The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

jhonnieblue

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby jhonnieblue » July 5th, 2020, 6:34 am

What wrong with that, for too long the public service has been inefficient and lazy. You honestly think we could keep operating that way.
Wasa and all those ministries need serious revamping.

Postby goalpost » July 5th, 2020, 7:06 am

Nobody going an touch WASA

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » July 5th, 2020, 7:36 am

goalpost wrote:Nobody going an touch WASA
Petrotrin employees used to say the same-thing.

Postby zoom rader » July 5th, 2020, 7:43 am

neilsingh100 wrote:
goalpost wrote:Nobody going an touch WASA
Petrotrin employees used to say the same-thing.
That's because the shade of Petrotrin had change.

PNM named it Petrosingh

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 5th, 2020, 10:50 am

No matter which syphilitic, deluded political organism wins GE2020 Covid edition, TnT in a shttload of financial troubles... more than we in now.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » July 5th, 2020, 11:01 am

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 5th, 2020, 11:15 am

jhonnieblue wrote:What wrong with that, for too long the public service has been inefficient and lazy. You honestly think we could keep operating that way.
Wasa and all those ministries need serious revamping.

Regardless of who wins that is coming and it has been FAR TOO LONG that State company employees have racked up big undeserved salaries for little to no work.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on July 5th, 2020, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 5th, 2020, 11:19 am

:agrue:
IMG-20200705-WA0034.jpg
IMG-20200704-WA0056.jpg

Postby zoom rader » July 5th, 2020, 11:23 am

^^^ that's what eliteauto and Redman like

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 5th, 2020, 11:53 am

CMO stated no mask no vote... cause constitutional rights dont matter anymore i guess

Postby paid_influencer » July 5th, 2020, 12:03 pm

elec2020 wrote:CMO stated no mask no vote... cause constitutional rights dont matter anymore i guess

:drinking:

just wear the mask by your chin like everybody else

Postby The_Honourable » July 5th, 2020, 12:15 pm

Jitters as 12 UNC MPs face the axe

Disappointment is expected on Sunday as the United National Congress (UNC) gets ready to announce the remaining 22 candidates to contest the 2020 general election on August 10.

Party sources said there is uncertainty in the UNC camp, especially among the incumbents as Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar is expected to drop the axe on 12 of them who served as elected representatives in 18 constituencies.

Already four of them have bowed out of the race – Tabaquite MP Suruj Rambachan, Caroni East MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Chaguanas West MP Ganga Singh and Dr Fuad Khan, MP for San Juan/Barataria.

It is believed outgoing Princes Town MP Barry Padarath, who was among the six favoured to return, may have lost his chance as he is out of the country and may not return in time for the July 17 Nomination Day. He has been granted an exemption to return from the US but is in Florida, unable to get a flight to Trinidad.

Among those sitting in “safe seats”, UNC sources said, are outgoing MPs for Oropouche East, Dr Roodal Moonilal, Pointe-a-Pierre, David Lee, Naparima, Rodney Charles, Fyzabad, Dr Lackram Bodoe and Persad Bissessar for Siparia.

On the chopping block are the Couva South and North MPs Rudy Indarsingh and Ramona Ramdial. So too is Fazal Karim who is expected to be replaced by Chaguanas Mayor Vandana Mohit in the Chaguanas East constituency. Bodoe, Indarsingh and Karim confirmed they were screened and are awaiting Sunday’s announcement.

“I had a good screening and if the political leader decides to go with another candidate, then so be it,” Karim said.

Christine Newallo-Hosein is expected to be replaced by either former energy minister Kevin Ramnarine or chairman of the Rio Claro/Mayaro Regional Corporation Glen Ram for Cumuto/Manzanilla. Ramnarine confirmed he was screened but could not say whether or not he will get the nod.

Two party executives Dave Tancoo and Peter Kanhai are also expected to be considered for Oropouche West and Couva South respectively. UNC PRO Anita Haynes, responding to the unconfirmed reports advised, “Don’t take on those people on the internet.”

The UNC has completed its screening but has named 17 candidates to date, including some in the marginal seats. Persad-Bissessar has said she was leaving those for last and did indicate in an interview with the media at one of its screening sessions in San Fernando, to expect changes.

Haynes confirmed on Friday, “The political leader said we are going forward with new faces and some experienced ones and she is a person who always keeps her word.” Haynes is earmarked to replace Rambachan. The UNC is not expected to field candidates in Tobago.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2020/07/05/jitter ... s-the-axe/

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 5th, 2020, 12:34 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
elec2020 wrote:CMO stated no mask no vote... cause constitutional rights dont matter anymore i guess

:drinking:

just wear the mask by your chin like everybody else

Lol... i have spotted that a few times... every time i see it i ask myself why u even have on the mask then if u not using it properly

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2020, 12:52 pm

dem respiratory system different, their lungs connected to dey ass4hole, not the nose. So they blocking the mouth opening.

Once again, Covid-19 shows the entire world just how many people failed basic science in form 2 level education.

The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Postby MaxPower » July 5th, 2020, 12:56 pm

matr1x wrote:If pnm wins, its going to be a whole lot worse. Their next target is the public service

Yeh Slim,

That is exactly why i will be voting for PNM.

Trinis need to be taught a lesson.

I want the Govt break allyuh backs until allyuh get serious, man up, stand together and say enough is enough.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 5th, 2020, 1:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:dem respiratory system different, their lungs connected to dey ass4hole, not the nose. So they blocking the mouth opening.

Once again, Covid-19 shows the entire world just how many people failed basic science in form 2 level education.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 5th, 2020, 1:34 pm

matr1x wrote:If pnm wins, its going to be a whole lot worse. Their next target is the public service

Yeh Slim,

That is exactly why i will be voting for PNM.

Trinis need to be taught a lesson.

I want the Govt break allyuh backs until allyuh get serious, man up, stand together and say enough is enough.

I waiting on parties manifestos to makr up my mind on who i will support and push for for this elections... i get your point though... secretly i wanna vote for PEP or PDP (i assume that they putting people up to contest seats in trinidad as well... or is that not the case) so if they win people can see what happens when u place a loud mouth in charge of your country

Postby matr1x » July 5th, 2020, 2:08 pm

Not saying to fling all them vene into the sea....but it's a start

Postby The_Honourable » July 5th, 2020, 2:23 pm

Nah PDP only fighting the Tobago seats and also THA elections 2021. If successful, then they will come Trinidad for LE 2022/23 and GE 2025.

Postby Rovin » July 5th, 2020, 2:28 pm

wha going orn here , he & pnm fall out , somebody doctor this video or this was only part of a longer sentence ..... ? ... either way it sound appropriate :lol:

it have ah lil cussing in it eh

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 5th, 2020, 2:54 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Nah PDP only fighting the Tobago seats and also THA elections 2021. If successful, then they will come Trinidad for LE 2022/23 and GE 2025.

Thanks for the info... i think PDP have a good chance of winning bago elections... what has shamfa and webster-roy done of note to the tobago people... dismantle the seabridge... produced a boyched budget (PDP well lay into them on the discrepancies and lack of vision in their recent budget)... and no self governance... i think bago lookimg iffy this rounds... even nailed on PNM areas looking iffy... some residents claim no justice no vote... we dont want hampers we want jobs... so this elections here may be very interesting

Postby MaxPower » July 5th, 2020, 3:04 pm

matr1x wrote:Not saying to fling all them vene into the sea....but it's a start

That will never happen, you will never live to that happen.

Throw Trinis into the sea and believe me, change will happen overnight.

Postby K74T » July 5th, 2020, 3:09 pm

Press Release

The PNM Leadership has withdrawn Brigadier General Ancil Antoine (Ret.) from the list of candidates to be presented to the Central Executive for final approval, scheduled for tomorrow.

This candidate’s removal is as a direct consequence of insensitive and objectionable statements made by him at a campaign launch recently, such statements are not representative of our party or country’s position.

Postby bluefete » July 5th, 2020, 3:14 pm

You must always tow the party line or get out. No dissension is tolerated in the ranks.

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2020, 3:21 pm

Seems like the following for the UNC
Vandana Mohit- Chaguanas East
Anita Haynes- Tabaquite
Khadijah Ameen- St. Augustine

Postby bluefete » July 5th, 2020, 3:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:Seems like the following for the UNC
Anita Haynes- Tabaquite

Is that all for now?

Postby bluefete » July 5th, 2020, 3:34 pm

My income for the year has dropped significantly. Where does he expects me to get money to pay taxes?

I heard the Finance Minister tell businesses to pay their 2020, 1/4ly taxes based on last year's earnings. He has to be a special kind of dotish.

TOTALLY BEREFT OF IDEAS!!!!!

https://nomadcapitalist.com/2018/11/22/ ... ncome-tax/

Postby eliteauto » July 5th, 2020, 3:48 pm

bluefete wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Seems like the following for the UNC
Anita Haynes- Tabaquite

Is that all for now?
Screen Shot 2020-07-05 at 3.46.06 PM.png

Postby zoom rader » July 5th, 2020, 4:33 pm

bluefete wrote:Image

My income for the year has dropped significantly. Where does he expects me to get money to pay taxes?

I heard the Finance Minister tell businesses to pay their 2020, 1/4ly taxes based on last year's earnings. He has to be a special kind of dotish.

TOTALLY BEREFT OF IDEAS!!!!!

https://nomadcapitalist.com/2018/11/22/ ... ncome-tax/
Living in a tax free country you will still end up paying some sort of tax. Its super expensive to live.

E.g. In Cayman islands you pay no income taxes but everything you buy there is at least a 22% duty you pay.

A can of coke in the US may cost 1US, in Cayman you expect to pay 2US.

Lunch will cost you $10 to $15 US, by weight it's $7US a lbw.

Postby paid_influencer » July 5th, 2020, 4:35 pm

^ how's inshan track record with promises?

The worse thing Kamla ever do was to castrate the COP in 2010-2015. A significant number of COP voters in marginals now wandering in the PNM forest, sitting on the PNM fence.
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 5th, 2020, 4:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.