Mazda BT-50 vs Toyota Hilux

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
323_guy

Mazda BT-50 vs Toyota Hilux

Postby 323_guy » August 20th, 2009, 1:48 am

Guys, Im in the process of purchasing a 4x4. After carefully weighing all possible options, and ruling out all others, Im down to the Mazda bt-50 and Toyota Hilux... (Doh even try to convince me otherwise, if u do, this thread will NEVER die! lol...)

Opinions?

Postby 3stagevtec » August 20th, 2009, 2:34 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DhO92kX1rSQ&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

:wink:

Postby equipped2ripp » August 20th, 2009, 3:27 am

Hilux...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 20th, 2009, 4:52 am

equipped2ripp wrote:Hilux...

Good vehicle.

But still buy the BT50

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » August 20th, 2009, 7:36 am

323_guy, take it from 323_wagon_dude.... buy a hilux!!!

Its not good.... its grrrrreat!!!

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 20th, 2009, 7:38 am

Yadda Yadda Yadda

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 20th, 2009, 7:48 am

Man... this has been beaten over and over...

This is up to your personal choice, finances, etc.

Both are great vehicles, solid performers.

The Toyota parts may actually be cheaper (OEM), in my experience.

So the choice is yours

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 20th, 2009, 11:47 am

bleedingfreak wrote:Man... this has been beaten over and over...

This is up to your personal choice, finances, etc.

Both are great vehicles, solid performers.

The Toyota parts may actually be cheaper (OEM), in my experience.

So the choice is yours

This coming for a guy who has both !!!

Postby Team Loco » August 20th, 2009, 1:21 pm

ah next bobolee thread :lol: :lol:

hilux, hilux, hilux...............of course

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 20th, 2009, 1:49 pm

Team Loco wrote:ah next bobolee thread :lol: :lol:

hilux, hilux, hilux...............of course

It only have one bobolee I know eh...;-)

bt50

Postby bt50 » August 20th, 2009, 2:10 pm

bt50...servicing cheaper than Toyota

Postby equipped2ripp » August 20th, 2009, 2:20 pm

maybe cheaper, but SS service is poor when compared to TTTL...

also, SS doesn't have a large inventory of parts as TTTL does.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 20th, 2009, 2:26 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:maybe cheaper, but SS service is poor when compared to TTTL...

SS also tried to sell you aftermarket parts, not OEM and say"they just as good" and charge you about 50% more than your regular parts place

BTW, I know ppl who waited months for SS to bring in parts for them - body parts I mean...

Postby wagon r » August 20th, 2009, 2:34 pm

buy a ranger.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 20th, 2009, 2:48 pm

wagon r wrote:buy a ranger.

I used to buy OEM ford parts for my mazda, cause it was cheaper by Ford! ;-)

So there... ;-)

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 20th, 2009, 3:27 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:maybe cheaper, but SS service is poor when compared to TTTL...

Agreex x 1000

Cooper

Postby Cooper » August 20th, 2009, 3:29 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » August 20th, 2009, 6:27 pm

Cooper wrote:

Yet another vote for the BT50 :wink:

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » August 20th, 2009, 7:33 pm

Cooper wrote:

X3 AND I will tell you why.

1. I was in the same boat as you, I bought the ranger, I friggin love it
2. Check the independent reviews online and everywhere
3. Check the thread where I documented my decision process ... It took me over a year to decide

See thread here: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

For updates on my Ranger, see here: http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

Just FYI, EVERYONE of my hilux owning friends that drives my Ranger has preferred it! Let me quote, "better handling", "better ride quality", "more torque", "better power delivery" ...

I will say however that the hilux is a solid offering, If you like gears, the 3.0 hilux with the manual is a nice van indeed. It's pricier, and has the best value retention of any truck on the market. It's more expensive though ...

Good luck!

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 20th, 2009, 11:50 pm

wha bout maintenance on the ranger?
BTW, Thanks guys.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 21st, 2009, 5:10 am

BTW ... what's the difference with the new model Ranger and the BT-50? Is it just the external body and the engine?

With the older model everything except the external body was the same?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 21st, 2009, 9:51 pm

i have a bt50 about 17 mths now not 1 problem ....... i drive all over the country allot of offroads, mud also , no problems at all .................. the bt50 is more rugged and durable than the hilux in my opinion ,
the lux is more of a pretty boi ride slap sum 20'' and a set of chrome trims and u have a pretty van for going for a show off spin ......lol
if u looking for a working van to do work ( carry stuf , pull loads , off roadind etc ) buy a bt50 / ranger they have the same engine and suspension jus the ranger the engine has a ECU and the bt50 has no electronics on the engine (easier to maintain) i passed tru 1-2 feet of water tru a river to get to sum quarryland with my bt50 for about 10-20 ft last week and up to now not 1 problem ............. :twisted: van went true like nuthing try that with a lux na with the amount of electronics it have on it ..............see if u doh piss ya pants after with head ache 8-)

Postby 7143 » August 22nd, 2009, 7:01 pm

^there go and buy a ranger or a madza now.....but is always toyota ftw....

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 22nd, 2009, 9:56 pm

Skunk2 wrote:i have a bt50 about 17 mths now not 1 problem ....... i drive all over the country allot of offroads, mud also , no problems at all .................. the bt50 is more rugged and durable than the hilux in my opinion ,
the lux is more of a pretty boi ride slap sum 20'' and a set of chrome trims and u have a pretty van for going for a show off spin ......lol
if u looking for a working van to do work ( carry stuf , pull loads , off roadind etc ) buy a bt50 / ranger
they have the same engine and suspension jus the ranger the engine has a ECU and the bt50 has no electronics on the engine (easier to maintain) i passed tru 1-2 feet of water tru a river to get to sum quarryland with my bt50 for about 10-20 ft last week and up to now not 1 problem ............. :twisted: van went true like nuthing try that with a lux na with the amount of electronics it have on it ..............see if u doh piss ya pants after with head ache 8-)

I actually find that statement to be 100% opposite to my opinions also as well the ranger IMO sucks when compared to the hilux in terms of ride comfort. Maybe just me though.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 23rd, 2009, 10:30 am

Skunk2 wrote:i have a bt50 about 17 mths now not 1 problem ....... i drive all over the country allot of offroads, mud also , no problems at all .................. the bt50 is more rugged and durable than the hilux in my opinion ,
if u looking for a working van to do work ( carry stuf , pull loads , off roadind etc ) buy a bt50 / ranger they have the same engine and suspension jus the ranger the engine has a ECU and the bt50 has no electronics on the engine (easier to maintain) i passed tru 1-2 feet of water tru a river to get to sum quarryland with my bt50 for about 10-20 ft last week and up to now not 1 problem ............. :twisted: van went true like nuthing try that with a lux na with the amount of electronics it have on it ..............see if u doh piss ya pants after with head ache 8-)

No comment...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 23rd, 2009, 3:09 pm

well everybody has there likes and dislikes and no comments ............so bro watever u want to buy its up to you ........ cuz this will be a never ending thread with pros and cons :oops:

323_guy

Postby 323_guy » August 23rd, 2009, 10:21 pm

Ah reelize... Thanks alot fuh allyuh thoughts tho... After alot of consideration my thoughts are this:

Sportero: Best van on de raod (DONT CRUCIFY ME! lol... Thas jus my humble opinion) but too expensive

Navara: Nice van, but too expensive

Hilux: SWEET RIDE, but it seems to be lil pricey to maintain, and de extreme height+ soft suspension makes it a lil unsafe in my book. Also ah cud be wrong but alot of ppl wit Hiluxs' seem to be gettin jacked by bandits...

Dmax: no comment...

Wingle: No comment...

Ranger: Reall pretty, a lil too pretty almost, lil cramped on de inside but overall a good van

BT 50: The cartoon-like look of it has really grown on me and i actually like it now! lol... Rigid suspension, de primitive engine makes it easy to maintain, it just as cramped as de ranger (same van almost),

I can compare all night, but all in all, i think i will take a chance wit de BT50...
Thanks alot guys.

badart

Postby badart » August 23rd, 2009, 11:10 pm

at the end of the day is wht u like the most...

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » September 3rd, 2009, 12:18 am

When you feel the low range power of the bt50 - you will smile

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”