Network Engineer/Specialist Salary

mazdatt

Network Engineer/Specialist Salary

Postby mazdatt » October 1st, 2018, 9:43 am

What is the market rate for a network engineer in the private sector?

Any tuners working in TSTT, Flow, Digicel, Amplia, Fujitsu, Massy Infocom that can give some ball park figures?

See below for public sector contract rates.

Network Specialist (degree + 3yrs experience)
Total: $14,600
Base: $13,400
Travel: $1,200

Senior Network Specialist (degree + 5yrs experience)
Total $19,300
Base: $17,500
Travel: $1,800
Last edited by mazdatt on October 1st, 2018, 11:08 am, edited 2 times in total.

Philippa

Re: Network Engineer Salary

Postby Philippa » October 1st, 2018, 10:16 am

Network engineer is a very vague term, do you have more details?

Those PS rates look on par.

Postby redmanjp » October 1st, 2018, 10:44 am

I'm a PS System Support Specialist and I make the exact same salary (the first one)

mazdatt

Re: Network Specialist/Engineer Salary

Postby mazdatt » October 1st, 2018, 10:45 am

An engineer dealing with design and operations of Enterprise (LAN, WAN & DataCenter) & Service Provider environments inclusive of switching, routing, voice, wireless, security etc. Experience working with Cisco, Huawei, Juniper, equipment etc

cryotec

Re: Network Engineer/Specialist Salary

Postby cryotec » October 1st, 2018, 11:16 am

is the travel allowance tax free?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 1st, 2018, 12:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:I'm a PS System Support Specialist and I make the exact same salary (the first one)

how do you survive on that ? do you work a second job ?

just kidding

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » October 6th, 2018, 4:46 pm

TSTT network engineer - 18-30k

Amplia- not sure 15k up for sure

Massy tech senior network engineer- 15k

Flow IP engineer- 14k-20k

Digicel IP engineer roughly 14500- 22500 (figures vary based on exp etc)

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » October 6th, 2018, 5:06 pm

Fadakartel wrote:TSTT network engineer - 18-30k

Amplia- not sure 15k up for sure

Massy tech senior network engineer- 15k

Flow IP engineer- 14k-20k

Digicel IP engineer roughly 14500- 22500 (figures vary based on exp etc)
Thanks, good info.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » February 2nd, 2020, 2:21 pm

Bumping this thread for feedback on salaries of IT jobs at the highest technical levels (non-management) in these companies. This would be positions like senior consultant, solution architect, senior engineer etc

Postby RedVEVO » February 6th, 2020, 1:12 am

No need for a Network Engineer anymore ..

It's a doomed career

Software is getting cheaper and more intelligent ..

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 6th, 2020, 4:52 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

No need for a Network Engineer anymore ..

It's a doomed career

Software is getting cheaper and more intelligent ..

No eh, network engineers in demand worldwide and the demand is growing, the same software you talk about for instance Cisco DNA/Juniper Contrail for enterprise networks require guys with good knowledge to build scaleable networks to support Azure/AWS/Private clouds. Also networks now are requiring folks to learn basic python to automate stuff but your knowledge of protocols etc is more needed over python (you can`t automate what you don`t understand) How you think people going to reach the cloud and optimise applications? I worked all over as a senior/lead network engineer outside of Trinidad and the money is there, the problem with Trinidad is the brain drain of dumpers so many CCNA`s out there that don`t even know networking they just memorise answers.

Ill list some salaries for enterprise networks regionally and one middle east salary.

Dart Cayman Islands (network architect) 110000 USD per year
Bremuda Senior IP engineer 110000 USD per year
Dubai UAE - 18000 AED a month
Panama 5500 USD a month

As for service providers stuff like segment routing, BGP, MPLS , all of the stuff that connects the world all rely on network engineers for instance in Cayman I got top dollar to do upstream ISP peerings to Cogent/C&W for IP transit over the CJFS and the Maya-1 fiber system in the ocean (to give customers access to the global internet) along with doing stuff like Qwit Caching/CDN for broadband, IPV6 allocation for GPON/Business solutions, IS-IS core routing and MPLS L3VPN`s. And none of that uses C++, Python, Java... That was all Cisco ASR 9001/NCS`s routers running Cisco IOS-XR`s (sure I could automate some stuff with python but you need to know why, when and how you are going to do these sort of things)

Hell I even have friends all over that do 5G as network packet core engineers and they get good $$$$. Don`t limit yourself to Trinidad only once you have the experience and certs other places will hook you up with a work permit easily as in a lot of places you are classed as a skilled worker and in shortage. In Trinidad I got software friends that don`t make anywhere near me also they can`t get a job overseas as countries have that talent and would give the job to a local instead.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 6th, 2020, 5:20 am

yes its a doomed career to get into. a chinese telecom giant working closely with out local telecom giant an they are soon to offer full cabinets that include switches, routers, ups, firewalls, servers, and other network equipment that will be configured by them and all the customer has to do is plug into their network. so a customers lets say "joe doubles" want all that equipment just hadda go to them they sell the complete rack with that the customers want ,joe doubles just hadda hire a 16 yr old with net + to plug all the desktop into the switch and boom they up. the local telecom giant with have people to plug into the WAN and men in china or india to configure the ports if need by config the firewall and the 16 year old will replace HD if the HD go bad on the server, will plug the patch cord in if requested by the helpdesk in india or china and we locals will be screwed as usual.
yuh need to specialize and buss out of TT, that chinese giant looking to take over the IT in the country, even the irish company and the other one doing the same. I remember year ago building voip systems from scratch for large customers through out the Caribbean and now that market dead cause these irish and other ISP doing it and offer it for small monthly fee. even the local ISP fire the VOIP people in the 500. the Chinese taking over.

mazdatt

Postby mazdatt » February 6th, 2020, 6:38 am

I would not say it is a doomed career but it is evolving. There is a growing need for network engineers in the areas of SDN, Security and Cloud etc. A network engineer stuck in the routing, switching and voice world have a problem. Based on my experience it is easier for a network engineer to learn to code than it is for a software developer to learn networking.

Postby RedVEVO » February 6th, 2020, 7:05 am

Yes, China is the Beast in the software / computer / network industry ..

They build and implement ..

They have the comparative advantage .. and brains

abbow

Postby abbow » February 6th, 2020, 12:32 pm

India, Israel etc > China....China just like to bundle everything and sell at the cheapest....

SDN still need someone to design, plan and build....network engineers are still in demand and will continue to be as long as networks are around.. Network engineers can re tool in newer areas like Security...Cisco have Security and Wireless certifications along with the other big players..

and yes, fadakartel is right....alot of "certified" people out there that cant do basic stuff...