The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby De Dragon » July 28th, 2020, 7:56 am

Redman wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Redman wrote:
pugboy wrote:exactly how can money be taken from the utc?
afaik utc money is their depositors

If there is a way to loot a SOE Moneylal and them will find a way.

UTC a state enterprise?

UTC was created by an act of parliament...in 83....

I don’t think it is.a SOE...I don’t think there is a legal way for GORTT to take funds....only borrow via a bond issue.

But KPB said no borrowing.

IIRC didn't Patrick Manning also want to do this coming up to the end of his tenure.... use the UTC funds as a source of Govt funding?
Yes he did but few will remember that it and choose not to.
He had runs in with the guy in change of UTC

I think he wanted to bring it more under the control of the govt.....I will find out.

That tripe that KPB is putting up as a pillar of her campaign is madness

You're getting too obvious now. I guess the closeness of the GE has finally nudged you off of the fence :roll:

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2020, 8:33 am

Your concern is heart warming.

A govt policy that is based on taking funds from financial institutions in order to build more drains and roads is something that should pull everyone off the fence.
I suggest you do your research and make your choice....check the unc site.

Her idea is to sell equity in box drains....which based on the cost of box drains under her watch is a great idea....overpriced and bloated,but at our cost.
4.5m for 2525 ft of a 2x2 box drain. 2010-2015
Straight out of her office.
Dotishness

That this has been vocalized without contradiction by the party equates to endorsement.
Either dotish or corrupt

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2020, 8:47 am

Redman wrote:Your concern is heart warming.

A govt policy that is based on taking funds from financial institutions in order to build more drains and roads is something that should pull everyone off the fence.

Her idea is to sell equity in box drains....which based on the cost of box drains under her watch is a great idea....overpriced and bloated,but at our cost.
Dotishness

That this has been vocalized without contradiction by the party equates to endorsement.
Either dotish or corrupt

apply dat to the stadium... at least a box drain coudl pull out water from an area.

Postby MaxPower » July 28th, 2020, 8:51 am

TKR

Team Keith Rowley

Join us as we embrace the Red Palulu.

TKR

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2020, 8:56 am

De Dragon wrote:The OJT elec2020 gets into hot water talking caca about racism based voting choices, but has sufficient clout that results in his handlers Red Plastic Bag, elitecorolla, j.o.e, Dizzy and mero running in personally to defend him :lol: Full court press business!!
Defending him by talking nonsense about raiding which fund is better, HSF vs NIB, as if the HSF funds can be replaced in the current energy crisis economy, the incompetent PNM being the only ones to access that fund

So typically the few times I would have reason to respond to Redman I usually am in disagreement with him but all of a sudden I get lumped with him and the others who you all thing are anti UNC based on this one topic??

I am not the mindless rabble that votes for a party solely because of emotion. Since the holidays between my UWI years and then for the first 4 years after UWI I worked in construction with both parties being in power and have seen how much hands at various levels have to get greased for things to happen. Be it health centres under NWRHA or HDC housing under Udecott there have been countless checks that have gone to all manner of "consultants" with no invoice, blank check stub etc.
For example I once worked for a very well known contractor that built a house for a Commissioner of Inland Revenue and charged it to a government project. And to those that say if you know go to the police when you are 23 years old and in your 1st or 2nd job being a snitch is not on your mind particularly when Abu Bakr is in your workplace every Friday to collect zakat.

So anytime I see infrastructure bandied about I will always be tentative as the contractors cartel probably rivals or supersedes anything Laventille or Sea Lots have to offer.

And Dragon - I have life membership in the UNC since 2000 and life membership in COP since 2007. No membership or other affiliation to PNM and I have never voted for PNM in my entire life (I mentioned this in a thread maybe 2-3 months ago) which consists of 6 GE and 6 Locals.

Postby zoom rader » July 28th, 2020, 9:07 am

De Dragon wrote:The OJT elec2020 gets into hot water talking caca about racism based voting choices, but has sufficient clout that results in his handlers Red Plastic Bag, elitecorolla, j.o.e, Dizzy and mero running in personally to defend him :lol: Full court press business!!
Defending him by talking nonsense about raiding which fund is better, HSF vs NIB, as if the HSF funds can be replaced in the current energy crisis economy, the incompetent PNM being the only ones to access that fund

So typically the few times I would have reason to respond to Redman I usually am in disagreement with him but all of a sudden I get lumped with him and the others who you all thing are anti UNC based on this one topic??

I am not the mindless rabble that votes for a party solely because of emotion. Since the holidays between my UWI years and then for the first 4 years after UWI I worked in construction with both parties being in power and have seen how much hands at various levels have to get greased for things to happen. Be it health centres under NWRHA or HDC housing under Udecott there have been countless checks that have gone to all manner of "consultants" with no invoice, blank check stub etc.
For example I once worked for a very well known contractor that built a house for a Commissioner of Inland Revenue and charged it to a government project. And to those that say if you know go to the police when you are 23 years old and in your 1st or 2nd job being a snitch is not on your mind particularly when Abu Bakr is in your workplace every Friday to collect zakat.

So anytime I see infrastructure bandied about I will always be tentative as the contractors cartel probably rivals or supersedes anything Laventille or Sea Lots have to offer.

And Dragon - I have life membership in the UNC since 2000 and life membership in COP since 2007. No membership or other affiliation to PNM and I have never voted for PNM in my entire life (I mentioned this in a thread maybe 2-3 months ago) which consists of 6 GE and 6 Locals.

^^^ Interesting,

If you knew corruption was taking place all you had to do was to get all paper work and post to letter boxes of DPP, COP, Media houses and leader of opposition

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2020, 9:11 am

must trump and follow suit...

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2020, 9:23 am

sMASH wrote:

Dotishness

Either dotish or corrupt

apply dat to the stadium... at least a box drain coudl pull out water from an area.

Yep- thats the mentality.
Like I said you ZR ing..

Postby Dizzy28 » July 28th, 2020, 9:24 am

^^^ Interesting,

If you knew corruption was taking place all you had to do was to get all paper work and post to letter boxes of DPP, COP, Media houses and leader of opposition

You do understand Leader of Opposition would also mean Manning. The NWRHA scandals were UNC ones.
And once again 23 years old and naive, as well as at that time it was not yet the social media age so all what you said to do never was a thought. I just assumed it was all normal. Politics was more or less a once every 5 year thing not an every day in your face even if you read papers frequently. Heck you do realize I never even joined Tuner till 2010 right.

As you mature so does your ethics. In a much later time moving on from my construction work period and after having done two rounds of interviews at Witco I declined the 3rd and final round for a regional based job all because I sat and thought through about do I really want to work for a company selling a product I am so vehemently against. Even the lure of better pay and travel across 32 countries and territories was not enough for me to consider the job. As it turns our my father who had stopped smoking for about 20 years was diagnosed with lung cancer a few years later and he passed away last year from it so I am even more happy never moving forward with that job.

Postby Redman » July 28th, 2020, 9:44 am

Why is so much attention is put towards 'WHO" someone is??-
its an anonymous forum all that matters is what is posted, and whether it is accurate or not.

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2020, 9:52 am

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Dotishness

Either dotish or corrupt

Like I said you ZR ing..

if u have to theif money, theif it in a way that will benefit the citizen.

Postby zoom rader » July 28th, 2020, 10:40 am

Well Look ting , Muslim Vote is a serious vote
Former deputy political leader of the People's National Movement (PNM) Nafeesa Mohammed has resigned from the party.
She will be hosting a news conference at 1 p.m today at her Aranguez office to explain why she made this move.
In a statement which has been circulating on social media Mohammed lambasted Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley and accused him of being a bully.
"This country does not deserve a bullying Prime Minister, an arrogant Attorney General and an incompetent Minister of National Security," it stated.
On Sunday, Mohammed publicly endorsed United National Congress (UNC) Barataria/San Juan candidate Saddam Hosein declaring he will win the marginal seat with the support of the large Mohammed family in Aranguez.
In a video, she spoke out against alleged police action against her family saying "enough is enough".
Mohammed, an attorney, recalled how family members were detained by police.
"One lady was breast feeding her child, that child bawl for days, they had to go and get permission to go in the police station, the mother was in a cell, 15 people detained...nobody was charged or convicted, we are not terrorists, we are law abiding citizens!" she said.
Mohammed also criticised attorney general Faris Al Rawi for taking them for granted and bringing draconian legislation.
She said Hosein could be her son and "when he wins I'm hoping he will continue to keep in touch and we are all here to give that support.
Mohammed had served as legal advisor to the Prime Minister but was fired in 2018 following a Facebook post taking issue with the arrest of her relative Tariq Mohammed.
Tariq Mohammed was among a group of people arrested over allegedly plotting to disrupt Carnival activities.
Mohammed comes from a family steeped in the politics of Trinidad and Tobago. Uncle Kamaluddin Mohammed was one of the founding members of the PNM.
She had served as PNM Opposition Senator and former Chairman of the San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation.
In the statement Mohammed said "events over the past few years have burdened me and as much as I tried to have resolution and clarity to certain matters,I was met with arrogance and downright disrespect from the political directorate,".
The following is the full statement:
It is with a sense of deep regret but at the same time with a great sense of relief that I formally announce my resignation from the People's National Movement.
Events over the past few years have burdened me and as much as I tried to have resolution and clarity to certain matters,I was met with arrogance and downright disrespect from the political directorate.
This country does not deserve a bullying Prime Minister, an arrogant Attorney General and an incompetent Minister of National Security.
My full statement will indicate in greater details some of the issues I had to deal with,but suffice it to say,I have had enough.
As a Former Deputy Political Leader of the People's National Movement, a Former Senator, a Former Chairman of the San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation and a Former Senior Legal Advisor to the Prime Minister and as a child of the PNM,the time has come for me to come out of Banwas and to continue to stand up for justice, fairness, equity and equality in our Sweet Trinidad and Tobago..
I wish to state publicly that since 2018, I have felt as though I was forced into exile as a form of punishment for being outspoken about injustices I witnessed firsthand in my community and country and after two years with no one in leadership positions seeing it fit to investigate ,far less repair the damage done to persons, families and communities, I have reached a crossroad where I have decided to resign from the People's National Movement.
I no longer feel that I belong to this once great movement that my Uncle, my parents and so many of my blood relatives had helped to build even before 1956
I pray that all citizens will be able to go out in their numbers on August 10th 2020 and exercise their franchise freely and free from fear so that we can all come together with all hands on deck to rebuild, restore and reconstruct our broken nation. Let us unite for a better Trinidad and Tobago.

https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... 8eab2.html

Postby sMASH » July 28th, 2020, 10:57 am

Redman wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Dotishness

Either dotish or corrupt

Like I said you ZR ing..

zr 1.4

Postby Rovin » July 28th, 2020, 12:06 pm

roads being paved right now in this kinda weather

... GREAT IS D PEE ON DEM

Postby eliteauto » July 28th, 2020, 2:22 pm

*GRATE

Postby zoom rader » July 28th, 2020, 2:35 pm

Rovin wrote:roads being paved right now in this kinda weather

... GREAT IS D PEE ON DEM

Take the shoudy work now cause when they get back in you not getting nothing but busted shocks

Postby De Dragon » July 28th, 2020, 10:26 pm

My apologies Dizzy. I just felt like taking on someone new nah :lol: , PNM morons like RPB, elitecorolla, Tokesy and one eye like they get even more moronic, if that's at all possible.
I know you are a man who calls out RPB for his defense of dotishness.

Postby eliteauto » July 28th, 2020, 11:42 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: MPT

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2020, 12:30 am

Dotishness

Either dotish or corrupt

Yeah, that's what pulled you off of the fence :roll: I really don't know who you think you fool when you post your obvious nonsense you know. Your're not winning any converts. All your attempts to look like an uninterested poster are always betrayed by your very obvious PNM slant. Remember, you actually deigned to defend the long dead and much vilified Sandals deal just this week.
Is it to keep the sheep in the pen then?

Postby redmanjp » July 29th, 2020, 3:01 am

So what are the other parties solutions to managing this Covid emergency? If UNC wins for instance, are they going to

open up the borders?

lock down fully or partially?

mandate masks?

postpone school reopening?

increase testing?

will we get a new CMO or will he be allowed to continue as we are in the midst of a crisis?

haven't heard anyone ask various parties about this and this could be the most important issue this election- people's lives could depend on it.

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2020, 4:46 am

redmanjp wrote:So what are the other parties solutions to managing this Covid emergency? If UNC wins for instance, are they going to

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

will we get a new CMO or will he be allowed to continue as we are in the midst of a crisis?

haven't heard anyone ask various parties about this and this could be the most important issue this election- people's lives could depend on it.

You're forgetting the most fundamental question, who TF calls an election in the midst of a pandemic?
Don't want to hear no nonsense about UNC calling for it for years, as the PNM and its "leader" the Hon. JUHN Scarfy Esq. have stated of numerous occasions that they will not take advice, or instructions from them.
JUHN Scarfy seems to have overplayed his hand wrt the C19 goodwill, and now that we have community spread, he would do well to postpone the GE, lockdown on a phased basis until case level off, and drop. Mind you, if we were testing as we should have been, we may have recognized the community spread earlier, and avoided potential disaster. 6000 tests is pitiful, but hey when Delcy allegedly offered test kits wasn't the response "nah, we good?" :roll:
Knowing JUHN Scarfy and the PNM, we should not hold our collective breath

Postby Gladiator » July 29th, 2020, 6:25 am

Heard that the community spread is much worse than being reported but the information is being surpressed to avoid panic and to not affect the 2020 election...
redmanjp wrote:So what are the other parties solutions to managing this Covid emergency? If UNC wins for instance, are they going to

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

You're forgetting the most fundamental question, who TF calls an election in the midst of a pandemic?
Don't want to hear no nonsense about UNC calling for it for years, as the PNM and its "leader" the Hon. JUHN Scarfy Esq. have stated of numerous occasions that they will not take advice, or instructions from them.
JUHN Scarfy seems to have overplayed his hand wrt the C19 goodwill, and now that we have community spread, he would do well to postpone the GE, lockdown on a phased basis until case level off, and drop. Mind you, if we were testing as we should have been, we may have recognized the community spread earlier, and avoided potential disaster. 6000 tests is pitiful, but hey when Delcy allegedly offered test kits wasn't the response "nah, we good?" :roll:

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2020, 7:06 am

Gladiator wrote:Heard that the community spread is much worse than being reported but the information is being surpressed to avoid panic and to not affect the 2020 election...

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

If true, that would be diabolical and far reaching. Sadly, you can't trust the majority of our present crop of politicians

Postby Redman » July 29th, 2020, 7:36 am

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

But KPB expressed happiness with the date and that the UNC was fully prepared.....
That’s what she stated on the 3rd July 2020....

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2020, 7:54 am

Redman wrote:

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

But KPB expressed happiness with the date and that the UNC was fully prepared.....

You aren't reading and comprehending again.
KPB called the election? Did we have community spread then? :roll:
Pandemic affected voting + deliberately having NO international observers is really the best thing right now?

boxy

Postby boxy » July 29th, 2020, 8:42 am

I too would never put my head on a block for any politician. But claiming that there is a cover up of cases is just beyond rediculous. Politicians cannot control what Public servants have access to. And as evidenced by the leak of flight manifests and proforma invoices within the last few months it's clear they not going to allow a cover up of any kind whether they support either party.
Gladiator wrote:Heard that the community spread is much worse than being reported but the information is being surpressed to avoid panic and to not affect the 2020 election...

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

If true, that would be diabolical and far reaching. Sadly, you can't trust the majority of our present crop of politicians

Postby Redman » July 29th, 2020, 9:34 am

Redman wrote:

open up the borders?

mandate masks?

increase testing?

You aren't reading and comprehending again.
KPB called the election? Did we have community spread then? :roll:
Pandemic affected voting + deliberately having NO international observers is really the best thing right now?

Deliberately?? steups

Elections due by December I believe?

Would it would be better to run the time down as you suggest -have more people with the disease in the population and be constitutionally forced to have an election with exponentially more infections-known unknown tested and untested???

Or is it better to take in front and manage the risk as best as possible...with as little actually infected people in the population as we would have ....as we know as time passes-more people become infected.

It easy for you to sit and pontificate- but the way I see it and with the knowledge we have -fewer infected cases means easier management-and less problems in general.

How many people out and about today--whats the differential between that population aand the legible voters, most of both groups are already in circulation and the act of voting probably doesnt increase the risk by any significant amount.

Postby j.o.e » July 29th, 2020, 9:53 am

At one point it was said PNM was suppressing cases to look good ..... now that there are more cases people are saying PNM is purposely publicizing cases to control public and keep away voters. This country have too many dunces.

Postby K74T » July 29th, 2020, 10:10 am

Fully dUNCe.

Postby Gladiator » July 29th, 2020, 10:14 am

No boy... There are more cases around that are being kept quiet. I have a crisis to deal with because some of my workers are possible secondary contacts and they panicking and all want to stay home. There was one from national quarries...can't remember seeing that on the news.

j.o.e wrote:At one point it was said PNM was suppressing cases to look good ..... now that there are more cases people are saying PNM is purposely publicizing cases to control public and keep away voters. This country have too many dunces.