Poll: Rent in T&T too high? or we like it so?

Should we have rent regulations in T&T?

Yes! Dem landlords advantageous!
47%
No! Government to boldface. Rent is the landlord-tenant business!
32%
Maybe... focus on protective legal frameworks only. Leave price between landlord & tenant.
21%

Total votes: 38

Re: Poll: Rent in T&T too high? or we like it so?

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2020, 12:03 pm

rspann wrote:Maj Tom ,One tub of popcorn not enough. Fed up hear sufferers boast. Foreign rankers who liming on superyachts looking for wuk to build wall. Only envying who have apts, just like the govt and wish they could get taxed out if business or shut down. If I want to be on someone level I climbing up to meet them, I don't want them falling down to make us equal . One set of lies trying to impress. New species , orange fox redVagina etc.

You're forgetting the biggest sufferer pretender, wanna-be Vene Max Kant

Hahaha i just knew youd find yourself in this forum.

You does feel like a man having your children like some coop up chicken? How long you will let them share a room?

Oh gosh do something on the side na, bring in a lil more income so the 4 ah allyuh wont be like some brunswick whole day so.

Doh have the wife watching the success and stability of other men na...start BEING the man for your family and show them you have it in you to do better and come out of the shithole you in.

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2020, 12:25 pm

rspann wrote:Maj Tom ,One tub of popcorn not enough. Fed up hear sufferers boast. Foreign rankers who liming on superyachts looking for wuk to build wall. Only envying who have apts, just like the govt and wish they could get taxed out if business or shut down. If I want to be on someone level I climbing up to meet them, I don't want them falling down to make us equal . One set of lies trying to impress. New species , orange fox redVagina etc.

You're forgetting the biggest sufferer pretender, wanna-be Vene Max Kant

Hahaha i just knew youd find yourself in this forum.

You does feel like a man having your children like some coop up chicken? How long you will let them share a room?

Oh gosh do something on the side na, bring in a lil more income so the 4 ah allyuh wont be like some brunswick whole day so.

Doh have the wife watching the success and stability of other men na...start BEING the man for your family and show them you have it in you to do better and come out of the shithole you in.

I've told you several times already that I don't accept financial advice from 30-something year old KFC fry cooks who live at home with their mothers, all while hoping some Vene man/woman pities your sorry arse enough for them to show you their goods, because your dead coco means that's all you get.

Postby MaxPower » February 24th, 2020, 1:10 pm

^ stay on topic na Fagon, you ashamed of your current accommodation or something?

Remember the world still revolving eh, things happening and children getting bigger. Dont give up hope even though you start late and priorities wrong side. Ideally yuh want career, house, marriage, kids in that order....ideally.

But in your case as you had no direction, (which is ok, we all make mistakes), yuh want to organize yuh house before the kids old enough to understand that they living in a shithole due to your failures in life. Yuh hadda be the hero to them, not the pauper....you are the example eh. Be the rock, not the pebble.

Stop the excuses and procrastination....productivity is the key to the problems you having.

Btw jus a tip...dont think rent, think mortgage.

Postby 88sins » February 24th, 2020, 1:27 pm

daxt0r wrote:88, u rite, ah not bright like u at all but that don't change the fact that already rich property owners have no problem breaking the law where it comes to not payin their taxes on all their undeclared income, an in the same breath would complain about problems about shootings, robberies, etc.
Crime is crime, but that's the prob with this country somehow a bandit eatin ah lil 10-20k food worse than a man robbin the gov 330k in tax revenue or as someone else put faris al-wari $21M he hit d tax payers in rent.
Anywayz i iz a renting sufferer so i go b inclined to have tainted views eh.

Firstly, don't study that you renting and how it biases your view, work towards quitting paying rent.

Secondly, how can you rob someone of something that they never earned, that you yourself worked hard and sacrificed for? So just because they may demand it, it should be given freely, even though you know they did absolutely nothing to help you earn it & in some instances may have made your efforts to earn it substantially more difficult?
And for arguments sake, let's say you pay that $300K in taxes, when you know for a fact it NOT going to benefit you, nor your family, nor your neighborhood, not even the deserving people in dire need. What do you think paying that money does in the mind of the incompetent politicians we have here? I mean besides encouraging the already dotish spending practices, paying back financiers, providing lavish living for family and friends and these stinking politicians? What do you get from that payment other than encouraging already disgusting bad habits at the expense a suffering of the public? Because you hadda drive on the same rough road, through the same flood, past the same blocked drains a the same mountain of garbage on the roadside, deal with the same lack of proper health care, education system, etc.

So why voluntarily pay it to begin with? Because some random arsehole way back when decided to say "yuh hadda pay me X% of whatever you have and keep paying every year cuz ah say so no matter how ah decide to f_ck up da free money"? That is not good enough. At least not good enough for me. Shouldn't be good enough for anyone.

Postby De Dragon » February 24th, 2020, 2:20 pm

MaxPower wrote:^ stay on topic na Fagon, you ashamed of your current accommodation or something?

Remember the world still revolving eh, things happening and children getting bigger. Dont give up hope even though you start late and priorities wrong side. Ideally yuh want career, house, marriage, kids in that order....ideally.

But in your case as you had no direction, (which is ok, we all make mistakes), yuh want to organize yuh house before the kids old enough to understand that they living in a shithole due to your failures in life. Yuh hadda be the hero to them, not the pauper....you are the example eh. Be the rock, not the pebble.

Stop the excuses and procrastination....productivity is the key to the problems you having.

Btw jus a tip...dont think rent, think mortgage.

Caxxos, I've had my own home for longer than you've been around, so I'm fine thank you. Take your own advice though because your moms told me she tired of the place smelling KFC, KFC , and looking at your pimply arsed, horrid face all the time. She knows that no woman want you with your shoelace tool, so even the idea of you getting a wife and moving out is out of the question. Ease up tants nah man! Move to fack out!

Postby RedVEVO » February 24th, 2020, 3:58 pm

Plenty cax cax have no casa ..

It's only ca ca .. card .. card BAX ..

Land cheap in the country ..
Save and build a nice house ..

A 3-Bedroom 2 Bath $400K easy

No need for Landlords ..

Rent control soon for them Lords ..

Lawd ! See them boil down like spinach .

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Long time now I want to ask . Did Azeez only touch , or was there penetration?

Postby rspann » February 24th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Apartments on your mind. It shows. Wouldn't you just love to be a landlord? There are people who can never save to build a house. Landlords provide a necessary service . Could never do without them and could never tell someone how much to rent for. Greenwithenvy.Vevo

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 25th, 2020, 6:22 am

88 u missing d point, but daiz d problem rite dey with trinidad noone does really look in d mirror and ppl choose to blame other ppl for the problems of d country.
dude if u ok with your friends and family or anyone ducking dey income tax that would make u cool implicitly when same family and friends or anyone get rob/rape/kill, breaking the law is breaking the law or sin is sin if u ah religious man.
Put in a nex way jus like how u think it voluntary to pay tax it also voluntary for a man to pull a hot, two strap and run down on ah big landlord job site for he new apt building as he about to pay he underpaid and overworked venezuelan workers (who put up d food mind you, lol) and wet him about 30 and run off with the bag ah untaxed dollars. U should again hv no prob with this cuz as the sayin goes tief from tief...

As you say y pay income tax if you don't have to but surely the monthly paid tenant sufferer who is taxed PAYE at his job must pay me my rent ontime and not mash up meh place. An surely my kids can model with guns and fire off a few rounds and i can collect millions in rent from the GOV for my unused properties cuz i'm the AG, but in d same breath GOV want to talk about no bail for possession of firearms an oh d Judiciary too lenient on firearm offenders and about unscrupulous landlords who overcharging for rent an the need for rent control.

hypocrisy all d way is d norm, but this is TnT, we love it so.

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2020, 9:08 am

Daxtor, what do you think is a fair price for a one bedroom and a two bedroom apt. Different areas will have different cost and newer buildings will be more than older ones, but I'm looking at what a tenant might feel it's worth paying. Price and area.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 25th, 2020, 10:23 am

fair price for 1 bedroom is 2500-3500 [ok but not great area], 3500-5000 [good area], 2 bedroom 4500-5500 [ok but no good area], 6500-8000[good area]. God seems to have also forbade working citizens like me from getting a rent-to-own HDC house as they only lease/rent to ppl who cya/don't pay d rent or else da lil 1000 ah month rent-to-own woulda be d sweetest.

Ah really eh know no good area name cuz i don't frequent those parts but an OK area would be like Debe or Grande side i guess or basically anywhere not totally crime infested. I recently moved and didn't have a problem paying a $4000 rent that i checked out first but settled on a place for $3000 as i didn't really see much difference in quality of life in the more expensive place.

I realistically cya put a price on a man sweat and thus his bread cuz, i first hand know how difficult it is to build a house [while renting] much less a multi-tenant dwelling building and i believe wa a man put out he has the right to want returns on the investment with profit. Plus too ah man entitled to set he price, it's a free market, and jus like how i could afford both but opt for cheaper place, everyone has d freedom of choice in a free market.
Too much ppl have wine taste but govt juice money, lol :D

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2020, 10:28 am

boy I charging too little for my 2br apt yes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2020, 11:22 am

Pricing depends on location....a 1 bedroom for more than 2500 up Grande will be very difficult to get rented

Postby De Dragon » February 25th, 2020, 11:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Pricing depends on location....a 1 bedroom for more than 2500 up Grande will be very difficult to get rented

Now maybe, but when Uncle JUHN Scarfy and Roundabout Rohan build the highway and port, you will be in business :roll:

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2020, 11:50 am

I feel it's too hard for middle class working people to pay more thanb$3500 from their salary. The cost of living especially if you have kids attending school. Because of this many get into a rut where all their salary go to paying rent and bills, minding children and cannot save even a downpayment even if by chance they qualify for a mortgage.

Single people tend to move out faster since couples or a single parent with children have to think about transferring. This is why two bedroom apts are safer if you're thinking long term but you also have to balance the price so they don't keep looking for cheaper.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 25th, 2020, 12:11 pm

that true but go cheaper and then could put you in other problems like crime, extended communte (wear an tear on vehicle), not convenient location, no peace of mind, etc. i for one very familiar with the mire of poverty u described.
It hard out here at least for the working middle class but ah realize almost everyone here on tuner is millionaire yes an rock back on ah armchair and out ah touch with them real issues by some ah d responses yuh does see here.

Postby matr1x » February 25th, 2020, 1:17 pm

It's simple.

If you can afford it, buy a house, or build.

If you can't, rent.

If not. Live home with your parents.

Or homeless.

Love your Syrian overlords

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 25th, 2020, 1:25 pm

Rent's in Trinidad are cheaper than the interest you will pay on a mortgage.

So while rent maybe money you cant ever get a return from it is cheaper to go this way and invest the money u would have spent paying in a mortgage elsewhere ... we all know for the vast majority this isnt happening but persons arguing dead money are obviously making some serious dollars and can afford the 10-16k mortgage you would have to pay for somewhere you can rent for 4-6k a month on a property valued 1.3-1.8mil.

To my mind best argument I have heard one make a rent versus buy argument is rent against your none returnable cost ... none returnable cost being maintenance (1% of value), property tax and interest payment. At current rental values in Trinidad renting is a winner in most cases.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 25th, 2020, 1:33 pm

The rent : mortgage ratio in TnT is very skewed in favour of renting at present. But only if you rent smartly and live cheaply.

Is better for one to live far below ones means while renting to save a significant portion of one's building costs to build. However every time you turn around, labour and materials shooting up. Dont even talk about land, that nearly doubling every 6 years right now.

Postby MaxPower » February 25th, 2020, 1:36 pm

Raise the rent in all good areas.

Need the sufferers out, away and sectioned off.

Postby De Dragon » February 25th, 2020, 2:37 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Rent's in Trinidad are cheaper than the interest you will pay on a mortgage.

So while rent maybe money you cant ever get a return from it is cheaper to go this way and invest the money u would have spent paying in a mortgage elsewhere ... we all know for the vast majority this isnt happening but persons arguing dead money are obviously making some serious dollars and can afford the 10-16k mortgage you would have to pay for somewhere you can rent for 4-6k a month on a property valued 1.3-1.8mil.

To my mind best argument I have heard one make a rent versus buy argument is rent against your none returnable cost ... none returnable cost being maintenance (1% of value), property tax and interest payment. At current rental values in Trinidad renting is a winner in most cases.

You don't have to pull out the entire cost of a home in one fell swoop unless you can really afford to.
I saved up, bought the land, saved up, did the foundation, floor slab, upper floor deck roof and walls. Then took a loan and finished. I didn't take that long, and coupled with smart spending and living within reasonable means meant the stress was not too much.

Postby adnj » February 25th, 2020, 2:42 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:Rent's in Trinidad are cheaper than the interest you will pay on a mortgage.

With rates at ~7% the monthly payment is about $8000 for a 25 year loan on a $1.5M property.

Maintenance is about $1250 per month.

I will agree with the $10K per month.

Appreciation is about 5% to 7% so a homeowner will see more than $6000 per month in property appreciation. For a net cost of $4000 per month.

Change the loan terms to 15 years and the cost vs. net goes to $13K/$7K.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » February 25th, 2020, 3:50 pm

even land price ridiculous, a lot in a flooding area (no offense to ppl who live there eh) like barrackpore nowhere near the main road is 300,000, much less if you want a lot somewhere ok or worse good.
So basic maths, if an individual working 6000 a month, 2000 month, 1000 living expenses and bills (yea in which world rite), that would mean it would take about 8 and a half years of real sufferin to even get land in a flood prone area and still have to start to build.
So hats of who have d capital but i really don't see how someone who grow from nothing ending up with anything substantial in this life without some shortcuts.

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2020, 4:04 pm

Doh say that nah.

Postby De Dragon » February 25th, 2020, 4:48 pm

daxt0r wrote:even land price ridiculous, a lot in a flooding area (no offense to ppl who live there eh) like barrackpore nowhere near the main road is 300,000, much less if you want a lot somewhere ok or worse good.
So basic maths, if an individual working 6000 a month, 2000 month, 1000 living expenses and bills (yea in which world rite), that would mean it would take about 8 and a half years of real sufferin to even get land in a flood prone area and still have to start to build.
So hats of who have d capital but i really don't see how someone who grow from nothing ending up with anything substantial in this life without some shortcuts.

Problem is starting with that mentality. I started saving for land/house when I was making $2500 a month, and yes things were cheaper then, but the average "good area" 3 bedroom house in Central was still in the 300-350 K range, so the maths were comparable.

Postby zoom rader » February 25th, 2020, 6:09 pm

First I told you all that this was going come.

First injun house tax and now tax to kill Injun land lords. This is solely base as racist and going after injun money.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 25th, 2020, 6:26 pm

zoomie trying hard to be a martyr, so hard

how much will property tax be for a regular house in your estimation? 100k per year if (((not pnm)))?

Postby zoom rader » February 25th, 2020, 6:47 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:zoomie trying hard to be a martyr, so hard

how much will property tax be for a regular house in your estimation? 100k per year if (((not pnm)))?
First house tax and now they want to tax my rental income. I don't trust this goverment one bit.

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2020, 6:58 pm

welcome back

Postby Monk BANzai » February 25th, 2020, 6:58 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:zoomie trying hard to be a martyr, so hard

First house tax and now they want to tax my rental income. I don't trust this goverment one bit.

Doh matter.. rent money cyar done. As a landlord i been benefiting lol.