Looking for Vinyl Records

selectordread

Looking for Vinyl Records

Postby selectordread » February 2nd, 2020, 1:55 pm

Dear Trinidadians,
My name is Matteo, I am a music lover and vinyl collector from Italy. I am coming to visit the beautiful islands of Trinidad & Tobago in the first week of February and last week of February, leaving finally the 6th of March.
I am looking for vinyl records from Trinidad & Tobago or in general Caribbean music, from the 50s until nowadays.
If you have yourselves vinyl record you wish to sell or you know of other people who might be interested in selling their own records, please let me know.
If you have any contacts for me, your contribution will be awarded.
Thank you very much.
Till soon,
Matteo

Re: Looking for Vinyl Records

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 4th, 2020, 8:59 am

selectordread wrote:Dear Trinidadians,
My name is Matteo, I am a music lover and vinyl collector from Italy. I am coming to visit the beautiful islands of Trinidad & Tobago in the first week of February and last week of February, leaving finally the 6th of March.
I am looking for vinyl records from Trinidad & Tobago or in general Caribbean music, from the 50s until nowadays.
If you have yourselves vinyl record you wish to sell or you know of other people who might be interested in selling their own records, please let me know.
If you have any contacts for me, your contribution will be awarded.
Thank you very much.
Till soon,
Matteo

Also check facebook. Make a post and make it public.
There are tons of vinyl all over t&t, it's a dying art - a lot of older 70's-90's DJ's might just have them laying around.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » February 4th, 2020, 11:00 am

Check out The Burg Record shop, Dem go have everything you need. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby supercharged turbo » February 14th, 2020, 3:02 pm

A little off topic but awhile back,I saw pricesmart had some modern vinyl players with bluetooth,radio,usb and aux.Anybody know if they still have this or where I could get similar to buy locally?

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2020, 3:18 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:A little off topic but awhile back,I saw pricesmart had some modern vinyl players with bluetooth,radio,usb and aux.Anybody know if they still have this or where I could get similar to buy locally?

The brand was Ion. I bought one. Not incredible sound quality but not bad if you just like to spin your old vinyl on a sunday
Haven't seen it in price smart for a while but amazon probably has it

Postby K74T » February 14th, 2020, 5:22 pm

Detour Tech had a while back. The brand was Boytone.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 15th, 2020, 9:13 am

CET in barataria have good quality Audio Technica turntables for bout 1200

Need a stereo to hook it up to tho

Postby shogun » February 15th, 2020, 7:04 pm

This interests me, since I decided it's about time to hijack the folks vinyl collection.

Postby RedVEVO » February 16th, 2020, 1:48 am

Pops have some " Neil Diamond "

$1,500 for perfect in case ..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 10th, 2023, 2:11 pm

Vinyl overtakes CD sales for the first time since 1987

No longer just a niche hobby for dads and hipsters, vinyl is experiencing a major resurgence in mainstream music. According to the Recording Industry Association of America’s (RIAA) annual revenue report, vinyl records outsold CDs in the US last year for the first time since 1987, selling 41 million units against 33 million for CD.

Vinyl record sales have consistently increased over the last 16 years according to the RIAA report published on Thursday, now accounting for 71 percent of all physical music format revenue. The growth margins here aren’t trivial, either — while physical formats as a whole increased by 4 percent, earning $1.7 billion between 2021 and 2022, vinyl sales alone accounted for $1.2 billion, experiencing a 17 percent increase in sales compared to the previous year. Comparatively, CD sales plummeted by 18 percent in 2022.

https://www.theverge.com/2023/3/10/2363 ... es-us-riaa

Postby Rovin » March 10th, 2023, 2:53 pm

so odd yes

maybe those who still purchase physical media wud be an older record liking generation because young ppl just YT, DL for free or will buy digital DL rather than cds so maybe thats how vinyl over took cds ?

i nor putting down others but i feel is a trend of alot of ole ppl who want to relive their young days growing up, they feel a need to physically hold a actual record in their hands & put it on d turntable - nostalgia bisnis & others not so young jes following what they seeing others doing cause d ole ppl tell them "there is just a sound of vinyl that cd doesnt have"

i grew up in d era of cassette tapes & vinyl, we had alot of what is now called "classics" on both albums & 45s singles, but for me i would never feel d need for that sort of media anymore, i prefer d perfection of digital media but thats just me :|

of course i love my ole 50s/60s/70s/80s/mid 90s music including current stuff & i have dl all that i can remember\like which fits on ssd small like a cassette case which can fit in a clothes pocket ...

Postby bluefete » March 10th, 2023, 8:40 pm

Aye. Wham to you bai Rovin? Wha you have wit "ole people" wanting to enjoy the crinkely sound of a needle on vinyl?

YT has done a great job with music but there are many vinyl albums that are still to reach digital d/l.

I have one of those antique looking record / cassette / cd / usb player which I crank up every now and then.

Rovin wrote:so odd yes

maybe those who still purchase physical media wud be an older record liking generation because young ppl just YT, DL for free or will buy digital DL rather than cds so maybe thats how vinyl over took cds ?

i nor putting down others but i feel is a trend of alot of ole ppl who want to relive their young days growing up, they feel a need to physically hold a actual record in their hands & put it on d turntable - nostalgia bisnis & others not so young jes following what they seeing others doing cause d ole ppl tell them "there is just a sound of vinyl that cd doesnt have"

i grew up in d era of cassette tapes & vinyl, we had alot of what is now called "classics" on both albums & 45s singles, but for me i would never feel d need for that sort of media anymore, i prefer d perfection of digital media but thats just me :|

of course i love my ole 50s/60s/70s/80s/mid 90s music including current stuff & i have dl all that i can remember\like which fits on ssd small like a cassette case which can fit in a clothes pocket ...

Postby maj. tom » March 10th, 2023, 9:02 pm

Some things like vinyl and vacuum tube amps have an analog impulse response and imperfect popping that makes our brains perceive it as warmer, more real and more relatable in how we process the natural world. So even though modern digital with high sample rate is perfect fidelity and the best sound, it's all about how our brains decipher it and compare it to the real world.

So there is an effort now in modern sound mixing to try to replicate that analog characteristic from older recording even from the 1980s electronics which were not all solid state or transistors with the extremely precise and discrete voltage TTL gate inputs, high processing power and sampling rates outputs like today. There is an audio interface I've sampled SSL Solid State Logic 2+ that has a "Legacy 4K Analog Enhancement" setting button that when pressed attempts to replicate the imperfect high end boost and harmonic distortion popping like what you get from real old studio equipment. That button is wild how it will transform the precise digital flat input into something else like a hot tube amp cranked to just near breaking up threshold.