Rovin wrote:pugboy wrote:isn’t the mabel label with a colored lady racist just like the aunt jemina pancake syrup ?
i dont follow d whole race thing in d usa so ppl hadda excuse me for sounding like i live under a rock cause i had to google what u posted , always learn some thing new yes , didnt know about this issue
while reading this jemina thing i also learn another thing about d word "mammy"
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mammy_arc ... charactersA mammy, also spelled mammie,[2] is a U.S. stereotype, especially in the South, for a black woman who worked in a white family and nursed the family's children.[3] The mammy figure is rooted in the history of slavery in the United States. Enslaved black women were tasked with domestic and childcare work in white American enslaver households.
since i born i calling my indian mother mammy , didnt have a clue until today d word cud mean something else in another mans land ....
so i guess u do have point with d mabel lady on local products , all who heading by QPS to protest ? ....![]()
The_Honourable wrote:aye aye aye... behave allyuh self
Bars and Borders
Prime Minister Dr the Hon Keith Rowley said today that he will be forced to close bars by Monday if the reports coming to him within the next 48 hours indicate that bar owners and patrons are not following the guidelines of the public health regulations.
Rovin wrote:wow how strange eh even with cartoons one has to be "politically correct"
as trini kids growing up these kinda things never even entered our minds , we only studying d kix in T&J , nowadays everything seem to cause ah scene ...
MaxPower wrote:The_Honourable wrote:aye aye aye... behave allyuh self
Bars and Borders
Prime Minister Dr the Hon Keith Rowley said today that he will be forced to close bars by Monday if the reports coming to him within the next 48 hours indicate that bar owners and patrons are not following the guidelines of the public health regulations.
Hmmmm
So he wants us to follow the leading examples from patrons at doubles vendors and the markets?
Bars or Rum shops?Cantmis wrote:Syrians looking to monopolize bars
Cantmis wrote:Syrians looking to monopolize bars
elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something
eitech wrote:elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something
How many positive cases will it take for a “massive resurgence” to occur?
And, if all our reported cases are imported and quarantined, are you willing to fully open up the country minus the boarders? Are you willing to take that chance?
eitech wrote:elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something
And, if all our reported cases are imported and quarantined, are you willing to fully open up the country minus the boarders? Are you willing to take that chance?
Don't worry...within 48 hrs they will make that decison.RedVEVO wrote:Why T&T waiting for Corvid 19 massive resurgence ?
Why do bars need to be open ?
Drink @ home .
ALL BARS ARE NOT FOLLOWING PROTOCOL .
NOBODY WEARING MASKS in BARS - PASS A LAW THAT REQUIRES WEARING A MASK NOW
https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 0c8f6.html
elec2020 wrote:eitech wrote:elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something
I find it strange that caribbean countries have the lowest cases globally... well its not like the caribbean is teeming with corrupt politicians willing to bend the facts to suit their agendas
Dohplaydat wrote:elec2020 wrote:eitech wrote:elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something
I find it strange that caribbean countries have the lowest cases globally... well its not like the caribbean is teeming with corrupt politicians willing to bend the facts to suit their agendas
Yes because the Caribbean is the only place with corrupt politicians.
You all need to understand that the Caribbean was lucky for many reasons we generally don't have that much visitors and the peak of the tourism season was right before Covid took a foothold in most first world countries.
Covid takes a while to build up before seeing exponential growth. If there were never much cases to begin with, it can simmer and spread to a handful of people but not much more because.....the region closed borders and locked down just in time.
The Caribbean is one of the few regions (minus Haiti, Jamaica and DR) that got it mostly right.
Doesn't mean we're safe but it does mean that right now, it's very unlikely we have any Covid cases around locally. Again not impossible, but please remember we are in a good position because of the effectiveness of our lockdowns.
elec2020 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:elec2020 wrote:eitech wrote:elec2020 wrote:How could their be a massive resurgence in covid when all cases are supposedly imported and they all being screened at the borders... the government is not telling us something
Yes because the Caribbean is the only place with corrupt politicians.
You all need to understand that the Caribbean was lucky for many reasons we generally don't have that much visitors and the peak of the tourism season was right before Covid took a foothold in most first world countries.
Covid takes a while to build up before seeing exponential growth. If there were never much cases to begin with, it can simmer and spread to a handful of people but not much more because.....the region closed borders and locked down just in time.
The Caribbean is one of the few regions (minus Haiti, Jamaica and DR) that got it mostly right.
Doesn't mean we're safe but it does mean that right now, it's very unlikely we have any Covid cases around locally. Again not impossible, but please remember we are in a good position because of the effectiveness of our lockdowns.
I will admit we got lucky as, as u said, covid was not rampant as it is now and we have implemented stiff lockdowns... still... given how close our communities are it is surprising how (i think) no single caribbean countty has had 1000s cases as yet... somethkng seem fishy there imo... and the caribbean is one of the most corrupt regions in the world... case in point almost have of the members of caricom always on some tax evavision or monry laundering list... further... in several article iv consultation reports (imf country reports) the imf subtly questions the quality of data from caribbean countries... so u telling me that for years nows it is believed that these countries economic data is flawed... but their statistics on covid infections... that accurate... sure
elec2020 wrote:No incentive to lie? If the population believes u have controlled the virus u will win the next elections... hands down... if the virus spiked and resulted in a substantial loss of life during your purview u most likely will lose the elections... their is alot at stake for politicians here... so it is not farfetched that some will pretty up the numbers to suit their agendas... also jamaica has a population of over 2 million but just under 700 cases? Well not like jamaica is known for corrupted politicians... sure thise numbers 100 per cent accurate
elec2020 wrote:No incentive to lie? If the population believes u have controlled the virus u will win the next elections... hands down...