Re: Income Tax Refunds

Postby Kenjo » May 2nd, 2020, 12:22 am

Just filed mine with my ttconnect and the other site seems to be working also

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 2nd, 2020, 12:40 am

filed mine Sunday 23rd march.
Chq came 2nd week of april, with a date of 1 APR.

they wukkin

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 2nd, 2020, 4:25 pm

superstainless1250 wrote:Trinibajan try http://www.etax.ird.gov.tt.co. it's a blue page go to tax return an full it out less than 10mins I called BIR Tuesday an they guide me along with this temp website

I got through , spoke with a rep. filed yesterday .

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 9th, 2020, 10:28 am

yup got mine back as well, they working!

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 11th, 2020, 2:21 am

slickrick777 wrote:yup got mine back as well, they working!
Begs the question " why did it take months before for it to be processed "????

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 9:47 am

Premchand1976 wrote:
slickrick777 wrote:yup got mine back as well, they working!
Begs the question " why did it take months before for it to be processed "????

Cash Flow

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 9:56 am

^ cash flow didnt improve during covid... they always had it... government owed me 10 to 11k as a tax return in 2015... everytime i went BIR they told me it was still on rhe supervisors desk... leave a phome number and they will contact me asap... it took 5 years and a pandemic for me to get what was rightfully mine... the government is too damn hypocritical... if i owe taxes is jail and fines in my @ss... when they owe me... boy take time nah... idk if UNC is like that as i only started working working in 2015... before that i was doing a Bsc and then Msc... considered Mphil but tired of all that school

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 10:39 am

elec2020 wrote:^ cash flow didnt improve during covid... they always had it... government owed me 10 to 11k as a tax return in 2015... everytime i went BIR they told me it was still on rhe supervisors desk... leave a phome number and they will contact me asap... it took 5 years and a pandemic for me to get what was rightfully mine... the government is too damn hypocritical... if i owe taxes is jail and fines in my @ss... when they owe me... boy take time nah... idk if UNC is like that as i only started working working in 2015... before that i was doing a Bsc and then Msc... considered Mphil but tired of all that school

HSF money has improved the Govn't cash flow position.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 10:42 am

I thought their has been no confirmation as yet that the government has withdrawn from the HSF? You could argue that cash flow would have improved from the recent grants/loans from world bank, cdb and caf (cant remember what the acronym stands for)

Postby Dizzy28 » May 11th, 2020, 10:47 am

elec2020 wrote:I thought their has been no confirmation as yet that the government has withdrawn from the HSF? You could argue that cash flow would have improved from the recent grants/loans from world bank, cdb and caf (cant remember what the acronym stands for)

Those loans and grants are all for specific purposes and there are limits on how and quantum of drawdowns. Similar to when building a house you can only get QS certified amounts during construction.

CAF is the Andean Bank ( Corporacion Andina de Fomento ) btw

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 11th, 2020, 11:21 am

elec2020 wrote:I thought their has been no confirmation as yet that the government has withdrawn from the HSF? You could argue that cash flow would have improved from the recent grants/loans from world bank, cdb and caf (cant remember what the acronym stands for)

Those loans and grants are all for specific purposes and there are limits on how and quantum of drawdowns. Similar to when building a house you can only get QS certified amounts during construction.

CAF is the Andean Bank ( Corporacion Andina de Fomento ) btw

You are very right... CAf stated that

The present loan aims to strengthen Trinidad and Tobago's capacity to respond to and prevent the crisis caused by COVID-19, through direct financial resources and the recognition of expenses and investments aimed at reducing risk or mitigating the impact of the pandemic in the health of the population.

This could mean that these grants/loans were granted to aid in mitigating the economic impact of covid 19... as such these grants/loans could be used as the capital for tax refunds, salary/rental assistance, emergency food cards, etc... thats my base assumption.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 11th, 2020, 2:54 pm

no other income atm, so this will have to hold me out till..

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 12th, 2020, 7:28 am

elec2020 wrote:^ cash flow didnt improve during covid... they always had it... government owed me 10 to 11k as a tax return in 2015... everytime i went BIR they told me it was still on rhe supervisors desk... leave a phome number and they will contact me asap... it took 5 years and a pandemic for me to get what was rightfully mine... the government is too damn hypocritical... if i owe taxes is jail and fines in my @ss... when they owe me... boy take time nah... idk if UNC is like that as i only started working working in 2015... before that i was doing a Bsc and then Msc... considered Mphil but tired of all that school
They called me yesterday on a 2013 objection and asking for supporting documents and letters from employer and all kinda ting . They feel I run my business like theirs or wha , papers pile up high high in the desk in the " other room " for years and years

Postby goalpost » June 25th, 2020, 9:56 pm

Getting problems to log onto etax

A message saying "a session is required to access this resource " keeps appearing.

madd

Postby madd » June 26th, 2020, 6:07 am

goalpost wrote:Getting problems to log onto etax

A message saying "a session is required to access this resource " keeps appearing.

Use their chat option. Sometimes they are helpful

Postby Dizzy28 » July 8th, 2020, 9:55 am

Now checking my tax online. Filed my 2019 return on June 15th and shocked to see the refund was issued on June 22nd.

My shock stems from the fact that my 2016,2017 and 2018 refunds took on average 2 years to be processed and refunded (refund mainly due to Covid and the big tax refund scheme they engaged in)

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 8th, 2020, 4:23 pm

i still waitin on refund... :/

eitech

Postby eitech » July 8th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Did my 2019. Saw the refund was approved. Awaiting cheque

Postby skylinechild » July 8th, 2020, 5:28 pm

i filed my tax return since sept 30th last year and it only got approved april 1st and i got my refund..... FINALLY !!

Postby goalpost » July 9th, 2020, 7:42 am

Still getting issues on etax. Its bumping me off at random times with the message "A session is required to access this resource". Really fcking annoying.
Sent an email to ttconnect who responded with the generic how to log on.
Tried calling 800 TAXX with no success.

So this happening to nobody else?

Postby skylinechild » July 9th, 2020, 6:32 pm

goalpost wrote:Still getting issues on etax. Its bumping me off at random times with the message "A session is required to access this resource". Really fcking annoying.

you sure is not a browser issue ?
try clearing your cache and updating adobe flash and other things ?

try using a different browser ....
i use firefox and no issues

Postby Dizzy28 » July 10th, 2020, 10:16 am

2019 check came today..

Deposited the last 3 yesterday :? Guess a trip to the bank is in order again.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » July 27th, 2020, 7:56 am

Hey Tuners,

Did my tax online a month ago and a refund was expected. Finally got an envelope today after a month and it is only the 'Notice of Assessment' letter without the refund cheque!

This happened to anyone else recently?

Postby goalpost » July 27th, 2020, 8:04 am

Yeah u get that letter as well. The cheque is on it's way.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » July 27th, 2020, 8:09 am

goalpost wrote:Yeah u get that letter as well. The cheque is on it's way.

Thanks, I always thought that letter accompanied the cheque but will look out for it. :)

Postby Dizzy28 » July 27th, 2020, 8:21 am

I always get the check first and the assessment 2nd.
Did my 2019 return in June and the check came within 2 weeks and the assessment letter came last week.

Postby goalpost » July 27th, 2020, 8:22 am

skylinechild wrote:
goalpost wrote:Still getting issues on etax. Its bumping me off at random times with the message "A session is required to access this resource". Really fcking annoying.

you sure is not a browser issue ?
try clearing your cache and updating adobe flash and other things ?

try using a different browser ....
i use firefox and no issues

Same problem with all browsers. Of course they never answering. Will go in tomorrow to see what they can do

simplejack

Postby simplejack » July 27th, 2020, 8:30 am

Dizzy28 wrote:I always get the check first and the assessment 2nd.
Did my 2019 return in June and the check came within 2 weeks and the assessment letter came last week.

Heard this as well, so hoping the cheque isn't lost in the mail or some mix up.

Will wait and see.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 27th, 2020, 10:15 am

i normally get the cheque an letter together, to date i can't receive either yet despite filing months ago so count yourself lucky! :D

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 27th, 2020, 12:04 pm

simplejack wrote:Hey Tuners,

Did my tax online a month ago and a refund was expected. Finally got an envelope today after a month and it is only the 'Notice of Assessment' letter without the refund cheque!

This happened to anyone else recently?

Check the ttpost office that sends you your mail... given the size of my refund... my own held onto the cheque to protect my anonymity... idk if yours did the same... i glad they did as i fear my landlord secretly checks our mails as the envelopes seemed to be resealed imo