The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Re: The Law and Tinted Vehicles

Postby zoom rader » July 25th, 2020, 7:58 am

eliteauto wrote:The draft proposal stated a minimum VLT of 35% for the front driver and passenger glass, 20% for the rear door and rear windshield, no metallic (reflective) tint, front windshield 70%, front band no more than 15cm at 35%. Tint must have no bubbles, scratches or defects that impair vision

Does this apply for all cars?

What about the government cars with super black tints ?

Postby pugboy » July 25th, 2020, 8:02 am

all animals are equal, some animals are more equal than others

Postby sMASH » July 25th, 2020, 8:02 am

just like how police are immune to physics laws, that immunity will spread to this as well. u dont need to see what contents a minister car carries. could be columbian cheese.

Postby zoom rader » July 25th, 2020, 8:06 am

We need to start a Tint chead where we Take a pic of government car plates and tints and post on tuner and on social media

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 25th, 2020, 8:59 am

State vehicles, persons with medical issues, persons working in sensitive jobs, those who transport certain items can all apply for exemptions

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » July 25th, 2020, 9:28 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:State vehicles, persons with medical issues, persons working in sensitive jobs, those who transport certain items can all apply for exemptions
You have details on the transport certain items?

Postby eliteauto » July 25th, 2020, 10:18 am

any vehicle owner can seek permission from the Transport Commissioner for an exemption to allow darker tints, the granting of same is at his discretion, some reasons as stated above include medical, security etc. Applicants have to present their case/reasons and he decides

Postby zoom rader » July 25th, 2020, 11:26 am

eliteauto wrote:any vehicle owner can seek permission from the Transport Commissioner for an exemption to allow darker tints, the granting of same is at his discretion, some reasons as stated above include medical, security etc. Applicants have to present their case/reasons and he decides
Do they get to keep a permit for these like fog lights?

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 25th, 2020, 3:01 pm

eliteauto wrote:The draft proposal stated a minimum VLT of 35% for the front driver and passenger glass, 20% for the rear door and rear windshield, no metallic (reflective) tint, front windshield 70%, front band no more than 15cm at 35%. Tint must have no bubbles, scratches or defects that impair vision
This is what I remember they changed it too. However, they'd need to specify what the new "laws" are before implementing ANY tint meters.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » July 25th, 2020, 3:02 pm

And by change, I mean Rohan has specified he wanted the laws changed to those especific values and wanted public opinion which I submitted. No news since then.

Postby eliteauto » July 25th, 2020, 3:22 pm

snypaz wrote:And by change, I mean Rohan has specified he wanted the laws changed to those especific values and wanted public opinion which I submitted. No news since then.
Same here, I still have the draft amendments here, submitted my opinions and heard nothing after

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 25th, 2020, 5:28 pm

That's fair.

wickedtuna

Tint Meters in 2 weeks

Postby wickedtuna » July 26th, 2020, 9:26 am

Postby zoom rader » July 26th, 2020, 10:40 am

Policing for profit, expect hugh road blocks and tickets galore.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 28th, 2020, 11:39 am

no more subjectivity, ae

Postby sliderz1 » July 28th, 2020, 1:52 pm

they didn't need this device to detect the hundreds with illegal whole front. :roll:

invader

Postby invader » August 13th, 2020, 10:16 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:going to pay meh 1k and get my doctor paper and LO OFFICE stamp.

G5 titanium

Good night
What’s is the procedure to get this medical exemption?

LordBrandon

Postby LordBrandon » August 14th, 2020, 5:10 am

How does one "apply for exemption" it being Medical and Sensitive Job?
Just walking in a LO and say I'm a Business Owner and need dark tint?
Also what classifies as a "Sensitive" Job?

Postby maj. tom » August 14th, 2020, 8:56 am

You require a doctor's note, presented to LO, stating the medical condition and why you cannot be exposed to sunlight, and that protective eyewear also won't help. That would have to be quite a rare condition of dermatology where you always have to be covered up from the sunlight or something like SLE or Porphyria. So don't expect a doctor to lie for you on something like that, because it's their ass in front the Medical Board to answer the legalities of your tint.

As for sensitive job? I really don't know what job requires that a car has extra dark tint.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 14th, 2020, 9:05 am

maj. tom wrote:You require a doctor's note, presented to LO, stating the medical condition and why you cannot be exposed to sunlight, and that protective eyewear also won't help. That would have to be quite a rare condition of dermatology where you always have to be covered up from the sunlight or something like SLE or Porphyria. So don't expect a doctor to lie for you on something like that, because it's their ass in front the Medical Board to answer the legalities of your tint.

As for sensitive job? I really don't know what job requires that a car has extra dark tint.
List if skin conditions they will accept for expemtions

Screenshot_20200814-090445_Drive.jpeg

rebound

Postby rebound » August 14th, 2020, 9:07 am

A friend got the exemption because he sells medical products. They claim those products are sensitive to light. Even though its in a cooler all the time.

Authorized 5 percent all round, hell to drive at night.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 14th, 2020, 10:53 am

Hey all, I suggest everyone take the time to read the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic (Windscreen and Window Tint) Regulations, 2020. This would help you better understand what are (minimum) requirements and associated penalties.

Check here:
http://www.ttlawcourts.org/index.php/co ... nload/7317

As previously stated by another Tuner:
The new Tint Regulations (2020) states, a minimum Visble Light Transmission (VLT) of 35% for the front driver and passenger windows, 20% for the rear door and rear windshield, no metallic (reflective) tint, front windshield 70%, front windshield band no more than 15cm (6in) at 35%. Each infraction has a penalty of $5000. Tint must not have any bubbles, scratches or defects that may impair vision. Each infraction has a penalty of $1000.

However, It is written in legalize and old school english so some of it can be a bit ambiguous, misleading or confusing.

Example: Section 3.(3)(a)(i) - Notwithstanding subregulation (1), the front windscreen of a vehicle may have affixed to its top, along its width and in such a position as not to interfere with the vision of either the driver, or a passenger carried in the front seat, a band of material or an anti-glare band overlay–
(a) which– (i) measures in width from the top of the windscreen, no more than fifteen centimetres or six inches; or

1. How may WIDTHs does a windscreen have: Horizontal OR vertical, can't be both?
2. And how exactly do you measure the 'band' at the top. Due to the curve of the windscreen, the left/right corner measurements would be vertically longer than the middle due to the windscreen's curvature. I don't anyone has a 6" band, even from the dealership. A 6" 'band' is the same level with your visors, waste of time against the glare.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2020, 11:38 am

My question is....would you get a chance to carry your vehicle to be tested by LO or do you take out your tint and instal as per new regs??

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » August 14th, 2020, 12:01 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My question is....would you get a chance to carry your vehicle to be tested by LO or do you take out your tint and instal as per new regs??
Unfortunately this is not covered under the new Regulations. This by default would leave it to the discretion of the Officer, which then makes it subjective.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 14th, 2020, 1:06 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:My question is....would you get a chance to carry your vehicle to be tested by LO or do you take out your tint and instal as per new regs??
Unfortunately this is not covered under the new Regulations. This by default would leave it to the discretion of the Officer, which then makes it subjective.

dammit :|

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 3rd, 2020, 11:17 am

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2020, 11:54 am

UK tint police harassing an injun

https://youtu.be/vh564YZm1xQ

Postby redmanjp » December 3rd, 2020, 1:46 pm

NorStar2K wrote:

wait- how can vlt be subjective? don't they have to measure it with some type of device ? i doubt a charge of tint being too dark under the new regulations would hold up in court- just like DUI has to be judged based on a device measuring your BAC, not so?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 18th, 2020, 11:13 am

A 3 month bligh to sort your tint out!

Motorist are being given three months to ensure that the tint on their vehicles are in accordance with what is permitted by law. In a statement on Friday, the Ministry of Works and Transport said that in 2018, it developed a policy document for the amendment of the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Chap.48:50 to modernize the laws regarding the use of window tint .

On August 3, 2020 by Legal Notice 281 of 2020, the new Regulations – the ‘Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic (Windscreen and Window Tint) Regulations, 2020’ came into effect. However, it is not currently enforced by law enforcement officers. As such, the Ministry wishes to advise the general public that effective December 7, a three month moratorium was granted to allow citizens sufficient time to ensure that their motor vehicle is in accordance with the new Regulations.

“It is anticipated that this moratorium will minimize public inconvenience and allow persons to adhere to the current COVID-19 public health and safety requirements, as registered owners of motor vehicles seek to comply with the law before it is fully enforced.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/d ... e2a0f.html