It’s not my call, says CMO Parasram
On allowing the ‘Barbados 33’ back into T&T...
Anna Ramdass
Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram says it is not his call to allow 33 Trinidad and Tobago nationals who are stranded in Barbados to return home.
He said the decision lies squarely in the hands of the National Security Ministry.
And National Security Minister Stuart Young told the Sunday Express yesterday “the procedure with respect to the return of the 33 nationals is a priority and we are being guided by the advice of our medical experts”.
In a phone interview yesterday, Dr Parasram said: “The decision to bring them or not bring them is a national security decision. However, once they get here, my officers along with myself will decide whether they be quarantined in a State facility or at their homes.”
The CMO said this decision will be made on what information the Health Ministry gets from the individual patients.
“We will do a proper health questionnaire with all of them to determine basically where they went, what they did, how their interaction was post their quarantine in Barbados, and then we will determine if they should stay in a State facility for 14 days again or if they will be allowed home,” he said.
The Sunday Express pointed out to the CMO that Minister Stuart Young said last Friday he will forward to him the medical certificates from the Barbados Health Ministry clearing the 33 nationals from quarantine, and asked whether these certificates are adequate to allow entry.
The CMO responded that it was a basic form stating they are released from quarantine, adding that more detailed medical information will be required if and when they arrive in Trinidad.
“It’s a basic form from the Ministry of Health from Barbados. It does not state any information that they have given them a health clearance,” he said.
“The decision is not with me to allow them, but we will obviously have to do a detailed history with everybody just like what we did with the Balandra group when they actually got here, if and when they come. But the decision to actually allow them in will rest with Ministry of National Security,” he said.
The CMO said he will let the minister know the (quarantine) forms were received and “we will do our internal assessment if and when (the T&T nationals) arrive”.
He said the ministry would need to have detailed questionnaires filled.
“We don’t know what happened between the 7th (date of end of quarantine in Barbados) and now, we don’t know what kind of aircraft they going to come on. There’s a lot of public health questions that need to be answered before, because at the end of the day we need to ensure the population, the people that are here in Trinidad, are protected from getting another wave of COVID,” he said.
A matter of human rights
Asked if he recommended that the nationals be tested for COVID-19 in Barbados and this is why test kits were sent to that island, Parasram said he has to go back and check his records, but “I don’t remember giving any formal request”.
Parasram noted that this was a matter of human rights with a lot of legal issues involved, and reiterated: “The decision to bring someone in is not a Ministry of Health decision, it is up to the Ministry of National Security.”...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Shitlickers last night: "in january our medical experts told us the situation would be like how it is now, so we are identifying new places to house the infected".
This man admit they knew this thing was coming and refused to stop carnival and close the borders from then...come pnmites defend it now
.........screwbash wrote:7.8 billion people in the world, 1.7 million infected. 7,800,000,000 and 1,700,000. how can the WHO create all dis panic when it is not doing much damage to the world population as a whole. bunch ah propaganda to get everyone to take the poison they calling vaccine and for some reason to get everyone inside during resurrection of christ or when the asteroid passes month end. we just pawns in all this sheit.
screwbash wrote:7.8 billion people in the world, 1.7 million infected. 7,800,000,000 and 1,700,000. how can the WHO create all dis panic when it is not doing much damage to the world population as a whole. bunch ah propaganda to get everyone to take the poison they calling vaccine and for some reason to get everyone inside during resurrection of christ or when the asteroid passes month end. we just pawns in all this sheit.
adnj wrote:.........screwbash wrote:7.8 billion people in the world, 1.7 million infected. 7,800,000,000 and 1,700,000. how can the WHO create all dis panic when it is not doing much damage to the world population as a whole. bunch ah propaganda to get everyone to take the poison they calling vaccine and for some reason to get everyone inside during resurrection of christ or when the asteroid passes month end. we just pawns in all this sheit.
Redman wrote:They are getting Augustus Long activated.
What you all think the economic impact of this would be....or is already??
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Redman wrote:They are getting Augustus Long activated.
What you all think the economic impact of this would be....or is already??
Chicken prices remain the same despite we being told by the poultry assoc they have a lot of chicken in stock and dont know what to do with it..They sited closures of restaurants as the cause. So why not offer chicken at lower prices to the population???? Nahhh they rather freeze it..
Economic impact in Trinidad(long story short)....every fireball thing going on.....IMF declared a very bad recession but in this sheithole nothing ever goes down
Redman wrote:How is the agricultural community surviving?
Dairy farms,chicken farms etc
How much does a chicken farmer sell a chicken for on average?
Maybe its only ur one closed.No_Name wrote:Redman wrote:How is the agricultural community surviving?
&
"Insurance companies closed, garages closed. parts place and tyre shops closed.
If someone breaksdown or need tyre or emergency repairs/parts, what to do?"
Well yuh see kind Sirs, PeeNeM ppls wouldn't have this problem, since it's just a case of TAKING IT from whoever has, d handout mentality passed down tru their generations nah...
No_Name wrote:Redman wrote:How is the agricultural community surviving?
&
"Insurance companies closed, garages closed. parts place and tyre shops closed.
If someone breaksdown or need tyre or emergency repairs/parts, what to do?"
Well yuh see kind Sirs, PeeNeM ppls wouldn't have this problem, since it's just a case of TAKING IT from whoever has, d handout mentality passed down tru their generations nah...
Any word on the bhodi?shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Prices of stuff yesterday up on my ends
$6 per lb - pumpkin
$13 per lb- baigan
$13 per lb- tomatoes
$60 per lb- ginger
$20 per lb- garlic
Prices starting to get ridiculous...and will keep going up..
Some fruits like pineapples and watermelons still at normal prices though
Redman wrote:Yeah well I think we call bullsheeeeit on that articles content
We consume 1M chickens a week here in Tnt
AFAIK - the whole supply chain is Just IN Time delivery- so we would have about 10 weeks of chicken already in their growth cycle.
Just like what ever agricultural produce.
Dairy cows continue to produce and Meat Cows same thing.
In the US they already throwing away milk and slaughtering cows, etc to deal with the glut.
Our situation cant be far behind...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Prices of stuff yesterday up on my ends
$6 per lb - pumpkin
$13 per lb- baigan
$13 per lb- tomatoes
$60 per lb- ginger
$20 per lb- garlic
Prices starting to get ridiculous...and will keep going up..
Some fruits like pineapples and watermelons still at normal prices though
MaxPower wrote:^ We in a pandemic though