The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2020, 11:04 am

Kewell35 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Question: what measures have been put in place for the people who are in quarantine? I assume they cannot go out to vote. Has the EBC put any special measures in place, like having two elections officers in suitable PPE oversee their ballot and safely transport it unmolested to the ballot box?

Did our lawmakers not foresee the usefulness of voting by mail?
Voting by mail will see PNM abroad voting while in New York.

PNM families would have posted the ballots abroad and then resend to TT.

If you not here , no vote

I agree with this you can't make it too easy to Vote because if you do only 1 party will ever win and it would be the most socialist party.

If Mail in voting was a thing in the US for example there is noway the GOP would ever win another election same thing in Trinidad. If mail in voting was a thing here PNM would forever be in office, right now as it stands UNC might have a better chance of winning

What I have learned recently is that PNM people are afraid of Covid and many of them not going to vote due to fear of catching Covid. UNC people thinks Covid is a Hoax and even if it was real RUM will cure it, so all of them going to vote, now we know why UNC has been setting of the dog whistle to their base to drum up the "Covid is a Hoax" mantra.

You have to hand it to Kamla she might drink Rum but she is one smart lady, way smarter than Rowley.

Where did UNC say covid is a hoax?

They mentioned testing was a sham.

https://unctt.org/covid-19-testing-sham/

That is obviously not the same as saying entire covid thing is a hoax. That is twisting their words.

UNC wouldn't outright say Covid is a Hoax

What they do is they use the Dog Whistle technique, it is a common tactic and was very famous among the Nazis when discriminating against the Jews. If you read between the lines you will see it clear as day that they are telling their supporters that Covid is a Hoax.

This explains why 98% of UNC people does say "Covid is PoLITRICKS created by Rowley for Vote because we din have Covid all the time but how the arse suddenly we have a million cases right before election"

You feel is coincidence that 98% of the base believes this and say this exact same thing out of thin air?

Test it for yourself, look for a UNC person and bring up the talk, go to any mini mart if the Owner is an Indian and he have ah Hindu picture somewhere, pretend you is a UNC for a second and bring up the talk and you will see how quickly they make this statement about Covid is a Hoax / election gimmick.

Sure they don't saay the word "hoax" but saying Covid isn't in Trinidad and it is a PNM election gimmick is the exact same thing as saying it is a Hoax.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 9th, 2020, 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 9th, 2020, 11:04 am

Kewell35 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Question: what measures have been put in place for the people who are in quarantine? I assume they cannot go out to vote. Has the EBC put any special measures in place, like having two elections officers in suitable PPE oversee their ballot and safely transport it unmolested to the ballot box?

I agree with this you can't make it too easy to Vote because if you do only 1 party will ever win and it would be the most socialist party.

If Mail in voting was a thing in the US for example there is noway the GOP would ever win another election same thing in Trinidad. If mail in voting was a thing here PNM would forever be in office, right now as it stands UNC might have a better chance of winning

What I have learned recently is that PNM people are afraid of Covid and many of them not going to vote due to fear of catching Covid. UNC people thinks Covid is a Hoax and even if it was real RUM will cure it, so all of them going to vote, now we know why UNC has been setting of the dog whistle to their base to drum up the "Covid is a Hoax" mantra.

You have to hand it to Kamla she might drink Rum but she is one smart lady, way smarter than Rowley.

That is obviously not the same as saying entire covid thing is a hoax. That is twisting their words.

By them saying testing is sham they're implying it was much worse than the government was admitting. That has been UNC's position since March, that the government is under testing and thus underreporting the extent of Covid cases locally. That has now shown itself to be basically true.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 9th, 2020, 11:06 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

UNC wouldn't outright say Covid is a Hoax

What they do is they use the Dog Whistle technique, it is a common tactic and was very famous among the Nazis when discriminating against the Jews. If you read between the lines you will see it clear as day that they are telling their supporters that Covid is a Hoax.

This explains why 98% of UNC people does say "Covid is PoLITRICKS created by Rowley for Vote because we din have Covid all the time but how the arse suddenly we have a million cases right before election"

You feel is coincidence that 98% of the base believes this and say this exact same thing out of thin air?

Test it for yourself, look for a UNC person and bring up the talk, go to any mini mart if the Owner is an Indian and he have ah Hindu picture somewhere, pretend you is a UNC for a second and bring up the talk and you will see how quickly they make this statement about Covid is a Hoax.

I actually never hear a UNC person say covid is a hoax and neither did UNC themselves ever say this so it surprising to hear this talk.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2020, 11:09 am

^ sorry they won't say the word "hoax" but what they say is "Covid was never here it is Politricks by Rowley to win the election"

This is essentially the same thing as saying Covid is a Hoax. Ooh they believe Covid is real but NOT in Trinidad, this isn't much different from saying it is a Hoax cause it just as dangerous.

You must try that experiment with die hard UNC people, watch and see how quick they tell you this country eh have no Covid, is a game Rowley playing for vote. They can't outright say Covid is a Hoax because the international media confirms Covid is real

What they will say is the Local Media is PNM and they lie for the PNM by saying Trinidad has Covid when it infact does not.

You think I am joking? ooh but I am not.

Postby mero » August 9th, 2020, 11:11 am

Kewell35 wrote:
mero wrote:So them black jersey UNC is the zesser division? Padna from La horquetta say Jerlean was rolling with a dread UNC zesser team late yesterday smelling like colo and Mackeson.

Black jersey would look better than them Yellow jerseys.
The black tees actually do look better than the yellow. Design on point as well

Like the yellow is a turnoff for lots of ppl.. looks too UNCey

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 9th, 2020, 11:14 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ sorry they won't say the word "hoax" but what they say is "Covid was never here it is Politricks by Rowley to win the election"

This is essentially the same thing as saying Covid is a Hoax. Ooh they believe Covid is real but NOT in Trinidad

Where they say this?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 9th, 2020, 11:15 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ sorry they won't say the word "hoax" but what they say is "Covid was never here it is Politricks by Rowley to win the election"

This is essentially the same thing as saying Covid is a Hoax. Ooh they believe Covid is real but NOT in Trinidad, this isn't much different from saying it is a Hoax cause it just as dangerous.

You must try that experiment with die hard UNC people, watch and see how quick they tell you this country eh have no Covid, is a game Rowley playing for vote. They can't outright say Covid is a Hoax because the international media confirms Covid is real

What they will say is the Local Media is PNM and they lie for the PNM by saying Trinidad has Covid when it infact does not.

You think I am joking? ooh but I am not.

Please just stop, I have been to countless UNC meetings (yes I'm part of the party but not a huge fan), I've been involved talking to hundreds of supporters.

Not a single person has said covid is a hoax. They all literally think it's much worse and PNM is covering it up or just under testing to make the numbers look good.

Also, none of them seem take the sunlight thing or even the puncheon thing seriously, for them that was mostly picong. Stupid irresponsible picong.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2020, 11:17 am

I personally am a fan of Black Tees with white writing on it or Brown Tees with Black writing

I dislike the PNM red because it is waaaay too bright, UNC one even worse.

This is the best T-Shirt you could ever own, The equivalent of an ASCII Art Malcolm X

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 9th, 2020, 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » August 9th, 2020, 11:18 am

I predict a UNC win (23 seats). every undecided I know has switched back from PNM to UNC on account of their horrible governance and poor handling of Covid-19 recently.

Postby The_Honourable » August 9th, 2020, 11:26 am

Alexander: PEP set to win 28 seats

Progressive Empowerment Party leader Phillip Alexander is confident his party will win all of the 28 seats it is vying for in Monday's general election.

He said the fact that the North American Caribbean Teachers Association (NACTA) poll did not predict a clear winner showed the population is ready for the change that his party hoped to bring.

“What we are witnessing is literally the hand of God in this election. This is not a normal election, a normal year, a normal response from the people of TT. The people are fed up of the current political dispensation. We are experiencing an excitement on the ground and we believe Monday is going to be a political earthquake in this country.”

The NACTA poll, released on Friday, said research has found a very close race in several seats deemed marginals. St Joseph, Moruga/Tableland and La Horquetta/Talparo are simply too close, the polls said. The latest tracking survey in Trinidad was done from last Saturday, with 740 likely voters dispersed in the marginals to reflect the demographic composition of the population.

Asked to comment on the poll, Alexander said: “This is such a highly unusual election year that not even the highly professional predictors are willing to make a prediction. People are taking back their bet money and taking back their position. All who was thinking it was one way are now realising that there are more wild cards in this race and things can be a lot more different than we even anticipate. We are hoping on in faith for a clean slate of our 28 candidates and we stand ready to respond to that call.”

NACTA said both main parties – the UNC and PNM – have lost some support.

Because of the covid19 restrictions, parties which would have held final rallies on Saturday opted for nationwide motorcades. Both PNM and UNC traversed the East-West Corridor. On Friday, Dr Rowley toured the Diego Martin South Community Centre, the Diego Martin Girls' RC School and the Diego Martin Health Centre. On Saturday, he drove around in a motorcade, rallying supporters to vote on Monday.

Alexander, the PEP candidate for Diego Martin North/East, also made a final appeal to voters. “Put aside the politics of the past. Those who are jaded, become excited again, those who were conned into voting race remember at the end of the day we are all people under one flag. It is time to come together and work as one to save TT and the best way to do that is to vote PEP.”

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/09/alexan ... -28-seats/

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2020, 11:26 am

goalpost wrote:So, one day before, what are the election predictions

I really suspect it'll be UNC.

Btw, this has been a horrible campaigning season. Just carnival part 2. No substance whatsoever.

I think Trinity will end up with bad boy Kris. Trinity doesn't want caring Kamal. Trinity was offended by Kamal giving somebody a hand of fig instead of an apple or some pomerac or something.

Also the EBC adjusted boundaries give PNM a built-in advantage (not saying it was intentional, but that is the outcome).

20 - 19 - 2, PNM victory.
100% sure: PNM taking Sando west. UNC taking LHT.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2020, 11:28 am

Penguin wrote:I predict a UNC win (23 seats). every undecided I know has switched back from PNM to UNC on account of their horrible governance and poor handling of Covid-19 recently.

"Horrible governance" well sure I don't disagree but let's just completely ignore we are at a time when Oil Prices crashed years ago and Covid Bankrupted Point Lisas yet PNM still managed to keep us OUT of the IMF? had we gone that route we would be giving up ALL subsidy?

Where UNC getting money from? have you seen the state of the economies around the world?

I also think you are lying about the "poor handling of Covid recently" part I think you are a UNC Blogger.

No sane person thinks the PNM has handled Covid poorly, it was UNC who was calling for all the bars to remain opened and for opening the borders. How on earth does the UNC policy handle Covid better? that is completely asinine considering the UNC's proposals are the complete opposite of WHO and Anthony Faucci.

The PNM handled the Covid the best in the world according to Oxford and they were praised by Europe for doing so. It was Trinis and their nasty ways refusing to wear masks, wash their hands and or practice social distancing are the key reasons why Covid is spreading. These are undisputed FACTS.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on August 9th, 2020, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » August 9th, 2020, 11:30 am

UNC will win.
Cast your ballot in support of better governance. Performance beats "ole talk."
Unsuccessful people blame others for their failures, which is all pnm did for 5 years.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2020, 11:33 am

1kingmed wrote:UNC will win.
Unsuccessful people blame others for their failures, which is all pnm did for 5 years.

Doubt it but we will see

I say PNM winning because the lord told me as such in my dreams

Dutty Trinis not washing their hands or wearing masks isn't a fault or failure of the PNM tho they have been very vocal about the importance of washing our hands.

Illiterate business owners who have you touching the same infested tap to lock it off after you wash your hands is another reason Covid spreads.

Postby The_Honourable » August 9th, 2020, 11:44 am

ED, as someone who work in the health sector, I have a simple question for you... do you think the government was/is conducting enough testing on the population? If yes, your reasoning.

Now I don't want no long annoying answers that you spamming the ched with on what you dream, kamla and hoax.

Postby matr1x » August 9th, 2020, 11:46 am

Doh forget, minister wife get contract to power wash a certain stadium

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » August 9th, 2020, 11:48 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The PNM handled the Covid the best in the world according to Oxford and they were praised by Europe for doing so.

If you talking about the Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker, then this changes day to day. Now the best response is in Guatemala, Paraguay and Nepal. Trinidad not doing too bad but it still far down the list.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » August 9th, 2020, 11:58 am

Kewell35 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:The PNM handled the Covid the best in the world according to Oxford and they were praised by Europe for doing so.

If you talking about the Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker, then this changes day to day. Now the best response is in Guatemala, Paraguay and Nepal. Trinidad not doing too bad but it still far down the list.

Also this wasn't a measure of success it was a measure of policy efforts and case numbers. Obviously we can look good wrt to case numbers as we still have one of the lowest testing rates in the world.

PNM did try to keep Covid out, however what was the point? We could have ride through the Covid wave months ago when people were actually fearful of the virus. Now we have lockdown fatigue and ppl are fed up. And like other tuners have said before, we could have used this time to repatriate citizens, add additional hospital beds and increase testing. Now because of their moronic decisions we either have to deal with a huge deadly wave or lockdown everything till a vaccine is out.

Don't fool yourselves, PNM has put us in a very bad position wrt to Covid, we wasted months on a pointless lockdown which achieved nothing.

Postby goalpost » August 9th, 2020, 12:07 pm

Penguin wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Also this wasn't a measure of success it was a measure of policy efforts and case numbers. Obviously we can look good wrt to case numbers as we still have one of the lowest testing rates in the world.

PNM did try to keep Covid out, however what was the point? We could have ride through the Covid wave months ago when people were actually fearful of the virus. Now we have lockdown fatigue and ppl are fed up. And like other tuners have said before, we could have used this time to repatriate citizens, add additional hospital beds and increase testing. Now because of their moronic decisions we either have to deal with a huge deadly wave or lockdown everything till a vaccine is out.

Don't fool yourselves, PNM has put us in a very bad position wrt to Covid, we wasted months on a pointless lockdown which achieved nothing.

Fully agree.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 9th, 2020, 12:10 pm

goalpost wrote:
Penguin wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

Fully agree.

X3 Penguin. Agree 100%.

The worst part about this is that Rowley used Covid-19 for political points and by refusing to lockdown before elections and allowing campaigns to continue shows he has no care about the average citizen. It was all a pappyshow.

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2020, 12:11 pm

mero wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

What I have learned recently is that PNM people are afraid of Covid and many of them not going to vote due to fear of catching Covid. UNC people thinks Covid is a Hoax and even if it was real RUM will cure it, so all of them going to vote
PNM ppl don't fraid no Covid.

Dem fraid injun
So is just you fraid PNM ppl then?
Nah I was drinking rum with me PNM neighbours just yesterday and we buss up some geera goat .

I only fraid Jah himself

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2020, 12:13 pm

matr1x wrote:Doh forget, minister wife get contract to power wash a certain stadium
Nah u lie

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2020, 12:15 pm

1kingmed wrote:UNC will win.
There was no Performance from both sides for the last 5 years

VII

Postby VII » August 9th, 2020, 12:28 pm

It's scary that intelligent people really think UNC could and should win,scary af..

UNC will destroy this country in these times,they have nothing to offer but conspiracy and corruption,this isnt 2010 when money was flowing like water and any problem could've been solved with simple allocations,this is our future as a country and for anyone to suggest UNC is the right choice they must have an agenda.

UNC is a dangerous choice.

Even ZOoom knows they not gonna win,ZOoom is by far the smartest of the UNC sycophants here..

VII

Postby VII » August 9th, 2020, 12:30 pm

Even PEP think they going to win,haahahahaha...

Postby K74T » August 9th, 2020, 12:40 pm

PEA go jump out with Expo 2020

Postby zoom rader » August 9th, 2020, 12:41 pm

VII wrote:It's scary that intelligent people really think UNC could and should win,scary af..

UNC will destroy this country in these times,they have nothing to offer but conspiracy and corruption,this isnt 2010 when money was flowing like water and any problem could've been solved with simple allocations,this is our future as a country and for anyone to suggest UNC is the right choice they must have an agenda.

UNC is a dangerous choice.

Even ZOoom knows they not gonna win,ZOoom is by far the smartest of the UNC sycophants here..
PNM needs another 3 terms.

It took moses 40 years to find the promise land.

After 40 years all the people and including Moses never saw the promise land. An entire generation was wiped away and only the offsprings saw the promise land.

Jah made sure they paid the price for disobeying him.

Non PNM parties should take a back seat

Jah don't like stupid people

Postby matr1x » August 9th, 2020, 12:49 pm

Vii is proof that pnm still attracts dotish people

Postby bluefete » August 9th, 2020, 12:50 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Alexander: PEP set to win 28 seats

Progressive Empowerment Party leader Phillip Alexander is confident his party will win all of the 28 seats it is vying for in Monday's general election.

He said the fact that the North American Caribbean Teachers Association (NACTA) poll did not predict a clear winner showed the population is ready for the change that his party hoped to bring.

“What we are witnessing is literally the hand of God in this election. This is not a normal election, a normal year, a normal response from the people of TT. The people are fed up of the current political dispensation. We are experiencing an excitement on the ground and we believe Monday is going to be a political earthquake in this country.”

The NACTA poll, released on Friday, said research has found a very close race in several seats deemed marginals. St Joseph, Moruga/Tableland and La Horquetta/Talparo are simply too close, the polls said. The latest tracking survey in Trinidad was done from last Saturday, with 740 likely voters dispersed in the marginals to reflect the demographic composition of the population.

Asked to comment on the poll, Alexander said: “This is such a highly unusual election year that not even the highly professional predictors are willing to make a prediction. People are taking back their bet money and taking back their position. All who was thinking it was one way are now realising that there are more wild cards in this race and things can be a lot more different than we even anticipate. We are hoping on in faith for a clean slate of our 28 candidates and we stand ready to respond to that call.”

NACTA said both main parties – the UNC and PNM – have lost some support.

Because of the covid19 restrictions, parties which would have held final rallies on Saturday opted for nationwide motorcades. Both PNM and UNC traversed the East-West Corridor. On Friday, Dr Rowley toured the Diego Martin South Community Centre, the Diego Martin Girls' RC School and the Diego Martin Health Centre. On Saturday, he drove around in a motorcade, rallying supporters to vote on Monday.

Alexander, the PEP candidate for Diego Martin North/East, also made a final appeal to voters. “Put aside the politics of the past. Those who are jaded, become excited again, those who were conned into voting race remember at the end of the day we are all people under one flag. It is time to come together and work as one to save TT and the best way to do that is to vote PEP.”

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/09/alexan ... -28-seats/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 9th, 2020, 12:56 pm

My brother wife say how she PNM pastor tell she the lord spoke to him and said to vote PNM