"...friends and relatives are kindly asked to accept this intimation" bah!

FrankChag

"...friends and relatives are kindly asked to accept this intimation" bah!

Postby FrankChag » March 6th, 2020, 7:17 pm

"...friends and relatives are kindly asked to accept this intimation"

bah! by a friends house..

Loud loud loud 7 o'clock in the night
totally messed up my recording.
so embarrassing

I'm going to come off sounding like a real **** here, but why do these people still drive around and do these death announcements like its 1955?

isn't this noise pollution? don't their friends and relatives have email, phones and facebook now?

steups.

how much of this we going to have when ppl start dropping from covid../?

i want to run out and shout nobody cares!

Re: "...friends and relatives are kindly asked to accept this intimation" bah!

Postby The_Honourable » March 6th, 2020, 7:29 pm

Postby maj. tom » March 6th, 2020, 7:42 pm

How else would you know that someone who you never even knew existed has died?

And how yuh go know when TTEC going to cut off current when you not home?

And how yuh go know about the flea market sale this Saturday at Rattan's?

And how yuh go know who to vote for election times if they don't harass and annoy you? (i really never understood the point of this one).

Anyway, the "Mike Men" is a rich tradition in Trinidad started from the day amplified powered speakers were invented, and a detailed account of how valuable a service it was before modern communication is found in V.S. Naipaul's 1957 novel "The Suffrage of Elvira." https://www.guardian.co.tt/article/the- ... b13f3400a9
The origins of these public announcements while ringing a cowbell goes way back to the profession of the "Town Crier" in ancient Rome and then Europe.

It is part of our culture and tradition and if yuh can't cater for it, get your US Green Card. Or create a sound proof box studio to record if you don't know how to use your DAW with noise removal and masking techniques.

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2020, 7:42 pm

We have been asked to announce the death of Omar P4ul tolee . Friends and relatives are kindly asked to accept this intimation.

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2020, 7:50 pm

I want to announce the death of PNM and their pest

Postby redmanjp » March 6th, 2020, 7:57 pm

get accustom to this - will increase with covid 19

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2020, 8:05 pm

Its because Trinis are still IN 1955..

Backward no fak

Postby sMASH » March 6th, 2020, 8:06 pm

ttec does cut every day down by me, except when they announced it, go figure

Postby Mark! » March 6th, 2020, 8:08 pm

Oh sht we gon have to wait longer for yuh new chutney song. Darn.

Postby paid_influencer » March 6th, 2020, 8:10 pm

not everybody have email, phone and facebook. more so old people that in the target audience for funeral announcements

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2020, 8:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:not everybody have email, phone and facebook. more so old people that in the target audience for funeral announcements

The mike men are paid influencers.

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2020, 8:15 pm

OP,

You lucky it wasn’t a hard dutty Kartel.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2020, 9:22 pm

paid_influencer wrote:not everybody have email, phone and facebook. more so old people that in the target audience for funeral announcements

Yep. it's that simple.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 6th, 2020, 9:29 pm

This is a 3rd world sh!t hole what else do you expect?

Be thankful we pay little to no Tax in this country and everything subsidized with a healthy economy and a health care system that is surprisingly good for 3rd world even when compared to free health care in 1st world countries sometimes you come out better and faster here than places like UK

Yes the Mic Men are pest and cancer it is part of living in a backward country that actually provides music truck with legal papers from police stations to disturb the peace and break the law. Just accept it and build a sound proof room

Postby alfa » March 6th, 2020, 9:35 pm

FrankChag wrote: "...friends and relatives are kindly asked to accept this intimation"

bah! by a friends house..

Loud loud loud 7 o'clock in the night
totally messed up my recording.
so embarrassing

I'm going to come off sounding like a real **** here, but why do these people still drive around and do these death announcements like its 1955?

isn't this noise pollution? don't their friends and relatives have email, phones and facebook now?

steups.

how much of this we going to have when ppl start dropping from covid../?

i want to run out and shout nobody cares!

As older folks die off the people most interested in funeral details besides near family will be people their age who incidentally don't know about email and Facebook. The mike is their main source of info and updates and besides it's a major part of the older folks' culture. It might be noise pollution but it's not everyday someone's gonna die so a lil consideration goes a long way. As to how much of this you'll have to bear when covid starts dropping people like flies, well you never know YOU might be the first to go. And you are kinda coming off sounding like a real **** :roll:

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2020, 9:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is a 3rd world sh!t hole what else do you expect?

Be thankful we pay little to no Tax in this country and everything subsidized with a healthy economy and a health care system that is surprisingly good for 3rd world even when compared to free health care in 1st world countries sometimes you come out better and faster here than places like UK

Yes the Mic Men are pest and cancer it is part of living in a backward country that actually provides music truck with legal papers from police stations to disturb the peace and break the law. Just accept it and build a sound proof room

Don't worry, on the off chance that that Green Card comes through, or more likely when you're hiding from ICE in Queens/Brooklyn/The Bronx, you wouldn't have that to bother you. :wink:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 6th, 2020, 10:16 pm

^ Take your trolling and derailing back to the US Election thread and keep it there please. Don't come spamming other threads we already have a thread for that.

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2020, 10:26 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Take your trolling and derailing back to the US Election thread and keep it there please. Don't come spamming other threads we already have a thread for that.

Thanks Duane3NE2NR :roll:
Also, HYMC and UDFR for good measure, because once again you're talking sheit. The tradition of the mike man dates back to long before you and I were born, so while it may not seem relevant, or sensible to you, it still serves a purpose to older folk in a community. Your constant carping and griping about third world this, and that only makes it even more baffling wtf you're still here. Hop on a plane, fly out to the US, and don't come back, simple.

Postby gastly369 » March 6th, 2020, 10:42 pm

MaxPower wrote:Its because Trinis are still IN 1955..

Backward no fak
What the world think Trinidad is like

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-6419717/amp/The-story-sex-crazed-tribe-cut-world-30-000-years.html

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 6th, 2020, 10:48 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Take your trolling and derailing back to the US Election thread and keep it there please. Don't come spamming other threads we already have a thread for that.

Also, HYMC and UDFR for good measure, because once again you're talking sheit. The tradition of the mike man dates back to long before you and I were born, so while it may not seem relevant, or sensible to you, it still serves a purpose to older folk in a community. Your constant carping and griping about third world this, and that only makes it even more baffling wtf you're still here. Hop on a plane, fly out to the US, and don't come back, simple.

The only purpose it serves is to disturb the peace you idiot. There are other civilized ways to inform the villagers of a death.

You have a very twisted logic you are saying because this country has been a sh!thole since before you were born it is somehow acceptable to continue down this path for eternity without even trying to modernize and become civilized? I bet you also support child rape sorry I mean "child marriage" in those other sh!thole countries since that too going on before you born and it is their "culture" after all.

But hey whatever floats your nostalgic boat and makes you sleep well at nights. Hope the music trucks and mic men don't wake you up

Postby MaxPower » March 6th, 2020, 10:58 pm

Don't worry, on the off chance that that Green Card comes through, or more likely when you're hiding from ICE in Queens/Brooklyn/The Bronx, you wouldn't have that to bother you. :wink:

Do you even have a visa?

I tell yuh already, droppy sad face children is no way of seeking sympathy from those officers eh. They know all the tricks in the book.

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2020, 11:10 pm

Wait

ED = Dwane?

That the same as

Randolspin = Elite

Re:

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2020, 11:59 pm

Do you even have a visa?

I tell yuh already, droppy sad face children is no way of seeking sympathy from those officers eh. They know all the tricks in the book.

Like Erectile have ah harem! Keweless and now MaxKantos?
You keep on about my children, you pitiful little kant. Your own mother despises the very sight of you, yet you won't take your ambitionless, sheitty bamsee, KFC greasy arse from the woman's house. Like Erectile, if Venezuela so filled with all these wonderful souls, why don't you take your parasitic arse there and live?

Postby MaxPower » March 7th, 2020, 5:56 am

Do you even have a visa?

You keep on about my children, you pitiful little kant. Your own mother despises the very sight of you, yet you won't take your ambitionless, sheitty bamsee, KFC greasy arse from the woman's house. Like Erectile, if Venezuela so filled with all these wonderful souls, why don't you take your parasitic arse there and live?

When last u check your pressure?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 7th, 2020, 7:24 am

Op, get used to it...it not going to stop...TTEC and insect vector(when going to spray) does it as well

Re:

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2020, 8:12 am

Do you even have a visa?

When last u check your pressure?

About the same time you check your bamsee for sheittiness.................long time

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 7th, 2020, 10:28 am

You rather a weekly Saturday evening gathering of all villagers to announce important news of the area?

I dislike ads on music trucks, but important announcements from a mic man is essential for some people.

A necessary evil.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 7th, 2020, 10:32 am

It literally lasts less than a minute and they don't pass at ungodly hours.

I don't care for it, but it serves a purpose.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 7th, 2020, 10:55 am

OP, I am a music production enthusiast as well.

Mic announcements are the LEAST of my worries. Is cars with loud music and loud exhausts is my main problem.

Bass travels through walls, voice doesn't penetrate as well. Stop complaining about the small bird in the room and focus on the elephant please

Postby Rovin » March 7th, 2020, 11:08 am

all this kinda bachanal last night :o

me eh see wais d beat op about ah passing mic announcement ... :|