COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

No_Name

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby No_Name » April 6th, 2020, 8:00 pm

teems1 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Absolutely stupid move in closing restaurants, just move to a pickup only model where you call or Whatsapp your order in for the very least.

We don't want a totally flat curve, that is moronic and means these measures will be pointless once removed. There is no escaping this virus unless we close off all borders until a vaccine arrives.

Do people not understand that?

Aren't the borders closed since March 22nd?

NOPE...!!!!
SPANISH BORDERS OPEN STILL...

No_Name

Postby No_Name » April 6th, 2020, 8:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Absolutely stupid move in closing restaurants, just move to a pickup only model where you call or Whatsapp your order in for the very least.

We don't want a totally flat curve, that is moronic and means these measures will be pointless once removed. There is no escaping this virus unless we close off all borders until a vaccine arrives.

is arsehole know it all like u dat go cause this to spread and kill we all. just close everything and keep allyuh arse home. wat can be more simple than dat. allyuh so greedy for kfc and doubles. get a wife nah and cook yuh own food.

U do realize there is no escape from this virus, most of us will eventually get it. The whole aim of these measures are to reduce the PEAK.

The reason we need to keep take away open at the very least is so that essential workers can eat. Lots of people are working overtime due to this.

Yes there are ways around this, but was this necessary? Now we going to have more crowds at groceries.

The whole purpose for these restrictive measures is to reduce community spread, which so far it seems we are doing a fairly good job.

The delay in peak or number of cases is to get health services geared up and ready, are we doing that? It seems we're sitting ducks and PNM has had a month to prep.

All these extreme measures are unnecessary at this point, we seem to be the only country in the world that has banned food delivery.

How are doctors, nurses, people working in groceries, etc supposed to eat?
How are daily paid workers in these restaurants supposed to survive? Many get paid cash only, what happens to them? They are not the comfy middle class who panic buy in bulk, they are living paycheck to paycheck and will be out of money now.

Is this sensible to you? delay the curve for how long until WHAT??

If you take this approach when do you remove it? When we have a vaccine? come on? We need to effectively deal with this virus, not run away from it.

Look at Sweden, South Korea, there are ways to deal with this without banning everything and making poor people suffer.

Basically the PeeNeM wants us to live like their trolls, eat a pack biscuit or cake, jink a mauby n we belly gud, oh and take a lil "pull" to sekkle we mind b4 we start wuk!!!

What I want to knw, is if after 3 weeks + closure of these fast food outlets, with no detailed n proper scrap down of their equipment/utensils to clean & sanitize by the respective owners, crumbs remain under this n that, ole oil in lil creases, then comes the influx of cockroaches & rats AND the dumb Trinis who'll be flocking same when reopened - NEXX OUTBREAK & HEALTH PROBLEMS!!!

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 8:24 pm

Wasn't really referring to the death toll, was more thinking the infection rate.
Some of the diseases on that list have some crazy high mortality rates, much higher than this virus, and ran their course for much longer than this one is expected to last.

wing

Postby wing » April 6th, 2020, 8:27 pm

No_Name wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
screwbash wrote:

is arsehole know it all like u dat go cause this to spread and kill we all. just close everything and keep allyuh arse home. wat can be more simple than dat. allyuh so greedy for kfc and doubles. get a wife nah and cook yuh own food.

U do realize there is no escape from this virus, most of us will eventually get it. The whole aim of these measures are to reduce the PEAK.

The reason we need to keep take away open at the very least is so that essential workers can eat. Lots of people are working overtime due to this.

Yes there are ways around this, but was this necessary? Now we going to have more crowds at groceries.

The whole purpose for these restrictive measures is to reduce community spread, which so far it seems we are doing a fairly good job.

The delay in peak or number of cases is to get health services geared up and ready, are we doing that? It seems we're sitting ducks and PNM has had a month to prep.

All these extreme measures are unnecessary at this point, we seem to be the only country in the world that has banned food delivery.

How are daily paid workers in these restaurants supposed to survive? Many get paid cash only, what happens to them? They are not the comfy middle class who panic buy in bulk, they are living paycheck to paycheck and will be out of money now.

If you take this approach when do you remove it? When we have a vaccine? come on? We need to effectively deal with this virus, not run away from it.

Look at Sweden, South Korea, there are ways to deal with this without banning everything and making poor people suffer.

Basically the PeeNeM wants us to live like their trolls, eat a pack biscuit or cake, jink a mauby n we belly gud, oh and take a lil "pull" to sekkle we mind b4 we start wuk!!!

What I want to knw, is if after 3 weeks + closure of these fast food outlets, with no detailed n proper scrap down of their equipment/utensils to clean & sanitize by the respective owners, crumbs remain under this n that, ole oil in lil creases, then comes the influx of cockroaches & rats AND the dumb Trinis who'll be flocking same when reopened - NEXX OUTBREAK & HEALTH PROBLEMS!!!
Won't they sanitize before reopening?

carluva

Postby carluva » April 6th, 2020, 8:33 pm

No_Name wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
screwbash wrote:

Jeeze" :roll:

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2020, 8:37 pm

88sins wrote:Wasn't really referring to the death toll, was more thinking the infection rate.
Some of the diseases on that list have some crazy high mortality rates, much higher than this virus, and ran their course for much longer than this one is expected to last.
You were right on the 2 million cases though - Easter Sunday.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 6th, 2020, 8:55 pm

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » April 6th, 2020, 9:17 pm

Guys,
Where can I find masks?

Thx.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 6th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Britain Looking at Virus Immunity Certificates but More Research Needed
By Reuters
April 2, 2020

LONDON — Britain is looking at issuing immunity certificates to people who have developed resistance to the coronavirus, but there needs to be more research into the science behind it, health minister Matt Hancock said on Thursday.

People who have had COVID-19, the disease caused by coronavirus, develop antibodies to fight the virus, but it is unclear how long any immunity they develop lasts.

"(An immunity certificate) is an important thing that we will be doing and are looking at but it's too early in the science of the immunity that comes from having had the disease," Hancock said at a news conference.

"It's too early in that science to be able to put clarity around that. I wish that we could but the reason that we can't is because the science isn't yet advanced enough."

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 105 cases, 8 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2020, 9:29 pm

blitz83 wrote:Guys,
Where can I find masks?

Thx.

Hello blitz83,

Try Ali’s Pharmacy.

Valpark - 662-6960
Gran Bazarre - 645-6960

They only have the surgical masks when i last checked.

Price was 2 for $20.

N95/KN95/KN95C if you lucky to get is a ridiculous $40 a pop.

If not, hit the phone directory and start calling around...the surgical ones are easier to get.

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2020, 9:35 pm

we have laws against wearing masks in public. officially, atm, u can be charged for covering ur face.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » April 6th, 2020, 9:38 pm

sMASH wrote:we have laws against wearing masks in public. officially, atm, u can be charged for covering ur face.

Police does avoid me when I walk out the house looking like SubZero though...

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2020, 9:39 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
sMASH wrote:we have laws against wearing masks in public. officially, atm, u can be charged for covering ur face.

3cxc crew, them dont know what i talking bout...

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » April 6th, 2020, 10:09 pm

Where can I find masks?

Thx.

Hello blitz83,

Try Ali’s Pharmacy.

Valpark - 662-6960
Gran Bazarre - 645-6960

They only have the surgical masks when i last checked.

Price was 2 for $20.

N95/KN95/KN95C if you lucky to get is a ridiculous $40 a pop.

If not, hit the phone directory and start calling around...the surgical ones are easier to get.

Thanks pal. Will check out.

Postby pugboy » April 6th, 2020, 10:14 pm

Price gone up, was $5 last week and them is the disposable blue flimsy ones
Better to get a good local sewn cloth one

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 6th, 2020, 10:14 pm

10pm update
92011365_3257365377626581_8485675278796849152_n.jpeg

Postby MaxPower » April 6th, 2020, 10:26 pm

KFC Debe shut down due misconduct by Trinidadians.

Why am i not surprised.

Postby bluefete » April 6th, 2020, 10:37 pm

Try hardware stores. I got some today and almost got the N95 until they pulled it back before I had a chance to pay :lol: :lol:

Where can I find masks?

Thx.

Postby 88sins » April 6th, 2020, 10:39 pm

Balaclava and half inch dacron

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 6th, 2020, 10:55 pm

Lab tech tested positive. Worked at posgh. Entire shift quarantined

https://www.facebook.com/20732596896588 ... 432692562/

Postby Country_Bookie » April 6th, 2020, 11:01 pm

Gladiator wrote:I dunno if is just me.... but logically thinking about the measures taken today with time limiting shops and groceries... wouldn't it have been better to have them open for longer periods since persons can access the shop at spread out times during the day. If the shop only open for 6 hours, wouldn't everybody now have to access the shop in a shorter time span causing a greater probability of persons grouping together in the shop...

What would have made more sense to me logically is to ask certain shops/groceries to open longer hours or staggered hours to allow for less persons to meet up in the establishment at once.
Bruh this making too much sense!! Which is exactly why the govt did the opposite!!

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2020, 11:07 pm

blitz83 wrote:N95/KN95/KN95C if you lucky to get is a ridiculous $40 a pop.

cost price for an n95 right now is 5-8 usd
thats before shipping
and thats not talking about the very real risk that the US will seize it for their own use and you will simply lose your money trying to import.

3m n95 selling for $100-$200 locally in the few places i see advertising

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2020, 11:56 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:
Gladiator wrote:I dunno if is just me.... but logically thinking about the measures taken today with time limiting shops and groceries... wouldn't it have been better to have them open for longer periods since persons can access the shop at spread out times during the day. If the shop only open for 6 hours, wouldn't everybody now have to access the shop in a shorter time span causing a greater probability of persons grouping together in the shop...

What would have made more sense to me logically is to ask certain shops/groceries to open longer hours or staggered hours to allow for less persons to meet up in the establishment at once.
Bruh this making too much sense!! Which is exactly why the govt did the opposite!!
Yes, but is to limit movement of people according to the clock. If they remain open longer, people will go any time they want, all hour,

This way, they get to send home staff early, to get rest, and people just out, do what they hadda do fast, then go back home.

It not saying that what u say is wrong, that imo is the better route to do,

But they trying to imitate SoE, with out calling it SoE

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 7th, 2020, 12:15 am

sMASH wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:

Yes, but is to limit movement of people according to the clock. If they remain open longer, people will go any time they want, all hour,

This way, they get to send home staff early, to get rest, and people just out, do what they hadda do fast, then go back home.

It not saying that what u say is wrong, that imo is the better route to do,

But they trying to imitate SoE, with out calling it SoE

Honestly, there's not much we can achieve with an SOE. My take is if we limit this so much, then what happens at the end of April.

Let's see we reach ~200 cases by end of April with 15-20 deaths. According to the latest mortality rate findings, if 20 people die, we can be assured we have at least 1000-2000 infections.

Unless every single one of those infections is isolated, then it will spread. So what do we do April 30th? Relax restrictions and thereby delay the peak, but then have it grow even quicker because you cage up people for so long.

You don't adopt draconian measures on trinis because the moment you relax them all hell break loose.

Is it not better to have a controlled manageable growth? it is too early to know what's happening and at the rate our cases are growing, we will be 'locked down' until the end of June.

We digging we self into a hole by destroying people's livelihoods and freedoms. I am all for it if it is for the better good, but we can be doing more harm than good here.

Banning all take-away food services is something I haven't seen any country adopt. Even in totally locked down Italy food delivery is an essential service that has been allowed to continue.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on April 7th, 2020, 1:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2020, 12:59 am

i feel, this as best we can do, an actual SoE will not acheive much more than this, so is just to settle in, ride it out, hope ur finances pick back up in may to square off ur debts.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 7th, 2020, 3:41 am

triniterribletim wrote:

i have a green one an i duz say reptile yes lol

Postby sMASH » April 7th, 2020, 7:50 am

when u watch news, u hadda watch a few sources, the facts and history surrounding the items involved in that news item.. etc.. eventually u pick up trends, of who, and what can be legitimate, and what about.
like cnn, the can put out very very very good fair articles when they ready, but it is usaually bout something they dont care about politically, like the coverage of fires in australia or some asteroid. but when they have to comment on oil, war, someting about trump, etc, it gets skewed, and i dont take them on.

fox, when they ready to sink sumting, they go hard... they research a lot and find all kinda obscure things, from way back when..

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2020, 7:58 am

sMASH wrote:when u watch news, u hadda watch a few sources, the facts and history surrounding the items involved in that news item.. etc.. eventually u pick up trends, of who, and what can be legitimate, and what about.
like cnn, the can put out very very very good fair articles when they ready, but it is usaually bout something they dont care about politically, like the coverage of fires in australia or some asteroid. but when they have to comment on oil, war, someting about trump, etc, it gets skewed, and i dont take them on.

fox, when they ready to sink sumting, they go hard... they research a lot and find all kinda obscure things, from way back when..
That's the same as Trini media houses. They protect this present goverment and cover up a lot of real news that's not in their favor

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » April 7th, 2020, 8:56 am

Moh press conference at 10am