COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19”

Postby Dohplaydat » March 13th, 2020, 11:43 am

Pretty sure Trump has it too

Postby toyolink » March 13th, 2020, 11:45 am

I really find the purchasing frenzy somewhat 'jokey'.
Lysol, which is locally very expensive selling like hot bread, toilet paper being purchased as if diarrhea coming to wash down the place, and all of this happening when people funds low.
BTW, people better rush and buy up bleach before it run out.
Maybe T&T would end up being the cleanness it has ever been.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2020, 11:46 am

toyolink wrote:I really find the purchasing frenzy somewhat 'jokey'.
Lysol, which is locally very expensive selling like hot bread, toilet paper being purchased as if diarrhea coming to wash down the place, and all of this happening when people funds low.

https://www.cnbc.com/2020/03/11/heres-w ... paper.html

killercow

Postby killercow » March 13th, 2020, 11:59 am

VII wrote:Brazil President tests positive..
Not seeing anything anywhere to substantiate this claim. Source?
(bbc actually said he tested negative)

Postby Chimera » March 13th, 2020, 12:06 pm

I went xtra foods near the nagar this morning . Didnt have much crowd. Didnt have any hand sanitizer but got different disinfectants and plenty liquid soap.
Gonna buy a sink today to set up outside my store and put a sign first people to wash their hands before and after coming in.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 13th, 2020, 12:06 pm

killercow wrote:
VII wrote:Brazil President tests positive..
Not seeing anything anywhere to substantiate this claim. Source?
(bbc actually said he tested negative)

New York Post and some other papers said he tested positive
https://nypost.com/2020/03/13/brazil-pr ... ronavirus/

killercow

Postby killercow » March 13th, 2020, 12:26 pm

_20200313_122406.JPG

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 13th, 2020, 12:27 pm

Jamiaca and St Marteen Carnivals postponed till October.

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2020, 12:31 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I went xtra foods near the nagar this morning . Didnt have much crowd. Didnt have any hand sanitizer but got different disinfectants and plenty liquid soap.
Gonna buy a sink today to set up outside my store and put a sign first people to wash their hands before and after coming in.

what kind of sink is this? a portable one?

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 12:41 pm

u will find this episode informative

Postby Chimera » March 13th, 2020, 12:51 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I went xtra foods near the nagar this morning . Didnt have much crowd. Didnt have any hand sanitizer but got different disinfectants and plenty liquid soap.

what kind of sink is this? a portable one?
Like this
white-mustee-utility-sinks-12c-64_1000.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2020, 1:01 pm

where would it empty into? a tank or do u have to setup a drain pipe?

i was thinking of telling the boss to setup something like a portable hand sanitizer station by the door for visitors

Postby rspann » March 13th, 2020, 1:02 pm

Make dem wash the money too , or you could send it in bags for me to sanitize for you.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 13th, 2020, 1:05 pm

toyolink wrote:I really find the purchasing frenzy somewhat 'jokey'.

Well it's only so much stocks we have unless we import more or local manufacturers increase production.

I get panic buying, but it's a reactionary approach that doesn't help anyone but yourself feel 'safer'.

Btw given how these things grow, expect it take about 2 weeks for new cases to start to pop up then expect exponential growth.

But that said, even if there are 5 times more ppl with Covid-19 in China than they are reporting, at best right now it seems 0.05% of the population have it (roughly 2-3 months after it came on the scene).

So let's say 500k ppl have it in China despite the official number of 80k.

That means say 2-3 months from now at the peak, roughly only 1000 Trinis would have tested positive assuming the same growth rate and dynamics. Impossible to say, but let's say we get it 10 times worse.

In 3 months, 10k ppl have it locally, or 1 in every 35 Trinis.

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2020, 1:14 pm

lysol and them wipes is for lazy ppl

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 13th, 2020, 1:16 pm

with few exceptions everything on lockdown in the USA...

No mass sporting events...most colleges closed....no Calle Ocho...no St Patrick’s day parade.

Even the Curry Duck competition look like it getting cancelled/postponed...

Postby Chimera » March 13th, 2020, 1:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:where would it empty into? a tank or do u have to setup a drain pipe?

i was thinking of telling the boss to setup something like a portable hand sanitizer station by the door for visitors

where i`m putting mine it would go to the government drain, my store is downstairs near the mainroad.

Postby hydroep » March 13th, 2020, 2:08 pm

I now make a rounds in some of dem budget groceries and chinese stores on my side and things normal. If anything JTA real slow for a Friday.

If we are to judge by the establishments (Massy, Tru Value, Pricesmart etc.) which are experiencing long lines then it is "rich people" doing the panic buying. The irony...:|

Postby MaxPower » March 13th, 2020, 2:11 pm

Sufferers love to play rich too.

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 2:17 pm

MaxPower wrote:Sufferers love to play rich too.
plenty people like to pretend to be stoosh and shop at massey...

Postby Ben_spanna » March 13th, 2020, 2:36 pm

So at 3 o'clock the man will address America,
theres talk the entire states may be have a state of emergency!
Depending on what he says could have really bad implications for supplies to Trinidad that are shipped out of the US

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19”

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 13th, 2020, 2:47 pm

Adjustments.JPG

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley has announced that from tomorrow all schools and universities and places of learning will remain close for one week in order to stop the spread of coronavirus.

The announcement was made as he addressed the Parliament today.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 13th, 2020, 2:52 pm

Good start but shoudl be longer as incubation period can be anywhere from 14 days to as much as 37 days

Postby Chimera » March 13th, 2020, 2:55 pm

what gonna happen to people who hadda continue working while their kids hadda be home though

Postby Redman » March 13th, 2020, 2:55 pm

Given the proximity to end of term-close schools now-and have end of term test at the start of the next term/or start early

Postby pugboy » March 13th, 2020, 2:57 pm

So what if infections continue after a week?

Postby aaron17 » March 13th, 2020, 3:07 pm

Hopefully they detect it

Postby redmanjp » March 13th, 2020, 3:08 pm

pugboy wrote:So what if infections continue after a week?

the school directly related to the patient (he has a child there) should be closed for 2 weeks- all others are low risk right now soi doh know the rational behind this- other countries did it for community spread transmission.

unless of course they lose track of all potential contacts and community transmission happening already

what about the Alberta case- dey forget that already?

Postby sMASH » March 13th, 2020, 3:09 pm

pugboy wrote:So what if infections continue after a week?

this is a preliminary step. see what pops up and deal with that. if it remains slow, then u can reopen, if it continues to resurface, u keep them closed.

Postby nemisis » March 13th, 2020, 3:12 pm

See how much sick days you can take back to back.
Phone Surgeon wrote:what gonna happen to people who hadda continue working while their kids hadda be home though