Re: What brand of dog food do u use?

Postby 88sins » April 1st, 2020, 2:36 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
88sins wrote:Went pmart some months ago and saw they had Kirkland signature chow. After some extensive research and analysis, I opted to see if it's good so I bought a couple bags to try. Started them on it 2 weeks ago.
I got to admit, it good. So far, I'm seeing this as a very good chow, and I hate to feed chow. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good chow that doesn't have any corn or soy based fillers.

Used to feed my dog's Kirkland, stopped seeing (chicken,rice,veg) in pmart 2 years ago. Switched to PerroMax (locally manufactured by NFM) Same basic formula the constancy of the chow is 95% you'll get some clumps and brighter colors. My dog's have had no issues, same coat, lots of energy etc etc decent chow for small $. I also cook chicken parts and add vegetable shavings / scraps to give just that little extra.

8yr pit/mastif
5yr pit/weimaraner
14yr pot/alarmbell ole girl

Taste of the wild has my female dogs positively glowing :lol:

Diamond pet foods makes them both, both the Kirkland and taste of the wild, and depending on the food you buy the formulas might be very similar to one another.
I go be real honest, I HATE FEEDING COMMERCIAL DOG FOOD with a passion. But I gotta give Jack he jacket, it good. Only thing I can say I do add to it is a little more animal fat when I feed this dry food but only becuz the fat content is a little lower than I'd like, and sodium, iron, calcium and some B vitamins and vitamin E occasionally.
I still feed my pack raw and intend to continue doing so, but this dry food good enough that I am not opposed to adding a little of it to their diet.

king p11

Postby king p11 » April 5th, 2020, 4:12 pm

Who has bull terrier puppies for sale

king p11

Postby king p11 » April 5th, 2020, 4:13 pm

Who has bull terrier puppies for sale or know a breeder/breeders

Postby 88sins » June 15th, 2020, 8:10 pm

Well I have a joke for allyuh.
Went to a popular pet supply shop today, looking for a quality chow to mix in with the raw diet I been feeding the new addition to the pack. Now, generally I don't feed commercial chow, all my dogs eat raw from pup to adulthood. Just these days I having some little time shortages so i went looking for a chow for the oddball occasion when I really strapped for time and can't prepare her meals.

Anyway, saw a friend was working there, and told him I was looking for a good dry food with no fillers, and he asked me what I was feeding her. w
When I said raw, another fella in a black shirt (that I wasn't even aware was there) open he eyes wide and watched me square in my face and said "not smart". So I, being the curious creature that I am, asked "why not?".
So Mr. Blackshirtknowseverythingaboutcaninediet proceeds to tell me, " it have bacteria in chicken, the puppy go get salmonella and dead".

Imagine his amazement, when I informed him that ALL my dogs eat a raw diet, and my last rottie that was born in my house died at the ripe old age of 13 years last year of a breed specific illness, with perfect dentition and not a single grey or faded black hair on him, and that up to a week before I had no choice but to put him down he was running around like the healthy happy pup he always was.
Mr. Blackshirt could only said "yuh lucky". When I look properly, is a purina logo on he shirt. I start to laugh, and he start getting vex. I then proceeded let him know, I would never buy a purina product to feed my dog,EVER. He just hang he head and walk out the door.

D fishmonger never says his fish rotten, and would always say fish is the best and only thing you should eat. Never mind you seeing level maggots and mercury flowing from it.

Got a bag of pureluxe, it looking okay far as ingredients go, no corn or wheat or soy or other fillers in it, and she likes it. Gonna continue feeding raw, and only give her that a little bit at a time mixed in with the raw so on occasion if she get that alone is not a problem.

Moral of the story, don't always just believe what people say and take them at face value. The man that selling crap only cares that he need to get his crap sold.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 15th, 2020, 8:22 pm

That being said though...what is the go to brand these days...my dogs get cooked food....liver/rice/macaroni....but for the times where cooking is pressure...what's the go to

Postby MaxPower » June 15th, 2020, 8:26 pm

ProPac is pretty good.

Postby 88sins » June 15th, 2020, 8:51 pm

Been hearing good things about the Earthborn line, but no experience with it personally.
That pureluxe tho, like I said it looks good on the label. But it a bit pricey. About 130 for the small bag. Time and results will tell if it's any good.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » June 15th, 2020, 8:56 pm

Do wild dogs eat dry food or raw meat ? Raw meat is what nature intended.

Postby 88sins » June 15th, 2020, 9:00 pm

Cantmis wrote:Do wild dogs eat dry food or raw meat ? Raw meat is what nature intended.

This one gets it. I never could understand why people would feed their pets food packed with corn and soy and wheat, things that have almost zero nutritional value for a canine.
When wolves start raiding corn fields for the corn I'll reconsider.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » June 15th, 2020, 9:48 pm

I feed a mixture of raw and dry kibble...been using taste of the wild wetlands formula for the past 2 years with great results mixed with raw but can`t get it these days as supplier said the company is keeping it for their domestic market so I had to switch. Did some research and bought sportmix caninex chicken formula...getting good results thus far.

Postby adnj » June 15th, 2020, 10:54 pm

Cantmis wrote:Do wild dogs eat dry food or raw meat ? Raw meat is what nature intended.

This one gets it. I never could understand why people would feed their pets food packed with corn and soy and wheat, things that have almost zero nutritional value for a canine.
When wolves start raiding corn fields for the corn I'll reconsider.
You are repeating a relatively common misconception. Wild canines eat prey, fruit, faeces, herbs, and tubers.

A dog that is only feed meat will search for grains and fruits.

Additionally, corn is 10-15% protein, soy is more than 35%; along with certain other nutrients. Rice, unless it's brown, has very little nutritional value but is a source a calories.

You dog requires a balanced diet that includes meats, plants and grains.

----------

Confusion in their conclusion

Some folks have come to the erroneous conclusion that dogs must be carnivores because they fall under the order Carnivora. A close look at the anatomy, behavior and feeding preferences of dogs shows that they are actually omnivorous — able to eat and remain healthy with both animal and plant foodstuffs.

https://www.hillspet.com/dog-care/behav ... -omnivores

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2020, 6:04 am

adnj, try to understand this.
all canids, dogs wolves, dingos, coyotes, etc, are natural carnivores with an omnivorous capability. Meaning, they'd prefer a meat based diet but they are capable of surviving on a very wide variety of foods. as such, their natural diet is primarily meat based, and they get their meat from hunting & killing & eating prey animals, including the prey animals organs & stomach & intestinal contents. From these stomach contents, they get vitamins & minerals & enzymes they need, but they not gonna eat stomach & gut contents alone. It is widely believed that this is one of the reasons why dogs occasionally eat grass, because they are missing something in their diet and they are trying to find it.

Now, you got your opinion, I can appreciate that. But you say a dog that is fed only meat will search for grains & fruit. Right now my adults have the run of the yard with, & there's plenty fruits all over the yard but they don't eat them. None of them eat grass either. That's because they are getting a all their vitamins & minerals & nutritional needs met from their raw diet.

I could go on about this, but I will say this.
I take care of mine the way I know best, and have been doing so for YEARS, & ain't about to quit because of your or anyones opinion.

Postby adnj » June 16th, 2020, 12:00 pm

88sins wrote:adnj, try to understand this.
all canids, dogs wolves, dingos, coyotes, etc, are natural carnivores with an omnivorous capability. Meaning, they'd prefer a meat based diet but they are capable of surviving on a very wide variety of foods. as such, their natural diet is primarily meat based, and they get their meat from hunting & killing & eating prey animals, including the prey animals organs & stomach & intestinal contents. From these stomach contents, they get vitamins & minerals & enzymes they need, but they not gonna eat stomach & gut contents alone. It is widely believed that this is one of the reasons why dogs occasionally eat grass, because they are missing something in their diet and they are trying to find it.

Now, you got your opinion, I can appreciate that. But you say a dog that is fed only meat will search for grains & fruit. Right now my adults have the run of the yard with, & there's plenty fruits all over the yard but they don't eat them. None of them eat grass either. That's because they are getting a all their vitamins & minerals & nutritional needs met from their raw diet.

I could go on about this, but I will say this.
I take care of mine the way I know best, and have been doing so for YEARS, & ain't about to quit because of your or anyones opinion.

My apologies. I meant to have typed "processed grains". --

I stand by my earlier statement. I have seen bears, coyotes, and wolves search for bread and french fries. And find them!I once saw a wolf on a neighbor's property eat dry chow out of his dog's bowl. I also have vegan friends that have dogs with a vegan diet.

My beagles and pointers were never given raw meat but were given whole cuts and bones that were salted and cooked to help dissuade them from eating what they hunted.

Meat based diet? Fine. Plant based diet? Fine. The issue, in my opinion, is genuinely nutrition. These opinions that while they seem contradictory, they are not.

---------

Raw dog food recipes and meal suggestions are readily found online and in books. Interest from pet owners continues to grow, with the widespread recall of melamine-contaminated pet food in 2007 bringing in new followers.

Raw dog food diet: What it is

A raw dog food diet typically consists of:

Muscle meat, often still on the bone

Bones, either whole or ground

Organ meats such as livers and kidneys

Raw eggs

Vegetables like broccoli, spinach, and celery

Apples or other fruit

Some dairy, such as yogurt

https://pets.webmd.com/dogs/guide/raw-d ... Raw%20eggs
Last edited by adnj on June 16th, 2020, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » June 16th, 2020, 12:13 pm

Haven't the time of inclination to do raw meat. 5 gallon bucket of herring, or "fry dry" with brown rice, eggshells and just to make up bulk, Taste of the Wild buffalo, or venison.

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2020, 3:19 pm

adnj wrote:My apologies. I meant to have typed "processed grains". --

I stand by my earlier statement. I have seen bears, coyotes, and wolves search for bread and french fries. And find them!I once saw a wolf on a neighbor's property eat dry chow out of his dog's bowl. I also have vegan friends that have dogs with a vegan diet.

My beagles and pointers were never given raw meat but were given whole cuts and bones that were salted and cooked to help dissuade them from eating what they hunted.

Meat based diet? Fine. Plant based diet? Fine. The issue, in my opinion, is genuinely nutrition. These opinions that while they seem contradictory, they are not.

---------

Raw dog food recipes and meal suggestions are readily found online and in books. Interest from pet owners continues to grow, with the widespread recall of melamine-contaminated pet food in 2007 bringing in new followers.

Raw dog food diet: What it is

A raw dog food diet typically consists of:

Muscle meat, often still on the bone

Bones, either whole or ground

Organ meats such as livers and kidneys

Raw eggs

Vegetables like broccoli, spinach, and celery

Apples or other fruit

Some dairy, such as yogurt

https://pets.webmd.com/dogs/guide/raw-d ... Raw%20eggs

Son, you see all those animals you listed there, they are what is known a opportunistic feeders. So, in instances where natural prey becomes scarce or nonexistent, once they live within scent range of locations where human habitations exist & said humans have food waste they put out that becomes easy access to these animals, yes, they will eventually follow the scent & try it & develop a taste for and seek out human foods seeing that it's an easier meal than hunting down their natural prey. Why chase an 80lb deer 3 miles through the forest, when you know where to find a dumpster with 800 lbs of food that isn't going to run when you approach it & you just hadda time & keep an eye open for a couple lazy humans or go when it dark & they not around ?

Now, I will say this, wild animals that start seeking out human food waste, they suffer in the long run. They become less capable hunters, depending more heavily on human food scraps as time goes by. Many even lose the drive to actively hunt for prey as they should & start hunting dumpsters. Additionally, many will they develop serious health problems as time goes by with continued consumption, problems that will lead to shortened lifespans & poor quality of life.
Now, while domestic dogs have no need to hunt considering that their humans feed them, they can still benefit greatly from being fed a biologically appropriate diet based on their species. & since all domestic dogs originate from a European subspecies of the grey wolf, that was a carnivorous apex predator in it's own right, a meat based diet is ideal for them. But you just can't say "here look meat" & toss whatever their way. There's a balance to it. How I feed, its 70-75% lean meat & bones, 20% fat, 5% organs (kidneys are a definite no-no, & I only feed liver sparingly) , and supplement with small amounts of various oils (coconut, cod liver, olive) few herbs & vitamins.
& before anyone forms the opinion "ohgeed yuh geein d dog d nasty fat yuh wicked", understand that in the same way humans convert sugar to energy, dogs break down & absorb fat, most to be converted to fuel for energy, and some to be used by the body to produce oils essential for healthy skin, coat and joints. The occasional egg in their food is fine, But I'd advise one to leave out broccoli, especially if your dog is considered a large breed, since it can give them gas that can lead to bloating & stomach torsion, and omit the celery unless you feel your dog needs to experience a purge on a regular basis.

It have more to it than you would read from a internet source like webmd, where some truths are mixed in with inaccuracies. Need to start by understanding how a dog's GI tract is built, why it's built that way & what it can/cant handle & why the dog would need each part of it's diet. After that it gets easy.
Fun fact, a dog's stomach acid is extremely potent & powerful, and is one of the reasons why they can tolerate to eat things like raw chicken, even decaying carcasses, things that if a human even swallows a pinch of is a hospital or at least the nearest toilet you looking for in a little while.

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2020, 6:06 pm

Always a problem eh. Now meh scale konk out.
Anyone know where I can get a digital kitchen scale to buy tomorrow?

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » July 18th, 2020, 7:29 pm

Anyone tried this new local brand Alpha Wolf? And anyone willing to provide some guidance for switching my dogs to a raw diet?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 18th, 2020, 10:10 pm

Pm 88sins^

Postby 88sins » August 27th, 2020, 11:01 am

Well fallas, a quick update
I recently decided to add a little more fat to their diet. to acheive this, I'll be using pig fat :sick: I've done it before with good results, only reason I stopped is cuz it was getting hard to source. Since thten I started using fish oil & olive oil, id did the job but it's not the best thing for them. Think along the lines of how you know they say once you used to eating meat no amount of soya or tofu could be an equivalent substitute for it.

But I'm happy to be able to say that I found a source recently that could supply as much as I want. So from tonight they will get some semi-cooked (just boiling it for 10 mintes to kill any posible pathogens) & some rendered oil. Right now i rendering a batch for tonights feeding. Gonna sprinkle a touch of brewers yeast in the feeding for good measure.

treat them puppies right fellas

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 13th, 2023, 8:14 pm

Does anyone know where I can get one of those special chows for a dog with kidney disease? For example, Hill’s k/d formula or Royal Canin renal support formula.

Thanks.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 13th, 2023, 10:18 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Does anyone know where I can get one of those special chows for a dog with kidney disease? For example, Hill’s k/d formula or Royal Canin renal support formula.

Thanks.

Purina Express has their veterinary diets line, but you need a prescription from a vet to order it.

https://purinaexpress.com/product/nf-ki ... e-formula/
1.jpg

https://purinaexpress.com/product/nf-ki ... e-formula/
2.jpg

Postby MaxPower » June 14th, 2023, 2:37 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Does anyone know where I can get one of those special chows for a dog with kidney disease? For example, Hill’s k/d formula or Royal Canin renal support formula.

Thanks.

Rory,

Check out Haraya Imports, they have a range of high quality food and they deliver. Very good service.

685-2862

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » June 14th, 2023, 10:10 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
88sins wrote:Went pmart some months ago and saw they had Kirkland signature chow. After some extensive research and analysis, I opted to see if it's good so I bought a couple bags to try. Started them on it 2 weeks ago.
I got to admit, it good. So far, I'm seeing this as a very good chow, and I hate to feed chow. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good chow that doesn't have any corn or soy based fillers.

Used to feed my dog's Kirkland, stopped seeing (chicken,rice,veg) in pmart 2 years ago. Switched to PerroMax (locally manufactured by NFM) Same basic formula the constancy of the chow is 95% you'll get some clumps and brighter colors. My dog's have had no issues, same coat, lots of energy etc etc decent chow for small $. I also cook chicken parts and add vegetable shavings / scraps to give just that little extra.

8yr pit/mastif
5yr pit/weimaraner
14yr pot/alarmbell ole girl

Taste of the wild has my female dogs positively glowing :lol:

Diamond pet foods makes them both, both the Kirkland and taste of the wild, and depending on the food you buy the formulas might be very similar to one another.
I go be real honest, I HATE FEEDING COMMERCIAL DOG FOOD with a passion. But I gotta give Jack he jacket, it good. Only thing I can say I do add to it is a little more animal fat when I feed this dry food but only becuz the fat content is a little lower than I'd like, and sodium, iron, calcium and some B vitamins and vitamin E occasionally.
I still feed my pack raw and intend to continue doing so, but this dry food good enough that I am not opposed to adding a little of it to their diet.

Looking back at this post;

Still feeding PerroMax with added, chicken or tuna and veggies etc.

4+yr rescue mini bully
11+yr pit/mastif
8 2/3rd yr pit/weimaraner
17yr pot/alarmbell ole girl (Had to be put down due to back legs becoming non functional and seizures last year)

As far as im concerned the dogs are happy and healthy but do show some signs of ageing at times, If I had more time etc i'd consider trying raw. But honestly once you find a good mixed chow and supplement with additional protein and veggies your dogs can live long and healthy.. minus any genetic issues or things outta your control (poisoning etc)

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 15th, 2023, 7:25 am

MaxPower wrote:Rory,

Check out Haraya Imports, they have a range of high quality food and they deliver. Very good service.

685-2862

Thanks, but that's who I currently buy my dog food from. He does not have any special kidney/renal formula chows.