COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 109 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2020, 3:18 pm

abducted wrote:
A172 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Redman wrote:They went on the cruise and took the chance.
They rolled the dice...put MANY people at additional risk.
BY CHOICE.

Let them pay the piper now.

It's looking very likely they are not positive and did not contract COVID19.

They took the same chance as anybody playing carnival and got the same result.

why the differential treatment, I do not know.

People need to have compassion and get off their high horse.

Do you know how much people travelled on and after Carnival weekend? Tens of thousands. These people were on a long expensive cruise that would have required a lot of saving and planning.

Seeing all the hate they're getting from trinis is deplorable. Not to mention it's f*cking illegal and against human rights to lock citizens out of their own country.

Go do some research and tell me how many countries closed borders to their own citizens? You'll be shocked.
like u working pro bono

Tax payers will have to pay for the hefty compensation, if they do sue the state and win
Travel restrictions were announced March 16th. Border closures were announced. Border closures were announced March 20. Closure commenced March 22.

I am not sure that there is cause to sue for damages.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/travel-restrictions-countries-where-caribbean-airlines-operates#.XpDFDogpCUA

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 10th, 2020, 3:37 pm

New York has more cases than any country

New York state now has more coronavirus cases than any single country outside the US, according to latest figures.

The state's confirmed caseload of Covid-19 jumped by 10,000 on Thursday to 159,937, placing it ahead of Spain (153,000 cases) and Italy (143,000).

China, where the virus emerged last year, has reported 82,000 cases.

The US as a whole has recorded 462,000 cases and nearly 16,500 deaths. Globally there are 1.6 million cases and 95,000 deaths.

While New York state leads the world in coronavirus cases, its death toll (7,000) lags behind Spain (15,500) and Italy (18,000), though it is more than double the official figure from China (3,300).

Photos have emerged of workers in hazmat outfits burying coffins in a mass grave in New York City.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-52239261

Postby Redman » April 10th, 2020, 4:01 pm

Some of these cruise people left TNT after carnival.
We all have a personal responsibility....and with that personal accountability.

I’m sorry but who de fk send them.

I saving my compassion for the many people who despite doing the right things have a real chance at losing everything.
Certainly not for those who went on their own frolic

Postby Dizzy28 » April 10th, 2020, 4:32 pm

The government sent them by their own hypocritical words and actions. By signaling all was normal by never cancelling or curtailing Carnival the people left to go on a cruise two days later. They would have left when thousands of foreigners were still in our country.

They furthermore went to countries not under any lockdown as well.

Redman wrote:Some of these cruise people left TNT after carnival.

I saving my compassion for the many people who despite doing the right things have a real chance at losing everything.

Postby aaron17 » April 10th, 2020, 4:32 pm

US have conference today...why we don't have one?

Postby Redman » April 10th, 2020, 4:40 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The government sent them by their own hypocritical words and actions. By signaling all was normal by never cancelling or curtailing Carnival the people left to go on a cruise two days later. They would have left when thousands of foreigners were still in our country.

You sound like ZR.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 10th, 2020, 4:42 pm

^And you sound like Stuart Young

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2020, 5:15 pm

Love how Stuarty does say...UNNNNNderstand

Postby Redman » April 10th, 2020, 5:22 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:^And you sound like Stuart Young

Steups.

Touché :wink:

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 10th, 2020, 5:46 pm

aaron17 wrote:US have conference today...why we don't have one?

you a special kind of dunce or what ?
try to keep informed on ttt or cnc3 , and ministry of health TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO (facebook/instagram).

bout us conference , allyuh good yes.

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2020, 6:45 pm

allyuh herd immunity men, read this,

https://www.cbc.ca/news/world/south-kor ... -1.5529066

South Korean officials on Friday reported that 91 patients thought cleared of the new coronavirus had tested positive again.

Jeong Eun-kyeong, director of the Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (KCDC), told a briefing that the virus may have been "reactivated" rather than the patients being re-infected.

South Korean health officials said it remains unclear what is behind the trend, with epidemiological investigations still underway.

we doh know shiet about this virus yet. It could be hiding somewhere in your body waiting to re-activate, like a killer shingles. :drinking:
2NyLF1Tl.jpg
Last edited by paid_influencer on April 10th, 2020, 6:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2020, 6:46 pm

Hello aaron,

We had one at 2pm today.

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2020, 6:50 pm

it was announced at about 1:00pm that were would be a conference for 2:00pm.

i stop watching the local press conferences. not much new info and way too much petty politics from petty politicians (Stuart Young, Deyalsingh, and Rowley).

US press conferences actually have new info from the most well-resourced institutions in the world. And Trump is damn entertaining.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2020, 6:57 pm

yuh leave out gg
he jump in yesterday

paid_influencer wrote:it was announced at about 1:00pm that were would be a conference for 2:00pm.

i stop watching the local press conferences. not much new info and way too much petty politics from petty politicians (Stuart Young, Deyalsingh, and Rowley).

US press conferences actually have new info from the most well-resourced institutions in the world. And Trump is damn entertaining.

Postby adnj » April 10th, 2020, 6:58 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The government sent them by their own hypocritical words and actions. By signaling all was normal by never cancelling or curtailing Carnival the people left to go on a cruise two days later. They would have left when thousands of foreigners were still in our country.

Every government issues travel advisories through their embassies and missions abroad.

These travelers had sufficient time to cancel and modify their travel plans.
Last edited by adnj on April 10th, 2020, 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » April 10th, 2020, 6:59 pm

Hello aaron,

We had one at 2pm today.
Oh

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2020, 7:02 pm

aaron17 wrote:

Hello aaron,

We had one at 2pm today.
Oh

Yeh mamoo,

Dont worry, you didnt miss out anything.

But Trump more entertaining how he does rinse out Jim, John and co.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » April 10th, 2020, 7:05 pm

South Korea says recovered COVID-19 patients re-testing positive

South Korean officials on Friday reported that 91 patients thought cleared of the new coronavirus had tested positive again.

Jeong Eun-kyeong, director of the Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (KCDC), told a briefing that the virus may have been "reactivated" rather than the patients being re-infected.

South Korean health officials said it remains unclear what is behind the trend, with epidemiological investigations still underway.

The prospect of people being re-infected with the virus is of international concern, as many countries are hoping that infected populations will develop sufficient immunity to prevent a resurgence of the pandemic.

The South Korean figure had risen from 51 such cases on Monday.

Nearly 7,000 South Koreans have been reported as recovered from COVID-19, the disease caused by the novel coronavirus.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/world/south-kor ... 3Dsharebar

Postby maj. tom » April 10th, 2020, 7:30 pm

USA numbers jumped like crazy today. Tmrw they will overtake Italy in deaths. 18,686 dead. 500k infected.

Trump said 200,000 deaths means he would have done a very good job. These USA numbers are alarming. And the White House is a complete circus with that clown in charge.

Postby teems1 » April 10th, 2020, 7:43 pm

The talk of cancelling carnival should have made them rethink the cruise.

Just because the Government made a decision to continue with carnival doesn't mean you can't think for yourself.

We live in an information age. Wilful ignorance is the only kind.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 10th, 2020, 8:30 pm

I'm seeing parts places, FU places in the bamboo, tyre shops, even some mechanics advertising on FB that they opening 8-12. Did something change I'm not aware of?

Postby Gladiator » April 10th, 2020, 8:32 pm

From what we hearing the cruise crowd is around 65+ information age might be a far reach for them...LOL

teems1 wrote:The talk of cancelling carnival should have made them rethink the cruise.

Just because the Government made a decision to continue with carnival doesn't mean you can't think for yourself.

Postby redmanjp » April 10th, 2020, 8:36 pm

teems1 wrote:The talk of cancelling carnival should have made them rethink the cruise.

but is mostly older ppl who not tech savvy and just watch tv news and they would have thought that if there was any real threat govt would have cancelled carnival

Hindsight is 2020- obviously if they had known then what is happening now or even 2 weeks after their cruise they would likely have not gone.

for those who would have left later in March when things began to escalate then that would have been their fault.

Postby Gladiator » April 10th, 2020, 8:45 pm

redmanjp wrote:

but is mostly older ppl who not tech savvy and just watch tv news and they would have thought that if there was any real threat govt would have cancelled carnival

Hindsight is 2020- obviously if they had known then what is happening now or even 2 weeks after their cruise they would likely have not gone.

for those who would have left later in March when things began to escalate then that would have been their fault.

You hit the nail on the head there... people (everybody, Indian, PNM , UNC very frickin body) listened to the MOH briefings and the Doctors like Trotman early in this thing and were making decisions based on the information they were receiving.

I had an aunt that wanted to leave Miami and come for a week and stay with my family. I tell my parents not a sheit of that. I had an uncle that I get in a heated argument with because he saying that it no worse then the cold and it would not impact Trinidad in no way not even economically. Agian he got his information from the TV and the MoH. I had another aunt that booked a cruise since last year to leave at the end of Feb, my cousins had to hide she passport... she insisted that the MoH said it was not an issue and she was safe.

If Deyalsingh had tell the public from day 1 that listen people COVID is a seriuos matter, it is a killer virus and if it reaches here we would be in trouble then persons would have behaved differently. But no... they played politics and was only concerned about appearances... typical politicians.

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2020, 9:02 pm

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=120288512712422

good for future reference. (Dialogue with Donna - Episode 3: Coronavirus, mid-February)

Summary: Shutting down the country is a laughable and inappropriate response, Coronavirus less dangerous than SARS or Ebola. Influenza is the major public health concern, little or very remote risk that Coronavirus will come to Trinidad, China is the epicenter, Nationals cannot be denied entry, Airport temperature scanners will work.
Last edited by paid_influencer on April 10th, 2020, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2020, 9:05 pm

Anybody looked at the salary relief stuff ?
Seems like it only allowed for certain business sectors.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » April 10th, 2020, 9:08 pm

i like that term used earlier in the thread yes COVIDIOTS.
we saw what happened when the first group of cruise COVIDIOTS were allowed back into the country.
Watching closely if they gonna let it happen again with this group in bim.

Postby paid_influencer » April 10th, 2020, 9:09 pm

dean_spleen09 wrote:i like that term used earlier in the thread yes COVIDIOTS.
we saw what happened when the first group of cruise COVIDIOTS were allowed back into the country.
facebook.jpg

Postby Gladiator » April 10th, 2020, 9:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
dean_spleen09 wrote:i like that term used earlier in the thread yes COVIDIOTS.

When was that poster posted up?

Postby Country_Bookie » April 10th, 2020, 9:41 pm

Seems like a lot of people in here angry at the folks in Barbados for having the temerity to want to return to their own country. I wonder if they'd have a different opinion if it was 1 of their relatives stranded in Barbados. Maybe it's a status thing too, some of allyuh sufferers know allyuh could never afford to go on a cruise like that so allyuh vex with those who can.

Anyways they gonna win some good money when they sue the government after this. These ppl have made every reasonable effort to return to Trinidad before the borders were shut and then thereafter to prove that they are not infected with covid-19. Stuart little is shifting the goalposts on them at every turn.