Re: WASA Water Supply Schedule

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 11th, 2020, 8:04 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh need rainwater collection

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Anyone getting issues with water recently?
Wasa saying because of the low water supply schedules will be changed etc.

No water by me 4 days now...they say some pump burn and dont know when they would fix :| ...tanks running low

Looking into doctoring a system

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2020, 8:27 pm

better to get a separate tank like a 600 to collect off gutter and wire strainer for leaves
you would be surprised how easy it is to collect 400 from an afternoon shower

hook it up to
use it for toilets emergencies etc

No water by me 4 days now...they say some pump burn and dont know when they would fix :| ...tanks running low

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2020, 1:16 pm

WASA so and so. No water from Thurs- Sat night. Then early Sunday morning before light shines, water gone again.

They cannot even stick to their own schedule.

Postby Rovin » July 12th, 2020, 1:41 pm

true

d presha low & it barely even climbing a upstairs house , u only getting for a few hrs then it dropping back ... if u eh have a pump is ketchass

Postby bluefete » July 12th, 2020, 2:51 pm

Rovin wrote:true

d presha low & it barely even climbing a upstairs house , u only getting for a few hrs then it dropping back ... if u eh have a pump is ketchass

So true. I cannot tell the last time I had decent water pressure in my pipes from WASA.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 12th, 2020, 5:53 pm

Water came last night from 12 midnight and was gone by 10am. Did all the washing etc and let the tanks full. This was after 9 days with no water.

Postby Dave » July 13th, 2020, 6:28 am

Wow 9 days. Feel it for you guys.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 13th, 2020, 7:01 am

Today is day 6

Postby maj. tom » July 17th, 2020, 8:52 am

Allyuh the reservoirs empty!!!!
Talk about gross mismanagement of our water supply by this insanely corrupt entity!

Citizens can expect their daily water supply to be reduced significantly soon as the Water and Sewage Authority, in response to record low levels at its reservoirs across the country, plans to ration its supply nationwide.

This was the word from WASA CEO Alan Poon King as he toured the Arena Reservoir in San Rafael to update the media on the issues the authority was facing due to the lower than normal rainfall levels so far this year.

“In cases where customers may be accustomed to 24/7 supply, that may be down to five days a week and five to three and so on. We amend as required,” Poon King said.

According to Poon King, all four reservoirs across the country have been operating at a deficit amounting to 25 million gallons a day. He said WASA depends on the Trinidad and Tobago Metrological Service for rainfall projections but in the last 16 days its forecasts had not come to pass.

“For the month of July we have been producing around 215 million gallons a day and whereas ideally, we want to be between 240 or 243 gallons a day,” Poon King said.

At the Arena Reservoir, which supports the Caroni Water Treatment Plant and stores 10 billion gallons, Poon King admitted that capacity was the lowest he had ever seen it. He said the last time it was that low ten years ago and the last time it was at capacity was in 2018.

The CEO said WASA is currently owed $800 million in arrears by customers, adding this is an area they will also have to work on.

“We do need to collect rates to provide the service we need to,” Poon King said.

Current Reservoir Levels:

Reservoir*Current % capacity*LTA % capacity

Hollis* 15.98%*54.81%

Caroni Arena*20.33%*58.58%

Navet*26.17%*57.23%

Hillsborough*40.09%*53.55%

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/wasa-go ... bf9c7ec24d

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 17th, 2020, 9:49 am

How much more they want to reduce is by? I already on once a week if so much

Postby Les Bain » July 17th, 2020, 11:26 am

So how TF it possible for Pugboy rainwater collection idea, yet WASA can't see their way?
Is almost as if agencies rely on the word of god to provide solutions.

death365

Postby death365 » July 17th, 2020, 1:10 pm

man go have to do like "long time" and bathe in the rain .... bathe and soap too

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2020, 1:41 pm

give wasa a chance they will want to charge you for bathing in the rain.

i saw a nice gutter filter using diagonal strainer.

Postby pugboy » July 17th, 2020, 1:47 pm

95EB7374-49A2-47F0-8D60-6B7970E5B778.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 17th, 2020, 8:33 pm

How you beating the saharra dust issue???^

Postby rspann » July 17th, 2020, 8:36 pm

The UNC operatives in Wasa have to stop cutting off water to make the govt look bad

Postby eliteauto » July 17th, 2020, 9:55 pm

pugboy wrote:give wasa a chance they will want to charge you for bathing in the rain.

You saw this locally? Looking to do something similar

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2020, 7:43 am

saw it online

see the pic above
should not be hard to make
important thing is the strainer is slanted so leaves don’t collect

eliteauto wrote:
pugboy wrote:give wasa a chance they will want to charge you for bathing in the rain.

You saw this locally? Looking to do something similar

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 18th, 2020, 7:57 am

I've converted the drain lines of all my AC units to fill containers. Everyday I get 4 gallons of clear pure water from those units. I still boil it if used for cooking water but just pour it into the toilet tank and flush.

Rain water is used to fill a 400g tank which is used to spray down yard and wash down cars and tools etc.

Bathing water comes strictly from our main tank. When soaping up, we turn pipes off. Pipes back on to rinse off.

For brushing teeth, I use a 500ml container of water and that is to gargle and rinse out the sink.

Sad, but water conservation techniques have to be applied more rigidly in this day and age.

Postby pugboy » July 18th, 2020, 8:06 am

That is good work, check if your toilets can be adjusted to reduce the amount they use per flush too

soon all houses may need to use rainwater backup connection to flush toilets the way wasa reservoirs going

agent007 wrote:I've converted the drain lines of all my AC units to fill containers. Everyday I get 4 gallons of clear pure water from those units. I still boil it if used for cooking water but just pour it into the toilet tank and flush.

Rain water is used to fill a 400g tank which is used to spray down yard and wash down cars and tools etc.

Bathing water comes strictly from our main tank. When soaping up, we turn pipes off. Pipes back on to rinse off.

For brushing teeth, I use a 500ml container of water and that is to gargle and rinse out the sink.

Sad, but water conservation techniques have to be applied more rigidly in this day and age.

Postby rspann » July 18th, 2020, 4:47 pm

All allyuh wrong . Shitkicker say is UNC operatives cutting the supply to make him look bad.

Postby zoom rader » July 19th, 2020, 10:39 pm

rspann wrote:All allyuh wrong . Shitkicker say is UNC operatives cutting the supply to make him look bad.
PNM ppl beilive this tooth and nail.

Postby De Dragon » July 19th, 2020, 10:47 pm

agent007 wrote:I've converted the drain lines of all my AC units to fill containers. Everyday I get 4 gallons of clear pure water from those units. I still boil it if used for cooking water but just pour it into the toilet tank and flush.

Nice, I'm not so strict but to add, unused dog drinking water goes to wet plants, taps off for brushing teeth except to rinse after. Leaks are religiously repaired.

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2020, 12:33 pm

Postby adnj » July 20th, 2020, 1:05 pm

pugboy wrote:That is good work, check if your toilets can be adjusted to reduce the amount they use per flush too

soon all houses may need to use rainwater backup connection to flush toilets the way wasa reservoirs going

We touched on this before somewhere:

The average family of four uses about 1500 gallons per month/18,000 gallons per year.

The average total rainfall in Trinidad is about 67 inches per year.

The rain that falls on the roof of a small garage (20 ft x 20 ft) is 16,700 gallons per year.

Rain water collection, a gallon of bleach for chlorination, and sufficient storage, is all that is required to reduce or eliminate a water shortage for nearly any residence on the island.

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2020, 1:21 pm

^exactly, a huge dent in relief can be made fairly easily

govt should be encouraging folks to go this way and offer incentives

Postby bluefete » July 20th, 2020, 1:22 pm

You supposed to have a spring somewhere given where you live.

Postby adnj » July 20th, 2020, 2:25 pm

Looking into doctoring a system.

You can add a potable water system easily. Most people only drink water from the kitchen sink (if it's not bottled):

Add a PEX or PVC line to your kitchen sink and icemaker. Fill a separate reserve tank and pressure system with pipe-borne water. You can use a small pump or gravity.

Use your existing system for for every other outlet.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 20th, 2020, 2:42 pm

I drink water from any pipe by me...Fyi water on my side is probably the best tasting(due to where our water comes from). Caroni and by extension central is the worse. Im considering a rain water mechanism....but how to deal with that sahara dust???

rebound

Postby rebound » July 20th, 2020, 3:32 pm

The dust would settle in the tanks over time and filters for the outlet....it would mean a more frequent tank cleaning schedule tho..
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I drink water from any pipe by me...Fyi water on my side is probably the best tasting(due to where our water comes from). Caroni and by extension central is the worse. Im considering a rain water mechanism....but how to deal with that sahara dust???