COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 109 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2020, 10:08 pm

New regulations say that both a private lab AND a person being tested the MUST report a positive test to the CMO and their RHA. Else is a fine of $50000 or 6 mths jail.

Postby K74T » April 10th, 2020, 10:15 pm

Two persons discharged from Couva this evening

FB_IMG_1586571059431.jpeg

No_Name

Postby No_Name » April 10th, 2020, 10:16 pm

Gladiator wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
teems1 wrote:The talk of cancelling carnival should have made them rethink the cruise.

Just because the Government made a decision to continue with carnival doesn't mean you can't think for yourself.

We live in an information age. Wilful ignorance is the only kind.

but is mostly older ppl who not tech savvy and just watch tv news and they would have thought that if there was any real threat govt would have cancelled carnival

Hindsight is 2020- obviously if they had known then what is happening now or even 2 weeks after their cruise they would likely have not gone.

for those who would have left later in March when things began to escalate then that would have been their fault.

You hit the nail on the head there... people (everybody, Indian, PNM , UNC very frickin body) listened to the MOH briefings and the Doctors like Trotman early in this thing and were making decisions based on the information they were receiving.

I had an aunt that wanted to leave Miami and come for a week and stay with my family. I tell my parents not a sheit of that. I had an uncle that I get in a heated argument with because he saying that it no worse then the cold and it would not impact Trinidad in no way not even economically. Agian he got his information from the TV and the MoH. I had another aunt that booked a cruise since last year to leave at the end of Feb, my cousins had to hide she passport... she insisted that the MoH said it was not an issue and she was safe.

If Deyalsingh had tell the public from day 1 that listen people COVID is a seriuos matter, it is a killer virus and if it reaches here we would be in trouble then persons would have behaved differently. But no... they played politics and was only concerned about appearances... typical politicians.

Ah ha...!

Then again Druggist Deyalsingh himself eh sure bout the facts at times...

Postby redmanjp » April 11th, 2020, 3:52 am

https://www.nydailynews.com/coronavirus/ny-coronavirus-2000-deaths-us-friday-20200411-uukg6n3btzfh3ht2zcbvrki52y-story.html
2,000 Americans die from coronavirus Friday as confirmed U.S. case total passes 500,000
Joseph Wilkinson
By JOSEPH WILKINSON
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS |
APR 10, 2020 | 10:44 PM

At least 2,000 people died from coronavirus in the U.S. on Friday, the first time any country has recorded that many COVID-19 deaths in one day.

Also, more than 500,000 people in the U.S. have now tested positive for COVID-19, according to data compiled by Johns Hopkins. The official U.S. death toll sits at 18,693 as of early Friday night, less than 200 behind Italy for most coronavirus deaths of any country.

Spain had the second-highest death toll for weeks but is now down to third worldwide with about 16,000. More than 158,000 Spaniards have tested positive for the virus.

While these are the officially reported numbers, it’s likely that plenty of COVID-19 deaths have gone uncounted. Additionally, reports suggest more than 40,000 people died from the disease in China, which has registered about 3,300 official deaths.

Worldwide the official COVID-19 death count surpassed 100,000 on Friday afternoon. Nearly 1.7 million people have been infected with the disease.

Postby Chimera » April 11th, 2020, 4:33 am

Might be cheaper for the government to give them a $1million each in a court settlement than to bring them here and quarantine and treat them if they sick.
Country_Bookie wrote:Seems like a lot of people in here angry at the folks in Barbados for having the temerity to want to return to their own country. I wonder if they'd have a different opinion if it was 1 of their relatives stranded in Barbados. Maybe it's a status thing too, some of allyuh sufferers know allyuh could never afford to go on a cruise like that so allyuh vex with those who can.

Anyways they gonna win some good money when they sue the government after this. These ppl have made every reasonable effort to return to Trinidad before the borders were shut and then thereafter to prove that they are not infected with covid-19. Stuart little is shifting the goalposts on them at every turn.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 11th, 2020, 6:10 am

Country_idiot wrote:These ppl have made every reasonable effort to return to Trinidad before the borders were shut

wrong.
these pests left the uk to barbados knowing fully well the border was already closed.

Postby hydroep » April 11th, 2020, 6:24 am

Stuarty saying race doh factor into Government's response to COVID-19.

He right yunno, it does only factor into Government decisions regarding the clandestine hiring (and firing) of Private Security Firms...:|

PM: It was causing racial strife
Residential patrols cancelled
Ria Taitt

...Speaking to the Express yesterday, the Prime Minister confirmed that it was on his instruction that the programme was terminated, less than 24 hours after it was announced.

“It was on my instructions that it was stopped because it was inciting racial discord in Trinidad and Tobago at a time when I am calling for unity and for all of us being together in fighting COVID-19 as a united people,” he said. “This matter of the one per cent fighting the 99 per cent and vice versa, that is a distraction that I don’t need. I stopped (the programme) to prevent this disgusting behaviour of people who believe that their interpretation (of events) is what should prevail and the discord that it was engendering. I wanted no part of it. I was and am calling for unity and cooperation of all...

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/pm-it-was-causing-racial-strife/article_a6b5b9a4-7a02-11ea-a132-3f85efaf904b.html

Young slams Trinidad Express report, "race never an issue"
Kalifa Sarah Clyne

National Security Minister Stuart on Friday said the issue of race does not come into play in regard to Government’s response to covid19.

Speaking during a Ministry of Health virtual press conference, Young responded to an article in the Express newspaper, which he said alleged that race “came into play” regarding Government’s treatment of Trinis in Barbados. The 33 citizens have been in Barbados since March 23, after Government closed this country’s borders to nationals and non-nationals.

Young said the Government has been acting responsibly and reasonably. Regarding the Express article, Young said it promoted a conversation that he condemns "with every bone in my body."

“This Government does not operate on the basis of race in making any decision,” he said. “It is condemned and completely repudiated. It is unfortunate that certain people are trying to play the race card at this time. Race has nothing to do with this.

"The race conversation does not enter our minds at all. But there are those resolute to continue to push this race conversation, and push something in our psyche that has no place in dealing with the response to covid19.”

Young gave a timeline of Governments response to the citizens in Barbados and the citizens in Suriname and it’s collaboration with those Governments for medical examinations for TT’s citizens.

“This morning at 9.40 I received the medical certificates with respect to the 33 nationals in Barbados, which certified that they were placed in home quarantine from March 24 to April 7 and that they are able to be released from quarantine.” He said he would pass the certificates to the Chief Medical Officer and to the Immigration Division.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/10/young-slams-trinidad-express-report-race-never-an-issue/

Postby Redman » April 11th, 2020, 7:21 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:
Country_idiot wrote:These ppl have made every reasonable effort to return to Trinidad before the borders were shut

wrong.
these pests left the uk to barbados knowing fully well the border was already closed.

This was stated in the first days.

People cancelled cruises.
People cancelled work trips
People cancelled coming home
People stuck all over the world.

They hunkered down.

These people chose to take the chance.

Take the result, eventhough they not in your favour.

We also cant set a precedent to empower the other Trinis that live here but are stuck allover the world, or the 300,000 CITIZENS who are landed immigrants of other countries but still have valid passports.

This also was alluded too early on

Postby matr1x » April 11th, 2020, 8:43 am

Heard that last night had a party in the west. And it was not broken up.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 11th, 2020, 8:50 am

Yip. Concur
adnj wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:The government sent them by their own hypocritical words and actions. By signaling all was normal by never cancelling or curtailing Carnival the people left to go on a cruise two days later. They would have left when thousands of foreigners were still in our country.

They furthermore went to countries not under any lockdown as well.

Redman wrote:Some of these cruise people left TNT after carnival.
We all have a personal responsibility....and with that personal accountability.

I’m sorry but who de fk send them.

I saving my compassion for the many people who despite doing the right things have a real chance at losing everything.
Certainly not for those who went on their own frolic
Every government issues travel advisories through their embassies and missions abroad.

These travelers had sufficient time to cancel and modify their travel plans.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2020, 9:28 am

Postby 88sins » April 11th, 2020, 9:46 am

matr1x wrote:Heard that last night had a party in the west. And it was not broken up.

There have been a few in the east as well, Morvant, and Santa Cruz was busy last night.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 11th, 2020, 10:17 am

No new test done
IMG-20200411-WA0016.jpeg

Postby K74T » April 11th, 2020, 10:21 am

Media Conference Alert

The Ministry of Health will host a virtual media conference today (Saturday 11 April 2020) at 2:00 p.m. which will provide Trinidad and Tobago with an update on the #COVID19 virus.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2020, 10:27 am

These countries are reopening
(CNN)People in the Czech Republic can now shop at hardware and bicycle stores, play tennis and go swimming. Austria plans to reopen smaller shops after Easter. Denmark will reopen kindergartens and schools from next week if coronavirus cases remain stable, and children in Norway will return to kindergarten a week later.

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/04/11/heal ... index.html

Not sure this is a good idea - but I guess we will see

Postby MaxPower » April 11th, 2020, 10:39 am

“ EU praises T&T for handling of pandemic.”

Clearly they are not on social media.

But yes, praise the T&T Govt and the very few citizens that genuinely cooperated.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 11th, 2020, 10:59 am

Pity our citizens not linked to an alleged drug trafficking South American dictator. Maybe they would have gotten in then.

Redman wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

wrong.

They hunkered down.

We also cant set a precedent to empower the other Trinis that live here but are stuck allover the world, or the 300,000 CITIZENS who are landed immigrants of other countries but still have valid passports.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 11th, 2020, 11:01 am

Redman wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

wrong.

They hunkered down.

The point many people have made is that borders were closed to nationals. No country in the world has closed borders to nationals, not anywhere in the Caribbean, Africa, Europe etc. (Minus ecaqudor I believe, but they gave a 2 week notice). If their airports are closed to commercial flights, many have open sea or land entries points and will enforce 14 day quarentines to anyone returning.

But yes, Trini so unique, or health care so poor that we couldn't do this?

The possibly 500-1000 trinis who genuinely needed to get back couldn't be quarentined for 2 weeks? Mighty compassionate government we have here.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 11th, 2020, 11:46 am

Borders closed mean borders closed.

They are in a fellow caricom nation that is only an hour away by plane. This is a non issue. If money running out then they cud prob get their families to assist them or take a loan or gov't to gov't make some arrangement that they will pay back in future. I am sure there are other caricom citizens stranded here as well.

If they come back now they would need to be state quarantined at a cost to the state. That means another 33 bed facility somewhere needs to be found for them. As well as transport services and food supply etc. I have no problem with this just that as individuals we have a duty not to be a burden to the state in these times when we can.p

CAL isn't operating. We are not accepting commercial flights to our country. They are not important enough to send a chartered flight just for them. None of the trinis stuck all over the caribbean deserve any "flight". Don't be fooled by images of US, Uk etc flying their citizens home. The people have to pay for those flights. Sometimes up to 3 times the regular price. That is the reality of things now.

This isn't unique to TT all over the world people are stranded from their countries. People are hunkering down all over the world. This type of news just goes to show how immature and delusional trinis really are. Only a bunch of fcuking whiners and complainers and like the typical bunch ready to write lawyer letter and pull the race card.

Imagine these old people who are the primary risk group for this disease were willing to get on a commercial flight with people from all over the world just to come home. So they taking unnecessary risks to be infected only to be quarantined upon arrival, subsequently turn positive, be hospitalised and possibly die within a few days. When they cud chill in Barbados and facetime their families and when things improve they return home. That is logic for some people.

If we go for these people then we will also have to go for trinis stuck all over the even in far off places such as India.

Postby The_Honourable » April 11th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Seems like a lot of people in here angry at the folks in Barbados for having the temerity to want to return to their own country. I wonder if they'd have a different opinion if it was 1 of their relatives stranded in Barbados. Maybe it's a status thing too, some of allyuh sufferers know allyuh could never afford to go on a cruise like that so allyuh vex with those who can.

Anyways they gonna win some good money when they sue the government after this. These ppl have made every reasonable effort to return to Trinidad before the borders were shut and then thereafter to prove that they are not infected with covid-19. Stuart little is shifting the goalposts on them at every turn.

The courts will consider this.

Rowley announced on March 16th that on midnight March 17th, borders would be closed to non-nationals for 2 weeks.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=givhzytDuZg

Then on March 21st, drastic changers were made and Stuarty announced that the borders would be closed on March 22nd at midnight to both nationals and non-nationals.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqmfDHCq1AA

Because of that drastic change, nationals who were planning or on their way to T&T didn't have time. The courts will pay attention to the timeline and the efforts of the passengers. Yes the Government had a legitimate reason to close the borders but the decisions and execution of processes during this time would be scrutinized.

Postby aaron17 » April 11th, 2020, 1:13 pm

So Oz says that hydroxychloroquine is favorable in cases.. not that I support him generally.

Postby goalpost » April 11th, 2020, 1:28 pm

Dr Oz is an idiot.

This is resulting in ppl hoarding this particular kind of medication, when the people who actually need the meds cant get.

Postby Gladiator » April 11th, 2020, 1:29 pm

I don't get what the big deal is.... alright a couple idiots took a chance and went on a cruise. Test them and once they clear of the virus let them come back in. If the "Boarders Closed" to prevent COVID and they don't have COVID then cut all the bullsheit and let them and the others wherever else come in... how hard can that be to coordinate, or are we so lame that we cant arrange to properly/safely repatriate a couple dozen people from right here in the frickin caribbean.

All this beat up chess about border close.... This shows that this Govt really does not give a crap about their people or just plain lazy.

Postby MaxPower » April 11th, 2020, 1:32 pm

Its simple, those who support the irresponsible people in Barbados are the same people that the Govt of T&T had to BEG and PLEA with hundreds of times to do what was asked.

These are the same people that blatantly, ignorantly and stinkly comprise of the “move me nah” crowds all over the country.

Just imagine, had you all understood the importance of social distancing, many businesses would have been allowed to operate within careful measures.

But hey, it could have been worse and luck was on our side.

I await the aftermath.

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 1:47 pm

I would imagine a lot of folks should be released this week, even Ian Alleyne there a while now
the national cyclist too.

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 1:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redman wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:

wrong.

They hunkered down.

The point many people have made is that borders were closed to nationals. No country in the world has closed borders to nationals, not anywhere in the Caribbean, Africa, Europe etc. (Minus ecaqudor I believe, but they gave a 2 week notice). If their airports are closed to commercial flights, many have open sea or land entries points and will enforce 14 day quarentines to anyone returning.

But yes, Trini so unique, or health care so poor that we couldn't do this?

The possibly 500-1000 trinis who genuinely needed to get back couldn't be quarentined for 2 weeks? Mighty compassionate government we have here.
Both Ecuador and Guatemala have restrictions on citizens entering the country.

Malaysia, Australia, and Namibia have restrictions on citizens entering and leaving the country.

Postby Redman » April 11th, 2020, 1:57 pm

And letting in one person with a passport and a story opens up the borders to any and all persons with a valid tt passport.

We quarantine facilities for 500 1000 20000?

Postby hydroep » April 11th, 2020, 2:02 pm

More discrepancies...:|

Patient plans legal action despite release
Renuka Singh

Thirty-one-year-old Sasha Supersad, who was discharged from the Caura facility on Thursday night says she still does not know what happened with her two swabs.

She received three different messages from doctors after she was taken from the Mt Hope Hospital to the Caura facility before being released on Thursday night.

She threatened legal action and said she is still pursuing it because of her ordeal.

Supersad, 31, said she was told that she tested negative for COVID-19 at first, then that her swab was “inconclusive” and then back to a negative diagnosis after she sent a legal letter to the Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram demanding the real results of her tests.

“I am out now but that was an unforgettable experience,” she said.

Supersad lives at home with her parents and siblings and even though she is back home, she is isolating away from everyone in the house for the next 14 days.

Supersad said she went into the Arima Hospital because she was just getting over the common cold. She has a history of wheezing and it started acting up again.

“I went in and was put on the nebuliser for a while. I felt better but was told that I had to be swabbed...I said ok,” she said.

She said the next thing she knew was that she was taken to Mt Hope and placed in “isolation.

“It was not isolated at all. It was a single room and the people who were being checked out in the tents, they kept sending them to the room,” she said.

Supersad said that while still at Mt Hope she was told her swab test came back negative.

“They told me they were keeping me for a second swab because it was too early, I complied,” she said.

Two days later, doctors swabbed both nostrils and told her to expect her results in 72 hours.

“Mind you, other patients with symptoms and having symptoms in a shorter period were allowed to leave,” she said.

Supersad was surprised that with no consultation, she was being moved to the Caura facility.

“I have no travel history, no contact with anyone who had travel history and no contact with any member of the public at all,” she said.

“For three weeks the only people I interacted with was my immediate family,” she said.

Supersad said she listened to the media conference hosted by the Minister of Health yesterday about her case.

“I believe that he got the correct information now or he was not properly informed before. I think they are trying to make themselves look good and that they have everything under control,” she said.

“But that is not the case,” she said.

Supersad said she is contact with eight other patients at Caura, several of whom are in the same position with late swab results.

“I am still planning action on how the patients were handled and the lack of cleanliness at the Caura facility. People were having mental breakdowns because they were healthy and wanted to get back home,” she said.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/patient-plans-legal-action-despite-release-6.2.1096441.b1a667b996

Postby teems1 » April 11th, 2020, 2:04 pm

Gladiator wrote:I don't get what the big deal is.... alright a couple idiots took a chance and went on a cruise. Test them and once they clear of the virus let them come back in. If the "Boarders Closed" to prevent COVID and they don't have COVID then cut all the bullsheit and let them and the others wherever else come in... how hard can that be to coordinate, or are we so lame that we cant arrange to properly/safely repatriate a couple dozen people from right here in the frickin caribbean.

All this beat up chess about border close.... This shows that this Govt really does not give a crap about their people or just plain lazy.

You have any idea the logistics required to bring back these people?

You have to organize an aircraft, mechanics, fuel, flight plan, crew + PPE for the crew. And that's just on TT side. Also the cost of the flight would be 10-20x normal price considering all the factors involved.

On Barbados side you have to organize transport for the locals to the airport and everything around that. Considering they're in a pseudo state of emergency it'll be 10x harder.

It's easier to just send these idiots some money and work out a deal with some hotel/resort to keep the TT nationals as they have occupancy issues anyway.

When it's safe to come back then they will normally.

Postby hydroep » April 11th, 2020, 2:10 pm

Don't be cruel...:|

UNC MP: Govt 'cruel' to Trinis stranded in Suriname
Jensen La Vende

UNC NAPARIMA MP Rodney Charles is describing as "cruel" Government's treatment of 36 nationals stuck in Suriname.

In a media release issued on Friday, Charles said the fact that the group remain trapped in Suriname is "cruel, inhumane and callous." However, three days prior to Charles’ statement National Security Minister Stuart Young said he was treating the stranded nationals as priority.

In the April 7 media briefing, Young said he and Foreign Affairs Minister Dennis Moses were in touch with their Surinamese counterparts with the aim of assisting the group to return home.

Young said Suriname’s national security ministry were making efforts to have the group tested for covid19.

In previous briefings, Young said while there were flights available to bring the group home, there were also no crew members willing to journey to TT.

However, Charles said the nationals were struggling to support themselves in Suriname.

“The 36 stranded in Suriname (are) running out of money and in various stages of depression, (they) display no visible signs of covid19 are willing to be tested before departure, and agree to be placed in quarantine upon arrival in TT. So what is the big deal about them being a health threat to the rest of us? They are even prepared to fund their return.”

Charles relayed the message of accountant Rishi Ramkissoon who wrote him asking that their plight be re-highlighted. He said Ramkissoon informed him the group was hurt to see other countries repatriate their citizens but not TT.

“If what Rishi Ramkisoon is saying is true, I am calling on the Prime Minister, Stuart Young and Dennis Moses to take shame, man up to their responsibilities, do the right thing and live up to their oath to do right by all citizens. This grave injustice to our citizens in Barbados, Suriname, Magarita and elsewhere must stop immediately.”

There are 35 nationals in Barbados and more than 30 in Magarita, Venezuela. Government has said it was in discussions with the governments about the care of TT nationals in their countries.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/04/11/unc-mp-govt-cruel-to-trinis-stranded-in-suriname/