoom rader wrote:I did not sing the song bro and these are the types of songs certain people are happy to hear.VII wrote:You are beyond help,please dont teach your kids to be racist ok ..zoom rader wrote:This better
You tell em Zoom. Racism seems to only work one way for certain folks and probably see Cro Cro them as musical geniuses and Gladiator as the epitome of free speech. The only reason songs like these have fallen to the wayside is because young people don't want to hear them old folks thing again. They like zesser tunes and right foot left foot baliserSun Apr 25 2010
Gregory "GB" Ballantyne, who composed the song for Mystic Prowler, yesterday debunked any notion that the calypso National Unity In The Year 2010 was meant to be serious political commentary.
"The song was tongue in cheek; it was not meant to be serious political commentary. "Mystic Prowler won with Beneath the Surface, which I also composed, and which is a classic. "National Unity was just a back-up song, back up nonsense about Mystic Prowler going in a dream and he saw 2010 when Sat Maharaj (of the Maha Sabha) was controlling the country," GB explained. He said at the time Maharaj, a Hindu leader, was in the midst of a national controversy about the Government's plan to introduce pan in all primary schools, including those run by the Maha Sabha.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/mystic- ... b4445fd1c7
https://medium.com/@dwomowale/how-afric ... 02bf113828
Neither G.B. or Sugar Aloes are opposed to the idea of unity between Africans and Indians, but they both suggest that this unity must be based on mutual respect between Africans and Indians, rather than being based on an attempt to erase the cultural heritage and history of African people by imposing the cultural and historical experiences on African history in Trinidad and Tobago. As I said, what Brother Marvin attempted to do may have been noble, but in the end his song represented an example of the fact that some believe that unity means that African people must forget our history and our culture.
Sadly, as the clip below points out, many Trinidadians believe that they must forgo their African identity for the sake of their Trinidadian identity. In fact, many of us throughout the diaspora attempt to hide from our African identities behind nationalities. This is what many in the ADOS movement attempt to do as well.
“They Ain’t See Africa At All” by Chalkdust, who criticizes those Africans who attempt to run away from their African identities. As Chalkdust reminds us: “Black people must stop running from their race.”
Lyrics to JAHAJI BHAI | BROTHERHOOD OF THE BOAT
By Brother Marvin (1996)
http://guanaguanaresingsat.blogspot.com ... -song.html
For those who playing ignorant talking 'bout true African descendant
If yuh want to know de truth take ah trip back to yuh root
And somewhere on that journey, yuh go see ah man in a dhoti
Saying he prayers in front of a jhandi, jhandi
maj. tom wrote:It's vastly more complicated than that. I found an essay written on this exact topic and it's worth reading if anyone wants to understand the controversy at the time.https://medium.com/@dwomowale/how-afric ... 02bf113828
Neither G.B. or Sugar Aloes are opposed to the idea of unity between Africans and Indians, but they both suggest that this unity must be based on mutual respect between Africans and Indians, rather than being based on an attempt to erase the cultural heritage and history of African people by imposing the cultural and historical experiences on African history in Trinidad and Tobago. As I said, what Brother Marvin attempted to do may have been noble, but in the end his song represented an example of the fact that some believe that unity means that African people must forget our history and our culture.
Sadly, as the clip below points out, many Trinidadians believe that they must forgo their African identity for the sake of their Trinidadian identity. In fact, many of us throughout the diaspora attempt to hide from our African identities behind nationalities. This is what many in the ADOS movement attempt to do as well.
“They Ain’t See Africa At All” by Chalkdust, who criticizes those Africans who attempt to run away from their African identities. As Chalkdust reminds us: “Black people must stop running from their race.”Lyrics to JAHAJI BHAI | BROTHERHOOD OF THE BOAT
By Brother Marvin (1996)
http://guanaguanaresingsat.blogspot.com ... -song.html
For those who playing ignorant talking 'bout true African descendant
If yuh want to know de truth take ah trip back to yuh root
And somewhere on that journey, yuh go see ah man in a dhoti
Saying he prayers in front of a jhandi, jhandi
Isn't that dishonest and disrespectful? Our two major ancestors on this island took very different boat rides to get here. How could Brother Marvin say that, essentially lyrically wiping out the already much lost African history and culture, and then somehow giving that credit to our Indian ancestors? I think these calyposes have much deeper meaning and requires literary study, rather than just casual listening to interpret them. However some people want to interpret them, that is their given right. But i don't think our Kaiso calypsonians are stupid people (though some can be musically crass) and that their works require academic deliberation to interpret them properly.
‘Why Fern over me?’
TUESDAY 7 NOVEMBER 2017
Deputy chief elections officer Lena Sahadeo is challenging a decision by the Public Service Commission (PSC) to appoint Fern Narcis-Scope, a junior contract officer, as the Elections and Boundaries Commission’s new chief elections officer.
Sahadeo’s attorneys Kent Samlal and Abdel Mohammed have filed a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request for information on Narcis-Scope’s appointment. Letters containing the FOIA requests were sent to both the chairman of the EBC and the Director of Personnel Administration (DPA).
Narcis-Scope’s appointment has been mired in controversy since October, when UNC Senator Wade Mark sought clarification during the Senate debate on the 2018 budget. Mark alleged that Narcis-Scope was the cousin of Public Administration Minister Maxie Cuffie. The EBC has since denied she is his first cousin.
EBC officials said Narcis-Scope was appointed sometime in September. PSC chairman Maureen Manchouk was reported as saying the position of chief elections officer was advertised and the person appointed was the one who topped the list. Sahadeo says she was not treated fairly by the DPA during her interview for the position in May. She has worked at the EBC for over 24 years and acted in the position of chief elections officer after the resignation of Ramesh Nanan last year.
Sahadeo wants to know the criteria for the appointment, a list of all people interviewed, Narcis-Scope’s curriculum vitae, interview notes, score sheets of all candidates interviewed and her own ranking after the process. Her request is being made under Section 13 of the FOIA.
https://newsday.co.tt/2017/11/07/why-fern-over-me/
Those reports are still not the official EBC results and are yet to be confirmed.neilsingh100 wrote:Recounts confirm victories for the PNM
Recounts in three marginal seats were completed last night with those constituencies remaining under the control of the People’s National Movement (PNM), according to information sent out by the party. According to the reports, which are to be confirmed by the Elections and Boundaries Commission, the recount for the Tunapuna constituency showed the PNM’s Esmond Forde with 9460 votes, while David Nakhid of the UNC got 7533 In Toco Sangre Grande, Roger Munroe of the PNM got 10,694 and UNC candidate Nabila Greene for 7,303. The margin of victory for the incumbent was 3,391. Foster Cummings, the PNM candidate in La Horquetta/Talparo got 9391 votes, while the UNC’s Jearlean John had 7297 votes, making the margin of victory there 2084. The UNC had asked recounts in the marginal constituencies of La Horquetta/Talparo, St Joseph, San Fernando West, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna, while Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) leader Watson Duke asked a recount of the Tobago East
seat.
However, Duke conceded to People’s National Movement candidate Ayanna WebsterRoy soon after the recount started on Tuesday night.
Faris Al-Rawi won the recount over Sean Sobers in San Fernando West. The exercise ended on Thursday night The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) said the recounts were slow because UNC candidates did not fully cooperate with the presiding
officers in charge of the processes. The recounts had delayed the swearing-in of a new government following Monday’s election in which the PNM had claimed victory by a margin of 22-19. The EBC will have to send the official results to President Paula- Mae Weekes, who will then invite the leader of the party that won the most seats to form the next government.
Source: Guardian (page 6)
Racism is not going to stop unless race and discrimination laws are put in place.maj. tom wrote:^Gladiator:
Yes it's definitely true that some artists bring racism quite in the open at some of these tents and Cro-Cro is a big one who fuels it because that's what gets him support. And let's not forget that video of him cussing up someone in a car on the road showing his true nature. Unfortunate how things have been organized in our past with open racism in these competitions and then being awarded taxpayers money. I really hope that things will change now as the racial climate is much different than it was 20 years ago. I hope that such songs get rejected and questioned on its content and that we keep having a discussion on why racism is wrong in all forms, and not forget our history that brought us here.
About Brother Marvin, when i read the lyrics, he clearly says in the first line of the song that he was mixed. But you see the immediate outrage it caused when it was suggested to look back and embrace Indian heritage. There are much deeper seated issues than just dismissing the response as racism. It's more like a fight for identity and that's what got people riled up. And why it got such a response too says a lot about how both sides feel disenfranchised and at war with each other for equality, identity and resources. Something that our politicians can fix. But a lot of them just go with it because divide brings them more support in the long run.
This divide goes way back to Eric Williams and Rudranath Capildeo and Bhadase Maraj at the polls. Each side uses this racial divide to their advantage, and again that was probably correct in its time because we were forging our identities as a nation. But it's wrong now. It's almost 60 years of Independence. It's time we move on from such ideas and learn to unite our ideas as a wholesome country, rather than always a fractured society. I recently read "The Middle Passage" by V.S. Naipaul which was non-fiction set in 1960. Some things have changed since then, but a lot of what he wrote is the same racial division and identity that we hold on to today. It's been 60 years and we still are stuck in our Colonial past.
I will keep saying that such attitudes are wrong now until people understand and stop pressing the examples of our past as justification to continue living like that. That is why we must start having a national conversation about racism and our institutions and politics and stop trying to incite and rile up others without any understanding; like recent facebook statements from persons and equally abominable responses, like how Sat Maharaj would deliberately make crass statements damning an entire sector of our population without the proper explanation (which he had sat down and did in that interview with one of our Trinituner members), or when artists write very inflammatory calypsoes because they expect the response to make them popular. And then there are persons who stand in our Parliament and make accusations that are just dog whistles to further the divide on both sides, but ultimately and ulteriorly to garner more firm support for their campaigns. Some talk about "Calcutta Ships" and others about "ethnic cleansing." We have to stop it! It's time we grow up as a nation. It's been 60 years.
zoom rader wrote:Those reports are still not the official EBC results and are yet to be confirmed.neilsingh100 wrote:Recounts confirm victories for the PNM
Recounts in three marginal seats were completed last night with those constituencies remaining under the control of the People’s National Movement (PNM), according to information sent out by the party. According to the reports, which are to be confirmed by the Elections and Boundaries Commission, the recount for the Tunapuna constituency showed the PNM’s Esmond Forde with 9460 votes, while David Nakhid of the UNC got 7533 In Toco Sangre Grande, Roger Munroe of the PNM got 10,694 and UNC candidate Nabila Greene for 7,303. The margin of victory for the incumbent was 3,391. Foster Cummings, the PNM candidate in La Horquetta/Talparo got 9391 votes, while the UNC’s Jearlean John had 7297 votes, making the margin of victory there 2084. The UNC had asked recounts in the marginal constituencies of La Horquetta/Talparo, St Joseph, San Fernando West, Toco/Sangre Grande and Tunapuna, while Progressive Democratic Patriots (PDP) leader Watson Duke asked a recount of the Tobago East
seat.
However, Duke conceded to People’s National Movement candidate Ayanna WebsterRoy soon after the recount started on Tuesday night.
Faris Al-Rawi won the recount over Sean Sobers in San Fernando West. The exercise ended on Thursday night The Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) said the recounts were slow because UNC candidates did not fully cooperate with the presiding
officers in charge of the processes. The recounts had delayed the swearing-in of a new government following Monday’s election in which the PNM had claimed victory by a margin of 22-19. The EBC will have to send the official results to President Paula- Mae Weekes, who will then invite the leader of the party that won the most seats to form the next government.
It not only there.maj. tom wrote:Oh that's definitely a valid observation. Fraught with corruption. I'll give an example of these sort of selections that do appear to be racially and politically motivated. Does it make sense in these choices? What we want to happen is the public questioning these decisions more. Don't support it just because "is we time now and that is we people."‘Why Fern over me?’
TUESDAY 7 NOVEMBER 2017
Deputy chief elections officer Lena Sahadeo is challenging a decision by the Public Service Commission (PSC) to appoint Fern Narcis-Scope, a junior contract officer, as the Elections and Boundaries Commission’s new chief elections officer.
Sahadeo’s attorneys Kent Samlal and Abdel Mohammed have filed a Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) request for information on Narcis-Scope’s appointment. Letters containing the FOIA requests were sent to both the chairman of the EBC and the Director of Personnel Administration (DPA).
Narcis-Scope’s appointment has been mired in controversy since October, when UNC Senator Wade Mark sought clarification during the Senate debate on the 2018 budget. Mark alleged that Narcis-Scope was the cousin of Public Administration Minister Maxie Cuffie. The EBC has since denied she is his first cousin.
EBC officials said Narcis-Scope was appointed sometime in September. PSC chairman Maureen Manchouk was reported as saying the position of chief elections officer was advertised and the person appointed was the one who topped the list. Sahadeo says she was not treated fairly by the DPA during her interview for the position in May. She has worked at the EBC for over 24 years and acted in the position of chief elections officer after the resignation of Ramesh Nanan last year.
Sahadeo wants to know the criteria for the appointment, a list of all people interviewed, Narcis-Scope’s curriculum vitae, interview notes, score sheets of all candidates interviewed and her own ranking after the process. Her request is being made under Section 13 of the FOIA.
https://newsday.co.tt/2017/11/07/why-fern-over-me/
In what world would your choice to lead an entity be a junior officer over a very senior one? That is like taking a 2 year graduate doctor from Mt. Hope and putting him in charge of a ward, while a senior doctor with 15 years experience is just left there, despite being the next in line for the promotion. I can only conclude that there is another game afoot. Why should we all equally not acknowledge this corruption?
The report says yet to be confirmed.VII wrote:That's one big strong straw you've been grasping there..zoom rader wrote:Those reports are still not the official EBC results and are yet to be confirmed.neilsingh100 wrote:Recounts confirm victories for the PNM
seat.
I have seen racism in certain jobs where I worked.eliteauto wrote:we are the sum of our choices, I have experienced racism in my job, in my business, in my personal life, in the education system, in Gov't offices etc, I have also experienced good friendships, love, help, advice and support from people of the same etchnicity as those who showed me racism. I grew up in an "Indian" community, was embraced by the most Brahmin of Brahminsand can to this day walk into those homes and open the fridge like family. Right now I have people of Indian descent who know me that are questioning if I am racist, because the social conditioning of their inner circle has led them to an us or them mindset and thus my opposing certain views makes me a "them", I lose no sleep over that because they fall into acquaintances not friends, one thing is certain, I have never disrespected them or shown any racial traits towards them so as they say my hands are clean. People need to understand that being pro your ethnicity doesn't mean being anti another ethnicity. I like the calypso discourse above because I love calypso and soca, there are songs that will resonate with you and you like, others are relegated to the rubbish heap. For someone to post something positive and for another to counter that with a negative under the guise of counter-argument but in reality it's to further the divide says a lot about some and as said above they should be left alone
matr1x wrote:Hearing about so many discrepancies.
Head back to the polls
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Jamaica dub plate for 2020 election candidates
abducted wrote:zoom rader wrote:Had PNM taken action when it was brought up in parliament we would not been seeing this mess.MaxPower wrote:zoom rader wrote:This Covid is an entire mess thanks to PNM.
UNC warned PNM from the start and they failed to take out measures.
They lied all the way to elections on Covid and lay blame on UNC .
Elections should have been postponed due to go covid. I am sure we now see a further spike.
Trinis are very stupid people and very very guilable.
The PNM had put everyones lives at risk
Hello Zoom,
Covid is an entire mess due to the irresponsibility of Trinis.
Stop defending the PNM, they made a total mess.
Stupid country filled with stupid people
Grow up, you have to bring your stupid political talk into every topic, every country in the world is dealing with this, the government closed schools and shut down the country early, we were doing well, the opposition wanted bars to reopen, opposition called to reopen borders, opposition opened their mouth just to oppose and feel like they were relevant, said sunlight could kill covid, where has reopening bars and letting people back home led us? The political ranting is more sickening than this virus.