COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 9 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2020, 12:06 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Just being a conspiracy fearmongerer here but can this COVID-19 situation result in the following scenario:

1. Virus takes over country. Plenty sick/dead and total lock down
2. Nobody cyar work and earn anything
3. Govt pumps billions into the system to buffer and forgive mortgages and loans
4. Everybody is unemployed
5. Govt puts everyone of welfare, controls all resources (food, medicine etc) and takes possession of all assets (land , house, personal savings etc)
6. New social order implemented
7. ALL rights and freedoms the people had (or thought they had) are now gone
8. People are now slaves to the new system

No, let's be as realistic as possible.

1. The virus spreads to tens of thousands in 2 months. Eventually by end of the year literally everyone gets it.
2, ~1000-3000 people die
3. Health systems are maxed out or months, lots of others die as a consequence of medical staff and equipment being unavailable
4. Eventually, by Aug/Sept, things get easier, less and less people are being infected and deaths decrease
5. Simultaneously, the world recovers as well
6. We go quickly from a recession to a mini-boom around Sept as things normalize
7. Boom gets bigger as people shop or Christmas
8. World recovers and Bitcoin goes to $20K (crosses fingers)

What do we learn?
1. Many governments had money to prop up the economy.
2. It shows 6 months of 'less corruption' was enough funds to 'help' us deal with this
3. Pumping money into the system to prop up airlines, and many other sectors was necessary but unfair to many other businesses but at least the recession is over
4. Corona will still be around but most of world would have achieved herd immunity

Btw if Corona was worst, if the mortality rate was even 5%, then we'd be in for some seriously scary times. As it stands now, I do agree with one thing. It is 'mild' in comparison to MERS, SARs etc.

Also, I strongly suspect I have Covid-19 right now, as well as my wife, sister, neighbor. I was refused testing on account of:
1. No travel history in the last 14 days
2. Symptoms all of us are exhibiting are mild

I was told to self-quarantine and call and give an update if any of our symptoms get worse.

Now I do understand their reasoning, my partner is one of the people working on this in Mt Hope. But since the beginning of this week, it is very much possible I could have gotten it from one of the 9 (or one of the many who haven't been tested yet).

Secondly, my wife and I have taken the week off and self-quarantined as advised. My sister and neighbor have not and whatever they have would have spread to a minimum of 3-6 people so far.

Mistakes are being made and we are being fooled by Rowley into thinking they have a handle on this situation.

If only we had a good opposition who was on top of things.

Good write up, i like it.

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2020, 12:14 pm

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 19th, 2020, 12:25 pm

aaron17 wrote:Hydroxychloroquine / chloroquine and remdisovar (spelling) almost or approved by the FDA already for corona .maybe available for prescription as soon the clinical trial is done.
I was watching the white house conference.

The good news is that hydroxychloroquine is available down here at around $100 for a box of 30 tabs OTC. The side effects list is not too nice however, but at least I suppose it's better than the Corona.

Postby aaron17 » March 19th, 2020, 12:31 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Hydroxychloroquine / chloroquine and remdisovar (spelling) almost or approved by the FDA already for corona .maybe available for prescription as soon the clinical trial is done.
I was watching the white house conference.

The good news is that hydroxychloroquine is available down here at around $100 for a box of 30 tabs OTC. The side effects list is not too nice however, but at least I suppose it's better than the Corona.

eye damage..damn

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2020, 12:38 pm

Same here I went to a stock broker , chatting only to find out person sick from flu and pass thru Panama

2 days after fever sore throat but nothing in the nostrils general feeling sick though

I called they say they really concentrating on those who exposed to someone who rested positive or had a history of travelling plus since I not sick bad no sense testing ,

Week already still slight sore throat

On sick leave from work though and self quarantining

Postby Slartibartfast » March 19th, 2020, 12:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Gladiator wrote:Just being a conspiracy fearmongerer here but can this COVID-19 situation result in the following scenario:

1. Virus takes over country. Plenty sick/dead and total lock down
2. Nobody cyar work and earn anything
3. Govt pumps billions into the system to buffer and forgive mortgages and loans
4. Everybody is unemployed
5. Govt puts everyone of welfare, controls all resources (food, medicine etc) and takes possession of all assets (land , house, personal savings etc)
6. New social order implemented
7. ALL rights and freedoms the people had (or thought they had) are now gone
8. People are now slaves to the new system

No, let's be as realistic as possible.

1. The virus spreads to tens of thousands in 2 months. Eventually by end of the year literally everyone gets it.
2, ~1000-3000 people die
3. Health systems are maxed out or months, lots of others die as a consequence of medical staff and equipment being unavailable
4. Eventually, by Aug/Sept, things get easier, less and less people are being infected and deaths decrease
6. We go quickly from a recession to a mini-boom around Sept as things normalize

What do we learn?
2. It shows 6 months of 'less corruption' was enough funds to 'help' us deal with this
3. Pumping money into the system to prop up airlines, and many other sectors was necessary but unfair to many other businesses but at least the recession is over
4. Corona will still be around but most of world would have achieved herd immunity

Btw if Corona was worst, if the mortality rate was even 5%, then we'd be in for some seriously scary times. As it stands now, I do agree with one thing. It is 'mild' in comparison to MERS, SARs etc.

Also, I strongly suspect I have Covid-19 right now, as well as my wife, sister, neighbor. I was refused testing on account of:

I was told to self-quarantine and call and give an update if any of our symptoms get worse.

Now I do understand their reasoning, my partner is one of the people working on this in Mt Hope. But since the beginning of this week, it is very much possible I could have gotten it from one of the 9 (or one of the many who haven't been tested yet).

Secondly, my wife and I have taken the week off and self-quarantined as advised. My sister and neighbor have not and whatever they have would have spread to a minimum of 3-6 people so far.

Mistakes are being made and we are being fooled by Rowley into thinking they have a handle on this situation.

It is so refreshing to see someone else finally understand this. Rowley's response yesterday was very good, but it was too little too late (I'm don't have a firm understanding of economic matters so I can't comment on that part, which I think was seemed pretty good).

The language they use is used to placate the situation and prevent them from looking bad. Notice they were saying all the cases were mild but they didnt say case #2 was serious until they could say he was recovering. They just stopped using the word "mild" and focussing on the condition of the patients when it stopped being reassuring.

Similar to how they are focusing on the fact that all cases right now are imported, but not saying anything about how many non-imported cases they tested so far. The truth is, I've lost count of the amount of people that say they have been turned away for testing because of no recent travel history. They make it seem as though this thing being tightly controlled and not out in the public domain as yet, but the truth is, they have no better information that we do.

TL:DR "all confirmed cases have been imported" is true but nobody is adding "... because very few domestic cases have actually been tested so we have not information on the number of non-imported cases at the moment"

The part left unsaid is the critical part that will be our undoing. But I don't want to sound alarmist so circle back to this comment in a month.

Postby redmanjp » March 19th, 2020, 12:49 pm

https://twitter.com/KoyogaS/status/1240610877163712513/photo/1

this is just a model/prediction of what could happen by the end of the year- but the actual (in red) cases are worse :shock:

Postby 88sins » March 19th, 2020, 12:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:No, let's be as realistic as possible.

2, ~1000-3000 people die

What do we learn?

depends on where you are, since more than a couple countries now have death tolls in the 6.9-7% range & ^

what surprises me is India & many nations on the African continent tho. Low infection rate & mortality rates are very low. Time will tell if this is actually so

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2020, 1:03 pm

^detecton. u will not get high rates if u dont do plenty tests.

Postby redmanjp » March 19th, 2020, 1:07 pm

^ assuming they actually reporting all cases/deaths

Postby adnj » March 19th, 2020, 1:11 pm

2, ~1000-3000 people die

What do we learn?

depends on where you are, since more than a couple countries now have death tolls in the 6.9-7% range & ^

what surprises me is India & many nations on the African continent tho. Low infection rate & mortality rates are very low. Time will tell if this is actually so
Africa must 'wake up' to coronavirus - WHO

19 March 2020

Africa must "wake up" to the coronavirus threat and prepare for the worst, the head of the World Health Organization (WHO) has said.

The continent should learn from how the spread of virus has sped up elsewhere, Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said.

He warned that while Africa's confirmed cases were currently low - around 640 - there was no reason for complacency.

"Africa should wake up, my continent should wake up," said the Ethiopian, the WHO's first African head.

Health experts warn that strained public health systems in Africa could become quickly overwhelmed if the virus takes hold, especially in overcrowded urban areas.

[URL]https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-51960118
[/URL]

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 19th, 2020, 1:15 pm

Africa just off the heels of Ebola, they are not asleep.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 19th, 2020, 1:27 pm

Seems legit and I quote

Finally, some sensible advice.

Good advice in, 'Queen's English', from a nurse..

“What I have seen a lot of are recommendations for how to try to avoid getting coronavirus in the first place -- good hand washing, personal hygiene and social distancing -- but what I have NOT seen a lot of is advice for what happens if you actually get it, which many of us will. So as your friendly neighborhood Nurse let me make some suggestions:

You basically just want to prepare as though you know you’re going to get a nasty respiratory bug, like bronchitis or pneumonia. You just have the foresight to know it might come your way!

Things you should actually buy ahead of time (not sure what the obsession with toilet paper is?):
Kleenex,
Paracetamol,
whatever your generic, mucus thinning cough medicine of choice is (check the label and make sure you're not doubling up on Paracetamol)
Honey and lemon can work just as well!
Vick vaporub for your chest is also a great suggestion.

If you don’t have a humidifier, that would be a good thing to buy and use in your room when you go to bed overnight. (You can also just turn the shower on hot and sit in the bathroom breathing in the steam).

If you have a history of asthma and you have a prescription inhaler, make sure the one you have isn’t expired and refill it/get a new one if necessary.

This is also a good time to meal prep: make a big batch of your favorite soup to freeze and have on hand.

Stock up on whatever your favorite clear fluids are to drink - though tap water is fine you may appreciate some variety!

For symptom management and a fever over 38°c, take Paracetamol rather than Ibuprofen.

Hydrate (drink!) hydrate, hydrate!
Rest lots. You should not be leaving your house! Even if you are feeling better you may will still be infectious for fourteen days and older people and those with existing health conditions should be avoided!
Ask friends and family to leave supplies outside to avoid contact.

You DO NOT NEED TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL unless you are having trouble breathing or your fever is very high (over 39°C) and unmanaged with meds. 90% of healthy adult cases thus far have been managed at home with basic rest/hydration/over-the-counter meds.

If you are worried or in distress or feel your symptoms are getting worse, ring 111 and they will advise if you need to go to hospital. The hospital beds will be used for people who actively need oxygen/breathing treatments/IV fluids.

If you have a pre-existing lung condition (COPD, emphysema, lung cancer) or are on immunosuppressants, now is a great time to talk to your Doctor or specialist about what they would like you to do if you get sick.

One major relief to you parents is that kids do VERY well with coronavirus— they usually bounce back in a few days (but they will still be infectious), Just use pediatric dosing .

Be calm and prepare rationally and everything will be fine. Share this as it's great advice!"

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 19th, 2020, 1:29 pm

Debe busy as usual
Screenshot_20200319-132924.jpeg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » March 19th, 2020, 1:34 pm

Stuarty live on cnc3

Postby 16 cycles » March 19th, 2020, 1:40 pm

they closing casinos.... :shock:

Postby The_Honourable » March 19th, 2020, 1:41 pm

Post Cabinet Media Briefing - Thursday March 19th 2020.

Postby 16 cycles » March 19th, 2020, 1:48 pm

i like how they space out the chairs in the press briefing...

Postby MaxPower » March 19th, 2020, 2:02 pm

16 cycles wrote:i like how they space out the chairs in the press briefing...

What is pantyman fake ras Hinds doing there?

Rather annoying

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 19th, 2020, 2:06 pm

Somebody post cliffs later plz

Postby 16 cycles » March 19th, 2020, 2:13 pm

^ be a responsible citizen with social distancing of suffer the heavy pimp hand of gov't..

Postby hydroep » March 19th, 2020, 2:29 pm

Everyone appreciates the daily updates but what was concerning was the attempt by certain officials to "silence the media" with shaming tactics.

Deyalsingh alluded to the "hurt the media causes" when asking legitmate questions citing how hard the CMO works, with Carpha calling him all hours of the morning etc...etc...etc. Then both he and Stuarty started to throw shade on them for questioning the lack of details with respect to confirmed cases and the costs associated with the crisis thus far.

To their credit a few journalists called them out on the BS. They said the the public has been inquiring and it is their job to ask questions. Nor was it correct for members of Government to say they (the media) were/became annoyed when they didn't get the answers they were looking for.

That was an excellent response — keep dem on their toes...:|

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2020, 2:31 pm

which country using us as their model on how to deal with this thing?

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2020, 2:38 pm

16 cycles wrote:i like how they space out the chairs in the press briefing...

What is pantyman fake ras Hinds doing there?

Rather annoying

Hinds there to add to the arrogance. He expert at that.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 19th, 2020, 2:47 pm

2, ~1000-3000 people die

What do we learn?

Remember that India and many African countries are not as technologically advanced as Europe and America. As such they may not be testing as much / many individuals will go untested. This will obviously reflect low statistics by international standards. I highly suspect given that India is only second to China in terms of population density as well as the fact that they have already confirmed cases there, that the virus is running wild there already. But stats or no stats, people will drop and the world will notice (if reported / exposed that is and no cover up like China takes place).

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 19th, 2020, 3:00 pm

Indian and Nigeria will be disaster zones soon.

The only 'good' thing is that because their health care and quality of life are already sheit, their populations are quite young so most should survive.

But there sheer numbers of people dying there will eclipse the entire world and show how f*cking ass-backward those two zones are.

All this praise of India I'm seeing on Facebook is pure BS, all the doctors in India are saying it's going to be apocalyptic there very soon.

Postby aaron17 » March 19th, 2020, 3:03 pm

Does casinos include lotteries like lotto?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 19th, 2020, 3:06 pm

aaron17 wrote:Does casinos include lotteries like lotto?

nah that's a different category, but i'd be very wary of touching anything at a lotto both right now.

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2020, 3:06 pm

aaron17 wrote:Does casinos include lotteries like lotto?

NLCB placed a notice in this week's papers saying games are still on, so unless Goebbels and Co. specifically says NLCB systems/machines, then I guess no.

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Well if hinds show up today
We can be sure ferris gonna be there soon as he like to bump he gum too