TTPS get new Mobile X-Ray vehicle scanner?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2020, 10:00 am

Griffith silent on new high-tech mobile X-ray

Trinidad Express - HAS the T&T Police Service (TTPS) acquired X-ray technology which will allow them to see objects in vehicles?

Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith, in speaking with the Express, declined to directly comment on the presence of this new technology, however, he did note that over the past few months the TTPS has been acquiring new technological equipment to aid in the fight against crime in this country.

'I have said in the past, and I will say again, that I am trying to bring the Police Service into a modern, technology-based, organisation. Part of that directive will include acquiring several pieces of technology to drive the Police Service along these lines. I will not publicly boast of the tech that we have, but what I will say is that we have technology which can turn night to day.

'We have tech which can point out weapons and drugs; which can be used in situations to assist with finding kidnap victims, or persons being trafficked; which could be used to find any samples, biological or otherwise, in vehicles which are searched, to be sent for DNA testing through our own forensic labs. In due course, I will reveal all, but for now, I will simply state that there is a lot of tech being used right now, new technology which will lead to significant results and improvements for the TTPS,' Griffith said.

The Express was reliably informed that among the devices acquired were 'mobile screening vans' which used backscatter X-ray technology to 'see' inside vehicles, and determine various shapes and objects.

These vans could be used in motion or stationary, especially during roadblock exercises, to determine what objects persons had hidden in their cars.

Sources said these devices are placed in large vans, and are typically powered with use of a generator.

The Express was told that this technology is being used to help locate firearms, drugs, and even persons who may be trafficked.

Re: TTPS get new Mobile X-Ray vehicle scanner?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 20th, 2020, 10:02 am

Voice note circulating that the scanner was setup on the west bound of the Beetham Highway near National Petroleum this morning

Postby maj. tom » April 20th, 2020, 10:13 am

So what's the plan? Park up the van at a roadblock and blast everyone who passing with a dose of X-rays?
The press needs more information because the public has to be assured that these devices will be safe and meet the ANSI N43.17 ¹ dose limit like port scanners, etc.

¹ When the practice is used to screen members of the general public, screening systems and their use
should conform to the requirements of ANSI/HPS N43.17.1 This standard limits the reference effective
dose2 delivered to the subject to 0.25 microsieverts per screening. Additionally, a screening facility
should not expose any individual to more than 250 microsieverts reference effective dose in a year.
https://hps.org/documents/securityscreening_ps017-1.pdf

agent007

Postby agent007 » April 20th, 2020, 2:49 pm

Exactly and would it be safe for pregnant women?

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2020, 3:05 pm

how much for an MRI machine?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 20th, 2020, 3:09 pm

Isnt this a violation of my right to privacy? If you ask to search my car I have to give you consent.... you can only search my car if u have evidence of me comminting a crime... like you walking up to my car and i throw out a bag of weed or whatever... ah boy... we really becoming china/russia yes... every week we losing more and more of our dempcratic rights

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2020, 3:11 pm

^^ maybe in america. but here, WE belong to the state.

Postby 88sins » April 20th, 2020, 4:15 pm

sMASH wrote:how much for an MRI machine?

Depends on how much you want to spend. Could get a cheap one for about 1.3M, or something good for about 2-2.5M.
Where the real money costs come in is getting qualified radiologist to report on scans.

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2020, 4:19 pm

well they cyah use that machine in westmoorings or goodwood park with all them ful drivers there

Postby sMASH » April 20th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Depends on how much you want to spend. Could get a cheap one for about 1.3M, or something good for about 2-2.5M.
Where the real money costs come in is getting qualified radiologist to report on scans.

i wonder if MoH or CMO does whatch MoNS and jealous how he getting so much equipment.

Postby zoom rader » April 20th, 2020, 4:35 pm

elec2020 wrote:Isnt this a violation of my right to privacy? If you ask to search my car I have to give you consent.... you can only search my car if u have evidence of me comminting a crime... like you walking up to my car and i throw out a bag of weed or whatever... ah boy... we really becoming china/russia yes... every week we losing more and more of our dempcratic rights
Show the law for this.

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2020, 6:46 pm

elec2020 wrote:Isnt this a violation of my right to privacy? If you ask to search my car I have to give you consent.... you can only search my car if u have evidence of me comminting a crime... like you walking up to my car and i throw out a bag of weed or whatever... ah boy... we really becoming china/russia yes... every week we losing more and more of our dempcratic rights
Show the law for this.

i think under the MVRT Act TTPS can search any vehicle in transit without a warrant. They can't do that in your house though.

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2020, 6:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Voice note circulating that the scanner was setup on the west bound of the Beetham Highway near National Petroleum this morning

i was in dat traffic- and dat is after going through a roadblock with ttps looking to see who essential or not- take me about 2 and a half hours from arima to pos.

thing is i didn't even see anything at the end on beetham highway- traffic just speed up so but then i see a bunch of them on motorcycles going eastbound. :roll:

trinivibes

Postby trinivibes » April 20th, 2020, 6:52 pm

More like 5-8 million for a good one

Postby RedVEVO » April 20th, 2020, 6:54 pm

Just get a radar detector ..

trinivibes

Postby trinivibes » April 20th, 2020, 6:55 pm

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 20th, 2020, 6:57 pm

sMASH wrote:^^ maybe in america. but here, WE belong to the state.

Massa days cant fone yes

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 20th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Passed through a roadblock on emr laventille with a mobile tower setup blocking an entire lane. I assumed it's for wireless database networking?

3 roadblock I went through today from mt hope to port of spain

Postby redmanjp » April 20th, 2020, 7:44 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:Passed through a roadblock on emr laventille with a mobile tower setup blocking an entire lane. I assumed it's for wireless database networking?

3 roadblock I went through today from mt hope to port of spain

wait nah is 5G causin d corona i knew it :lol: