ok. i am still having aproblem of burning some oil. on start up on mornings she belches out some blue/ white smoke for about 5 mins. TC was confused as to why the turbo was pushing oil into the intake, since he double and triple checked his repair. i know his reputation, so i know something else was wrong. last week i reverted back to naturall aspirated. left the turbo in, but intentionally stuck the wastegate on open, toned down the amount of fuel, sent the engine back to factory settings. lo and behold, she ran fine, lazy, but no smoke, no oil burning, she ran well.
so why the hell was the turbo pushing oil??
the answer was found today.
i can just hear stuckinmud saying- I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!
well, i just doh listen.
the problem lies in the turbo oil return line.
remember we tapped off the return line on the alternator. the return line on the turbo is about half inch wide. the return line on the alternator is 1/4 inch wide. so what happens when you have a turbo oil return meeting the oil return of an alternator vacuum pump? bottle neck of course.
this is why oil was backing up into the turbo, and with no where to go, it is forcing itself into the intake.
this is why on mornings when the oil is at its thickest viscosity, it's harder to find its way back into the sump via a "restricted" line. once the engine heats up and the oil gets thinner, most of it manages to return to the sump.
solution?
drain oil out of sump and weld on a 1/2 inch fitting to accomodate a dedicated oil return line from the turbo.
i know, oil is flammable. welding may ignite the oil. but remember my name is Team Loco.
hope to post the results