A good retirement plan

Re: Are you wealthy enough to retire today?

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2020, 12:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:for what it's worth zr, if what you say is really true, hats of to you
Yup all true, that's why I kept moving from job to job. Every new job was a pay increase for me. Some months I was dead broke after paying out bills and mortgages. Using the motorbike helped offset the gas cost.

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2020, 1:47 pm

Redman wrote:Of course the rest of the article is also a conspiracy between the NY times, PNM and Texaco.

Better Sites Elsewhere

Refineries have been shutting down not only because of the oversupply of oil in international markets but also because many companies say they find it more cost-effective to refine crude either where it is produced or where it is sold rather than at intermediate points such as the Caribbean islands.

The Caribbean refineries were built mainly to produce fuel oil for utility companies and factories in the northeastern United States. These customers have reduced their needs through energy conservation and in some cases have shifted to cleaner-burning and less-expensive natural gas. The refineries, some of them built more than 50 years ago, also find it difficult to compete with more efficient modern plants.

Here is a excellent review of the time. The truth seems quite a bit more complex than ZR s spin.

https://books.google.tt/books?id=W9k-BA ... ts&f=false

Again one must be carefull when reading fake news and books .The authors of this story had their own agendas. One is a known PNM board member that served in the Chambers and Manning era

Postby De Dragon » March 13th, 2020, 9:17 pm

I wouldn't overexert my self trying to rebut Red Plastic Bag. Imagine, an oil company in the post boom days, and the start of the recession in 1984 where oil reached $29 a barrel declining to $14 in 1986 selling off an asset :shock: Oh the horror! :roll:
In fact the PNM dummies were fiscally irresponsible to purchase an asset solely to save jobs and fear of the union and loss of votes. Fast forward to JUHN Scarfy and his present crop of dummies shutting down and selling a refinery, (when every million dollar study never advised that) just as a new boom is about to start in Guyana, and you see the bankruptcy of ideas and thought of the PNM for decades.

Postby zoom rader » March 13th, 2020, 9:36 pm

De Dragon wrote:I wouldn't overexert my self trying to rebut Red Plastic Bag. Imagine, an oil company in the post boom days, and the start of the recession in 1984 where oil reached $29 a barrel declining to $14 in 1986 selling off an asset :shock: Oh the horror! :roll:
In fact the PNM dummies were fiscally irresponsible to purchase an asset solely to save jobs and fear of the union and loss of votes. Fast forward to JUHN Scarfy and his present crop of dummies shutting down and selling a refinery, (when every million dollar study never advised that) just as a new boom is about to start in Guyana, and you see the bankruptcy of ideas and thought of the PNM for decades.
When Texaco was forced to sell to PNM they had 3000 workers.

When PNM ended Petrotrin they sent 5500 workers home.

2500 extra PNM ppl for make believe work.

What OWTU and PNM feared in 1984 was that the new buyer was going to restructure Texaco and sent workers home.

PNM killed what Texaco established,they shut down the Trade school that they had and the private secondary school.

Redman wont talk about the rape that PNM did to an established Texaco. That rape was money was given to PNM party hacks as contracts and setting up of new useless companies like Trintomar, Trintoc, Trintopec, Trinmar, Tesoro.

Then Redman is quoting a book written by a PNM hack that served both Chambers and Manning to cover up the raping of Texaco.

Redman will fool dumb PNM folk with that. He was probably was not even born when Texaco was forced to sell by a con job.

Postby De Dragon » March 13th, 2020, 10:23 pm

De Dragon wrote:I wouldn't overexert my self trying to rebut Red Plastic Bag. Imagine, an oil company in the post boom days, and the start of the recession in 1984 where oil reached $29 a barrel declining to $14 in 1986 selling off an asset :shock: Oh the horror! :roll:
When Texaco was forced to sell to PNM they had 3000 workers.

When PNM ended Petrotrin they sent 5500 workers home.

2500 extra PNM ppl for make believe work.

What OWTU and PNM feared in 1984 was that the new buyer was going to restructure Texaco and sent workers home.

PNM killed what Texaco established,they shut down the Trade school that they had and the private secondary school.

Redman wont talk about the rape that PNM did to an established Texaco. That rape was money was given to PNM party hacks as contracts and setting up of new useless companies like Trintomar, Trintoc, Trintopec, Trinmar, Tesoro.

Then Redman is quoting a book written by a PNM hack that served both Chambers and Manning to cover up the raping of Texaco.

Redman will fool dumb PNM folk with that. He was probably was not even born when Texaco was forced to sell by a con job.

Red Plastic Bag is the 2NR PNM PRO it seems, because the dotishness he attempts to defend is astounding.

Postby Redman » March 14th, 2020, 5:56 am

Redman wrote:Of course the rest of the article is also a conspiracy between the NY times, PNM and Texaco.

Better Sites Elsewhere

Refineries have been shutting down not only because of the oversupply of oil in international markets but also because many companies say they find it more cost-effective to refine crude either where it is produced or where it is sold rather than at intermediate points such as the Caribbean islands.

The Caribbean refineries were built mainly to produce fuel oil for utility companies and factories in the northeastern United States. These customers have reduced their needs through energy conservation and in some cases have shifted to cleaner-burning and less-expensive natural gas. The refineries, some of them built more than 50 years ago, also find it difficult to compete with more efficient modern plants.

Here is a excellent review of the time. The truth seems quite a bit more complex than ZR s spin.

Again one must be carefull when reading fake news and books .The authors of this story had their own agendas. One is a known PNM board member that served in the Chambers and Manning era

Yes your agenda is clear.....its been clear for a long time.

Your spin on this is a simplistic bigoted misinterpreted twist of facts.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2020, 8:39 am

Redman wrote:

Better Sites Elsewhere

Yes your agenda is clear.....its been clear for a long time.

Your spin on this is a simplistic bigoted misinterpreted twist of facts.
And you adgenda is to try and protect PNM with misinformation. You was not around when Teacxo was forced to be sold.

Postby Redman » March 14th, 2020, 9:17 am

And you adgenda is to try and protect PNM with misinformation. You was not around when Teacxo was forced to be sold.

You think you are the only one who lived through it?
You feel that it is you alone that has experience, perspective and knowledge?
You of all people crying down the messenger?
Hypocrisy of no mean quality.

Proving that a stopped clock is right twice a day,you not wrong in that the PaP,Point Fortin,and Santa Flora refineries were forced to be sold....by a GLOBAL glut in refinery capacity,lower oil prices,demand destruction.

In the 80s 30% of the US refineries were closed-due to legislative changes as well
A cursory awareness of the true history of this notoriously cyclical industry would show that world wide refinery count went down in the 80s.

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 8.58.43 AM.png

Screen Shot 2020-03-14 at 9.14.15 AM.png

philliprock

Postby philliprock » March 14th, 2020, 11:32 am

i know i have enough money to pay for my own funeral

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 14th, 2020, 1:25 pm

Redman wrote:

Proving that a stopped clock is right twice a day,you not wrong in that the PaP,Point Fortin,and Santa Flora refineries were forced to be sold....by a GLOBAL glut in refinery capacity,lower oil prices,demand destruction.

In the 80s 30% of the US refineries were closed-due to legislative changes as well
A cursory awareness of the true history of this notoriously cyclical industry would show that world wide refinery count went down in the 80s.

And you would think that after you laid out all these facts he would respond right?

Nope!!! He just goes silent hoping that it dies down for him to come in later and share more misinformation. He all over the forum except here.

He already try to rewrite and reshape history and move on. Damage already done if it wasn't for ppl such as yourself to come and give an alternative view.

His sole purose on this forum is to share misinformation and spread hate.

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2020, 5:42 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Redman wrote:

And you would think that after you laid out all these facts he would respond right?

Nope!!! He just goes silent hoping that it dies down for him to come in later and share more misinformation. He all over the forum except here.

He already try to rewrite and reshape history and move on. Damage already done if it wasn't for ppl such as yourself to come and give an alternative view.

His sole purose on this forum is to share misinformation and spread hate.
Every thing Red is a clown

Redress
Redvevo

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 6:01 pm

Everything red?

Postby zoom rader » March 14th, 2020, 9:53 pm

rspann wrote:Everything red?
Yeah forgot PNM

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 10:09 pm

I was thinking red woman.

Postby De Dragon » March 15th, 2020, 1:25 am

rspann wrote:I was thinking red woman.

You know zr only like the dark coloured PNM types. :lol:

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2020, 11:21 am

You know zr only like the dark coloured PNM types.
Pum pum is Pum pum and it doh matter wat colour, just dont let them live with you.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 15th, 2020, 6:40 pm

You know zr only like the dark coloured PNM types.
Pum pum is Pum pum and it doh matter wat colour, just dont let them live with you.

Some pum pum does be attached to loud powder neck women tho

Postby rspann » March 15th, 2020, 6:47 pm

That is the kind rent money does spend on.

When done he against pnm.

Postby zoom rader » March 16th, 2020, 7:23 am

rspann wrote:That is the kind rent money does spend on.

When done he against pnm.

PNM pum pum does be free

Postby rspann » March 16th, 2020, 7:44 am

Free thing no good and good thing no free. Not even a box of KFC or a lil nails price?

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2020, 8:30 am

or a weave

rspann wrote:Free thing no good and good thing no free. Not even a box of KFC or a lil nails price?

Postby zoom rader » March 16th, 2020, 8:51 am

pugboy wrote:or a weave

rspann wrote:Free thing no good and good thing no free. Not even a box of KFC or a lil nails price?

All dem afro gal you see running around with weave all have injun in dem as all natural weaves comes from india.

Years ago one tell me she doh like injun ppl, but I told her your hair looks good and then I explained to her where her weave comes from. She then said it Brazilian weave so I had to show her the weave documentary by chris Rock on weave. She had to shut up like most PNM ppl

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby paid_influencer » February 20th, 2025, 6:24 pm

you know what have meh down these past few days

Macheal have a song getting plent air play on radio with the lyrics

"We work hard
whole week
We deserve a Pardy!"

and it have some other lines about stress relief etc

now I too old and tired to "pardy," but I DOES INFACT work hard whole week. My back hurting right now from what I have to do as part of my work. I doh really want to party, you know what I want to do? Go home and sleep. pardy doh do chit to help relieve stress.. pardy does help for a night and then stress come back worse the next day.

You know what would help relieve stress? less crime. stable employment. affordable food and medicines. and a forking pension. a pension

Somehow in my head when i hear that macheal song, I get it to be,

"We work hard
whole week
We deserve a pension!

and since that get in my head I cyar handle that macheal song. It just irritating meh. I want meh forking pension for at 65 years F**K ALLYUH 65 YEARS F**K ALLYUH

Postby The_Honourable » February 20th, 2025, 8:41 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
You know what would help relieve stress? less crime. stable employment. affordable food and medicines. and a forking pension. a pension

Somehow in my head when i hear that macheal song, I get it to be,

"We work hard
whole week
We deserve a pension!

and since that get in my head I cyar handle that macheal song. It just irritating meh. I want meh forking pension for at 65 years F**K ALLYUH 65 YEARS F**K ALLYUH

So all these decades, you were depending on a government pension when you reach 65?

If under the NIS all contributions were made, then sure you deserve the retirement pension. If you were depending on the Senior Citizens Pension which is a Grant under the Ministry of Social Development, you took a real gamble.

Ever considered an annuity or an investment plan when you younger to be better off in your 60s?

Postby paid_influencer » February 20th, 2025, 9:23 pm

here's the thing. You're using the argument that people should save for a rainy day. That's good, you were taught that. You have extra income so you think everyone has extra income.

But do you realize that for people who making below a living wage, people in poverty, every day is a rainy day? There is no extra income. Try surviving on minimum wage, which hundreds of thousands of people on the island do every week, and talk about annuity and whatever you rich people have.

This jackassness about raising NIS pension to 65 is a big f**king ashole thing. They want people to work and work and work and dead without ever getting a day in retirement. It have plenty of people who don't qualify for NIS pension either because they can't get stable employment, are self-employed like planting and selling in the market, or they have jobs at home, like raising children. These people have made legitimate contribution to the development of the country over decades and have legitimate claim to a right to retire (which really means being able to afford food and medications when you can no longer work).

If you rather live in a society that doesn't care about people, well you get what you deserve when it comes to your doorstep.

Postby paid_influencer » February 20th, 2025, 9:36 pm

neoliberal brain seeks to justify the continued exploitation of the underclasses by making it individual. Why didn't he do this? Why didn't she do that? Without ever questioning if the system is set up to enable the same exploitation that directs all resources upwards.

Postby The_Honourable » February 20th, 2025, 11:46 pm

paid_influencer wrote:here's the thing. You're using the argument that people should save for a rainy day. That's good, you were taught that. You have extra income so you think everyone has extra income.

But do you realize that for people who making below a living wage, people in poverty, every day is a rainy day? There is no extra income. Try surviving on minimum wage, which hundreds of thousands of people on the island do every week, and talk about annuity and whatever you rich people have.

This jackassness about raising NIS pension to 65 is a big f**king ashole thing. They want people to work and work and work and dead without ever getting a day in retirement. It have plenty of people who don't qualify for NIS pension either because they can't get stable employment, are self-employed like planting and selling in the market, or they have jobs at home, like raising children. These people have made legitimate contribution to the development of the country over decades and have legitimate claim to a right to retire (which really means being able to afford food and medications when you can no longer work).

If you rather live in a society that doesn't care about people, well you get what you deserve when it comes to your doorstep.

paid_influencer wrote:neoliberal brain seeks to justify the continued exploitation of the underclasses by making it individual. Why didn't he do this? Why didn't she do that? Without ever questioning if the system is set up to enable the same exploitation that directs all resources upwards.

So... basically every day for decades was a rainy day for you? Saving for a rainy day is the most casual and basic financial lesson you learn. If someone is in a rainy day for decades says a lot about that person.

All that talk about underclass and exploitation is just a front. You still haven't answered my question. All these decades you were depending on a government pension when you reach 65? additionally, no plan b in place if the ministry blank yuh?

When Manning switched the senior citizens pension to a grant 20 or so years ago, that should have alerted you that getting this specific pension wasn't a guarantee. I would like to think you looked at other investment vehicles to make sure that you would be ok at retirement. But knowing you, you probably didn't want to save your money with a bank, credit union, insurance or virtually any other financial institution as they "encourage the capitalist system."

Now machel song triggering you because you don't have a pension and feel entitled to one by the government?

Stop

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby MaxPower » February 20th, 2025, 11:58 pm

Trinis work hard and deserve a pardy….

Well yes.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2025, 4:35 am

paid_influencer wrote:here's the thing. You're using the argument that people should save for a rainy day. That's good, you were taught that. You have extra income so you think everyone has extra income.

I hear you but it appears that you're missing the understanding on a few small but very important aspects wrt financial management on a personal level that most people in the position you describe miss or neglect or ignore as well that keeps them in the position they're in.

First off, we're all free to make choices. And directly connected to those choices, are little things that I like to call consequences.
Now, at any time in your existence, have you ever observed, that for the most part it's the people who make the least amount of money, who make the worst choices on how they spend their money? It's been documented, and obsessed for a very long time. It's part of the reason why the old saying "a fool and his money are soon parted" exists, and the more recent version of "poor people spend their money trying to look rich, and rich people tend to dress simply, and look like they're poor".
Simply put, if you make better decisions on what you do with your money, regardless of how little you may have, the better your chances of improving your self and your situation. And don't say it's impossible for them, because I can tell you, in the early 90's I was 17, & I was working for $200 a week, and I was able to buy and customize a ride within a a year on that. All then, no partying and spending on alcohol and tobacco and weed and trying to impress people for me. Plenty walking to and from work, no buying readymade food, and I was always looking for other ways to make more money, taking on odd jobs like unloading containers on a evening, even though I tired af and might be hungry no ass. I chose to do these things, to achieve my goals. Which brings me to the second point.

Sacrifice.
Most poor people today, tbh, are unwilling to sacrifice and be uncomfortable today for what they want to achieve tomorrow, and try to use the tired excuse of them being poor to justify why they don't, and a great deal of the time, they sacrifice for things that simply do not last or yield them any benefits in the long run. If you don't believe it, go to a shoe store, and pay attention watch and see how many ghetto youths come in and pay attention to how many of them "poor people" buying $700-$1500 sneakers. We live in an age where the majority of people seek instant gratification, and fixated on material things, and it's fine think that way, if you can afford to. But the problem starts, when people who CAN'T afford to think or live that way, aspire to that lifestyle, and go out of their way to try to look like they can.

Nothing worth having or accomplishing comes without a person actively making the choice to make a willing sacrifice, (unless it's a gift or an inheritance, in which case someone else bore the sacrifice for the recipient) and if a person is not willing to accept the pain, they can expect the gain all day long, just don't be too disappointed when it never comes.

Make better choices, and be ready to have less fun now to get what you really NEED and want later
It's really that simple

Postby paid_influencer » February 21st, 2025, 7:39 am

The_Honourable wrote:So... basically every day for decades was a rainy day for you? Saving for a rainy day is the most casual and basic financial lesson you learn. If someone is in a rainy day for decades says a lot about that person.

Are you dense? Stupid? I gave you a fact and you just ignored it because it was inconvenient to you. Are you that stupid?

All that talk about underclass and exploitation is just a front. You still haven't answered my question. All these decades you were depending on a government pension when you reach 65? additionally, no plan b in place if the ministry blank yuh?

The current pension is at 60, not 65 jackass.

When Manning switched the senior citizens pension to a grant 20 or so years ago, that should have alerted you that getting this specific pension wasn't a guarantee. I would like to think you looked at other investment vehicles to make sure that you would be ok at retirement. But knowing you, you probably didn't want to save your money with a bank, credit union, insurance or virtually any other financial institution as they "encourage the capitalist system."

Now machel song triggering you because you don't have a pension and feel entitled to one by the government?

Stop

At this point I feel you need somebody affected by the policies you advocate to hold you down and planass you and hopefully beat the stupid out of you. You really that dense you need to feel to understand.