Country_Bookie wrote:I keep seeing all this talk about ppl who travelled in February were irresponsible and should've known better. Consider that our PM had the following itinerary in March:
March 1 - left Trinidad for London with a delegation
March 3 - flew to Ghana from London
March 10 - returned to Trinidad
March 11 - went to Guyana with a caricom delegation
I'm not saying that any of those trips were unnecessary, but if ppl were seeing their head of state still travelling as normal, carnival going on as normal, and the ministry of health not issuing any warnings about travelling outside of tt, they shouldn't be blamed if they went ahead with their travel plans. They shouldn't be treated as lepers when they try to return home.
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Can you put the number of patients recovered in the thread title as well?
PariaMan wrote:Not enough testing being done
"We need to be able to have the capacity so that if someone says, ‘I feel like I’m getting a flu or pneumonia,’ they can walk into a clinic or a hospital or a testing center and get that test that day and get the results hopefully that day so that they can be in isolation and that we can identify their contacts"
Once we not doing enough testing this thing will blow up on us
paid_influencer wrote:PariaMan wrote:Not enough testing being done
"We need to be able to have the capacity so that if someone says, ‘I feel like I’m getting a flu or pneumonia,’ they can walk into a clinic or a hospital or a testing center and get that test that day and get the results hopefully that day so that they can be in isolation and that we can identify their contacts"
Once we not doing enough testing this thing will blow up on us
That is called point of care testing. Nobody, except some parts of the USA have it right now. It was announced about a week or two ago.
Once it gets here though, it is a game changer. I consider it a bigger deal than a vaccine.
CMO calls last minute positives for Balandra cases ‘unusual’
Dr Parasram was explaining the peculiarity of the three additional cases of COVID-19 coming out of the 22 people quarantined in Balandra. While 19 of them had two negative tests and were able to be sent home, the remaining three tested negative in their first sample, but had positive results in their second.
“We are beginning to look at it to see why they had a positive so long after being negative and then having no symptoms as well. It is an unusual situation virologically. I have discussed it with the head of virology at CARPHA as well to some extent,” he said.
Dr Parasram also mused on the possibility that spread for at least one of the three patients could have come from that person having contact with their spouse who tested positive for the virus in an earlier round of testing.
He says they’re taking a closer look at the arrangements at Balandra to determine what would have resulted in the new positives.
PariaMan wrote:We must get this up and going or we will end up in a very bad way
paid_influencer wrote:this worrying for anybody?
http://www.looptt.com/content/cmo-calls ... es-unusualCMO calls last minute positives for Balandra cases ‘unusual’
Dr Parasram was explaining the peculiarity of the three additional cases of COVID-19 coming out of the 22 people quarantined in Balandra. While 19 of them had two negative tests and were able to be sent home, the remaining three tested negative in their first sample, but had positive results in their second.
“We are beginning to look at it to see why they had a positive so long after being negative and then having no symptoms as well. It is an unusual situation virologically. I have discussed it with the head of virology at CARPHA as well to some extent,” he said.
Dr Parasram also mused on the possibility that spread for at least one of the three patients could have come from that person having contact with their spouse who tested positive for the virus in an earlier round of testing.
He says they’re taking a closer look at the arrangements at Balandra to determine what would have resulted in the new positives.
I think they maybe screwed up the quarantine but sent 19 people home anyway.
MaxPower wrote:It is important however that we remain calm.
MaxPower wrote:PariaMan wrote:We must get this up and going or we will end up in a very bad way
Hello PariaMan,
I agree, but We could have been worst off.
The hospitals, as we have noticed, are not overwhelmed which is very good. Ask yourself, if things are so bad, where are the sick people? Where are the deaths? I am aware that hundreds, possibly thousand were denied tests due to mild Trotman symptoms, and referred to self quarantining. But where are they now? Their situation is clearly not worsening as our hospitals still arent crowded. But wait, i know ur probably thinking who have they infected? But then again where are those people? And then the cycle starts over as they go to get tested with trotman symptoms and get denied and so on.
What im getting at is maybe these people are recovering naturally at home and social distancing is helping.
But hey, time will tell.
It is important however that we remain calm.
PariaMan wrote:To me the most dangerous are the mild cases if we do not test those cases and they remain in the population this could quickly get out of control
Wide spread testing is the only way to be sure to keep this thing down in the future
MaxPower wrote:^ Our borders are closed.
Examples must be made.
Stay strong Stuarty.
bluefete wrote:MaxPower wrote:^ Our borders are closed.
Examples must be made.
Stay strong Stuarty.
Tell that to Trump nah with the Visa Restrictions memo he issued on Friday.
Trinis can fly home
Kim Boodram, Anna Ramdass
TRINIDAD and Tobago nationals stranded in Barbados were happy to learn yesterday they can return home.
But there’s one problem: there are no flights for them.
Spokesperson for the 33 nationals Phillip Ramdial said they were grateful to be “one step closer to home”, but noted there were no flights operating between the two countries.
He said he reached out to Caribbean Airlines chairman Ronnie Mohammed, informing that the group was willing to pay for a flight at a reasonable price to get to Trinidad.
Speaking to the Express by phone, he appealed to the authorities to help them because giving permission to enter T&T’s borders would be futile if they can’t get on a plane.
The group’s attorneys—Prakash Ramadhar and Larry Lalla—also expressed concern.
“I’m relieved that finally, although quite belatedly, the right decision has been made, and I really do hope that the Government takes the responsibility to facilitate the return of our citizens to their homeland in light of the fiasco that occurred on Wednesday, where the government of Barbados took upon itself the responsibility and was able to get the free flight into Tobago that would have avoided all of the difficulties we now face,” said Ramadhar, in a phone interview.
The Barbados government had arranged for the nationals to return on a Condor flight, which was flying to Tobago to pick up British nationals.
Ramadhar said they were never informed of a change in the Government’s position from insisting they be tested in Barbados.
Lalla said he was happy good sense had prevailed after “much pressure” was put on the Government.
“These persons are elderly, many of whom were running low on money for medication and food. I’m startled that it was revealed in the newspaper today that the chief medical officer had a requirement that these people be tested in Barbados,” he said.
“While I’m happy that our clients are able to return, the experience has left a bitter taste in my mouth as to the thrust of communications from the Government on this issue.”
Young, at a virtual news conference yesterday, said no “backroom” discussions had taken place with regard the Barbados 33, including no such talks with their attorneys who had written to Young on the matter.
“It is all documented in black and white, on the last occasion I read our initial response to them outlining our process and a procedure,” Young said.
“There is no backroom discussion going on with Mr Ramadhar, Mr Lalla or anyone else. We have done everything above board, and I can stand up to the highest levels of scrutiny,” he said, stating earlier that there had never been any “diversity of view” between the governments on the issue of testing.
He said on Friday he received the quarantine certificates and the bio data pages of the group.
‘Miscommunication’ in Barbados
The minister said there was a “miscommunication” in Barbados with respect to the testing.
He added Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley contacted him last Friday and told him “persons below that level had taken it upon themselves to take certain decisions that were contrary to the agreement between ourselves and Barbados and she had put that back in place and told them the 33 nationals will be tested”.
However, Young said there was a shortage of swabs in Barbados.
“I consulted with the chief medical officer and a decision was taken that we would no longer require this COVID (testing). That was only on Friday after I left the last press briefing after the Prime minister of Barbados contacted me directly,” he said.
“The Government took a decision after consultation with the CMO not to put Barbados in a position to use the shortage of swabs that they have there to test our 33, but that they would be tested on their return to Trinidad and Tobago,” he added.
Young said no plane will be sent.
“They can make their way home, but the Government is not sending any plane for them,” he said.
He said the CMO will decide on how they will be quarantined when they arrive.
While Young said a decision was made to allow the nationals to return, this was not communicated in correspondence he sent to the attorneys up to Saturday.
Young maintained the country’s borders would remain closed, and he drew reference to at least three requests for exemptions, which are at his discretion as Minister of National Security, and which he turned down.
Some of the requests were presented as life-and-death situations (with the circumstances of one such person changing later).
Young said while the decisions were hard to make, he said no.
He said all such decisions were done in consultation with Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram, who would also guide any decision regarding the Barbados 33 after they arrive.
“The Government of Trinidad and Tobago has made it very clear that every matter would be dealt with on a case-by-case basis and they would have to make their way home, and that remains our position.”
Media responsibility
Young called it “unfortunate” that talk of race had entered the discussion about the Barbados 33.
He also sought to set apart comments last week by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley that “race” had caused the cancellation of contracts with four private security firms for residential patrols, which was scrapped a day after being announced by Young.
The prime minister had said that the patrol programme was stopped because it was inciting racial discord which was not needed as a distraction at this time.
Young took issue also with an Express Editorial yesterday, noting that the April 10 Express story was an account of what was stated by a member of the stranded group in Barbados, and that a distinction should be made as to reporting and editorialising.
The minister said the headlines were, however, at the discretion of the editor, and that editorials were supposed to represent the highest journalistic standard.
Noting the Express headline, “It’s all about race”, with regard to the Barbados group, Young asserted that the prime minister’s comments were not in a similar vein.
Saying the Government continued to ask for a responsible media, Young while some were uncomfortable with talking about race, he was not, as he was certain the issue did not influence any of his decisions.
“I will never, never condone any censorship of the media, but the key and critical role must be responsibility,” Young said, after thanking the media for playing a tremendous role in this country, including during the COVID-19 pandemic.
E-mails
On Saturday, April 11, Young wrote to attorneys Ramadhar and Lalla, stating he was in communication with the government of Barbados up to Friday, and was informed they would be willing to test the nationals with the COVID-19 testing kits that were provided to them on March 23 by the Government of T&T.
“I was informed that the current prevailing issue is their shortage of swabs in Barbados. I have informed the chief medical officer of Trinidad and Tobago of this latest development and await further guidance,” he stated.
In an e-mail dated April 12 (yesterday), the lawyers wrote to Young, expressing their disappointment, arguing their clients were being prejudiced and their return to their country was “being delayed, apparently, because of the non-availability of something as simple as swabs”.
They stated further that a swab, being a basic implement in the testing procedure, one would have hoped the Trinidad and Tobago Government would have supplied this to Barbados as part of the testing kits sent.
The e-mail also appealed for the Government’s intervention in travel arrangements: “As to the travel arrangements for our clients’ return to Trinidad, again we implore the Government to facilitate our clients by arranging a flight on the national carrier, Caribbean Airlines (paid for by our clients if necessary).
“You would appreciate that since most airlines are grounded (except for specially arranged flights), it would be difficult for our clients to make this arrangement on their own,” they stated.
MaxPower wrote:Lmao @ the group being willing to pay for a flight at a reasonable price. What they thought it was? Free?
Beggars cannot be choosers.
We have to know the cost if we are to send a plane for them and charge them based on that inclusive of a profit for the govt/airline and extra pay for ALL departments risking their health and safety in this pandemic. Round the figure up substantially and hit them that.
Its still to early to open our borders and the Govt is in their right NOT to send a plane.
I understand all of your concerns of sympathy and humanity etc, but these are dangerous times with irresponsible people. Time to toughen up to avoid this happening in future.
Can you all imagine of Stuarty went in pantyman mode and open his border to tom, dick and harrylal? Trinis would know they can get what they want with social media whining and racial blaming. Not today.
Let this be a lesson learnt for all.
paid_influencer wrote:MaxPower wrote:It is important however that we remain calm.
exactly. we're currently down to 97 active cases and that number is dropping fast.
once they manage the quarantine in the Couva COVID19 hospital and Caura, we good. They just need to make sure the virus doh walk out of those facilities.
Experts baffled with new covid19 infections
SHANE SUPERVILLE 54 MINUTES AGO
Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram - SUREASH CHOLAI
Medical experts are trying to understand an aspect of the epidemiology of the coronavirus, as three of the latest confirmed cases tested positive long after the 14-day incubation period, and none of the three had any symptoms.
Three of the four patients to test positive were among 68 cruise ship passengers who were put in isolation at a facility at Balandra on March 18 after their return to TT.
They had all previously tested negative for the virus and were being readied to be sent home.
Speaking at a media conference on Sunday, Chief Medical Officer Dr Roshan Parasram described the most recent infections as "quite unusual," as the coronavirus was originally thought to have an incubation period of only 14 days.
In this case, the three most recent cases tested positive after being kept in isolation for 24 days.
He said information was forwarded to virologists at the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) to try to explain the apparent change in the behaviour of the disease.
Parasram said one of the most recent cases was the wife of a confirmed coronavirus patient, and suggested she may have contracted the disease by being in close contact with him, but could not explain the source of the other two infections.
He was working with the county medical officer to get more details of these cases.
"In terms of those three people that tested positive, they would have had a first negative (result), just like the other 19 people before them,” he said. "They had no symptoms. But we are beginning to look at why they had a positive (result), so long after testing negative and then having no symptoms as well, so it is an unusual situation biologically.
"I had discussed it with the head of virology as well at CARPHA to some extent.
“What I can say for one of the patients who turned out to be positive had very close contact with another positive patient in Balandra who was her spouse, so there was a close link."
Parasram said also said despite the anomalous nature of the latest infections, proper hygiene and social distancing protocols were practised at the Balandra facility.
He also pointed out that the virus was new and therefore relatively unknown in its behaviour and patterns of infection.
On March 21, three days after the group was sent into isolation at the Balandra camp, it was confirmed that of the 68 passengers, 40 had tested positive for the coronavirus. They were transferred to the Couva Hospital for treatment.
The 14-day quarantine period for the remaining 28 at the Balandra camp was restarted.
By March 27, the Ministry of Health confirmed that 47 people of the original 68 at Balandra tested positive for the coronavirus.
As of Sunday afternoon, the number of confirmed coronavirus cases from the cruise stood at 52. This number includes three people who returned separately from Guadeloupe.
bluefete wrote:MaxPower wrote:^ Our borders are closed.
Examples must be made.
Stay strong Stuarty.
Tell that to Trump nah with the Visa Restrictions memo he issued on Friday.