The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

elec2020

Re: Election prediction thread, and alternate poll

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 8:56 am

jhonnieblue wrote:I hope is UNC yes. This country can't take another 5 yrs especially with the energy sector moving the way it is. If PNM wins expect numerous plants to close for good. Fully expect Nutrien to drop two plants for good.
Only plant that will be opening would be CGCl and the other methanol plants may continue the trend of closing up shop.

So if UNC wins plants will stay open while if PNM wins plants will close? What is the basis of this argument?

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby MaxPower » August 10th, 2020, 8:56 am

Waiting for my Venezuelan driver to pick me up.

He is so excited, it’s his first time.

Postby zoom rader » August 10th, 2020, 9:10 am

MaxPower wrote:Waiting for my Venezuelan driver to pick me up.

Use protection

Postby zoom rader » August 10th, 2020, 9:17 am

elec2020 wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:I hope is UNC yes. This country can't take another 5 yrs especially with the energy sector moving the way it is. If PNM wins expect numerous plants to close for good. Fully expect Nutrien to drop two plants for good.
Only plant that will be opening would be CGCl and the other methanol plants may continue the trend of closing up shop.

So if UNC wins plants will stay open while if PNM wins plants will close? What is the basis of this argument?
A certain group of people employed in high paying jobs on the estate.

That's what it boils down to

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 10th, 2020, 9:18 am

Use protection

yooooooooooooo :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

killercow

Postby killercow » August 10th, 2020, 9:21 am

Use protection
Ahahahaha ded

Postby MaxPower » August 10th, 2020, 9:23 am

Use protection

Hehe heheheh heheheh hehehe hehehehe hehehehe hehehehe

Good one Zoom, good one.

But when PNM wins....they not using no protection eh.

Level raw pipe on allyuh

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 10th, 2020, 9:30 am

For those not in the energy sector, the existing model utilized to supply natural gas on contract basis hedges on the difference in price from upsteam suppliers to downstream takeoffs. The difference in price is where NGC makes its profit.

Under PNM, they have had bad renegotiations of pricing favoring upstreamers with the difference passed to the downstream companies. Now under the present global climate, we don't foresee those prices to increase anytime soon. So companies will either shift their assets to where is more profitable or mothball completely. PNM has shown that they don't care to change the existing gas model. For a fact this is something both Kevin ramnarine and condrad enil are pushing if the UNC gets back in power, to move NGC from being a masquerading energy sector company to one of purely distribution and create a new model.

There is a lot of scenario planning taking place behind the scenes right now and the outcome is not going to be good if PNM continues this run of form.

Postby zoom rader » August 10th, 2020, 9:36 am

jhonnieblue wrote:For those not in the energy sector, the existing model utilized to supply natural gas on contract basis hedges on the difference in price from upsteam suppliers to downstream takeoffs. The difference in price is where NGC makes its profit.

Under PNM, they have had bad renegotiations of pricing favoring upstreamers with the difference passed to the downstream companies. Now under the present global climate, we don't foresee those prices to increase anytime soon. So companies will either shift their assets to where is more profitable or mothball completely. PNM has shown that they don't care to change the existing gas model. For a fact this is something both Kevin ramnarine and condrad enil are pushing if the UNC gets back in power, to move NGC from being a masquerading energy sector company to one of purely distribution and create a new model.

There is a lot of scenario planning taking place behind the scenes right now and the outcome is not going to be good if PNM continues this run of form.
You spot on

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2020, 9:37 am

I'll probably head out to the polling station at 1pm Hopefully it's quieter then.
All them tanties and mamoos take pride in being in the first set of ppl to vote so from 6am always ram.
My mother and father usually are consecutive #1 and 2 in our polling division (first GE since my father passed away and my mother say she not going to vote :-( )

Postby gastly369 » August 10th, 2020, 9:41 am

jhonnieblue wrote:For those not in the energy sector, the existing model utilized to supply natural gas on contract basis hedges on the difference in price from upsteam suppliers to downstream takeoffs. The difference in price is where NGC makes its profit.

Sussshhhhhhh

Left foot right foot balisier... Repeat

Postby maj. tom » August 10th, 2020, 9:45 am

that's my plan too, about 1pm.
From 6am them old ppl line up like if it's the bank and this is their last day on earth.
Never got my polling card no i expect a little more hassle.

Postby mero » August 10th, 2020, 9:59 am

Look how dem UNC begging for votes now nah.

Doh know allyuh fellas upbringing or maybe you pretend not to notice but UNC esp in the last 5 years made it clear that they doh care for no one else besides injun. Just take a look at daily comments on 2nr geared towards "PNM ppl" and 4 or 5 non UNC tuners who get called out 5 times a day . Racism is a now a set tone n here. Ole talk forum that used to be fun and addictive now run by a handful of morons who politicize everything

Idgaf bout any of u really but 2nr is open for everyone to see and it looks like a KOTPNM fb page, a total cesspool and a turnoff for anyone who not total Indo Trini. Mods doh even post again

Syrian? Hate them.. blank ppl? Nah dem dotish bad, Chinese? Dem stink.... Douglas? Dem half PNM.. mixed fence sitters? Nah dem dotish, dem is PNM... dey there to split d votes.

Funniest thing is how allyuh act surprised when no one wants to vote UNC. It's literally the most unattractive party of all time only being toted by grassroot supporters and a drunkard racist leader who don't know when it's her time to quit after successive losses.

Maybe I'll eat my words later but I don't see UNC ever winning another election once this current model stands. WTN may have to wait at least another 5 years.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 10th, 2020, 9:59 am

heading down after lunch as well.
usually the quietest in my experience.

Remember to leave your phone in your car eh.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 10:00 am

Thanks for the response zoom and jhonnieblue. In particular jhonnieblue's statement on how the PNM has been disrupting operations in the natural gas sector is duly noted as i do recall several heads for some downstream companies arguing that the pricing arrangement by NGC is severly cutting their profits. Now the thing is that the full truth or are these companies just trying to strong arm the government as i am yet to see any info on upper management in these organizations getting salaries or bounses cut. So idk. Also wasnt there some stories also about UNC (like PNM) getting to involved in the operations of NGC. My entire view on the politics in tnt is that its time for both red and yellow to go for us to grow and develop. Both are doing the same nonsense. Both dont have a solid plan for tnt (for example, following climate change agreements and discussions i am so worried for what will happen for tnt when the world has moved to a position that no longer requires fossil fuels). Hopefully in 2025 we get a real viable third party or if not just a better crop of politicians among the red and yellow.

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2020, 10:02 am

folks remember it usually boils down to the marginals

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 10th, 2020, 10:06 am

Without change now their may not be a viable sector in 2025. As for cuts, salaries are basically frozen right now so the only out was for local in the sector to move abroad, but that has been impacted by trump.
The companies aren't strong arming the govt. It's a legitimate issue with prices. It's more.cost effective to shutdown a plant the leave it running at a loss.
While the general public won't hear the plans until they see the effects such as a plant shutdown, believe when I say that these companies are running on fumes right now. Capex is being cut across the board and salaries in the private sector is negotiable compared to capex cuts.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 10th, 2020, 10:07 am

Heating of two hour wait to vote.
My parents tried twice and left because of the long line

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 10:07 am

mero wrote:Look how dem UNC begging for votes now nah.

Doh know allyuh fellas upbringing or maybe you pretend not to notice but UNC esp in the last 5 years made it clear that they doh care for no one else besides injun. Just take a look at daily comments on 2nr geared towards "PNM ppl" and 4 or 5 non UNC tuners who get called out 5 times a day . Racism is a now a set tone n here. Ole talk forum that used to be fun and addictive now run by a handful of morons who politicize everything

Idgaf bout any of u really but 2nr is open for everyone to see and it looks like a KOTPNM fb page, a total cesspool and a turnoff for anyone who not total Indo Trini. Mods doh even post again

Syrian? Hate them.. blank ppl? Nah dem dotish bad, Chinese? Dem stink.... Douglas? Dem half PNM.. mixed fence sitters? Nah dem dotish, dem is PNM... dey there to split d votes.

Funniest thing is how allyuh act surprised when no one wants to vote UNC. It's literally the most unattractive party of all time only being toted by grassroot supporters and a drunkard racist leader who don't know when it's her time to quit after successive losses.

Maybe I'll eat my words later but I don't see UNC ever winning another election once this current model stands. WTN may have to wait at least another 5 years.

Hi mero. I share the same views as you. The hate spewed to non UNC supporters on the website has been deplorable last few days. And idk why they havent realized it yet but if u treating me like s8 because i question your views, dont readily believe your statements or refuse to enage in he said she said then why do u think i would go to said polls and vote for a party that so far has not shown any condemnation for this form of behaviour. That said PNM does the same. Just look back at the calcutta statement. Sigh when will we ever get a viable third party that pits a stop to this nonsense and pursues togetherness for all of tnt. I hoping we get one in 2025. If not by then i fear for the future of tnt.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 10th, 2020, 10:12 am

pugboy wrote:folks remember it usually boils down to the marginals

I think St.Joseph, Moruga, La horquetta and Tunapuna is where the real fight is

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 10:12 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Without change now their may not be a viable sector in 2025. As for cuts, salaries are basically frozen right now so the only out was for local in the sector to move abroad, but that has been impacted by trump.
The companies aren't strong arming the govt. It's a legitimate issue with prices. It's more.cost effective to shutdown a plant the leave it running at a loss.
While the general public won't hear the plans until they see the effects such as a plant shutdown, believe when I say that these companies are running on fumes right now. Capex is being cut across the board and salaries in the private sector is negotiable compared to capex cuts.

Noted. Like you in the sector. Lol its nice hearing the perspective of someone thats in the sector. But then if that is the case what does pnn gain from this arrangement? Is it that they so stretched for revenues that they just so willing to play the short game. That is rather keep NGC's prices high and earn maybe greater revenue now (at a cost of closures in the long run) than keep it low and suffer lower government revenue now (but safeguard the sector in the long run). Imo regardless of who comes in today the economic gymnastics they will have to pull off will be extremely significant. 2020 to 2025 will separate the sheep from the goats.

rebound

Postby rebound » August 10th, 2020, 10:14 am

My dad said he was at the polling station at 5:45am and he was # 104.

High voter turnout it seems.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 10:15 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I'll probably head out to the polling station at 1pm Hopefully it's quieter then.
All them tanties and mamoos take pride in being in the first set of ppl to vote so from 6am always ram.
My mother and father usually are consecutive #1 and 2 in our polling division (first GE since my father passed away and my mother say she not going to vote :-( )

Sorry to hear about your loss. Losing a loved one is never easy. And there will always be good days and bad ones. In the earlies its mainly bad. And it sounds cliched but as time passes. You able to better handle those bad days and enjoy the good ones.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 10th, 2020, 10:16 am

How is any of that racist?
Also who ever say all them thing about chinese and dougla here etc?

Postby MG Man » August 10th, 2020, 10:17 am

PEP by a landslide

Postby pugboy » August 10th, 2020, 10:20 am

they only put up 28 seats bro

MG Man wrote:PEP by a landslide

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 10th, 2020, 10:21 am

Kewell35 wrote:

Imo mero is referring to the comments made to non UNC supporters or people who question the actions of UNC over the last few days. I have not read them in its entirety so while i may not claim racism i will say the hate shown to these individuals was particularly significant.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 10th, 2020, 10:23 am

elec2020 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Imo mero is referring to the comments made to non UNC supporters or people who question the actions of UNC over the last few days. I have not read them in its entirety so while i may not claim racism i will say the hate shown to these individuals was particularly significant.

They prob just don't agree with you all. I didn't see any racism but curious to as what they say.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 10th, 2020, 10:25 am

PEP have some competition in my seat. The Weed party sending up a candidate as well the COP

That will probably be the most keenly contested 100 votes in any seat

Postby MG Man » August 10th, 2020, 10:31 am

pugboy wrote:they only put up 28 seats bro

ok fine
they win by a minor landslide